Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How low can Windows 2000 go?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
danikayser84

danikayser84

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 23-March 14
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

I had Windows 2000 running on I believe a Pentium 166 (non-MMX) several years ago just for a test (64MB RAM, I think, and a 3.2GB hard drive), with Firefox 2.x, also ran Win2K (slimmed down with nLite) on my IBM ThinkPad 570 for a while with 192MB RAM and a 6GB hard drive, actually ran pretty well with Opera 11.64 and Firefox 10 ESR (although recently I went back to 95 on that machine)

 

I did own a 486DX/2 66 for a while, and I worked on a little project called Tiny2000 at the time (to see how small I could get Windows 2000... the target was 32MB RAM and a 1GB hard drive); unfortunately, I lost interest and I no longer own any machines pre-Pentium II... (does Windows 2000 require a 486DX? Not sure if an SX would work because it lacks an FPU... I do know however that 2000 won't work on a 386 due to 486+ instructions)


Lenovo IdeaCentre K410 (Win7SP1) • Dell Inspiron 8200 (WinXPSP3) • IBM ThinkPad T23 (Win2000) • IBM ThinkPad 600X (Win98SE) • IBM ThinkPad 770E (Win95C) • NEC Versa 6000H (WFW3.11/DOS 6.22) • PowerBook G3 Lombard (Mac OS X 10.3.9) • PowerBook G3 Wallstreet (Mac OS 9.2.2) • PowerBook 190cs (Mac OS 7.6.1)



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 15,477 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

You could try in Qemu, though I seem to remember that the oldest simulated processor (on a simulate ISA machine) is the 486 :unsure:

Bochs surely has the 386 option:

http://sourceforge.net/p/bochs/news/

though it seems like needs to be compiled expressly for this.

 

jaclaz



#3
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I have W2k on a Pentium II Thinkpad 770E running on 16GB flash drive (check my post from ~2 yrs ago).  I wouldn't go lower than that.



#4
ironman14

ironman14

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Joined 16-October 13
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Absolute minimum: 650 MB Hard Drive, 32 MB RAM, 133 MHZ processor (Pentium Pro+). Probably a PC designed for Windows 95, or a very high end Windows 3.1 PC would be the minimum (~1995). For light, everyday use, I wouldn't use less than 64 MB RAM, or 128 MB RAM for the Internet. But personally, I use 1 GB RAM.

http://support.micro...om/kb/304297/en

Edited by ironman14, 11 May 2014 - 06:20 PM.


#5
AnX

AnX

    Fighting for the right to OS since 2010

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Joined 20-June 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Here is Windows 2000 running on a 25Mhz Intel 486 CPU.

 


Dual boot Windows XP SP3 x86 and Windows Vista SP2 x64.

AMD FX-8320 8-core CPU with Hyper 212 Evo, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD (8.1) and 500GB HDD (XP), Sapphire R7 260X 2GB Graphics Card, 620W Seasonic S12II, CM HAF 912 case.


#6
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,508 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

That's an "odd" amount of RAM :crazy:

36480kb = ~4.56mb... Must have some RAM on-board as socketed chips. :unsure:


Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users