Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Boot to GUI windows and not dos

- - - - -

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
31 replies to this topic

#1
shanoger

shanoger

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 24-May 14
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello every one, I have a CNC machine which is operated by a regular PC software. This software is a DOS program. Now what happens is when I load windows, the boot process takes place then the win98 window shows up and the program loads right away. The problem is that I need to get to the normal windows to be able to load some drawing files into that program, that's the only way. I have access to dos I need to get access to normal GUI windows. Please help me out with this. Thank you in advance.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,657 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

How exactly does the thingy boot? (normally, without any intervention, like when you switch it on?)

It boots to DOS or to the Windows GUI?

Is the program executed in a (Full screen) Dos box? (i.e. what happens if you press ALT+ENTER?)

http://www.computerh...es/ch000020.htm

 

 

jaclaz



#3
shanoger

shanoger

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 24-May 14
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you for your reply, yes the program loads directly and full screen. Originally when I used to escape the program the PC would restart into normal windows. But one day the PC would not even boot so I removed the bios battery for a while and then it started again but now it would never boot into normal windows after I exited. I have access to dos thou.

#4
shanoger

shanoger

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 24-May 14
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
See the when the PC boots I see all that white text and black screen (boot stuff), then the win98 picture/logo shows up (the screen right before the PC enters GUI of windows) but before the PC actually enters GUI win the program shows up.

#5
LostInSpace2012

LostInSpace2012

    OS: Ubuntu 12

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Joined 20-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

(1) Have you tried pressing "Alt+Tab" to switch out of the program using task manager? Hold down the Alt Key and press TAB, while continuing to hold the Alt key, keep hitting TAB. See what happens.

(2) Have you tried hitting the F8 key before Windows loads... to get into safe mode?

Edited by LostInSpace2012, 24 May 2014 - 12:35 PM.


#6
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,657 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thank you for your reply, yes the program loads directly and full screen. Originally when I used to escape the program the PC would restart into normal windows. But one day the PC would not even boot so I removed the bios battery for a while and then it started again but now it would never boot into normal windows after I exited. I have access to dos thou.

I will try again.

 

From what you describe (there are several possibilities) on a WIn 9x system:

  1. The system is configured to boot to DOS (and NOT to WIndows)
  2. The system is configured to boot to DOS (and NOT to WIndows) AND it has in Autoexec.bat (or more rarely in CONFIG:SYS) a line directly invoking a DOS program
  3. The system is configured to boot to Windows (and NOT to DOS)
  4. The system is configured to boot to Windows (and NOT to DOS) AND it has in the startup folder, in the Registry (or more rarely in win.ini) an entry invoking a DOS program runnning in full screen

No matter if it boots to DOS or Windows, you will see anyway the BOOT SCREEN (Windows Logo) like this:

 

98B.jpg

 

(the boot logo is embedded in the system file IO.SYS and is shown anyways depending on a setting in file MSDOS.SYS) see:

http://www.mdgx.com/msdos.htm

(that would be Logo=1)

 

Then if you are in case #4 above you should see, even briefly the desktop appear and by pressing ALT+ENTER you could swithch form the full screen DOS program to it.

 

It is possible (though it cannot happen because of a battery removal) that you have now in that file a setting of BootGUI=0 (which will load the command line DOS) and then a setting (say in AUTOEXEC.BAT) that loads automatically the program.

 

Normally if you are in this latter case (#2 in the previous list) you can exit the DOS program (and get to the DOS prompt) and type WIN [ENTER] to load the Windows GUI.

 

jaclaz



#7
shanoger

shanoger

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 24-May 14
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
I have not tried both options you mentioned but will try tomorrow. Just incase is there any thing else I can try if this does not work? The thing is that this machine is far away and I have limited access and time. I would want to try every thing possible within the short time frame. Thank you

#8
LostInSpace2012

LostInSpace2012

    OS: Ubuntu 12

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Joined 20-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

IF he has access to DOS, the quickest way to find out what version of DOS, and therefore whether or not Windows is installed, is to type "Ver."

Type "ver" and hit enter. Tell us what it says.

*Edit*

Once you get access to your CNC Machine again, please type in "Ver" and then hit enter. Tell us what version of DOS/Windows it really is. Okay?

If it really does have a Windows start up screen, don't forget to try: hold down "Alt" key then press "TAB" key a few times to see what happens.

Good luck.

Edited by LostInSpace2012, 24 May 2014 - 01:27 PM.


#9
shanoger

shanoger

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 24-May 14
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you jaclaz, I tried exit command from dos but the PC would restart and again load into that software. Before I removed the bios battery, upon exiting the software, the PC would boot into windows, when in windows and I would go to the folder and double click on the software icon the PC would reboot and load that software directly. The desktop would never show briefly.

#10
LostInSpace2012

LostInSpace2012

    OS: Ubuntu 12

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Joined 20-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

but before the PC actually enters GUI win the program shows up.


Could be that the DOS program is placed in the "Startup" menu, and set for Full Screen mode. The Alt-Enter method should work to reduce the window size.

Also try hitting "Ctrl+C" or "Ctrl+Break" or else type in "Exit" and see what happens.

Edited by LostInSpace2012, 24 May 2014 - 12:50 PM.


#11
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,657 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Maybe there is a communication problem.

 

On a fully working system:

  1. IF you are in Windows and runnning a full screen DOS program, pressing ALT+ENTER will flip between the full screen and a windowed DOS.
  2. IF you are in DOS, pressing ALT+ENTER will do nothing.

What actually happens if you press ALT+ENTER?

 

It is also possible (though rare) that the system has been configured to boot to DOS (in MSDOS.SYS BootGUI=0) and in autoexec.bat there are lines *like*:

C:\whatever\mydosproggie.exe
C:\Windows\WIN.COM

This would execute your DOS program and when it exits, load the Windows GUI.

 

If you check your autoexec.bat and you find something like this, it would explain what you describe happened before, and would also explain what happens now IF we assume the hypothesis that *somehow* that WIndows 9x install is "botched" and when the WIN:COM is invoked the machine reboots because of this.

 

How EXACTLY are you accessing DOS now?

Can you use EDIT.COM ( or TYPE) to inspect the file AUTOEXEC.BAT?

 

jaclaz



#12
LostInSpace2012

LostInSpace2012

    OS: Ubuntu 12

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Joined 20-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Maybe there is a communication problem.


That's why I suggested typing in "Ver." But nobody listens to me :-)

It will tell you which version of DOS is really installed, and therefore what Windows is actually present. otherwise, this is all just a wild goose chase.

#13
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,657 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Maybe there is a communication problem.


That's why I suggested typing in "Ver." But nobody listens to me :-)

It will tell you which version of DOS is really installed, and therefore what Windows is actually present. otherwise, this is all just a wild goose chase.

 

Does VER typed in a FULL SCREEN DOS window inside a WIndows 9x provide anything different from the output of the same command typed when booted in plain DOS on the same machine? :unsure:

 

jaclaz



#14
LostInSpace2012

LostInSpace2012

    OS: Ubuntu 12

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Joined 20-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

how about this contradiction:

when in windows and I would go to the folder and double click on the software icon the PC would reboot and load that software directly. The desktop would never show briefly.

How can you go to the folder, in windows, double click on something.... yet you never see the "Desktop." ???

What program, besides the windows desktop, did he use to click on the software icon?

Edited by LostInSpace2012, 24 May 2014 - 01:34 PM.


#15
shanoger

shanoger

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 24-May 14
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
I cannot access windows at all. From my software I can go to dos only. Before this dilemma I was able to goto windows desktop after exiting the software now not the case. I will try all these things tomorrow thank you guys !!!

#16
shanoger

shanoger

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 24-May 14
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
I will let you know what happens

#17
LostInSpace2012

LostInSpace2012

    OS: Ubuntu 12

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Joined 20-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Does VER typed in a FULL SCREEN DOS window inside a WIndows 9x provide anything different from the output of the same command typed when booted in plain DOS on the same machine? :unsure:

jaclaz


Yeah, it tells ME ME ME ME ME, the freaking OS!!!!!! I don't believe what HE says!!!! Why fart around telling him what to do? If I don't get some basic hard facts?!?!?!

#18
LostInSpace2012

LostInSpace2012

    OS: Ubuntu 12

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Joined 20-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ah, to heck with this place... bothering to give out free "tech" support, or any help for that matter, is a complete waste!

Edited by LostInSpace2012, 24 May 2014 - 01:49 PM.


#19
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,657 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Lostinspace2012,

no real need to get upset. :)

 

I trust the user about running Windows 98, it would be "queer" that he confirmed seeing the Windows 98 boot screen I posted.

 

From what I understand:

 

Thank you jaclaz, I tried exit command from dos but the PC would restart and again load into that software. Before I removed the bios battery, upon exiting the software, the PC would boot into windows, when in windows and I would go to the folder and double click on the software icon the PC would reboot and load that software directly. The desktop would never show briefly.

 

The OP is describing (with some difficulties) two DIFFERENT workflows/sequence of events , one that happened BEFORE a given date/event (which cannot possibly be just removing the battery) and what happens NOW (or AFTER).

 

Probably :unsure:

  • BEFORE -> the PC booted to DOS and the DOS program was started from Autoexec.bat. Upon exit Windows was loaded "normally" AND, if from the booted windows he clicked on the program shortcut on the desktop then the same program would run in full screen DOS. Upon exit the user was back to the Windows desktop. In such a setup a "common" user would not see a difference between "first run" of the program and subsequent runs (if not for Windows desktop loading faster ;))
  • AFTER (NOW) -> the PC boots to DOS and the DOS program is executed from Autoexec.bat. (exactly as before) but when the WIN.COM is invoked to load the Windows 9x, it crashes, causing a reboot loop.

jaclaz

 



#20
shanoger

shanoger

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 24-May 14
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag

hello every one

 

i tried the options mentioned

1) ALT + Enter did not work nothing happens

2) ALT + TAB nothing happens

3) F8 prior to full boot worked and i did get boot options for safeboot

4) i tried from safemode msconfig and i got the following screen shots

     https://drive.google...dit?usp=sharing

     https://drive.google...dit?usp=sharing

     https://drive.google...dit?usp=sharing

 

please could you guide me on how to disable auto loading of the program which is call "Water4Z.exe". I tired disabling the last three options (disabling meaning i removed the tick in the check boxes next to them) you can actually see that modification on the image. but that did not really work, the pc would reboot and ask me to "bla bla bla boot in normal mode and run applications in normal mode type Y or N" (not exactly how it is written but thats what i understood). When i type in Y, the pc would reboot and come back to the same screen over and over again.



#21
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,801 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

It is definitely sounding like jaclaz is right.
 

Probably :unsure:

  • AFTER (NOW) -> the PC boots to DOS and the DOS program is executed from Autoexec.bat. (exactly as before) but when the WIN.COM is invoked to load the Windows 9x, it crashes, causing a reboot loop.

In other words, your installation of Win 9x has gotten corrupted somehow and you are not able to boot into Win 9x no matter what you do because it is broken. That seems to be the problem rather than the auto loading of "Water4Z.exe". The auto loading, and DOS, seem to be working. And I also agree that this was not caused by the battery issue. I know it's an extreme solution, but can you reinstall Win 9x?

 

Cheers and Regards


Edited by bphlpt, 25 May 2014 - 01:09 AM.

Posted Image


#22
shanoger

shanoger

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 24-May 14
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag

what would i have to do now to fix it? is there a way to transfer some files from USB to desktop. the only reason i need the desktop is to load some files to that software. Basically that software has a folder where the files have to be copy pasted, user cannot navigate to a usb drive and extract any files.  



#23
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,801 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Like I said, can you reinstall your system?, I assume that would mean reinstalling everything, Win9x, Water4Z and any other software you have installed.  That would be the safest solution but it would take the most work.  You could also try a repair install of just Win9x, but since we don't know what happened to cause it to fail there is no guarantee it would work and it could make the problem worse.  I am really not the person to be able to advise you since it has been many, many years since I have used Win9x.  In the meantime, I suppose that you can copy the files to the folder using DOS, you don't need Windows to be able to do that.

 

Cheers and Regards


Posted Image


#24
shanoger

shanoger

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 24-May 14
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
I cannot seem to find the drive letter ? I tried cd e: cd f: and so on is there any other way to enable USB in safe mode?

#25
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,801 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

In safe mode the USB driver might not be loaded, I'm not sure, but if you can get to DOS by just exiting from Water4Z then you might be able to find the USB from there.  But if the USB driver is only loaded by Windows and not by DOS then you might be out of luck after all.  If your system has a CD drive, then maybe you can transfer the files from USB to a CD using another system and then access the files that way?  Sorry, but I'm really just guessing.  Is there anyone else there who is more familiar with the hardware and software?  Maybe trying a repair install of Win9x might be the easiest thing to try and do, but be aware that you might very well make matters worse, so be sure you have a way to start over from scratch if things go wrong.  That includes having a backup of all data you want to keep and all the installation files you might need to reinstall the OS and all programs.  Sorry I'm just not as familiar with Win9x as to able to help you more.

 

Cheers and Regards


Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users