Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Cannot enter BIOS setup using Del key but my keyboards DO work once I

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
vladv

vladv

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 20-March 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I've got this legendary socket 939 motherboard DFI LANParty UT SLI-DR Expert chipset nForce4 SLI almost new only one SATA port is somewhat messed up missing those plastic parts from both sides , bought this baby really cheap ~ 55 $ from well known Romanian e-bay like site okazii.ro , and I put it on my FX-60 dual core processor ( yeah , the most powerful unlocked socket 939 era processor! ) and some cheap KINGSTON value memory and tried to boot my rig.Here is my problem now:I know this board is working those 4 red diagnostic LEDS start 4,3,2 next only one left so no "4 LEDs of death" syndrome for me and the onboard speaker beeps only ONCE which I know is a good thing but after that I cannot enter BIOS to setup things as I need because Del key on my PS2 ( and I tried with USB keyboard , too ) keyboard is NOT working as it should do I press that key and the result is 0 nada nothing , first I see the boot logo from DFI after that I see these error messages "CMOS checksum error - defaults loaded , press F1 to continue or Del to enter setup" and when I press F1 sometimes I see this message "Verifying Pool Data and Backup CMOS OK!" and other times I see "Sil3114 SATA RAID Press Ctrl-S or F4 to enter RAID utility".One more thing to add is that I can actually use boot menu selection using Esc key to select HDD,CD-ROM or some other options like floppy disk or USB stick boot and the motherboard can actually boot using CD/DVD I already tried UBCD rescue CD and some Linux live distros to see if it's not a problem with my FX-60 processor and I'm happy that it is working well is all good no problem there actually I've seen it's name and working frequency ~ 2616 Mhz at POST screen so it cannot be defective or fryed and neither the mobo, please help me solve this little problem with my mobo.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,408 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

The CMOS checksum error could be connected to a defective/worn out CMOS battery, check it (and it's contacts) first thing.

 

Next thing I would try (though there are risks involved in the process) would be to upgrade/reflash the BIOS firmware.

Which version of BIOS do you have?

Usually if you press Pause when booting you can see the date and version of the BIOS.

 

It is well possible that for any reason a "tweaked/modified" BIOS was flashed and this can be part of the problem:

http://www.techpower...icles/other/114

 

jaclaz



#3
vladv

vladv

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 20-March 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

The BIOS is 04/06/2006-NF-CK804-6A61FD4EC-00 and the BIOS chip is PMC 0551 Pm49FL0004T-33JCE.



#4
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,408 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

The BIOS is 04/06/2006-NF-CK804-6A61FD4EC-00

This is "queer".

The NF-CK804-6A61FD4EC-00, see here:

http://www.tomshardw...ill-series-dual

12/07/2005 NF-CK804-6A61Fd4EC-00

 

seems connected to the date of 12/07/2005.

Even if the actual naming/versioning of BIOSes/corresponding files is often what I define "pure folly"  :w00t: :ph34r:, it would be strange that two releases, corresponding to files NF4ED406 (04/06/2006) and NF4EDC07 (12/07/2005) show the same version on screen.

The actual page on NFI site is seemingly down, but the google cache is working:

http://webcache.goog...it&client=opera

 

You could try dumping the current BIOS and compare it to the above two files from the DFI website. :unsure:

 

jaclaz


Edited by jaclaz, 28 July 2014 - 12:04 PM.


#5
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,814 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Even if the actual naming/versioning of BIOSes/corresponding files is often what I define "pure folly"  :w00t: :ph34r:, it would be strange that two releases, corresponding to files NF4ED406 (04/06/2006) and NF4EDC07 (12/07/2005) show the same version on screen.


I wouldn't be surprised! :lol:

I see it occasionally from various manufacturers. Even the more confusing cases where newer BIOS has lower version number than older BIOS release. It could also be caused by a hardware revision.

 

Very frustrating. :angry:


MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#6
vladv

vladv

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 20-March 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@ jaclaz

 

How can I dump my current BIOS file and compare it with the official ones?



#7
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,408 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

The tools used to flash have a switch that allows to "backup" or "save" current BIOS (which is however always advised before attempting to upgrade it).

Whenever possible, you want to use a "plain" BIOS flashing tool, from a booted "clean" DOS or FreeDOS.

 

jaclaz



#8
vladv

vladv

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 20-March 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Should I use WinFlash or the good old Award flasher from pure DOS ?



#9
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,408 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Should I use WinFlash or the good old Award flasher from pure DOS ?

 

What is the part that you didn't understand in:

 

Whenever possible, you want to use a "plain" BIOS flashing tool, from a booted "clean" DOS or FreeDOS.

?

:unsure:

 

I will try again  :) as:

(if possible) never, NEVER, NEVER (meaning actually NEVER) use a Windows based flashing tool and ALWAYS ONLY use a DOS based one, when booted in a "clean" (no autoexec.bat, no config.sys, NOTHING loaded but pure DOS) MS-DOS or FreeDOS.

 

jaclaz


Edited by jaclaz, 05 September 2014 - 04:25 AM.


#10
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,273 posts
  • Joined 23-November 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Jaclaz was quite good at anticipating your next question. See his answer.

edit.... I'm still as slow at posting.


Edited by Ponch, 05 September 2014 - 04:29 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN