Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

changing the default keyboard language for all users via command line


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
clivebuckwheat

clivebuckwheat

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 577 posts

Hi

 

I am hoping someone here can help me. I have 3 keyboard languages installed in my labs,

 

En-English (United States)

 

Fr-French (Canada)

 

En-English (Canada)

 

I'd like to make the Fr-French (Canada) the default keyboard language for all users that login I have tried the following xml but it's not working. I do not see the problem any help would be appreciated.

 

I tried to run it by doing this

 

control intl.cpl,, /f:"FR-DefaultKeyboard.xml"

 

The following code below is called FR-DefaultKeyboard.xml.

<gs:GlobalizationServices xmlns:gs="urn:longhornGlobalizationUnattend">

 <!--User List-->

<gs:UserList>

<gs:User UserID="Current"/>

</gs:UserList>

 

<!--User Locale-->

<gs:UserLocale>

<gs:Locale Name="FR-CA" SetAsCurrent="true"/>

</gs:UserLocale>

 

</gs:GlobalizationServices>



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,801 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Ah you don't change the locale that way. You use InputLanguageID and the locale value you would use in the unattend. I posted a sample XML file in this thread:

http://www.msfn.org/...blem/?p=1046249


MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#3
clivebuckwheat

clivebuckwheat

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 577 posts

Ah you don't change the locale that way. You use InputLanguageID and the locale value you would use in the unattend. I posted a sample XML file in this thread:

http://www.msfn.org/...blem/?p=1046249

<gs:GlobalizationServices xmlns:gs="urn:longhornGlobalizationUnattend">
   <gs:UserList>
   <gs:User UserID="Current" CopySettingsToDefaultUserAcct="true" CopySettingsToSystemAcct="true"/>
   </gs:UserList>
   <gs:InputPreferences>
   <gs:InputLanguageID Action="add" ID="1009:00001009" Default="true"/>
   </gs:GlobalizationServices>

Would this work?, all I want to do is basically set French (Canada) as the default Keyboard for all users, it's already installed, so do I really need Action="add" ?



#4
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,801 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Yeah you need add. But you also need to handle your default language. In my example, my Windows is En-US, so I have to put the English line in there too. So basically English (the first "add" in my code) is first and set true, then the others are added too but false. I think you can change the true/false as you want. Just try it out on a test system before sticking it in your imaging process, that's what I did.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#5
clivebuckwheat

clivebuckwheat

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 577 posts

Yeah you need add. But you also need to handle your default language. In my example, my Windows is En-US, so I have to put the English line in there too. So basically English (the first "add" in my code) is first and set true, then the others are added too but false. I think you can change the true/false as you want. Just try it out on a test system before sticking it in your imaging process, that's what I did.

thanks man you been very hepful to me over the years

<gs:GlobalizationServices xmlns:gs="urn:longhornGlobalizationUnattend">
   <gs:UserList>
   <gs:User UserID="Current" CopySettingsToDefaultUserAcct="true" CopySettingsToSystemAcct="true"/>
   </gs:UserList>
   <gs:InputPreferences>
   <!--English US EN-->
   <gs:InputLanguageID Action="add" ID="0409:00000409" Default="false"/>
   <!--French CA CA FR-->
   <gs:InputLanguageID Action="add" ID="0c0c:00000c0c" Default="true"/>
   <!--English CA EN-->
   <gs:InputLanguageID Action="add" ID="1009:00001009" Default="false"/>
   </gs:InputPreferences>
   </gs:GlobalizationServices>


this worked.



#6
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,801 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Good to know that you can set a default language that isn't the language of the ISO.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#7
clivebuckwheat

clivebuckwheat

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 577 posts

Good to know that you can set a default language that isn't the language of the ISO.

Thanks man, you have always been a great help to me. I appreciate it.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN