Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Need a little help with 98/ ram issue

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
thisis1984

thisis1984
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 05-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello there,

My system is an MSI 865g neo 2-p motherboard, 3.4ghz pentium 4 northwood, with a 256mb agp Geforce 6800 ultra video card.

My goal is to eventually be able to tripple boot 98se, xp, and 7 on the same system. SO far I have installed 98se and xp. Everything went swimingly with a 512mb ram modual. The goal is to set the system up with 4 gb of ram which I have. I do not expect to be able to use all that ram in 98, I just want the system to work.

 

I have run auto patcher on 98, placed "MaxFileCache=131072" under the vcache section of the system.ini file and also set "MaxPhysPage=30000" under [386Enh] to limit the amount of ram windows 98 sees, I tryed it at 40000 as well. Once I set the MaxPhysPage= I am now able to boot windows 98 with the large ammount of ram installed; however, now I have a new problem. Once I did that my video card quit working properly and windows 98 will only boot into 640x480 vga with an error message that begins with "there is a problem with your display settings". The correct drivers are installed and it was working before.

 

What did I just do? I'm not really an expert on these things, what do I need to do to get this back working correctly with the large ammount of ram installed to use under xp and 7?




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
dencorso

dencorso

    Adiuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 5,865 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I don't know anybody who's got a 6800 to work right... so it may simply be impossible...

Then again, if anything can help you at this point, that'd be the RAM Limitation Patch. Do try it.



#3
thisis1984

thisis1984
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 05-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Well, even though I had those settings set in the system.ini and the system was able to boot with the large ammount of ram installed I was unable to install the patch from there to test it because it was saying I was out of ram. I've looked over this forum but I must be doing something wrong. As soon as I took the ram out and put the 512mb modual back in everything is back to normal. With Forceware81.98 I have 32bit color and high resolutions back. The problem only presents itself when I install the large ammount of ram. and even with those system ini settings it still told me that I was out of ram to run anything dos. So that must have something to do with the fact that the graphics quit working as well.

 

Now that things are working again I will try to install the patch and swap the memory back out to see if that works. I'll update this post witht the results.



#4
sdfox7

sdfox7

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 08-July 14
  • OS:95
  • Country: Country Flag

Are you using the correct drivers? NVIDIA did in fact make Windows 95 and 98 drivers for this card:

 

http://www.nvidia.co...s.aspx/11/en-us



#5
thisis1984

thisis1984
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 05-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Well I got the ram patch installed by removing the large ram, going back to the 512mb modual, instaling the patch, and then reinserting the full 4 gigs after I had installed the patch and everything went back to being right as rain. Ram is still limited due to my settings in the system.ini file but the system boots and works like it did before when the 512mb modual alone was installed. I thought that I could limit the ram using those settings but appearently not. I guess I need the patch. Is Mr. Loew still activly selling it? Should I expect a prompt reply from him? I dont understand why I just couldnt make it work by limiting the ram like than in the ini file. Regardless everything seems to be working right with the patch.

 

to sdfox7

Yes I'm using the right drivers. Before with only 512mb installed everything worked fine.

 

to dencorso

Thats interesting about you saying that you've never heard of a 6800 working right with 98. I was under the impression that the 6 series was the last nvidia supported for 98 and so I just reacently bought the best card in the series, the 6800 ultra, specifically for this system for this purpose. I havent tried to play any games yet but it seems that its working for me. What kinds of problems have you heard about happening with this card? Is there some nastiness that I should expect?



#6
dencorso

dencorso

    Adiuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 5,865 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

It only means that I don't recall anyone having reported success with a 6800 here... It's been a long time since I actually read the threads In the link I just gave you, so I may be wrong, but what I remember is that the 6200 works.

 

You should contact RLoew by e-mail. When doing the definitive install, be sure to use the /M switch.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN