Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Newest Radeon/Catalyst drivers in Windows Vista?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
smeezekitty

smeezekitty
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

So far it appears the latest AMD Catalyst graphics driver for Windows Vista in Catalyst 13.12 (despite still supporting 14.x for XP!)

Now I know that Windows 7 isn't hugely different from Windows Vista

so is there a mod to get the latest Catalyst drivers to install on Vista SP2 32 bit?

 

Thanks




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,823 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Instsll the xp ones in compatability mode

#3
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

edit the .inf file and replace [ATI.Mfg.NTx86.6.1] (Win7 is 6.1) with [ATI.Mfg.NTx86.6.0] (Vista is Version 6.0) Does this work?


Edited by MagicAndre1981, 14 October 2014 - 09:24 AM.

Posted Image

#4
smeezekitty

smeezekitty
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

edit the .inf file and replace [ATI.Mfg.NTx86.6.1] (Win7 is 6.1) with [ATI.Mfg.NTx86.6.0] (Vista is Version 6.0) Does this work?

That worked! I was able to install Catalyst 14.9 by running the normal installer which updated CCC but not the drivers

then going into C:\AMD\Support\14-9xxxxx\Packages\Drivers\Display\WB_INF

I went into all the infs and changed all instinces of [ATI.Mfg.NTx86.6.1] to [ATI.Mfg.NTx86.6.0]

and installed through device manager.

 

It shows the driver date at 9-14 so it appears like it worked.

 

Down side is the new CCC version shows the error

"The procedure entry point QueryDisplayConfig could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.DLL"

on boot up and when I click certain tabs in it but it still works



#5
smeezekitty

smeezekitty
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I created a tutorial for step by step installation of newer drivers on Vista over at tomshardware

 

http://www.tomshardw...dows-vista.html



#6
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator


Down side is the new CCC version shows the error

"The procedure entry point QueryDisplayConfig could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.DLL"

 

 

yes, this function is only available since Windows 7:

 

 

Available in Windows 7 and later versions of the Windows operating systems.

 

http://msdn.microsof...5(v=vs.85).aspx


Posted Image

#7
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,584 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I created a tutorial for step by step installation of newer drivers on Vista over at tomshardware

 

http://www.tomshardw...dows-vista.html

Nice guide ! :thumbup

 

Though I didn't know that driver signing was different between Vista and 7 :unsure:

http://www.davidegrayson.com/signing/

is it possible that the issue is due to the change in the .inf (and thus of the hash in the .cat file)? 

 

jaclaz



#8
smeezekitty

smeezekitty
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag


Nice guide ! :thumbup

Thanks!


Though I didn't know that driver signing was different between Vista and 7 :unsure:

http://www.davidegrayson.com/signing/

is it possible that the issue is due to the change in the .inf (and thus of the hash in the .cat file)?

Well I read somewhere that it was. But it is certainly possible it was wrong






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users