Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Why does FF2/Navigator 9 render this link as blank page?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
Nomen

Nomen

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Joined 07-July 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Can someone with knowledge of html tell me why this link: http://www.nbcnews.c...ze-eggs-n225011

is rendered as a completely blank page with Firefox 2.0.0.20 and Netscape Navigator 9? When I view the page source code, it's all there - lots of code. Yet those browsers display nothing. With FF2, I have altered the user-agent and tried several FF/OS versions, up to FF16/Win-8, and still get a blank page. (all this is with hosts file deactivated by renaming it to something else)

Opera 12.02 does seem to render the page ok. For IE6, it does load the page (and it's pretty readable, well formatted, and no advertising at all?) - but sometimes throws this error:

------------
AppName: iexplore.exe AppVer: 6.0.2800.1106 ModName: mshtml.dll
ModVer: 6.0.2800.1651 Offset: 001931a1
------------

So what are the code elements in that link that renders the page as invisible or just blank on FF2/Navigator 9? I'm seeing more and more of this behavior as I bring up news stories linked from sites like drudge.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,921 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I would blame the web devlopers. Older browsers are not as forgiving of coding errors than newer browsers. Websites are also trending to using off-site scripts to render portions of the page. On the one you linked to, there are several iframes and even an extra /div tag sitting there. The site uses a "generic" doctype, which Validator is picking up to be HTML5. It also finds over 3,000 CSS errors. Any one of those reasons could cause the page to not display properly in a browser.

As for how to fix, use a browser that renders broken website code!
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#3
sdfox7

sdfox7

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 08-July 14
  • OS:95
  • Country: Country Flag
On my system, the page loads correctly in Internet Explorer 5.x and Firefox 1.x if you disable Javascript (I usually always have Javascript disabled):

http://sdfox7.com/wi...les/nbceggs.jpg

http://sdfox7.com/wi...es/nbceggs2.jpg

#4
jumper

jumper

    2014 All-American Masters HJ'er

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 489 posts
  • Joined 21-January 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Blank in Opera 9.26 as well. Right-click "Validate" sent it to http://validator.w3.org/check# which reported "Errors found while checking this document as HTML5! Result: 46 Errors, 1 warning(s)" with additional errors suppress in some of the subtrees.

nbcnews.com doesn't seems to have a mobile version--individual apps for each of their channels.
Design feedback requested:
IHAtool - IpHlpApi tester; call various functions and report results
--status-> framework is solid; 22 api's fully supported; preview release coming soon
ComDlg32 wrapper - ComDlgEx meets IpHlpApi wrapper
--status-> PrintDlgExW working in latest SumatraPDF 8^)
Future projects: ImportPatcher40 - dialog interface; Kexter - IP40+Ktree+Kexstubs

#5
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,921 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

It is doubtful that the HTML errors are causing the page to appear blank, with the only possibility (that I can see) is the extra dive tag that is there. Even so, even an extra div tag would likely cause a partial page load, or the page design to become deformed our outside their intended boundries. Most times I have found coming across a blank page (that shouldn't be) is because I am blocking some javascript. I can do a test allow to see if it works (usually does) however then it becomes a "do I trust it or care enough about this page to allow malformed code to run on my system." And guess what, usually I just go somewhere else.


MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#6
jumper

jumper

    2014 All-American Masters HJ'er

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 489 posts
  • Joined 21-January 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Now I'm at home and just tried loading it in Firefox 2.0.0.20 with Javascript and Images disabled and...It displays! (and quickly!!)

With Images enabled and no JS, it also displays but with no images. With Images and JS enabled, very long load time and then nothing. Disable JS and reload and it displays again.
Design feedback requested:
IHAtool - IpHlpApi tester; call various functions and report results
--status-> framework is solid; 22 api's fully supported; preview release coming soon
ComDlg32 wrapper - ComDlgEx meets IpHlpApi wrapper
--status-> PrintDlgExW working in latest SumatraPDF 8^)
Future projects: ImportPatcher40 - dialog interface; Kexter - IP40+Ktree+Kexstubs

#7
jumper

jumper

    2014 All-American Masters HJ'er

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 489 posts
  • Joined 21-January 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I see now that a static version of the entire page contents is hidden in a <noscript> block. With scripting on, a dynamic version should be loaded but doesn't (I don't see any scripting errors in the error console, so I don't know why not).

We want to see the static version that is already there, so disabling javascript before loading the page or using the NoScript add-on to black-list the page should work. (I use a QuickJava button in my status bar to toggle JS; Using AdBlock Plus to block the scripts won't enable the <noscript> content.)

But for those times when you have already loaded the page (at nbcnews.com or another) with scripting enabled and nothing displays, here's a bookmarklet to instantly display the content of all <noscript> blocks:
javascript:db=document.body;db.innerHTML=db.innerHTML.split("noscript").join("div");void(0)
To create a toolbar button in Firefox for the script: drag a site icon from the addressbar to the toolbar to create a bookmark button, then edit its properties by adding the code into the location field and providing a name like "unNS" or "!noscript".
Design feedback requested:
IHAtool - IpHlpApi tester; call various functions and report results
--status-> framework is solid; 22 api's fully supported; preview release coming soon
ComDlg32 wrapper - ComDlgEx meets IpHlpApi wrapper
--status-> PrintDlgExW working in latest SumatraPDF 8^)
Future projects: ImportPatcher40 - dialog interface; Kexter - IP40+Ktree+Kexstubs

#8
sdfox7

sdfox7

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 08-July 14
  • OS:95
  • Country: Country Flag

Now I'm at home and just tried loading it in Firefox 2.0.0.20 with Javascript and Images disabled and...It displays! (and quickly!!)

With Images enabled and no JS, it also displays but with no images. With Images and JS enabled, very long load time and then nothing. Disable JS and reload and it displays again.


As I stated in response #3, Firefox 1.5.0.12 worked for me with images enabled. You may want to see if images load for you in 1.5.x.

IMO there is no benefit to running 2.0.x over 1.5.x. Both are outdated browsers but 1.5 seems a bit less bloated.

#9
LostInSpace2012

LostInSpace2012

    OS: Ubuntu 12

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Joined 20-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Page doesn't load with SeaMonkey 1.1.19 either. Turned off javascript and it works.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 1 anonymous users