Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Catalyst 14.12 ("Omega") on Vista

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#26
megaugly

megaugly

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 22-December 14
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

yes 32bit goes to syswow64

and 64bit goes to system32

 

the eventmanager shows the same message as posted on #20

 

CLI.exe
Frameworkversion: v4.0.30319

System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException
Stack:
at System.RuntimeMethodHandle.InvokeMethod(System.Object, System.Object[], System.Signature, Boolean)
at System.Reflection.RuntimeMethodInfo.UnsafeInvokeInternal(System.Object, System.Object[], System.Object[])
at System.Reflection.RuntimeMethodInfo.Invoke(System.Object, System.Reflection.BindingFlags, System.Reflection.Binder, System.Object[], System.Globalization.CultureInfo)
at System.RuntimeType.InvokeMember(System.String, System.Reflection.BindingFlags, System.Reflection.Binder, System.Object, System.Object[], System.Reflection.ParameterModifier[], System.Globalization.CultureInfo, System.String[])
at System.Type.InvokeMember(System.String, System.Reflection.BindingFlags, System.Reflection.Binder, System.Object, System.Object[])
at ATI.ACE.CLI.EXE.CLI.Main(System.String[])



MOM.exe
Frameworkversion: v4.0.30319

System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException
stack:
at System.RuntimeMethodHandle.InvokeMethod(System.Object, System.Object[], System.Signature, Boolean)
at System.Reflection.RuntimeMethodInfo.UnsafeInvokeInternal(System.Object, System.Object[], System.Object[])
at System.Reflection.RuntimeMethodInfo.Invoke(System.Object, System.Reflection.BindingFlags, System.Reflection.Binder, System.Object[], System.Globalization.CultureInfo)
at System.RuntimeType.InvokeMember(System.String, System.Reflection.BindingFlags, System.Reflection.Binder, System.Object, System.Object[], System.Reflection.ParameterModifier[], System.Globalization.CultureInfo, System.String[])
at System.Type.InvokeMember(System.String, System.Reflection.BindingFlags, System.Reflection.Binder, System.Object, System.Object[])
at ATI.ACE.MOM.EXE.MOM.Main(System.String[])

 

are this errors meaningfull enough? i have no idea where i can get more information about the MOM and CLI crash


Edited by megaugly, 25 December 2014 - 05:40 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
smeezekitty

smeezekitty

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Those don't tell me much. (Windows fault, not yours)

 

I upgraded to a Radeon 7850 on Christmas. I had to reinstall the patched files but it is still working perfectly.

 

I have a spare hard drive so I might be able to install Vista x64 on it: http://getintopc.com...-32-bit-64-bit/

I don't think I'll need to activate it since it shouldn't take more than a few days.

 

Anyway, it might take me a few days to set it up



#28
megaugly

megaugly

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 22-December 14
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

i am wondering why blazer78 has no errors and his catalyst is still running

i need the catalyst not for crossfire but i need it for OC and monitor the temps

 

also i use catalyst for my chipset and OC my Phenom CPU

 

perhaps my system runs with a few different dll files because of the AMD chipset drivers?

(SATA, SOUND, ONBOARD VGA)


Edited by megaugly, 26 December 2014 - 06:18 PM.


#29
smeezekitty

smeezekitty

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Ok. Run this batch file and post the contents of powrprof_sysinfo.txt after it finishes

 

It will look for any powrprof.dll dependencies in your System32, SysWow64 and AMD folders

as well as collect some other info. It might take several minutes to execute depending on the speed

of your hard drive.

 

Please ignore any file not found errors.

 

I don't know if the chipset has anything to do with it. I thought AMD stopped bundling

the chipset drivers with the graphics drivers but you never know. Crossfire or not shouldn't really matter.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  ppf.zip   39.97KB   2 downloads

Edited by smeezekitty, 26 December 2014 - 06:40 PM.


#30
megaugly

megaugly

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 22-December 14
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 Datenträger in Laufwerk C: ist Vista64
 Volumeseriennummer: 2812-276E

 Verzeichnis von C:\Windows\System32

10.04.2009  23:11           123.392 powrprof.dll
21.12.2014  23:31            44.032 powrwrap.dll
               2 Datei(en),        167.424 Bytes
               0 Verzeichnis(se), 77.443.055.616 Bytes frei
 Datenträger in Laufwerk C: ist Vista64
 Volumeseriennummer: 2812-276E

 Verzeichnis von C:\Windows\SysWow64

10.04.2009  22:28            98.816 powrprof.dll
10.12.2014  21:25            38.912 powrwrap.dll
               2 Datei(en),        137.728 Bytes
               0 Verzeichnis(se), 77.443.051.520 Bytes frei
GREP C:\Windows\System32:
GREP C:\Windows\SysWow64:
TASK DATA
 

 

there is something missing...

grep reports msys-1.0.dll is missing


Edited by megaugly, 27 December 2014 - 07:21 AM.


#31
megaugly

megaugly

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 22-December 14
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

i replaced your "grep" command with the windows own "find" command

i hope this will be equal

 

Attached File  powrprof_sysinfo.txt   231.96KB   5 downloads



#32
smeezekitty

smeezekitty

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I was going to set up a Vista breadboard machine but I realized I have a CDROM drive but not a spare DVD-ROM drive

I have heard it is possible to install Windows via USB but I have no experience with that



#33
megaugly

megaugly

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 22-December 14
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

http://www.askvg.com...-windows-vista/

 

or

 

http://www.vistax64....humb-drive.html


Edited by megaugly, 07 January 2015 - 11:44 AM.


#34
smeezekitty

smeezekitty

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

So I got around to setting up a test bench system with an Athlon 64 X2 2 GHz, 1 GB of RAM (Vista x64 is painful on 1 GB!)

and my old Radeon 6670

 

bench_system.jpg

I don't know what to tell you:

vista64_amd.jpg

From my limited testing, I didn't experience any other issues compared to my 32-bit intel system.

 

It is completely possible that this issue is unique to newer AMD chipsets.

But without your hardware, there are limits on what I can do.

 

What is your motherboard?



#35
megaugly

megaugly

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 22-December 14
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Mainboard ASUS M4A78LT-M with Phenom II X4 3,2Ghz

https://www.asus.com...specifications/

 

there is an onboard VGA chip (Integrated ATI Radeon™ HD 3000 GPU)

i can not disable the onboard VGA via BIOS

 

i found a spare disk and perhaps i setup a fresh vista next weekend

and only install AMD Catalyst Omega

 

if this works without errors i can install step-by-step the drivers for my MOBO

VIA Sound and Realtek LAN will be no problem


Edited by megaugly, 08 January 2015 - 12:38 PM.


#36
smeezekitty

smeezekitty

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag


Mainboard ASUS M4A78LT-M with Phenom II X4 3,2Ghz

https://www.asus.com...specifications/

 

there is an onboard VGA chip (Integrated ATI Radeon™ HD 3000 GPU)

i can not disable the onboard VGA via BIOS

 

My board also has an onboard HD3000 series.


i found a spare disk and perhaps i setup a fresh vista next weekend

and only install AMD Catalyst Omega

 

if this works without errors i can install step-by-step the drivers for my MOBO

VIA Sound and Realtek LAN will be no problem

Good idea. Keep in mind if you install Omega without installing and older driver first, it won't install extras really.

For example no HDMI audio driver. For me that isn't a problem but I just wanted to note it.



#37
megaugly

megaugly

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 22-December 14
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Attached File  VISTAx64 CCC 14.12.jpg   106.14KB   1 downloads

(german language)

 

working with a fresh OS

only CCC Omega and your patch

 

there must be some other AMD software on my current system what is not compatible with the Omega 14.12

 

Thank you for your help

 

regards


Edited by megaugly, 10 January 2015 - 11:47 AM.


#38
megaugly

megaugly

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 22-December 14
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

i got it!

 

removed all AMD stuff from system with this utility:

 

Display Driver Uninstaller

http://www.wagnardmobile.com/


  • smeezekitty likes this

#39
yammytoe

yammytoe
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 17-January 15
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi smeezekitty,

 

I just wanted to tell you that I tried your solutions and they work perfectly for me. Thank you very much for your work!


  • smeezekitty likes this

#40
smeezekitty

smeezekitty

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi smeezekitty,

 

I just wanted to tell you that I tried your solutions and they work perfectly for me. Thank you very much for your work!

Awesome thanks



#41
GreenReaper

GreenReaper
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 21-February 15
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks, man! This also helped with the AMD APP SDK 3.0 beta, too, for OpenCL 2.0 support on Vista x86 (otherwise you're stuck on 2.8 and 1.2). This is necessary for, say, OpenCL support in BOINC, which doesn't seem to want to work with the files the drivers install.

 

There are however some things you have to do to get this working:

 

Get the APP SDK installer, use the download option and wait for the first file to download
( AMD-SDKInstaller-v1.3.158-Beta-windows-F-x86.exe )
You can abort after the x64 version starts if you don't care about that.

Start the installer. It may fail instantly with "Failed to create the control linkAMDPrivacyPolicy on the dialog InstallWelcome." LEAVE THIS DIALOG OPEN.

Open your %temp% folder (start/run/%temp%), sort by date, open the most recently-created directory, and find the msi file "AMD SDK Installer 1.3.msi"

Click the directory name to select it, copy it, then paste it after 'cd' into a new command window, e.g.
cd C:\Users\GREENR~1\AppData\Local\Temp\{B0257F5E-F621-4FFE-A6FD-B7CDF257E45A}

Do that, and then run:
msiexec /qb /i "AMD SDK Installer 1.3.msi"

It will run with basic UI and install the whole SDK. You can now close the install dialog on the intiial install, which will delete the setup file. Check it's working (clinfo should not crash and should give the GPU, BOINC should not say GPU removed). If you have issues, check that the AMD APP SDK bin folder has made it into the path. You might need to logoff to reset it.

 

Don't want to use up all the space with the samples? Either run the downloaded .exe again (which will now work because it doesn't ask you for the license) or go to Programs and Features, find the AMD SDK Installer 1.3 and uninstall the Media SDK and all the subfeatures of the Advanced Parallel Processing SDK, but leave the APP SDK itself installed. Should free up a chunk of space, though the binaries and lib files are still 130MB (try compressing the AMD APP SDK folder).

 

If clinfo shows that your platform is 2.0 but your GPU device is 1.2, you probably don't have an OpenCL 2.0 supported device (Wikipedia). Oh well.


Edited by GreenReaper, 21 February 2015 - 04:03 AM.

  • smeezekitty likes this

#42
smeezekitty

smeezekitty

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag


Thanks, man! This also helped with the AMD APP SDK 3.0 beta, too, for OpenCL 2.0 support on Vista x86 (otherwise you're stuck on 2.8 and 1.2). This is necessary for, say, OpenCL support in BOINC, which doesn't seem to want to work with the files the drivers install.

Thanks for the info!



#43
Vistadude

Vistadude
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 13-April 15
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello, I have completed the first steps of the guide on http://www.tomshardw...dows-vista.htmland now am at the "inf" file stage.

 

pPl8jO2.png

 

OultSJJ.png

 

This is how it looks. And now it tells me that it isn't compatible. I also only have just one inf file. There's this 64 and x86 in the .inf file. but I do not know how to change it properly.

I downloaded the "amd-catalyst-omega-14.12-with-dotnet45-win7-64bit" and my OS is Vista Home Premium 64 Bit , with Service Pack 2 , My graphics card is a HD 7850, and I want to update to the newest driver manually, given the Vista ones are old as hell.

What am I doing wrong? Should I uninstall my old driver first, which is Driver Package Version 13.251-131206a-165822C-ATI ? Or does that not matter?

 

ld7oFcG.png


Edited by Vistadude, 13 April 2015 - 11:07 AM.


#44
blazer78

blazer78
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 18-December 14
  • OS:Vista Enterprise x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Just tried the same method to install catalyst 15.4 (as well as copying the same 64-bit files) and CCC doesn't want to run. Getting this error:

 

Attached File  lol.jpg   85.88KB   0 downloads

 

I suppose they changed some of the dlls =(



#45
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,150 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

create a dmp file (procdump), open it in windbg and run !analyze -v to see which DLL is not found.


Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users