Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Catalyst 14.12 ("Omega") on Vista

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#51
AnX

AnX

    Fighting for the right to OS since 2010

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 216 posts
  • Joined 20-June 12
  • OS:Windows 10 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Latest 15.4 "beta" works great with Omega driver fix. :yes:

 

1bb68f4af9fb9c2f9053acfb6f1fcab0.png

 

Unfortunately, whenever I load up CCC, this happens

 

 

62cddcb01aed04dec93ec951aa8c8dd2.png

 

This is a fresh Vista install, this is the only driver that has ever run. I followed instructions correctly, but it still pops up.

 

However, If i don't install those DLL fixes for CCC, it runs perfectly, albeit the user32.dll error
 

2a08a1cf808c0cc92571867daed0a7a6.png


Edited by AnX, 18 May 2015 - 05:31 AM.

AMD FX-8320 8-core CPU (OC to 4.4GHz) with Hyper 212 Evo, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD (OS) and 500GB HDD (Storage), Sapphire R7 260X 2GB Graphics Card, 620W Seasonic S12II, CM HAF 912 case.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

create a crash dump (http://msdn.microsof...181(VS.85).aspx), open it in Windbg, fix the symbols (https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/311503/en-us), now run !analyze -v and it should tell you which file was not found.


Posted Image

#53
AnX

AnX

    Fighting for the right to OS since 2010

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 216 posts
  • Joined 20-June 12
  • OS:Windows 10 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm sort of confused as to what should I do here. Let me elaborate. I tried copying those files that are supposed to go into the Core-Static folder. WITHOUT those modded files placed in, it works BUT throws an error about user32.dll.
WITH those modded files, it crashes as seen above and nothing is operable.

Do these files actually fix the user32.dll error? Or are they meant for something else?


AMD FX-8320 8-core CPU (OC to 4.4GHz) with Hyper 212 Evo, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD (OS) and 500GB HDD (Storage), Sapphire R7 260X 2GB Graphics Card, 620W Seasonic S12II, CM HAF 912 case.


#54
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

my steps fix nothing, you can only see WHICH dll is missing.


Posted Image

#55
smeezekitty

smeezekitty

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 43 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm sort of confused as to what should I do here. Let me elaborate. I tried copying those files that are supposed to go into the Core-Static folder. WITHOUT those modded files placed in, it works BUT throws an error about user32.dll.
WITH those modded files, it crashes as seen above and nothing is operable.

Do these files actually fix the user32.dll error? Or are they meant for something else?

They ONLY fix powrprof.dll errors. Not user32.dll

 

On 14.12, the user32.dll error is annoying but harmless.



#56
AnX

AnX

    Fighting for the right to OS since 2010

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 216 posts
  • Joined 20-June 12
  • OS:Windows 10 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I have the powwrap.dll and i don't get anything related to powprof. So all good right? I'm using the stock catalyst control center that came with 15.4, and the 15.4 drivers which i used your custom wrappers in. Only issue comes up when i install those files that have to go into the core-static folder. Without them, everything is fine apart from the user32.dll error. Which is pretty minimal as i really never reboot the system.

 

Anyway, thanks for the work you put in smeezekitty, its nice seeing a vista diehard like you around.


Edited by AnX, 18 May 2015 - 11:39 PM.

AMD FX-8320 8-core CPU (OC to 4.4GHz) with Hyper 212 Evo, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD (OS) and 500GB HDD (Storage), Sapphire R7 260X 2GB Graphics Card, 620W Seasonic S12II, CM HAF 912 case.


#57
AnX

AnX

    Fighting for the right to OS since 2010

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 216 posts
  • Joined 20-June 12
  • OS:Windows 10 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It seems that the SetThreadErrorMode is triggered by these new Catalyst drivers.
Previously, I have not had a single error from this game. Smeezekitty, would it be possible to stub this call
in a wrapper to fix these errors? They get annoying at times.

 

0ffec6140312420415a08e33313a2015.png


AMD FX-8320 8-core CPU (OC to 4.4GHz) with Hyper 212 Evo, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD (OS) and 500GB HDD (Storage), Sapphire R7 260X 2GB Graphics Card, 620W Seasonic S12II, CM HAF 912 case.


#58
smeezekitty

smeezekitty

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 43 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

It seems that the SetThreadErrorMode is triggered by these new Catalyst drivers.
Previously, I have not had a single error from this game. Smeezekitty, would it be possible to stub this call
in a wrapper to fix these errors? They get annoying at times.

 

0ffec6140312420415a08e33313a2015.png

https://msdn.microso...0(v=vs.85).aspx

 

I am guessing it is safe to stub. It doesn't look like it would honestly change much to not use the function except for what kind of message is shown when an error occurs.


Edited by smeezekitty, 27 May 2015 - 05:15 PM.


#59
11ryanc

11ryanc

    Usability is an essential

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 24-September 13
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I've been using 7 x64 the past month or so, want to make a return back to Vista. Thing is, the Catalyst drivers would always seem to cripple Windows Explorer. Last version I used was 13.12. My view and sorting settings would change at random, as would the templates themselves. OS was almost unusable. Damage would set in within a week. Happens on every single AMD/ATI device I have in the house, I don't understand it. Last time Vista worked properly was on an old Compaq 6005 Pro, some cheap onboard video. Driver was pre 13.12. Last I remember it behaving. I've never witnessed the anomaly on anything else before. I VM Vista quite a bit to test stuff too. I also know people just fine using GTX 760's.

I'm going to be testing this Omega wrapper on my other hard drive. Really hoping to find a solution to this, bizarre, and near undocumented issue. Hate having to abandon my OS and working software over such a thing.

Any ideas or insight would be greatly appreciated. Using an XFX R7 240. Prior to that was a 6670. Bug persisted either way.

Update 7-28-15:

Over a week now on your 14.12 wrapper, and all is working great. Better full screen scaling in games, smoother Dreamscene, and best of all no breakage. Catalyst Control did not work at 1st, but eventually opens now after updates. I only have the one error at initial login. Thus far no further issues.

Really appreciate the efforts :)


Edited by 11ryanc, 28 July 2015 - 07:12 PM.

31824.png

 


#60
yousuckstoo

yousuckstoo
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined Today, 08:01 PM
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It seems that the SetThreadErrorMode is triggered by these new Catalyst drivers.
Previously, I have not had a single error from this game. Smeezekitty, would it be possible to stub this call
in a wrapper to fix these errors? They get annoying at times.

 

0ffec6140312420415a08e33313a2015.png

Its weird, i installed 15.4 with the patch  (i downloaded gta 5 and catalyst 14.9 isnt optimized for this game)

vista%20x64.jpg

 

as you can see at the right, i can play inkball without problems, the only error i got its the user32.dll running the crew and CCC, but its fine,if i disable CCC for startup the message error never appears again.

I tried this patch to make install 15.7,but doesnt works, appareantly,the driver installs fine,but shows two pop ups errors,and aero cannot be enable again and ccc dont startup to check the version of the drivers,so its usseless right now.

For me its ok,i dont play games wich requieres 15.7 to ran fine (i only play Counter GO, GTA 5, Hardline and sometimes CoD Black Ops 2)

i hope we can find the new fix, for those people want be ussing vista until be impossible install the newest drivers.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users