Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Catalyst 14.12 ("Omega") on Vista

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#51
AnX

AnX

    Fighting for the right to OS since 2010

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Joined 20-June 12
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Latest 15.4 "beta" works great with Omega driver fix. :yes:

 

1bb68f4af9fb9c2f9053acfb6f1fcab0.png

 

Unfortunately, whenever I load up CCC, this happens

 

 

62cddcb01aed04dec93ec951aa8c8dd2.png

 

This is a fresh Vista install, this is the only driver that has ever run. I followed instructions correctly, but it still pops up.

 

However, If i don't install those DLL fixes for CCC, it runs perfectly, albeit the user32.dll error
 

2a08a1cf808c0cc92571867daed0a7a6.png


Edited by AnX, 18 May 2015 - 05:31 AM.

Vista SP2 to Vista RTM is as XP SP2 is to XP RTM.
 

AMD FX-8320 8-core CPU (OC to 4.4GHz) with Hyper 212 Evo, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD (Vista SP2 X64) and 500GB HDD (Storage), Sapphire R7 260X 2GB Graphics Card, 620W Seasonic S12II, CM HAF 912 case.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

create a crash dump (http://msdn.microsof...181(VS.85).aspx), open it in Windbg, fix the symbols (https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/311503/en-us), now run !analyze -v and it should tell you which file was not found.


Posted Image

#53
AnX

AnX

    Fighting for the right to OS since 2010

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Joined 20-June 12
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm sort of confused as to what should I do here. Let me elaborate. I tried copying those files that are supposed to go into the Core-Static folder. WITHOUT those modded files placed in, it works BUT throws an error about user32.dll.
WITH those modded files, it crashes as seen above and nothing is operable.

Do these files actually fix the user32.dll error? Or are they meant for something else?


Vista SP2 to Vista RTM is as XP SP2 is to XP RTM.
 

AMD FX-8320 8-core CPU (OC to 4.4GHz) with Hyper 212 Evo, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD (Vista SP2 X64) and 500GB HDD (Storage), Sapphire R7 260X 2GB Graphics Card, 620W Seasonic S12II, CM HAF 912 case.


#54
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

my steps fix nothing, you can only see WHICH dll is missing.


Posted Image

#55
smeezekitty

smeezekitty

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm sort of confused as to what should I do here. Let me elaborate. I tried copying those files that are supposed to go into the Core-Static folder. WITHOUT those modded files placed in, it works BUT throws an error about user32.dll.
WITH those modded files, it crashes as seen above and nothing is operable.

Do these files actually fix the user32.dll error? Or are they meant for something else?

They ONLY fix powrprof.dll errors. Not user32.dll

 

On 14.12, the user32.dll error is annoying but harmless.



#56
AnX

AnX

    Fighting for the right to OS since 2010

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Joined 20-June 12
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I have the powwrap.dll and i don't get anything related to powprof. So all good right? I'm using the stock catalyst control center that came with 15.4, and the 15.4 drivers which i used your custom wrappers in. Only issue comes up when i install those files that have to go into the core-static folder. Without them, everything is fine apart from the user32.dll error. Which is pretty minimal as i really never reboot the system.

 

Anyway, thanks for the work you put in smeezekitty, its nice seeing a vista diehard like you around.


Edited by AnX, 18 May 2015 - 11:39 PM.

Vista SP2 to Vista RTM is as XP SP2 is to XP RTM.
 

AMD FX-8320 8-core CPU (OC to 4.4GHz) with Hyper 212 Evo, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD (Vista SP2 X64) and 500GB HDD (Storage), Sapphire R7 260X 2GB Graphics Card, 620W Seasonic S12II, CM HAF 912 case.


#57
AnX

AnX

    Fighting for the right to OS since 2010

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Joined 20-June 12
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It seems that the SetThreadErrorMode is triggered by these new Catalyst drivers.
Previously, I have not had a single error from this game. Smeezekitty, would it be possible to stub this call
in a wrapper to fix these errors? They get annoying at times.

 

0ffec6140312420415a08e33313a2015.png


Vista SP2 to Vista RTM is as XP SP2 is to XP RTM.
 

AMD FX-8320 8-core CPU (OC to 4.4GHz) with Hyper 212 Evo, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD (Vista SP2 X64) and 500GB HDD (Storage), Sapphire R7 260X 2GB Graphics Card, 620W Seasonic S12II, CM HAF 912 case.


#58
smeezekitty

smeezekitty

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 03-December 13
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag

It seems that the SetThreadErrorMode is triggered by these new Catalyst drivers.
Previously, I have not had a single error from this game. Smeezekitty, would it be possible to stub this call
in a wrapper to fix these errors? They get annoying at times.

 

0ffec6140312420415a08e33313a2015.png

https://msdn.microso...0(v=vs.85).aspx

 

I am guessing it is safe to stub. It doesn't look like it would honestly change much to not use the function except for what kind of message is shown when an error occurs.


Edited by smeezekitty, 27 May 2015 - 05:15 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users