Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Exe's won't open in win 98 except by using run. How to upgrade

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1
jreed3

jreed3
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 17-January 15
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Reinstalled win 98 on lod computer because exe's would not longer run. Problem continues but is corrected when antivirus is run. Problem returns after start up. Also what is the best way to upgrade win 98 to win 98 se?

 

Thanks




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
jreed3

jreed3
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 17-January 15
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

The restoration disk installed 98 instead of 98se.



#3
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,438 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Like this -

http://www.ebay.com/...L-/301038602089

Retail or Upgrade will work. OEM will not.

edit - a cheaper one -

http://www.ebay.com/...=item3cf0dacd4b

 

HTH


Edited by submix8c, 17 January 2015 - 10:26 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#4
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,438 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

You have gotten a virus, obviously. It "kills" registry entries upon Startup.

 

Your other Topic -

http://www.msfn.org/...8-to-win-98-se/


Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#5
ZortMcGort11

ZortMcGort11

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 610 posts
  • Joined 20-August 12
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

what Antivirus program are you using?

#6
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,083 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Merged both topics. :ph34r:


MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#7
jreed3

jreed3
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 17-January 15
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Will the Win 95 to Win 98 SE upgrade work for Win 98 to Win 98 SE?

 

I used an old version of McAfee. The other I tried said they were expecting a newer version of windows. 



#8
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,438 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

1 - Not really sure. I'd have to try it (I own all three). I give that a big *MAYBE*.

2 - McAfee stinks. Unsure of another suitable free version except...

2a - SpyBot v1.62 (scroll down to that older version - only for Spyware) http://www.safer-networking.org/dl/

2b - Maybe http://www.oldapps.c...stem=Windows_98

2c - Clamwin - http://www.clamwin.com/

If you *do* have a virus, an Upgrade 98->98SE won't help a bit.

 

HTH and good luck.


Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#9
jreed3

jreed3
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 17-January 15
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks for the response.

 

I  seem to be in a catch 22. It seems I need 98 se to run a decent anti virus such as the ones you've mentioned above. When I try to install them, I am informed that the software expects a newer version of windows 98 and to try again when I have one.



#10
M()zart

M()zart

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 287 posts
  • Joined 17-June 08
AVZ Antiviral Toolkit can repair exe association. It should run on Windows 98 SE, but I'm not sure about FE. Note that it's not a full-featured antivirus, but rather a tool for professionals for removing malicious software.
To restore exe associations, on the File menu click System Restore, then select the first check box and click the corresponding button to perform the operation. I'm using a russian version, so I'm not sure if menu commands are named as I wrote.

Edit: Even after restoring EXE association it's strongly recommended to check your system with a full-featured antivirus. You can try downloading and burning a boot CD with an antivirus, and then check the system after booting from the CD - without the need to upgrade Windows.

Edited by M()zart, 22 January 2015 - 08:07 AM.


#11
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,325 posts
  • Joined 21-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

You may get lucky using one of the Kaspersky tools on this page, specifically CleanAutoRun.



#12
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,438 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Additionally, this sounds familar.

https://support.micr...kb/250931/EN-US

 

See this for a complete Registry fix (scroll down to the Windows 98 one):

http://filext.com/fa...association.php

Download it (DOWNLOAD, not run) to a safe place, *then* double-click on it (hopefully, that's not screwed up). The REG file contents will add/merge/replace whatever is incorrect in the Registry. Now reboot and see if you're fixed. If it does *not* merge, just do "Start->Run->Regedit" and "import" the REG file and reboot.

 

HTH


Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#13
Mijzelf

Mijzelf

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 463 posts
  • Joined 11-April 07
I remember a virus (looong ago) which hijacked the exe registration. Instead of "%1" %* it did \full\path\to\virus.exe "%1" %*. This way the virus was activated as soon a you started an executable.

Then the virusscanner removed the virus, but did not correct the registry key. Result: you could no longer start an executable, not even regedit.
Solution: Boot the box to dos (F8 while booting? Long ago), rename regedit.exe to regedit.com. Boot to Windows, execute regedit.com and fix the entry.

Edited by Mijzelf, 23 January 2015 - 03:21 AM.


#14
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,083 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I've seen that registry thing also, definately from the days of Windows 98. It is still used by current day viruses too, ran into one maybe a year ago that did this.


MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#15
M()zart

M()zart

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 287 posts
  • Joined 17-June 08

I remember a virus (looong ago) which hijacked the exe registration. Instead of "%1" %* it did \full\path\to\virus.exe "%1" %*. This way the virus was activated as soon a you started an executable.

Then the virusscanner removed the virus, but did not correct the registry key. Result: you could no longer start an executable, not even regedit.
Solution: Boot the box to dos (F8 while booting? Long ago), rename regedit.exe to regedit.com. Boot to Windows, execute regedit.com and fix the entry.


I had such problem too. I did it in a longer way - wrote an application that runs exe's passed as a command line parameters with their passed command line and placed it to the virus location :)
Then used AVZ.

#16
jreed3

jreed3
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 17-January 15
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks, everyone, for your help. Maybe when this gets resolved, I'll start on my TI-99s.



#17
ZortMcGort11

ZortMcGort11

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 610 posts
  • Joined 20-August 12
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

another thing to try is F-prot for DOS... no "windows needs upgrading" bullkrap here. It was last updated in 2008 but it still covers a wide range of DOS/Windows 98 era viruses. Nothing to lose in trying it out. (One time it repaired my boot sector that got infected and I couldn't even load anything... obviously since the MBR was toast)

 

Run using the switch "F-prot /old"

 

download this file....

 

ftp://ftp.sac.sk/pub/sac/avir/fp-316f.zip

 

then download this one to the same directory, and when it askes you to overwrite files click yes.

 

ftp://ftp.sac.sk/pub/sac/avir/fp-def.zip

 

P.S. Windows is balls...

 

also trying googling "Rhbvs" rose heuristic based virus scanner.

 

good day.


Edited by ZortMcGort11, Today, 02:46 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users