Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows 10

+ModernFrame.dll 10.0.10130

  • Please log in to reply
823 replies to this topic

#801
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

@NoelC, is your taskbar blurred?

Mine is!  

 

:( mine not

 

Do you have EnableBlurBehind DWORD under  HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Themes\Personalize?

I only have this problem on this new build, worked just fine in 10130 :(




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#802
dhjohns

dhjohns

    Legend in My Own Mind

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Joined 26-January 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

 

@NoelC, is your taskbar blurred?

Mine is!  

 

:( mine not

 

Do you have EnableBlurBehind DWORD under  HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Themes\Personalize?

I only have this problem on this new build, worked just fine in 10130 :(

 

Use SetWindowCompositionAttribute.exe found on bm's site.



#803
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Use SetWindowCompositionAttribute.exe found on bm's site.

 

 

Tried it, doesn't work



#804
dhjohns

dhjohns

    Legend in My Own Mind

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Joined 26-January 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Use SetWindowCompositionAttribute.exe found on bm's site.

 

 

Tried it, doesn't work

 

Well, that is what I am using. It does work if you set it up properly.



#805
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,286 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

No dwm.exe restarts with 10159!

It is random. It even works on 10158 (except glass safety zone implementation) but it depends what data are stored in invalidly pointed memory. I actually don't know if there is some possibility to check that pointer is invalid and I should not inject my code. Currently, it does only "if(pData != NULL)".


  • dhjohns likes this
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#806
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

 

Use SetWindowCompositionAttribute.exe found on bm's site.

 

 

Tried it, doesn't work

 

Well, that is what I am using. It does work if you set it up properly.

 

 

Please  <_<



#807
dhjohns

dhjohns

    Legend in My Own Mind

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Joined 26-January 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I pasted below in notepad and called it Taskbarblur.cmd  I put it on my root drive.  Delete lines with Secondary if only using one  monitor.

 

@echo off
:1
SetWindowCompositionAttribute.exe class Shell_TrayWnd accent 0 0 0 0
SetWindowCompositionAttribute.exe class Shell_TrayWnd blur true
SetWindowCompositionAttribute.exe class Shell_SecondaryTrayWnd accent 0 0 0 0
SetWindowCompositionAttribute.exe class Shell_SecondaryTrayWnd blur true
timeout /T 2 /nobreak
cls
goto 1

 

Then I pasted below in notepad, and called it StartTaskbarBlurMinimum.cmd and place it on root drive.  I created a task to start when logging in.

 

start /min C:\Taskbarblur.cmd
exit

 

Make sure SetWindowCompositionAttribute.exe is in \Windows\System32.

 

Create shortcut to ColorIntensitySlider  %windir%\System32\rundll32.exe shell32.dll,Control_RunDLL desk.cpl,Advanced,@Advanced

 

Adjust as needed.

 

 

I ALSO HAVE BLUR DEVIATION SET TO  30.


Edited by dhjohns, 01 July 2015 - 10:12 AM.


#808
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Not that kind of blur, but the default one. 


Edited by Tusticles, 01 July 2015 - 10:18 AM.


#809
dhjohns

dhjohns

    Legend in My Own Mind

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Joined 26-January 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes, not working...

You have Aeroglass up and running, correct?  No Aeroglass, no work.


Edited by dhjohns, 01 July 2015 - 10:19 AM.


#810
dhjohns

dhjohns

    Legend in My Own Mind

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Joined 26-January 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Not that kind of blur, but the default one. 

Default blur is

 

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

 

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Themes\Personalize]
"EnableBlurBehind"=dword:00000001



#811
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Not that kind of blur, but the default one. 

Default blur is

 

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

 

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Themes\Personalize]
"EnableBlurBehind"=dword:00000001

 

 

That's the problem, the value is ignored. There is blur on start menu and some other ares but not on taskbar, so I tried to disable the blur completely to fit with the whole theme but EnableBlurBehind is ignored.


Edited by Tusticles, 01 July 2015 - 10:37 AM.


#812
NoelC

NoelC

    Software Engineer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,440 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

FYI, to the best of my knowledge Microsoft has delivered their "native blur" to only about half the recipients of the Win 10 preview builds.

 

I guess they're looking to get overwhelmingly more positive feedback from one group than the other, before they choose to abandon the concept.

 

But it's a flawed test.  Without a full Aero Glass theme implementation - which anyone who knows anything realizes goes beyond just the translucency - what Microsoft has done is just stupid.  They didn't bother with Window borders, and their implementation is poor by comparison to that from Windows 7 or Big Muscle's Aero Glass.  It's a bit like "throwing users a bone" with no meat on it.

 

 If you're one of the folks with no blur, I suggest using the Feedback App to request the resurrection of Aero Glass - though chances are it'll make no difference.  Microsoft is confusing having their heads up their rear ends with leadership.

 

For Classic Shell users, see also:  http://www.classicsh...&p=20064#p20064

 

-Noel


Edited by NoelC, 01 July 2015 - 11:17 AM.


#813
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

FYI, to the best of my knowledge Microsoft has delivered their "native blur" to only about half the recipients of the Win 10 preview builds.

 

I guess they're looking to get overwhelmingly more positive feedback from one group than the other, before they choose to abandon the concept.

 

But it's a flawed test.  Without a full Aero Glass theme implementation - which anyone who knows anything realizes goes beyond just the translucency - what Microsoft has done is just stupid.  They didn't bother with Window borders, and their implementation is poor by comparison to that from Windows 7 or Big Muscle's Aero Glass.  It's a bit like "throwing users a bone" with no meat on it.

 

 If you're one of the folks with no blur, I suggest using the Feedback App to request the resurrection of Aero Glass - though chances are it'll make no difference.  Microsoft is confusing having their heads up their rear ends with leadership.

 

-Noel

 

Nope, must be a bug, it worked just fine in the previous versions, in 10147, 10158 and 10159 the taskbar is not blurred, but the start menu and other areas are :|



#814
NoelC

NoelC

    Software Engineer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,440 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Maybe Microsoft is just looking to see if you complain about it being gone.  But seriously, what makes you think you should see it work the same way in two different builds?  50% random chance doesn't mean you'll see it every other time, either.

 

FYI, I disabled Big Muscle's Aero Glass entirely and the Windows native Taskbar blur is still not there.  If it's a bug, it's not with Big Muscle's code.

 

-Noel



#815
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Maybe Microsoft is just looking to see if you complain about it being gone.  But seriously, what makes you think you should see it work the same way in two different builds?  50% random chance doesn't mean you'll see it every other time, either.

 

FYI, I disabled Big Muscle's Aero Glass entirely and the Windows native Taskbar blur is still not there.  If it's a bug, it's not with Big Muscle's code.

 

-Noel

 

Why would they disable it on taskbar only? :|

 

Anyway, I can't send feedback for some reason :(


Edited by Tusticles, 01 July 2015 - 12:23 PM.


#816
doctorwizz

doctorwizz
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 10-July 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

There is a transparent option in windows 10. Look at the bottom of this image.

 

YC1dqeH.png



#817
shelter

shelter

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 27-October 13
  • OS:Windows 10 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

 

@NoelC, is your taskbar blurred?

Mine is!  

 

:( mine not

 

Do you have EnableBlurBehind DWORD under  HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Themes\Personalize?

I only have this problem on this new build, worked just fine in 10130 :(

 

 

Is that supposed to make the taskbar blurry too? My start menu is blurry but not the taskbar.

(not running aero glass atm)

 

EDIT:

I left feedback and reported is as a bug to msft. I saw someone else mentioning that build 10158 got the same problem.


Edited by shelter, 01 July 2015 - 05:39 PM.


#818
Tusticles

Tusticles

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Joined 03-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 
Do you have EnableBlurBehind DWORD under  HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Themes\Personalize?
I only have this problem on this new build, worked just fine in 10130 :(

 
Is that supposed to make the taskbar blurry too?
 

Yes

#819
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,286 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

 

This is 10158 and your atlas theme thanks NoelC

 

Looks as though now they're drawing the caption buttons taller, relative to the title bar height.  I really liked them shorter, so I've changed the graphics a little.  I've had ZERO time to test this, but it might make the caption buttons a little less awkwardly positioned...  Chances are I still need to move some things around, but here you go:

 

Noel, were you able to change caption button height by some settings or is it only hack by making the button image smaller in the atlas?

 

I'm asking because it seems that it accepts registry settings in "WindowMetrics\CaptionHeight" but it does not take the real value. It is probably (not exactly) double of used value and value "CaptionHeight" influences both height and weight. Value "CaptionWidth" seems to be ignored.


Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#820
daveo76

daveo76

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 230 posts
  • Joined 27-August 13
  • OS:Windows 10 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Since Build 10147 the taskbar hasn't been blurred even if you switch it on. But using BM aeroglass with Classic Shell makes the taskbar blurred



#821
NoelC

NoelC

    Software Engineer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,440 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I lowered the height of the title bar via the following registry entries, which were originally saved from a Windows 7 system:

 

http://Noel.ProDigit...ndowMetrics.reg

 

And I admit I didn't experiment with those values - I just made the button graphics a few pixels shorter in order to leave a little room above the client area.

 

The positioning of the -, [ ], and X graphics inside the button outlines isn't perfect in build 10159...  Sometimes it's centered vertically and sometimes it's a bit below the centerline.

 

-Noel



#822
NoelC

NoelC

    Software Engineer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,440 posts
  • Joined 08-April 13
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Since Build 10147 the taskbar hasn't been blurred even if you switch it on. But using BM aeroglass with Classic Shell makes the taskbar blurred

 

Except that Ivo has just removed that setting from Classic Shell version 4.2.2, and he seems so far convinced it doesn't need to be put back, because apparently he gets the blur on his own system from Windows itself.  I posted a link to a discussion on that about 10 posts up in this thread.

 

-Noel



#823
bigmuscle

bigmuscle

    Aero Glass for Win8 developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,286 posts
  • Joined 18-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Anyone still running build 10130 and could provide ApplicationFrame.dll, I forgot to back it up before upgrade. PM me, please - don't send in public. Got it, thanks.


Edited by bigmuscle, Yesterday, 11:27 AM.

  • dhjohns likes this
Aero Glass for Win8.x --> http://www.glass8.eu

#824
shelter

shelter

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 27-October 13
  • OS:Windows 10 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Not really related but it's been discussed, the taskbar is still transparent (no blur) in 10162.






2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users