Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Dolphin (and pcsx2 as well) doesn't work on windows 98

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1
junior600

junior600

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Does this gamecube emulator (dolphin 3.00) work on windows 98+kernelex 2015? I have tried to run it, but it says me that it is missing a function in "imagehlp.dll" xD You can find the file exe there

http://www.dolphin-e...=v30&arch=win32

I hope someone can find a solution.




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Joined 12-January 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

Dunno which version of imagehlp.dll you have in Win98, but Dolphin 3 and 3.5 load fine for me with stock imagehlp.dll on WinME (v5.0.2178.1).



#3
CamTron

CamTron

    XPocalypse Survivor

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 09-April 14
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

Does this gamecube emulator (dolphin 3.00) work on windows 98+kernelex 2015? I have tried to run it, but it says me that it is missing a function in "imagehlp.dll" xD You can find the file exe there

http://www.dolphin-e...=v30&arch=win32

I hope someone can find a solution.

I've gotten one version of Dolphin (It was either 3.5 or 4.0, can't remember which) to "run" on Windows 98 with the standard KernelEx 4.5.2, however I couldn't run any games because my old graphics card doesn't fully support DirectX 9. If it requires some missing functions from a dll (that's not a core system dll like Kernel32.dll and friends), a lot of times I can make it work by copying the said dll from a Windows XP machine and place it in the directory of the executable. I may have had to add a few Kext stubs to make it work, but I can't remember.

 

Good luck finding Windows 9x compatible hardware that's powerful enough for Gamecube emulation!  ;)


Keyboard failure...
Strike the f1 key to continue, f2 to run the setup utility.

#4
junior600

junior600

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Dunno which version of imagehlp.dll you have in Win98, but Dolphin 3 and 3.5 load fine for me with stock imagehlp.dll on WinME (v5.0.2178.1).

 

 

 

Does this gamecube emulator (dolphin 3.00) work on windows 98+kernelex 2015? I have tried to run it, but it says me that it is missing a function in "imagehlp.dll" xD You can find the file exe there

http://www.dolphin-e...=v30&arch=win32

I hope someone can find a solution.

I've gotten one version of Dolphin (It was either 3.5 or 4.0, can't remember which) to "run" on Windows 98 with the standard KernelEx 4.5.2, however I couldn't run any games because my old graphics card doesn't fully support DirectX 9. If it requires some missing functions from a dll (that's not a core system dll like Kernel32.dll and friends), a lot of times I can make it work by copying the said dll from a Windows XP machine and place it in the directory of the executable. I may have had to add a few Kext stubs to make it work, but I can't remember.

 

Good luck finding Windows 9x compatible hardware that's powerful enough for Gamecube emulation!  ;)

 

Thanks, then I will try to replace the imagehlp.dll with a new one XD My windows 98's  config is:

amd phenom x3 8450

2 gb ram

geforce 6800 GS PCI-EXPRESS

 

I have another PC (my pc gaming) with

Intel core i5 4590

4 gb ram

geforce GTX 960 (But I can't install windows 98 in this config because of vga... There are no drivers for the nvidia gtx 960 ahah. )

 

I will tell you if the emulator works as soon as possible :)


Edited by junior600, 26 August 2015 - 12:06 PM.


#5
junior600

junior600

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello everyone, I have installed kernelex 2015 (jumper's version) and now I want to get dolphin emulator to work on windows 98...

I managed to run dolphin with the kernelex but now, if I try to run a game, it shows me this error (error 406d1388H)... I don't know what should I do XD This error message appears when I try to run pcsx2 too :(

BsjrEhd.jpg



#6
Mathwiz

Mathwiz

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 57 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Do you get the same error if you run the Dolphin emulator under KernelEx 4.5.2?

 

Remember 4.5.2015.x is experimental; it is not even a beta release. So it may have some bugs that 4.5.2 does not have.



#7
junior600

junior600

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Do you get the same error if you run the Dolphin emulator under KernelEx 4.5.2?

 

Remember 4.5.2015.x is experimental; it is not even a beta release. So it may have some bugs that 4.5.2 does not have.

Ok I have tried with kernel 4.5.2... But it shows me the same error messagge :no:



#8
jumper

jumper

    2015 All-American Masters HJ'er

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 584 posts
  • Joined 21-January 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
And what is the full text (not screencap) of that error message?
Design feedback requested:
KernelEx 4.5.2015
IHAtool - IpHlpApi tester; call various functions and report results
--status-> framework is solid; 22 api's fully supported; preview release coming soon
Future projects: Kexter - IP40+Ktree+Kexstubs

#9
junior600

junior600

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

And what is the full text (not screencap) of that error message?

This is the full text. (the same error message shows with pcsx2)

 

DOLPHIN caused an exception 406d1388H in module DOLPHIN.EXE in 0177:007b41a3.

Registers:
EAX=00000000 CS=0177 EIP=007b41a3 EFLGS=00000246
EBX=827458b8 SS=017f ESP=0673fea0 EBP=0673fed4
ECX=0673feac DS=017f ESI=ffffffff FS=13a7
EDX=8275f258 ES=017f EDI=8275f250 GS=0f36
Byte all'indirizzo CS:EIP:
89 75 fc 8b 4d f0 64 89 0d 00 00 00 00 5f 5e 5b
Stack dump:
8275f250 050287c0 827458b8 00001000 00b54d9c ffffffff 00000000 0673fea0 0673fb50 0673ff44 008f54c8 00c43fd8 00000000 0508ec00 008263aa 00b54d9c


Edited by junior600, 27 August 2015 - 05:03 PM.


#10
jumper

jumper

    2015 All-American Masters HJ'er

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 584 posts
  • Joined 21-January 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
For dolphin-3.0-win32.exe ImportPatcher41 reports:

[Patches needed]
Dolphin.exe=Subsystem, DLLs, Functions

[imagehlp.dll]
SymGetLineFromAddr=

[DLL replacements]
VCOMP100.DLL=
XINPUT1_3.dll=


But 007b41a3 isn't a valid address in Dolphin 3.0, and now I see this error text doesn't match the original screencap, so you gave the error text for a different version! wrong error text!

(However, the opcode bytes do match so maybe I can get a headstart on the debugging while I await the correct error text....)

>(the same error message shows with pcsx2)
No it doesn'tThe error code might be the same, but the message details will differ somewhat ....Please provide that error text and a link to that app as well.

Edit: Removed some of the late-night gruff.

Edited by jumper, 30 August 2015 - 12:43 AM.

Design feedback requested:
KernelEx 4.5.2015
IHAtool - IpHlpApi tester; call various functions and report results
--status-> framework is solid; 22 api's fully supported; preview release coming soon
Future projects: Kexter - IP40+Ktree+Kexstubs

#11
junior600

junior600

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

For dolphin-3.0-win32.exe ImportPatcher41 reports:

[Patches needed]
Dolphin.exe=Subsystem, DLLs, Functions

[imagehlp.dll]
SymGetLineFromAddr=

[DLL replacements]
VCOMP100.DLL=
XINPUT1_3.dll=


But 007b41a3 isn't a valid address in Dolphin 3.0, and now I see this error text doesn't match the original screencap, so you gave the wrong error text!

(However, the opcode bytes do match so maybe I can get a headstart on the debugging while I await the correct error text....)


>(the same error message shows with pcsx2)
No it doesn't....Please provide that error text and a link to that app as well.

 

Sorry for the late reply... Yes, the error messagges are different xD The first one (dolphin 3.5) shows me this:

"DOLPHIN ha provocato un errore 406d1388H nel modulo DOLPHIN.EXE in 0177:007b41a3.
Registri:
EAX=00000000 CS=0177 EIP=007b41a3 EFLGS=00000246
EBX=8275d2c8 SS=017f ESP=0673fea0 EBP=0673fed4
ECX=0673feac DS=017f ESI=ffffffff FS=0f67
EDX=8275c780 ES=017f EDI=8275c778 GS=5946
Byte all'indirizzo CS:EIP:
89 75 fc 8b 4d f0 64 89 0d 00 00 00 00 5f 5e 5b
Immagine dello stack:
8275c778 050287c0 8275d2c8 00001000 00b54d9c ffffffff 00000000 0673fea0 0673fb50 0673ff44 008f54c8 00c43fd8 00000000 0508ec00 008263aa 00b54d9c"

vQREMLp.png  8T7PbK9.png

 

And this is the pcsx2 error message :

PCSX2-R4600 ha provocato un errore 406d1388H nel modulo PCSX2-R4600.EXE in 0177:004970dc.
Registri:
EAX=00000000 CS=0177 EIP=004970dc EFLGS=00000246
EBX=00497100 SS=017f ESP=02e0fe44 EBP=02e0fe7c
ECX=02e0fe50 DS=017f ESI=027918bc FS=2aef
EDX=027a53a2 ES=017f EDI=00000000 GS=0000
Byte all'indirizzo CS:EIP:
eb 07 33 c0 40 c3 8b 65 e8 83 4d fc ff e8 3d aa
Immagine dello stack:
00000000 027918bc 00497100 00001000 0271b7c0 ffe2e3af 00000000 02e0fe7c 02e0fe44 02e0faf4 02e0fe8c 0057aff6 0078c548 00000000 02e0fe98 0048686f

SJIcO1D.png  U7EHEcs.png

 

 

You can find the file exe at this link

http://pcsx2.net/dow...ows-binary.html

 

 

But I think they can't run on windows 98 :/


Edited by junior600, 28 August 2015 - 05:58 AM.


#12
jumper

jumper

    2015 All-American Masters HJ'er

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 584 posts
  • Joined 21-January 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks. Turns out there isn't actually an error at all!

They are calling RaiseException with value 406d1388H to talk to the MS VisualStudio debugger (which they shouldn't be doing in a release version.) The exception is "continuable" meaning the debugger can process it or ignore it and then the app should continue.

The workaround is to run them in a debugger. Finesse might do.

Edit:

MSDN Blogs > Bug Babble > Naming threads in Win32 And .Net

The native method of setting the thread name is implemented by raising an SEH exception that is continued. If you go to the docs on RaiseException you'll see part of the reason for this strange mechanism. An attached native debugger will get a 'first chance' notification of the exception. Raising an exception is precisely what you need to do to get the native debugger's attention. The one raised here (0x406D1388) is recognized by VS (and WinDbg).


Edited by jumper, 31 August 2015 - 12:59 PM.

Design feedback requested:
KernelEx 4.5.2015
IHAtool - IpHlpApi tester; call various functions and report results
--status-> framework is solid; 22 api's fully supported; preview release coming soon
Future projects: Kexter - IP40+Ktree+Kexstubs

#13
CamTron

CamTron

    XPocalypse Survivor

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 09-April 14
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

Just posted something and realized you pretty much summed it up in the last post. It's late and I'm tired.  :boring:

 

I wonder if there's a way to have KernelEx install an exception handler for that exception at program startup, so that it gets ignored like on later versions of Windows.


Edited by CamTron, 29 August 2015 - 09:37 PM.

Keyboard failure...
Strike the f1 key to continue, f2 to run the setup utility.

#14
junior600

junior600

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Sorry for the late reply. Thanks for your help ;D But I have got some error messagges even with Finesse... The dolphin emulator shows me this (I have put sdl.dll in System folder, but without success xD )

 

0cBYhqh.png

 

And the pcsx2 emulator shows me this

6Qzb2xM.png

 

I have launched the emulators by dropping them onto Finesse.



#15
ROTS

ROTS

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Joined 22-September 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I love Windows 98 and all but those TV toys needs more juice.

I could go on forever about how great a ride it was until 2004/2011 where the federal governments decided to delete privacy command. Seriously just use an NT OS for the Gamecube or even PS2. Even the "Steam Box" ( a more later version of it ) is able to run those things.

Otherwise in my opinion computers are not fast enough or reasonable enough to have the portability of those machines. It is far easier and more cheaper to purchase the actual products and run off them.

The GCN is an PPC derivative and the PS2 is really SONY personal Operating System. So what I am trying to say is that you are licked on both ends. Right now the Saturn, and Dreamcast is a go. The PSX looks like God on Acid. Even the original X-box is able to run smoothly ( But most of those games are ported to XP and Vista with enhancements.

Edited by ROTS, 01 September 2015 - 01:14 AM.


#16
CamTron

CamTron

    XPocalypse Survivor

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 09-April 14
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

Does that SDL.DLL error happen right when you start Dolphin, or when you try to start the game? If it happens right when you start Dolphin, you might try opening it first and then attaching FineSSE to the process. It's possible that FineSSE might be interfering when it tries to load the DLL.

 

As for PCSX2, you're getting the same exact exception, but FineSSE is catching it and shutting down the program rather than Windows. I've never used FineSSE at all, but I'd think there's a way to make it ignore that exception.

 

There's no reason why the developers of both of those applications should be including code that throws those exceptions in a release version that's not meant to be debugged anyway.


Keyboard failure...
Strike the f1 key to continue, f2 to run the setup utility.

#17
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,216 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I downloaded Dolphin 3.0 from the link in Post #1.
To remove the 406D1388 RaiseException, Patch DOLPHIN.EXE:

16B1E0 55 -> C3
  • dencorso, Tommy and jumper like this
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#18
junior600

junior600

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I downloaded Dolphin 3.0 from the link in Post #1.
To remove the 406D1388 RaiseException, Patch DOLPHIN.EXE:

16B1E0 55 -> C3

Thanks for your reply. How can I patch it? Do I need to use a hex editor?


Edited by junior600, Yesterday, 05:56 AM.


#19
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,216 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#20
junior600

junior600

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 26-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes.

Sorry to bother you, but  have tried to do that with HxD .... I can't find that line... :no:

"Impossible to find 16B1E0 55"

 

i1GgeB8.png12VxWRf.png

 

 

If I search "RaiseException"?

jTjAusg.png



#21
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Joined 12-January 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

16B1E0 55 -> C3 means go to address 16B1E0 and replace 55 by C3. 


Edited by loblo, Today, 08:45 AM.


#22
MiKl

MiKl

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Joined 01-December 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Yes.

Sorry to bother you, but  have tried to do that with HxD .... I can't find that line... :no:

"Impossible to find 16B1E0 55"

 

You need to find 16B1E0 and change the value at this address from 55 to C3.

Did a quick check with the xvi32 resource hacker and it was immediately found.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users