Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Win98 on Gigabyte GA-965GM-S2 Rev 2.0 issues

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
Tommy

Tommy

    Brooke's Tommy Honey <3

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Joined 19-February 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

So, this is a really fun motherboard that I bought and actually didn't realize that the one I own with a bloated capacitor is its ancestor of the same model, except Rev 1.0. I thought for sure I got Windows 98 on there with no problems at all. So let me start out where I'm having issues.

 

It's got 1 IDE port on it, fine. Well, not fine actually. Even with IDE mode completely enabled, Oak CD-ROM driver cannot even find the actual drive. So great, must be some sort of SATA interface regardless.

 

So, I managed to get Windows 98 mostly installed via flash drive and now is where I'm having issues. The one error I got dealt with the IDE driver where one device is using 32-bit mode and the other is using compatibility mode. Of course it didn't say which one...but once it would restart both would use compatibility mode. Fine. Well, I got to the third part of setup and it asked me to put the time in. As soon as I hit okay after making my selections, screen goes blank and it basically just freezes up.

 

So now is where I'm sort of stuck. I'm still working on it and waiting for something to happen as I'm typing this up, but while reading another thread on it, it says check here before resulting to Google because Google isn't your friend when it comes to finding genuine Windows 98 information.

 

So while poking around, I used LoneCrusader's machineX.inf patch and loaded it successfully, to my knowledge anyway. So I'm not sure exactly what is going on right now. I am able to get into safe mode just fine. I'm using a PCI card for video instead of the onboard. I have Rloew's RAM patch installed for precaution. But this is where I'm wondering if maybe the SATA patch is needed. I don't want to just purchase it without knowing if it'll actually fix my problem or not. But considering that the 98 bootup CD isn't recognized while using boot with CD-ROM, I'm guessing that's an issue.

 

Help please? :)


Daily running Windows 2000 Pro SP4 and Windows 98 Second Edition

2dtzy51.png
stillwin9xmsfnbt0.png



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,654 posts
  • Joined 21-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Oh, you sure know how to get into trouble. :lol: If I were you I'd return it and ask for a refund. :)

(not helpful, I know)



#3
Tommy

Tommy

    Brooke's Tommy Honey <3

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Joined 19-February 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Oh, you sure know how to get into trouble. :lol: If I were you I'd return it and ask for a refund. :)

(not helpful, I know)

Haha, I know. XD

Anyway, a slight update. I removed the IDE controllers and I was then able to finish setup. So I managed to get just a bit further than I did before. It's complaining about vnetbios.vxd right now, which I am investigating. But I will get this working if it kills me. :w00t:


Daily running Windows 2000 Pro SP4 and Windows 98 Second Edition

2dtzy51.png
stillwin9xmsfnbt0.png


#4
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,654 posts
  • Joined 21-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Any BIOS update available for the board? Risky but may fix something.

I'd say 95% you'll need the SATA patch but the rest 5% are reserved for BIOS quirks.



#5
Tommy

Tommy

    Brooke's Tommy Honey <3

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Joined 19-February 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Any BIOS update available for the board? Risky but may fix something.

I'd say 95% you'll need the SATA patch but the rest 5% are reserved for BIOS quirks.

I already flashed it to the latest possible version, so I think it's at F8f right now.


Daily running Windows 2000 Pro SP4 and Windows 98 Second Edition

2dtzy51.png
stillwin9xmsfnbt0.png


#6
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,654 posts
  • Joined 21-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I just looked at the specs on the site. Ouch! video X3000? SATA II? Gigabit LAN? HD audio? I wonder what's actually usable in 9x on that board, except for half or quarter CPU…

Also, Gigabyte are known for messing with the BIOS (maybe not as much as Soyo or Biostar but still) so it shouldn't wonder if the IDE issues stem from their "improvements".

But I guess Mr. Loew might offer much better explanations and details.



#7
Tommy

Tommy

    Brooke's Tommy Honey <3

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Joined 19-February 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
But I guess Mr. Loew might offer much better explanations and details.

Let's hope so!!

I know for a fact now the problem is the Dual IDE channels. I tried the Windows Me drivers which I believe may have worked on my ASRock board, but it's been too long and I can't remember. But those didn't fix the issue either. It boots just fine in safe mode, in fact it'll boot into regular mode just fine as well as long as I remove those controllers. But if I don't, it soft-locks when booting. But if I do, then it goes into regular mode and prompts me to install the drivers. If I ignore the prompts, the machine hard locks, but if I install the drivers, I can proceed as normal until the next boot and then it starts over again.

As for what you mentioned, I planned on using Wireless lan, a separate video card, and separate audio card. So if I can get past this crap, I should be good to go.

 

Edit: So being the dinkhead that I am, I just thought about disabling 32-bit protected mode drivers via the troubleshooting tab. Now at least I do not have to keep removing those drivers to get into normal mode. This is not what I'm after, but it's a very temporary workaround at best.


Edited by Tommy, 06 February 2016 - 09:18 PM.

Daily running Windows 2000 Pro SP4 and Windows 98 Second Edition

2dtzy51.png
stillwin9xmsfnbt0.png


#8
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,293 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
With the Drivers installed, boot into Safe Mode.
Open the Registry Editor and search for the Value "NOIDE".
If found, delete the Value, then reboot.

If this does not fix your problem you probably need my Patch.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#9
Tommy

Tommy

    Brooke's Tommy Honey <3

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Joined 19-February 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

With the Drivers installed, boot into Safe Mode.
Open the Registry Editor and search for the Value "NOIDE".
If found, delete the Value, then reboot.

If this does not fix your problem you probably need my Patch.

I'm going to try that now. In the meantime, it does not detect my DVD drive at all, despite it being a true IDE device.

 

Edit: NOIDE isn't found in the registry.


Edited by Tommy, 06 February 2016 - 11:53 PM.

Daily running Windows 2000 Pro SP4 and Windows 98 Second Edition

2dtzy51.png
stillwin9xmsfnbt0.png


#10
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,293 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Do you have the DVD Drive on the Primary IDE Controller?
If so, is it alone on the Primary IDE Controller?
If not alone, is it the Master?
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#11
Tommy

Tommy

    Brooke's Tommy Honey <3

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Joined 19-February 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I think they're both set to Cable Select.

 

Not an ideal situation to have them on the same channel but for as much as I use the DVD drive, it really doesn't matter if it's on the same channel or not.


Edited by Tommy, Yesterday, 12:54 AM.

Daily running Windows 2000 Pro SP4 and Windows 98 Second Edition

2dtzy51.png
stillwin9xmsfnbt0.png


#12
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,654 posts
  • Joined 21-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

It just occured to me: if the board only has one IDE port, it's possible that the BIOS assigns it as tertiary/quaternary/etc when SATA is in IDE mode, which may be the reason for the OS not to detect the devices (properly).

 

How are the SATA/IDE ports displayed in BIOS when SATA are set to IDE as opposed to native (or whatever "normal" mode)?

 

At POST time, can you actually see how the devices are detected and displayed on screen? Can you freeze the screen by quickly pressing the 'Pause' key on the keyboard and write down the IDE-related details or take a legible screenshot?

 

Oh and just to eliminate one of the possible issues, please do set the devices manually as Master and Slave as there is a slight possibility that either the cable, devices or BIOS might not "like" Cable Select.


Edited by Drugwash, Yesterday, 09:52 AM.


#13
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,293 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I think they're both set to Cable Select.

Not an ideal situation to have them on the same channel but for as much as I use the DVD drive, it really doesn't matter if it's on the same channel or not.

Depending upon which connector is attached to which Drive, you may have the prohibited configuration where the Optical Drive is the Primary and the Hard Drive is the Secondary.
Microsoft explicitly disables the Optical Drive in this configuration. I can override this but have not made a separate Patch for it.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#14
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 16,627 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Just in case, the first rule of the IDE club :w00t: is:

1. You don't use Cable Select

Spoiler

 

jaclaz



#15
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,293 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Just in case, the first rule of the IDE club :w00t: is:
1. You don't use Cable Select

Spoiler


jaclaz

Not true. Why do you think Cable Select was designed in the first place.
You just have to be careful to connect the Drives in the proper order.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#16
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 16,627 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Not true. Why do you think Cable Select was designed in the first place.
You just have to be careful to connect the Drives in the proper order.

 

Well :), the point as often happens is not about why it was designed, but rather about how it was implemented

 

Surely, when it works, it works very nicely. :yes:

 

jaclaz

 

P.S.: you may well write the rules of the SATA club the way you want, but you simply cannot state that the rules for the IDE club that I just invented are not true, you are not even a member whilst I am a founder!


Edited by jaclaz, Yesterday, 12:23 PM.


#17
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,293 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Not true. Why do you think Cable Select was designed in the first place.
You just have to be careful to connect the Drives in the proper order.

Well :), the point as often happens is not about why it was designed, but rather about how it was implemented.

Surely, when it works, it works very nicely. :yes:

jaclaz

P.S.: you may well write the rules of the SATA club the way you want, but you simply cannot state that the rules for the IDE club that I just invented are not true, you are not even a member whilst I am a founder!
The implementation isn't that bad either.
It took a determined standards breaker like Microsoft to ruin it.

The rules of Microsoft override the rules of Jaclaz, founder or not. Check the Code. ESDI_506 Code in this case.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#18
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 16,627 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

The rules of Microsoft override the rules of Jaclaz, founder or not. Check the Code. ESDI_506 Code in this case.

 

Sure they do :yes:, they have the secret seven, remember ;):

http://homepage.ntlw...t-monopoly.html

 

jaclaz



#19
Tommy

Tommy

    Brooke's Tommy Honey <3

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Joined 19-February 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

For most of the test, I've left the DVD drive disconnected and it made no difference as far as how the hard drive itself operated and is detected within Windows.


Daily running Windows 2000 Pro SP4 and Windows 98 Second Edition

2dtzy51.png
stillwin9xmsfnbt0.png


#20
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,293 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

For most of the test, I've left the DVD drive disconnected and it made no difference as far as how the hard drive itself operated and is detected within Windows.

It won't. Only the DVD Drive would be affected.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#21
Tommy

Tommy

    Brooke's Tommy Honey <3

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Joined 19-February 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Major Update: The SATA patch was needed. Both drives work perfectly under 32-bit protected mode. Both drives didn't even need reconfiguring, they just work now like they're suppose to. So if anyone is having problems with their machines like this..the SATA patch may just be what you need. It's well worth the investment.

 

What's nice is I can even use SATA drives themselves now (:


Edited by Tommy, Yesterday, 05:14 PM.

Daily running Windows 2000 Pro SP4 and Windows 98 Second Edition

2dtzy51.png
stillwin9xmsfnbt0.png


#22
Nomen

Nomen

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Joined 07-July 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Now what are you going to do about:

- Video
- USB
- Network/Lan
- Audio

?

#23
Tommy

Tommy

    Brooke's Tommy Honey <3

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Joined 19-February 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

NVidia GeForce 6200

USB Works fine out of the box

Linksys WUSB54G

Creative SoundBlaster Audigy

 

I'm good! All is up and working just fine. :D


Daily running Windows 2000 Pro SP4 and Windows 98 Second Edition

2dtzy51.png
stillwin9xmsfnbt0.png


#24
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 978 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The onboard Marvell Gigabit LAN chip has a provided 9x driver according to the Gigabyte page for the board.

Some boards of this era have Audio chips that are supposedly switchable between HD Audio and AC'97, I have a board that claims this, but have never tried to use the Audio on it yet. Check the manual and the BIOS settings to see what's available.



#25
Tommy

Tommy

    Brooke's Tommy Honey <3

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Joined 19-February 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

The onboard Marvell Gigabit LAN chip has a provided 9x driver according to the Gigabyte page for the board.

Some boards of this era have Audio chips that are supposedly switchable between HD Audio and AC'97, I have a board that claims this, but have never tried to use the Audio on it yet. Check the manual and the BIOS settings to see what's available.

I downloaded the one from the Gigabyte site, it says it's suppose to be for Windows 98, but it will not install and I can't seem to extract the inf file for it. But it's not a big deal since like I said, I'm using wireless since I don't want to run a wire to my bedroom.

 

This board I think is just plain HD audio, it's the azailia codec. I have seen though where there are boards that can switch between the two but I don't think this one can since it's just auto or disabled, those are the only two options to set. But of course like I said, my Sound Blaster has me covered in the sound department so onboard sound is no big deal to me.

 

I just ordered a Pentium Dual Core for this machine, it's the E2220 which I think is the fastest Pentium for it. I wanted a bit more clock speed but I didn't want to spend a lot for the actual processor nor did I want one that sucks 95 watts of power so I think this will be a good balance. It's a bit over a 500MHz speed boost which will help a little bit. But so far this machine is running great, I'm liking it!


Daily running Windows 2000 Pro SP4 and Windows 98 Second Edition

2dtzy51.png
stillwin9xmsfnbt0.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users