Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

how to make my own shell32.dll....

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1
diesel_98a

diesel_98a

    Spurz 4 Life....

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Joined 26-July 03
how to make my own shell32.dll or whatever u what to call it. i tried doing some searches on msfn forum site & on microsofts site but nothing. what i want to do is to create my own .dll where i have my own icons in it that would just be added to my unattened cd, then if i wanted to change icons i would direct it to my new dll. or would it be easier just to copy winxp shell32 and remove everthing i don't need. all i want is to have the icons in it.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
newdles

newdles

    now what?

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Joined 22-March 04
Use Icon Package Explorer. That way you can copy shell32.dll to your desktop from c:\windows\system32\shell32.dll and then edit the files that are in there. You can add or delete files however you wish by right clicking. Enjoy.

http://www.stardock....s/iconpackager/

My Playlist
Webzila - Dll's, Tech Support & More

Posted Image

#3
diesel_98a

diesel_98a

    Spurz 4 Life....

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Joined 26-July 03
i was looking @ that but i haven't used it @ all, so i was not sure whether or not that would work for what i want to do. thanks......

#4
bhurtel

bhurtel

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 89 posts
  • Joined 27-April 05
why don't you try
shell packs
xpize is the best shell pack.. i think u love it

if u want to make ur own try editing shell32.dll with resource hacker program.
©Phonixsoft 2006 , Nepal

#5
gunsmokingman

gunsmokingman

    MSFN Master

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,435 posts
  • Joined 02-August 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Resource Hacker Read My Tut And Add Your Own Icons.
This Way You Can Add The Icons You Want To Have. You
Can Also Change Menus And Dialogs.
Example Of The Run Box Change
Posted Image


GunSmokingMan



#6
duhu

duhu

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Joined 07-June 05
Ive downloaded Icon Packager and customized my icons and stuff then i saved the icon package.
now how do i add it to my Ua CD?

srry for my eng
Doohoodogg

#7
Scubar

Scubar

    - Local Smartass -

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 829 posts
  • Joined 20-May 05
you have to use makecab and then once its cabbed replace the one on ur UACD

#8
duhu

duhu

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Joined 07-June 05
Yes, but what file do i need to makecab, because ive copied the shell32.dll from my sytem32, i opened it with reshack, and no icons are changed, i think that icon packager has some kind of shell, and when you unnistall it the xp shell32.dll became active and the defaut icons are aplied.

Srry for my eng

#9
Scubar

Scubar

    - Local Smartass -

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 829 posts
  • Joined 20-May 05
get all ur icons in a folder together then open shell32.dll with resource hacker, then goto action>replace icon. then simple find the file u want to replace and then click open file with new icon and browse to the icon u wish to use. once u have replaced all the icons u want.just save the file. it will create a backup of the original just incase.

PS : Gunsmokingman, what theme is that screenshot of cause it looks very smart.

Edited by ScubaSteve, 01 August 2005 - 03:40 PM.


#10
duhu

duhu

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Joined 07-June 05
Thats exactly what ive done before posting the reply.It didn work!

Any ideea why?

#11
gunsmokingman

gunsmokingman

    MSFN Master

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,435 posts
  • Joined 02-August 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It A Theme I made my self. Thanks Here Is A Link For The Theme
My Grey Theme Sfx Please Note Some Of The Things Like Icons
And Any Changes Made To Dialogs, Are In My Shell Files.
Posted Image


GunSmokingMan



#12
2forza

2forza

    "everybody was kungfu fighting"

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 230 posts
  • Joined 14-March 05
Hey, that Recycle BIN icon...did you get it from foood icons :P?
Dell XPS M1530 | Intel Core2 Duo T7700 2.40 GHz | GeForce Go 8600M GT | 2GB DDR2 SDRAM

#13
gunsmokingman

gunsmokingman

    MSFN Master

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,435 posts
  • Joined 02-August 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes I use a combination of various Longhorn, fooods, Icons In The Shell


GunSmokingMan



#14
duhu

duhu

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Joined 07-June 05
Can anyone help me with my problem.
I repeat : I edited shell32.dll with my favorite icons then makecab-it and then put it on my Ua CD in i386 and after ive tested the XP, no icons changes, still the default icons.
I'm really p***ed off because of this, anyone says that they customize their shell32.dll the makecabit and then they put it on their Uacd and it works for them.
Whats wrong ?
Srry for my eng, i need hlp plss

#15
gunsmokingman

gunsmokingman

    MSFN Master

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,435 posts
  • Joined 02-August 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
If you are adding updates to the XP CD then there are some that
will change the shell32.dll back to Microsoft shell32.dll
Where are you editing the shell32.dll, because if you try and
change it here \windows\system32\ then nothing will stay.
You have to move the shell32 or any files you plan on changing
to a folder outside of Windows.

Edited by gunsmokingman, 02 August 2005 - 08:10 PM.



GunSmokingMan



#16
hakeem5454

hakeem5454

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 370 posts
  • Joined 15-June 05
when i edit my shell file and makecab it and replace it in my UADVD some icons dont change?...i added the ryanvm update pack and sp2 to it so is it because of that? how do i get by this if thats the problem?

Laptop

(Lenovo Y550)-processor: Core 2 Duo 2.53GHz, System Memory: 4 GB, Graphics Controller: NVIDIA GT240M, HardDrive: 320GB, Optical Storage: DVD-RW Combo drive,


#17
gunsmokingman

gunsmokingman

    MSFN Master

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,435 posts
  • Joined 02-August 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I use a modified replacer cmd to replace any shell files in my runonceEx.cmd
That how I get by the problem.


GunSmokingMan



#18
duhu

duhu

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Joined 07-June 05
I copy the shell32.dl_ from my XP Pro + SP 2 + Hotfixes sorce into an folder named The Lab, and the i i expand it, then i use res hack to replace some icons then i makecab-it and then i copy-it back to the XP Ua I386 folder.
I make the iso, and no icons chages, stiil the deafult icons.
And i dont use ryanwn update, just SP2, wich i integrate using nlite, and some hotfixes.

Srry for my eng.
Now, do u guys have any ideea how to make the modiffied shell work?
Thanx

#19
hakeem5454

hakeem5454

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 370 posts
  • Joined 15-June 05
gunsmokingman what do u do to ur runonceex file? :}

Laptop

(Lenovo Y550)-processor: Core 2 Duo 2.53GHz, System Memory: 4 GB, Graphics Controller: NVIDIA GT240M, HardDrive: 320GB, Optical Storage: DVD-RW Combo drive,


#20
gunsmokingman

gunsmokingman

    MSFN Master

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,435 posts
  • Joined 02-August 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Nothing other then add a start / w for my replacer.cmd
What I did was modified the replacer.cmd to automaticaly
replace the shell32.dll, then after that done I reboot
and my stuff is there.


GunSmokingMan



#21
hakeem5454

hakeem5454

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 370 posts
  • Joined 15-June 05
ohh could i have that modified replacer?

Laptop

(Lenovo Y550)-processor: Core 2 Duo 2.53GHz, System Memory: 4 GB, Graphics Controller: NVIDIA GT240M, HardDrive: 320GB, Optical Storage: DVD-RW Combo drive,


#22
Jeremy

Jeremy

    Casual Poster

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,473 posts
  • Joined 24-June 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Have you guys ever considered what Windows XP would be like without a shell32.dll? I mean, for those who don't want icons? Would save some resources/memory for sure. Just curious on your thoughts. Cheers.

#23
gunsmokingman

gunsmokingman

    MSFN Master

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,435 posts
  • Joined 02-August 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I do not think Windows wil not run with out the Shell32.dll
So your idea is no good.
The shell I make is approx Half A MB smaller then the
original shell32.dll from Microsoft. I could make it smaller
if I took out the extra bitmaps I add to the shell.

The modified cmd I use for replacer is set to some specific spots on my
computer.


GunSmokingMan



#24
hakeem5454

hakeem5454

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 370 posts
  • Joined 15-June 05
could u make me a modified replacer that i could ?

Laptop

(Lenovo Y550)-processor: Core 2 Duo 2.53GHz, System Memory: 4 GB, Graphics Controller: NVIDIA GT240M, HardDrive: 320GB, Optical Storage: DVD-RW Combo drive,


#25
diesel_98a

diesel_98a

    Spurz 4 Life....

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Joined 26-July 03
i just used resource hacker to replace the icons i wanted & then used the makecab to resize to put on my unattended cd, just took over a month resize all the icons i wanted to resize & i have about another months to do, so i can make another one............

i did use icon package to get the icon libraries from the alienware themes, all three of them, i have some other icon libraries i would like to use as well.............

i have also tried xprize, it is a great idea, not sure if i want to go that far, cause i also have modded mspaint, cmdprompt, & mspaint w/ some sweet icons i found...........

Edited by diesel_98a, 06 September 2005 - 11:13 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users