Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

nLite - Windows reduction tool

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
671 replies to this topic

#51
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,390 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@RyanVM, that's all good, i'll think about it, because it's really frustrating to wait all that recompression if i didn't select any driver.
About sfc, so far so good, nobody has any problems with it, the only problem is that it's disabled :)
Tried on sp0,sp1,sp2

@GrimSage, tooltips are on todo list, thanx

@shadowfla, can you send me your log file
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
edmoncu

edmoncu

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Joined 28-April 04
@nuhi, a question again. is it safe to re-apply nLite to an already nLite'ed xp install folder? for example, on my first nLite attempt, i only removed the video drivers... would it be possible then to re-run nLite to the same folder if ever (for example) i am to remove sound drivers? thanks :)
Please join the growing Filipino Community of PC Experts and Enthusiasts
Posted Image

#53
Bilou_Gateux

Bilou_Gateux

    Powered by Windows Embedded

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 768 posts
  • Joined 03-January 04

@Alanoll, I agree, it's too big for a runtime, but when i compared code in c++ and c#, i gave up on c++, but if Framework support shows as a problem I can transport it into c++ within week or two, but lets not be hasty.


@nuhi

I agree with Alanoll.
Each time i need to run your program to build a new ISO, i need to install 1st .NET Framework because i'm working with different computers in Labs environnement who haven't .net installed.
A C++ version would be a very good idea...
OS Version = 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3
Platform ID = 2 (NT)
Service Pack = 3.0
Suite = 0x0140
Product Type = 1
Architecture = x86

#54
FAKE_URL

FAKE_URL
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 07-November 03
Hi all
Nlite keeps hanging at some point (usually at the "building file list" stage, sometimes at the "deleting files" point) no matter which kind of selection I make. I'm building out of an Italian distro, no SP1, on a Win2k box. Logfile reports a long file list and than nothing else happens (Nlite process at 29 MB ram, hardly any HDD activity). I've tried any possible combination with the same risult.
Any idea?
Ciao
Nico

#55
devil270975

devil270975

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 368 posts
  • Joined 31-July 03
@nuhi, works like a treat, well done, but i have a couple of requests, 1 would it be possible to have a small config file for xpcd location so dont have to enter it everytime, 2 also instead of waiting for it to recompress files and then choose to make iso, how about being able to choose to make an iso before you start that way you just click start and when you come back to it it truly is finshed

#56
gmx

gmx

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Joined 09-November 03
oh man this tool is awesome....

#57
FAKE_URL

FAKE_URL
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 07-November 03
Works smoothly from a WinXP PC. I guess I wrongly assumed I could run it from a 2k Installation. Many thanks to nuhi for the great job (now I can fit several 2k and XP configurations in one CD).
ciao
Nico

#58
alfa

alfa

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 10-May 04
This thing is great. Thx for it

#59
evilvoice

evilvoice

    Ditchy McAbandonpants

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 946 posts
  • Joined 27-January 04
havent tested the final product of running the program, but boy does it reduce the installation...

One problem, it deletes the ValueAdd folder...I understand that this is prolly an overlooked folder on most users parts as it usually contains stuff people dont need, but I put programs that can not be installed using runonceex in here for running upon users request at a later time...Could you somehow move the option to delete valueadd out of automatic to a check box...if it is a checkbox, then disregard this as I am an id*** and didnt see it...

Other than that, I agree with the tooltips, though Im not sure it needs to be the normal yellow popup...if you wanted, you could just make it to where if a user clicked on an option, in the messagebox, it displays what it is...Like for 1394 driver..."This is used to install firewire support, if you have anything that utilizes firewire or something plugged into your firewire port, and you do not load the driver yourself, do not disable this" Something like that...granted I do not know what everything does, I was just testing to see how much space I can save, and whoooo is it a lot...I may be able to add photoshop or office2k3 now YAY!...
When I spotted this little cutie with some sex appeal. I winked at her, she gave me a look like I'm a booger. I thought b***h, I'd rather spend my money on a hooker. Then a bright idea ran across my mind, if I could swipe a manikin I'd have a freak all the time.

#60
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,390 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@edmoncu. it should work, only try not to select same option again, to be safe

@Bilou_Gateux, yep, that will be a priority after we solve some more bugs and requests

@FAKE_URL, i'm going to make more detailed logging so i could see what went wront, come tomorrow and download new version

@evilvoice, noted...i was wondering was it wise to delete it, now you answered it
so the idea will be to put some sort of scanning directories and making new tree options of that dirs so you can delete and leave whatever you want

About the tips, my idea also, but it seems that i'm running out of space, going to need and make normal application window, or at least expand this one.

I'm going to take 800*600 as a normal minimal resolution so that i can expand the gui a little bit.
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#61
FAKE_URL

FAKE_URL
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 07-November 03

i got an error:

vga850.fon..what is this^

Just got the same error. Trying again uncheckin Drivers

#62
RyanVM

RyanVM

    Like a big surly teddy bear.

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,661 posts
  • Joined 31-August 03

@RyanVM, that's all good, i'll think about it, because it's really frustrating to wait all that recompression if i didn't select any driver.

I can imagine it would be! But like I was saying, it could be a very simple conditional to only have it do it if those other cabs exist. If not, I can always just use jdeboeck's batch files :).

Regardless, your work is to be commended! You're providing a HUGE service to everybody on this forum, so many well-deserved kudos to you :rolleyes:.

And you should be fine with the assumption of everyone using 800x600. At least I hope nobody's installing XP on a system that can't do better than 640x480 :D.
RyanVM MSFN Files | RyanVM Forums
Please do not link directly to files on my site or modify/redistribute them without getting my permission first. Link to the above URL instead.
Current Update Pack Release: 2.2.2
(Released April 28, 2008)

BTW, 90% of what I say is kidding around. Don't take things so personally ;)

#63
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03

And you should be fine with the assumption of everyone using 800x600. At least I hope nobody's installing XP on a system that can't do better than 640x480 .


I dunno. I have a system can handle 800*600, but the monitor's max resolution is 640*480. I built it so I can play Halo at school. You understand.....


@nuhi
Many kudo's. When it get's closer to what you consider completion, let me know, and I'll sticky it for awhile.
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#64
gosh

gosh

    gosh 2.0

  • Patrons
  • 2,347 posts
  • Joined 03-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It won't run for me. I did a clean install yesterday so i dont know whats wrong.

Attached Files



#65
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03
.NET Framework Gosh?
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#66
shadowfla

shadowfla

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 26-April 04
yo nuhi could yu please find a way to make this work on Windows 2000?

thx for the good work m8

#67
bonedaddy

bonedaddy

    Bonafide Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Joined 20-October 03
@nuhi
:)

wow great tool!

works well, just finished jdboeck's method for sp1

and was wondering about sp2, taken care of........

I am going to request for more control of what drivers

go or stay (need to keep some display drivers) some

day when you have time perhaps?

thanks and a hand clap for you

bonedaddy
Using WPI the best Post installer
Using W.A.I.T v23 the 2nd Best Post Installer

#68
gareththegod

gareththegod

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Joined 28-September 03
@nuhi that looks a very good program. I haven't tested it yet but i have a request (if it can be done) after removing programs like media player 8, whatever version of windows messenger, windows movie maker. Could it be possible to slip line/combine the newest versions from ms eg wmp9, win messenger 5, wmm 2 plus all of the other updates like MDAC 2.8 into the new win xp install.

As we know MS has already put back SP2 until july (or later) as this will save alot of time so that we don't have to install them after through runonceex or guirunonce. etc.

here is the file that I insall of of my apps and hotfixes when they are needed (all.inf is quit long).

;Made by Gareththegod to save time installing new pcs at work
;also comes in handly for new installs. Updated version includes 
;updates from 11/5/04

[version]
signature="$Windows NT$"

[DefaultInstall]
; Anything added here will get installed if choosing RIGHT CLICK -> INSTALL.
AddReg = Apps, Critical, Java, Recommended, Restart

[Apps.inf]
AddReg = Apps, Restart

[Critical.inf]
AddReg = Critical, Restart

[Recommended.inf]
AddReg = Recommended, Restart

[Allnojava.inf]
AddReg = Apps, Critical, Recommended, Restart

[Apps]
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\",Title,0,"Installing Apps."
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps001",,,".NET Framework v1.1"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps001",1,,"%01%\Apps\dotnetfx.exe"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps002",,,"Microsoft Journal Viewer"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps002",1,,"%01%\Apps\Journal.msi /QB
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps003",,,"Microsoft Directx 9.0b"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps003",1,,"%01%\Apps\DX9NTopk.exe"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps004",,,"282784 Qfecheck.exe Verifies Hotfixes"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps004",1,,"%01%\Apps\Q282784.exe /Z /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps005",,,"Open command prompt here powertoy"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps005",1,,"%01%\Apps\CmdHerePowertoySetup.exe /S /v/qn"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps006",,,"Windows Messenger 4.7"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps006",1,,"%01%\Apps\MMSSETUP.exe /Q:A /R:N"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps007",,,"Movie Maker v2, Windows Media Player 9"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps007",1,,"%01%\Apps\WMP9_MM2_ENU.exe"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps008",,,"qfecheck after restart settings"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\apps008",1,,"rundll32 setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 128 %01%\Apps\check.inf"

[Critical]
; type 1
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\",Title,0,"Installing Critical Updates."
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical001",,,"823182 Vulnerability in Authentic.."
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical001",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q823182.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical002",,,"824105 Flaw in NetBIOS"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical002",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q824105.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical003",,,"824141 Buffer Overrun in the ListBox"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical003",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q824141.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical004",,,"825119 Buffer Overrun in Windows Help"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical004",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q825119.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical005",,,"826939 Windows XP Update Rollup 1"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical005",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q826939.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical006",,,"828026 WMP URL Script"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical006",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q828026.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical007",,,"828035 Buffer Overrun in Messenger..."
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical007",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q828035.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical008",,,"828741 Cumulative Update RPC/DCOM"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical008",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q828741.EXE /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical009",,,"835732 Security Update for Windows"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical009",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q835732.EXE /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical010",,,"837001 Vulnerability in Jet DB Engine"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical010",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q837001.EXE /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical011",,,"810217 FrontPage 2000 Server Exten"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical011",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q810217.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical012",,,"840374 Help & Support Center fix"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical012",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q840374.exe /Z /O /U /Q"

; type 2
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical013",,,"814078 JScript 5.6 Security Patch "
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical013",1,,"%01%\Critical\js56nen.exe /Q:A /R:N"
; for 014 see [Java].
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical015",,,"832894 Feb 2004, Cumulative Patch, IE6"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical015",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q832894.exe /Q:A /R:N"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical016",,,"837009 Apr 2004, Cumulative Patch, OE6"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical016",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q837009.exe /Q:A /R:N"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical017",,,"831167 Wininet retries POST"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical017",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q831167.exe /Q:A /R:N"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical018",,,"819639 A Flaw in Windows Media Player"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical018",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q819639.exe /Q:A /R:N"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical019",,,"832483 Buffer Overrun in MDAC Function"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical019",1,,"%01%\Critical\Q832483.exe"

[Java]
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical014",,,"816093 Microsoft JavaVM - Build 3810"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\critical014",1,,"%01%\Critical\msjavwu.exe /Q:A /R:N"

[Recommended]
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\",Title,0,"Installing Recommended Updates."
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco001",,,"826942 Wireless Update Rollup"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco001",1,,"%01%\Recommended\Q826942.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco002",,,"831240 HighMAT Support in CD Writing..."
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco002",1,,"%01%\Recommended\HMTCDWizard.exe"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco003",,,"820291 New "Set Program Access..."
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco003",1,,"%01%\Recommended\Q820291.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco004",,,"822603 USB 1_1 and 2_0 Update"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco004",1,,"%01%\Recommended\Q822603.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco005",,,"817778 Advanced Networking Pack"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco005",1,,"%01%\Recommended\Q817778.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco006",,,"Q322011 You Cannot Preview a Fax in"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco006",1,,"%01%\Recommended\Q322011.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco007",,,"814995 Program Compatibility Fixes"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco007",1,,"%01%\Recommended\Q814995 /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco008",,,"Q327405 Windows XP Doc Update"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco008",1,,"%01%\Recommended\hu1002_pro.exe /Q:A /R:N"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco009",,,"Q327979 Game Stops Responding"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco009",1,,"%01%\Recommended\Q327979.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco010",,,"Q810243 DirectShow Playback Support"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco010",1,,"%01%\Recommended\Q810243.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco011",,,"821253 Update Windows Error Report"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco011",1,,"%01%\Recommended\Q821253.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco012",,,"833998 Shop For Music Online"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco012",1,,"%01%\Recommended\Q833998.exe /Z /O /U /Q"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco013",,,"837272 WMP 9 update"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\reco013",1,,"%01%\Recommended\Q837272.exe /Z /O /U /Q"

[Restart]
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\ZRestart001",,,"Restarting after install"
HKLM,"%RunOnceEx%\ZRestart001",1,,"shutdown -r -t 99 -f"

[Strings]
; Any variables you use need to be defined under [strings].
RunOnceEx = "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx"

[INFO]
; key below to run any thing in the runonceex without needing to restart
; rundll32.exe iernonce.dll,RunOnceExProcess

; The command will run the section called [XXXXX] in the FILENAME.INF file  
; 128 tells setup to NOT restart if the inf needs to restart the pc
; rundll32 setupapi,InstallHinfSection XXXXX 128 .\FILENAME.INF


#69
edmoncu

edmoncu

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Joined 28-April 04
@gareththegod: i've tried this amazing app, and yes, even if you removed the bundled wmp8, msn msgr installation files, you can still install wmp9 and other updated apps... afaik, it even goes as far as installing diskeeper pro even if you removed the built-in diskeeper. :)
Please join the growing Filipino Community of PC Experts and Enthusiasts
Posted Image

#70
ZuluDC

ZuluDC

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 55 posts
  • Joined 07-November 03
I tried it on w2k. First i thought it does work but it seems to hang in a loop or something else because it never come to the point of finishing for go on then to build the ISO.

A short test on both XP-Systems at home for building a strip-down ISO wasn't successfully, but then i do all in VMWare and this works here :-).

If i put away to much languages i have this vga850.fon fault too. Creating an ISO without the security-monster IE brings me BSOD and a message about the NTFS-driver ntfs.sys, but who cares *smile*....

For the other rest exept 'Experimental' (i haven't test this in the short time) it seems to work (in vmware :D) and i must say it is an impressing tools. I think it has needed brutal many time to create this tool!

Thanks for sharing nuhi!!! :rolleyes: :)

#71
Bilou_Gateux

Bilou_Gateux

    Powered by Windows Embedded

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 768 posts
  • Joined 03-January 04
@nuhi
Like shadowfla, i hope that in the near future, you can make nLite works to reduce size of a Win2K source . Look at my PC specs, W2K runs fine on my notebook.
WinXP is what we call in French "Usine à Gaz", needs too much memory and >3 GHz microprocessor to works fine. I just need to remove some useless things like NetMeeting, OE, Wab, AU, Fax, Imaging, driver.cab, sp4.cab and so on to reduce footprint on HDD.
OS Version = 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3
Platform ID = 2 (NT)
Service Pack = 3.0
Suite = 0x0140
Product Type = 1
Architecture = x86

#72
artpc

artpc

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 05-April 04
i got an error:

vga850.fon what i do wrong
Please help . My Windows with SP1 language Polish . I tested on Vmware.

#73
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03
@artpc

QUOTE (Jedi82 @ May 13 2004, 02:25 PM)
i got an error:

vga850.fon..what is this^


Just got the same error. Trying again uncheckin Drivers


read the thread before posting.
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#74
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,390 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@FAKE_URL, ok, so that's an obvious bug, that shouldn't be hard to fix

@RyanVM, yes, silly me, no problem.
But this "I can always just use jdeboeck's batch files" is a blackmail :)
He will release his sp2 version when final comes out, that will be something, competition is good.

@Alanoll, thats great...ok, now I'm getting nervous
About resolution, I'll see now what comes up, for now i'll try to stay on present hight.

@shadowfla, I will, i see some of you want it, now don't expect it so soon, priority is that it works on xp for everyone

@bonedaddy, it's no problem, i only thought that nobody uses Windows drivers, they are quite old now, i guess i was wrong

@gareththegod, you see, thats a good idea, but it will take extensive work so don't expect it soon, if ever :rolleyes: (I think jdeboeck made some slipstream batches, and you have XPCreate for some too)
After all, slipstream SP2 and you'll get most of the things instantly

@ZuluDC, what, ie doesn't work, i tested it and it works, can you tell me your windows version
And how come you don't get the same results on VMWare and real computer, i never experienced a difference, hm

edit:
@Bilou_Gateux, ok, true, but have you tried slimmed xp with nLite, it's way faster


@XtremeMaC, yes, i will do it tonight, just got home
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#75
XtremeMaC

XtremeMaC

    MSFN SuperB

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,070 posts
  • Joined 13-October 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
could u make some sort of a documentation for what some of the components are?
what does removing
  • dvd
  • multifunctional
  • service pack messages
  • app patch
  • input method editor
  • mdac
  • oobe
also afaik u can also remove compdata folder, doesn't take much space but its not a neccessary folder....






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users