Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

nLite - Windows reduction tool

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
671 replies to this topic

#201
bonedaddy

bonedaddy

    Bonafide Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Joined 20-October 03
@ markymoo

thankyou :)

bonedaddy
Using WPI the best Post installer
Using W.A.I.T v23 the 2nd Best Post Installer


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#202
AztecMystic

AztecMystic

    Sir Fuzznuts

  • Member
  • 46 posts
  • Joined 19-May 04
Hmm, after a new install trying out nLite again, the installer prompted me for a certain file namen dtihait.ht_ or something, I just popped in my winxp pro sp1 cd and he copied from there, after that i switched the cd's again, so no problem but maybe a glitch worth mentionning.

With the first install I had some problems with my network, second time I left in the QoS packet scheduling and internet explorer and that solved the problem, maybe someone else also had this too...

For the rest, top notch program, it's really made for dummies like me :D. Although I study informatics :). Anyway, maybe there would be a way to implement like a directx, driver, codec update etc. All pre-install and not post-install, I have tried doing it with batch files but I screwed up totally :rolleyes: . Where do you guys get the 2126 version anyway, the only one I was able to pull of the net was 2096. After that I had to install 3 critical updates still, maybe you could implement those too.

Maybe I'm asking a bit much, but if I could implement them into your prog I would. Because then this would become the only tool you'd ever need to trim your windows and at the same time make a fresh, clean and even up to date install.

One more thing (sry :D ), I didn't edit the winnt.sif file and the only thing the install asked me was the partition during the text install, didn't even ask me to format the drive, what resulted is that now I have a windows.0 folder and dualboot ...

Now the only thing is the install from HD, I wasted a lot of CD's already by experimenting, but hey, can't get it perfect otherwise

#203
RyanVM

RyanVM

    Like a big surly teddy bear.

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,661 posts
  • Joined 31-August 03
2126 was a leaked beta build
RyanVM MSFN Files | RyanVM Forums
Please do not link directly to files on my site or modify/redistribute them without getting my permission first. Link to the above URL instead.
Current Update Pack Release: 2.2.2
(Released April 28, 2008)

BTW, 90% of what I say is kidding around. Don't take things so personally ;)

#204
AztecMystic

AztecMystic

    Sir Fuzznuts

  • Member
  • 46 posts
  • Joined 19-May 04
Ah ok, thx but I'm not gonna use those leaked things :), for now, it's just waiting for the official sp2 for me thx.

#205
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,362 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@Sgt_Strider, if you remove media player then on windows update they will prompt you with full version of player and it's hotfixes
MDAC no, OOBE only if you don't need to activate windows (corporate version)

@Jazz, I think it will be best that you first run nLite and then XPCreate without unneeded hotfixes

@RyanVM, yes, so then it's ok to keep that option ? No legal issues ?

@ladybird, hip hip huray :)

@Markymoo, interesting sollution, but i don't see why a working nLite stripped windows will pose any problem
I mean if you test one installation and it works, there is no way that nLite can cause problems if setupldr.bin is tampered
Try this...leave manual install option, nLite it, do gosh's slimming rutine and then boot folder you can tamper all you want, but leave i386 as the main thing.
That should work, if you can't make it work contact me on email.

About reg options, that's low priority at the time, maaaybe one day but i doubt it

@AztecMystic, please next time write it down and you can see in nlite log what option caused that error, tried variations but can't find what file that was
About QoS packet scheduling, can you tell me what kind of connection do you have so i can put it in description warning (but i don't see how that can affect it, maybe it's some beta 6 general bug, wait and test beta 7 later)
New updates will be possible to integrate without fuss, i will see about it because you have xpcreate, it was here long time and it has tradition :rolleyes:
Don't worry, next time just delete partition and recreate it, that's common unattended practice.
Directx is under way.
Next time test in VMWare and VirtualPC.
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#206
GrimSage

GrimSage

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 46 posts
  • Joined 23-November 03
nuhi
I dont know if you have tried using your tool with xpcreate. But some of us have. And we get an error. WU sees 3 hotfixes missing. Where MSBA does not see them missing. Was wondering if it would be a file you are editing. as it happens in either order (nlite xpcreate or xpcreate nlite) I am not sure how WU checks for updates or how MSBA does it. But there has to be a difference or they would see the same things

#207
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03
@GrimSage

the real question would be, which ones are missing? second, is it even remotely connected to a removed component?

WU check for Registry entries mostly.
MSBA check file versions and sizes.
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#208
GrimSage

GrimSage

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 46 posts
  • Joined 23-November 03
http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=19109

KB828741, KB835732 & Update Rollup 1 KB826939

since we get teh error when using nlite I would assume it is since it does not happen if we just use xpcreate. or at least when I just use xpcreate

#209
serialzs

serialzs

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Joined 21-December 03
@nuhi

when i delete the files from my installer where it will go¿¿¿ :)


-=[serialzs]=-

#210
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03

http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=19109

KB828741, KB835732 & Update Rollup 1 KB826939

since we get teh error when using nlite I would assume it is since it does not happen if we just use xpcreate.  or at least when I just use xpcreate

you failed to answer #2. What did you try to remove?

The RollUp has known issues with removing components. You remove teh wrong one, and it shows up. My guess is teh same thing for the others.

MBSA works because it scans file versions, and XPCreate replaces old file with the new ones.

The updates probally cancel out as it's missing one of the components it was supposed to patch. Have you tried looking at their logs? They do tell what errors if any occured.
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#211
RyanVM

RyanVM

    Like a big surly teddy bear.

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,661 posts
  • Joined 31-August 03

@RyanVM, yes, so then it's ok to keep that option ? No legal issues ?

I'd say that unless you start getting complaints from MS (and they have at least one representative who posts on this board), don't worry about it :)
RyanVM MSFN Files | RyanVM Forums
Please do not link directly to files on my site or modify/redistribute them without getting my permission first. Link to the above URL instead.
Current Update Pack Release: 2.2.2
(Released April 28, 2008)

BTW, 90% of what I say is kidding around. Don't take things so personally ;)

#212
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,362 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@serialzs, you mean from installation ? It's just deleting, no undo, you have original cd and do it again, i don't see a problem.

@GrimSage, i have that problem since...ever, don't worry about it, the hotfixes are installed, if we ever find out what it is i'll let you know.

@RyanVM, oh i didn't know that, then it's alright
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#213
ZuluDC

ZuluDC

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 55 posts
  • Joined 07-November 03
I hope the final version will not become the price then it is listed now. :)

http://www.ke-medical.ch/D/nlite.php

#214
Jazz

Jazz

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 137 posts
  • Joined 03-April 04
Umm nuhi, i think its best if we first run xpcreate and then nlite, tried both ways but running xpcreate first makes it much smoother..

Bye,
Jazz
In 2010, M$ Windows will be a quantum processing emulation layer for a 128-bit mod of a 64-bit hack of a 32-bit patch to a 16-bit GUI for an 8-bit operating system written for a 4-bit processor from a 2-bit company that can't stand 1 bit of competition.

#215
GrimSage

GrimSage

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 46 posts
  • Joined 23-November 03
what logs? THe ones for nLite or xpcreate. Neither show errors. Cause xpcreate has its fresh install and nlite does not know the difference I dont think.

#216
Sgt_Strider

Sgt_Strider

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Joined 18-January 04
So what is the better decision? Use XPCREATE and slipstream the files like drivers and hotfixes and then run nLite or nLite first and then xpcreate second? Thx

#217
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,362 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@ZuluDC, :rolleyes: :D
And i even googled for "nlite" before releasing it and haven't found anything similiar

@GrimSage, try beta 7 without selecting Terminal Services and any experimental
See if you are still getting the same problem so i can list it as known bugs.

@Sgt_Strider, since i haven't tried it with nLite because of full schedule and i'm using newest beta of windows so no need, Jazz seems to know something, listen to Jazz :)


beta 7 uploaded with some delay, but it still has some known bugs, still better that beta 6, but to be sure i'll leave beta 6 in download too.

- tree of scanned directories (like valueadd, support, docs...), only available if such directories exists
- progress bar (needs tweaking)
- remote desktop moved to Terminal Services (read new description)
- component service fixed but shows missing firewall.cpl if firewall is removed, fixing
- saves last custom files lists
- some more bugfixes, can't remember

When obvious errors are fixed there is going to be a lot of services and components added.

About unicode problem...german and chinese windows, try this one and just let me know if it's fixed, if not, i still have more options to try. (haven't tried it myself, no time, **** finals)
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#218
Markymoo

Markymoo

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Joined 22-April 04
Run XPCREATE first then run NLite afterwards.

Peeps have had problems intergrating Q816093 304930 Microsoft VM Update into xp sp1 if you copy this file msjavwu.exe to SVC-HF2 you shouldnt have any problems. Its not mentioned on XPCREATE website.

#219
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03
@nlite and grimsage

It's not nLite's fault that the hotfixes are being reported missing. It's because of the componants you're selecting that are making them appear.

Have you tried looking at their logs?

I was refering to the logs created by the HOTFIX's. They're in Windows direcotry or System32, one of the two.

@Markymoo
The Java update it not listed on the XPCREATE website, simply because officially it's not longer supported. The list maintained there is for use with SP1a, and since Java isn't in it, the fix isn't added. The site deals with the latest hotfixes, not where legacy ones should go.
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#220
Markymoo

Markymoo

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Joined 22-April 04
Well i integrate sp1a into xpcreate and windows update telling me i need that update.

#221
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03
do you also add the JAVA VM through another file? or are you sure that you truly have the SP1a and not SP1?
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#222
Markymoo

Markymoo

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Joined 22-April 04
no i dont add ms java vm thru another file and i truly have sp1a


Edit: yes it is weird, checking my updates i have noticed 2 updates of 286k so realising its not the full updates but the express installers so may of affected the final result. This is easy to miss as jono's update downloader did just that not get the full updates but the odd express install. Oh Alanoll nice work with the Updates2.cmd. Is it upto date as of today?

#223
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03
that is wierd.
I have SP1a, and don't include ANY java updates, and I don't have it showing up on WU.
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#224
GrimSage

GrimSage

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 46 posts
  • Joined 23-November 03
It might just be on my end but....
In the components list of Beta 7 I dont get a down arrow. And I cant read the last line
image attached

*Edit* Fixed. Image removed...

#225
AztecMystic

AztecMystic

    Sir Fuzznuts

  • Member
  • 46 posts
  • Joined 19-May 04
@Grimsage
I have the same problem, for now you'll have to do the parts seperately. You just can't drop em all down at the same time.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN