Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

TEXTMODE MassStorageDrivers Method

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
139 replies to this topic

#101
Incroyable HULK

Incroyable HULK

    Slowly Turning Green...

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,257 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
OK! I think I got it!

Since I am multibooting, I must add the $OEM$ folder which contains the drivers to the BOOT folder (not inside I386).

It seems to be working under simulation... I'll test it on a real computer tomorrow. I can even "see" setup copying iaStor.sys during the installation process.


:hello:


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#102
berrick

berrick

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
Since my last post in this topic i have tried unsuccesfully to create another uacd using this method..... (M$ make me a fibber again!!). I tried everything still no go, so i checked M$ web site and found this interesting article "You cannot perform an unattended installation of mass storage drivers when you run the Setup program from the Windows CD". This would certianly confirm why the method described here seems so hit n miss when used from CD.

The only succesful repeatable method I have found from UACD is the txtsetup.sif method.

#103
Modder(s)

Modder(s)
  • Member
  • 5 posts
berrick......what method are you using that works??? I checked out the link in your post and it says on that page "Note: Editing the Txtsetup.sif file to add mass storage drivers is not supported."

#104
berrick

berrick

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
http://unattended.ms...rivers/raid.htm this method mainly or setup a network share then this method works. Bare in mind most modern mobo's will boot from sata drive just like if using IDE.

You only need the raid drivers loaded if you using a raid level on drives your booting from

#105
Incroyable HULK

Incroyable HULK

    Slowly Turning Green...

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,257 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I don't know if someone mentionned this but I tried this method with Windows XP x64 Edition and it doesn't work. :angry:

I mean, if you provide some drivers, setup will load the files but will halt a bit later telling you it was unable to find any hard disk. Maybe it would work on a machine which trully need the extra drivers you added but it doesn't work under simulation (using Intel x64 Raid Drivers under VMware 5.5 Beta).

Edited by Incroyable HULK, 31 October 2005 - 06:09 PM.


#106
tunesteve

tunesteve
  • Member
  • 2 posts
Well I have a doozy of a problem

Iastor.sys exist in many versions and some of our dell box require a specific one to boot from an unattended cd (raid mode)
I tried using the latest AA or Matrix iastor - NOT
My question is can i use multiple iastor maybe seprate them by folder and let the unattned find the right one?

I have an example from SIS - but I'm getting confused
I download the SIS raid 32bit setup r3.04c and looked in the floppyimage folder
under
-964_180
-----raid
----------srv2003
----------win2000
----------winxp
----------ws03xp64

same structure for 2 other folders : 964plus180(181) and 965_965L

the txtsetup.oem for the 964_180 folder is:

[Disks]
d1 = "SiS Raid/IDE Driver Diskette", \SISRAID, \
d2 = "SiS Raid/IDE Driver Diskette", \SISRAID, \RAID\SRV2003
d3 = "SiS Raid/IDE Driver Diskette", \SISRAID, \RAID\WIN2000
d4 = "SiS Raid/IDE Driver Diskette", \SISRAID, \RAID\WINXP
d5 = "SiS Raid/IDE Driver Diskette", \SISRAID, \RAID\WS03XP64

[Defaults]
scsi = SISRAID_XP

[scsi]
SISRAID_2003 = "Srv2003 32bit SiS Raid/IDE Controller"
SISRAID_XP = "WinXP 32bit SiS Raid/IDE Controller"
SISRAID_2000 = "Win2000 32bit SiS Raid/IDE Controller"
SISRAID_64 = "Windows 64bit SiS Raid/IDE Controller"

[Files.scsi.SISRAID_2003]
driver = d2, SiSRaid.sys, SiSRaid
dll = d2, Property.dll
inf = d2, SiSRaid.inf
catalog= d2, sisraid.cat

[HardwareIds.scsi.SISRAID_2003]
id="PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_0180", "SiSRaid"

[Files.scsi.SISRAID_XP]
driver = d4, SiSRaid.sys, SiSRaid
dll = d4, Property.dll
inf = d4, SiSRaid.inf
catalog= d4, sisraid.cat

[HardwareIds.scsi.SISRAID_XP]
id="PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_0180", "SiSRaid"

[Files.scsi.SISRAID_2000]
driver = d3, SiSRaid.sys, SiSRaid
dll = d3, Property.dll
inf = d3, SiSRaid.inf
catalog= d3, sisraid.cat


[HardwareIds.scsi.SISRAID_2000]
id="PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_0180", "SiSRaid"

[Files.scsi.SISRAID_64]
driver = d5, SiSRaid.sys, SiSRaid
;dll = d5, Property.dll
inf = d5, SiSRaid.inf
catalog= d5, sisraid.cat

[HardwareIds.scsi.SISRAID_64]
id="PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_0180", "SiSRaid"

[Config.SiSRaid]
value = parameters\PnpInterface,"5",REG_DWORD,1


how do i intergrate this into my unattend and how do I create one for the iastor/intel version
I'll be working on this and post any if any of my success !!!!

#107
blackhauk

blackhauk
  • Member
  • 4 posts
Dude, does anyone know where I can get this utility?? I need it soo bad - I've done ton's of work on an image - and my goal is to be able to inject txtmode sata drivers into an alread created image that can go on any model of machine... right now I've got it up to about 30 different models of machines....

IF ANYONE knows where I can get this utility, I would really appreciate it PLEASE!!!!!

Thx,
bh

Dude, does anyone know where I can get this utility??

RASOR - Raid Ata Sata Oem Repackager

I need it soo bad - I've done ton's of work on an image - and my goal is to be able to inject txtmode sata drivers into an alread created image that can go on any model of machine... right now I've got it up to about 30 different models of machines....

IF ANYONE knows where I can get this utility, I would really appreciate it PLEASE!!!!!

Thx,
bh

#108
trainee

trainee

    ThunderWalker

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
RASOR requires files from my website to run correctly. I changed webhosts and never put the files back online because there wasnt that much interest in RASOR. I have been very busy with my job but I will try to get to this if I can.

Sorry guys I dropped the ball...
Posted Image

#109
papikid123

papikid123
  • Member
  • 2 posts
how you extract the files? how you open a .7l file?

all I need is Promise Fastrak 376/378 Raid Driver

somebody please please help ,e

#110
snag

snag

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
I am currently setting this method to use for my OPK via RIS deployments. It works flawlessly until it reboots to start the graphical portion of Windows setup and then I get a blue screen right away (obviously the drivers are not being called in to play)...

Anyone have any ideas about this...it should not be TOO different than a CD based installation.

#111
snag

snag

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
Well...I finally got it. Have my RIS serving up WinPE with mass storage support hooking up with the OPK and installing an image with mass storage support and all the BTS driver packs integrated. I must say...nothing gains you knowledge like trial, error, a lot of caffeine, even more swearing and late night frustration. All had to do with the fact I used the manufacturers txtsetup.oem and left the file structure in tact. Text mode started up saying it could not copy the files I listed in [OEMBootFiles] even though the paths were there. Stripped out the path from Unattended.txt in the cfgset and modified the txtsetup.oem and move the driver to the root of ..\Textmode and works like a dream.

#112
Hipster Doofus

Hipster Doofus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
Anyone got any ideas on this one>>

This is my winnt file for textmode:

[MassStorageDrivers]
"WinXP Promise MBFastTrak133 Lite ™ Controller" = "OEM"
"IDE CD-ROM (ATAPI 1.2)/PCI IDE Controller" = "RETAIL"


[OEMBootFiles]
txtsetup.oem
FASTTRAK.INF
FASTTRAK.CAT
FASTTRAK.SYS

It boots to the section of saying "press F6.............." then it throws this up:

"Please insert the disk labeled windows XP Home Edition CD-ROM into dirve A"

Where do I go from here??

#113
Hipster Doofus

Hipster Doofus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
Might have got a bit further but still need a bit of advice.

I've looked thru the txtset.oem & I think it is still pointing to the floppy.

From the file:

[Disks]
d4 = "Promise FastTrak Series Driver Diskette", \fasttrak, \WinXP

[Files.scsi.FastTrak133_xp]
driver = d4, Fasttrak.sys, Fasttrak
inf = d4, Fasttrak.inf

d4 is disc four of a floppy set??

If so how do I get the setup to look at the cd rom for [Files.scsi.FastTrak133_xp]????

Edit/ These two links in the first post of the thread are dead so I can't check. Down the bottom of the post.

* txtsetup.oem
* oemsetup.inf

Edited by Hipster Doofus, 04 May 2006 - 08:05 PM.


#114
trainee

trainee

    ThunderWalker

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
Hipster post a link to the exact driver you want and Ill take a look.

just to clarify: DO NOT PRESS F6 when using this method!


If I could figure out which CD I put my source code on I would try to get RASOR running again :blink:
Posted Image

#115
Hipster Doofus

Hipster Doofus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
trainee here's the link to the driver>
driver_raid_promise.
Direct link to exe

Here's the path to the driver.....motherboard_driver_raid_promise_20276\RAID_chip20276\Driver\WinXP\
The Txtsetup.oem is in the driver folder which I put into the winxp folder.

In [scsi] I am using this>
[scsi]
FastTrak133_xp2 = "WinXP Promise MBFastTrak133 Lite ™ Controller", FastTrak

Better give a bit more info...

Following the guide I copied my MassStorageDrivers entry from the txtsetup.oem.

[MassStorageDrivers]
FastTrak133_xp2 = "WinXP Promise MBFastTrak133 Lite (tm) Controller", FastTrak = "OEM"
"IDE CD-ROM (ATAPI 1.2)/PCI IDE Controller" = "RETAIL"

[OEMBootFiles]

	txtsetup.oem
	FASTTRAK.INF
	FASTTRAK.CAT
	FASTTRAK.SYS

When I first booted up I got about 1 or 2 seconds then this came up>>

"Line 68 of the INF file \I386\winnt.sif is invalid" That pointed to the massstoragedriver line.

What I did then was to edit the mass driver to remove words outside the quotes.

It now looks like this>
[MassStorageDrivers]
"WinXP Promise MBFastTrak133 Lite (tm) Controller" = "OEM"
"IDE CD-ROM (ATAPI 1.2)/PCI IDE Controller" = "RETAIL"

[OEMBootFiles]
	txtsetup.oem
	FASTTRAK.INF
	FASTTRAK.CAT
	FASTTRAK.SYS

This is where I get to "press F6" which I don't, then staight after I get the box about loading the floppy.

Edited by Hipster Doofus, 05 May 2006 - 03:17 AM.


#116
trainee

trainee

    ThunderWalker

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
ok the change you made was correct for the [MassStorageDrivers] is correct.

The disk portion of the txtsetup.oem isnt actually that important. Trust me I've screwed with it a lot. However where are you copying your files and are you copying all of them with the directory structure?

The reason I ask is that this is a generic txtsetup.oem file for all of those drivers. If you are only copying the 3 files (FASTTRAK.cat, FASTTRAK.sys, FASTTRAK.inf) to your folders it probably wont work. You will need to keep the directory structure below where the txtsetup.oem file is.

so .../Textmode/WinXP/ needs to be maintained.

I usually recommend copying the whole darn thing and then pairing it down after you have it working. So in your case the contents of the Driver directory should be copied (its less than 2mb) to ALL of the directories. I'm willing to bet it will work then.


Once you have it working we can work on removing what you don't need. Its not too hard to rewrite the txtsetup.oem file, that is what RASOR does...its around here somewhere I swear...
Posted Image

#117
Hipster Doofus

Hipster Doofus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
Still get that **** "Insert XP floppy" message. grrrrr

I've stripped the install back to basics. Tried again. Same result. I'll list my stuff to make sure it is all in the right place.

First my winnt.sif
;SetupMgrTag
[Data]
	AutoPartition=1
	MsDosInitiated="0"
	UnattendedInstall="Yes"

[Unattended]
	UnattendMode=FullUnattended
	OemSkipEula=Yes
	OemPreinstall=Yes
	TargetPath=\WINDOWS

[GuiUnattended]
	AdminPassword=
	EncryptedAdminPassword=NO
	OEMSkipRegional=1
	TimeZone=255
	OemSkipWelcome=1

[UserData]
	ProductKey=
	FullName="Hipster Doofus"
	OrgName="XP Ontology"
	ComputerName=

[Display]
	BitsPerPel=24
	Xresolution=800
	YResolution=600
	Vrefresh=60

[RegionalSettings]
	LanguageGroup=1
	SystemLocale=00000c09
	UserLocale=00000c09
	InputLocale=0c09:00000409

[Identification]
	JoinWorkgroup=WORKGROUP

[Networking]
	InstallDefaultComponents=Yes

[MassStorageDrivers] 
	"WinXP Promise MBFastTrak133 Lite (tm) Controller" = "OEM"
	"IDE CD-ROM (ATAPI 1.2)/PCI IDE Controller" = "RETAIL"

[OEMBootFiles]
	Txtsetup.oem
	FASTTRAK.INF
	FASTTRAK.CAT
	FASTTRAK.SYS

Now the folder/file structure.
$OEM$\TEXTMODE\WinXP\FASTTRAK.CAT: FASTTRAK.INF: FASTTRAK.SYS
.....................|
.....................|
..............Txtsetup.oem (plus all the other folders & files from the driver pack)

I386\$OEM$\(same structure as above)

If it is all correct then it's a dead end............knowing me though it's not right.

UPDATE: Been looking through the thread again & dowwn the bottom of the first page trainee mentioned something I have not done. Seeing as my files are in an extra folder (WinXP) I am going to add it to the winnt file under [OEMBootFiles] so it looks like this>>

Txtsetup.oem
WinXp\FASTTRAK.INF
WinXp\FASTTRAK.CAT
WinXp\FASTTRAK.SYS

All fingers crossed!

Next Update FIZZER. No go. :( Same message. Wish I had a XP home floppy. At least it would install quickly. :D

Edited by Hipster Doofus, 06 May 2006 - 08:18 PM.


#118
trainee

trainee

    ThunderWalker

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
I was reading back through this thread...is this still the message you are getting?:

"Please insert the disk labeled windows XP Home Edition CD-ROM into dirve A"



If it is I do NOT believe it is related to the drivers. For kicks you might try the bare source of this XP cd (aka the original cd). Does it throw up this same message?


You might also consider altering/adding this to your winnt.sif:

[Data]
AutoPartition=0

[Unattended]
FileSystem=*


This will help determine if the drivers are actually loading correctly and it is giving this message after that. If you watch the blue bar at the bottom of the screen you should see the drivers loading. They will be toward the end (after you see all the adaptec etc. drivers go by), but they can go fast and are easily missed.

Finally, just so we cover all of the bases, you are testing this on the actual hardware correct? Not emulated?

Edited by trainee, 07 May 2006 - 09:45 PM.

Posted Image

#119
Hipster Doofus

Hipster Doofus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
This is driving me nuts. It is on the actual hardware. I've got a spare partiton setup to test it. I tried about 15 times yesterday with various setups. All the same........"Please insert that floppy you don't have or won't".

I went right back to basics, using XPSP2, tried textmode, no go, insert floppy.

I tried adding to the txtsetup.sif, creating a cab file, no go, insert floppy.

I tried nlite, no go, insert floppy.

What happens everytime time is it will start to boot then say to press F6 (which I don't) then straight after that it asks for the floppy. It seems as if no files are being loaded as the F6 thing comes up after a couple of seconds after booting.

I must have an issue somewhere other than the driver. I'll try what you suggested above & see how it goes. I'll use the original XP disc.

Thanx for the help. Appreciate it. :)

Edited by Hipster Doofus, 08 May 2006 - 01:47 AM.


#120
cdob

cdob

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts

"Please insert the disk labeled windows XP Home Edition CD-ROM into dirve A"

Does files \WIN51IC and \WIN51IC.SP2 exist at cd?
Case is importand.

Remember, a a:\WINNT.SIF goes first.
Edit a a:\WINNT.SIF, remove [MassStorageDrivers] section and boot existing cd.
Do you get error message still?

@trainee
Thanks for winnt.sif [MassStorageDrivers] solution.
I'm using that at PE. Setupldr.bin in minint mode use files:
\I386\SYSTEM32\WINNT.SIF
\I386\SYSTEM32\$OEM$\TXTSETUP.OEM

#121
Hipster Doofus

Hipster Doofus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
FINALLY! w00t w00t.

Now I can get on with creating the rest of the install. w00t w00t

Well it was the driver. After trying from the original XP cd & getting the same message asking for the floppy I nearly gave up.

As a last ditch effort instead of using the XP driver ( I only want it to pick up the array at bootup) I chose to use the win2k driver.

It booted all the way to seeing the array. I haven't gone any further but I believe the problem is solved. I'll try going all the way in a day or two.

I've only done it using nlite but can't see any issues when I go with textmode.

I should be able to slim down that driver folder file as I go now.

Thanx again trainee for helping me thru. I would have chucked the towel in long ago. Cheers!

#122
trainee

trainee

    ThunderWalker

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
Yes! I'm glad you got it to work. I remember that feeling the first time I got my 3wares working. I really dont understand why the xp drivers dont work but the 2000 drivers do but now that you have something working slimming down is much easier.

Your hard work paid off; congrats.


@cdob: thanks, glad to help. Can I ask which drivers you have working?
Posted Image

#123
cdob

cdob

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
@trainee

I've few hardware only.

[Disks]
d1 = "Mass Storage Drivers", \TXTSETUP.OEM, ""

[Defaults]
;48 bit LBA
scsi = Ultra

[scsi]
Ultra = "Promise ULTRA Controller"
iaStor = "Intel SATA Controller"
viaraid_multiple = "VIA RAID Controller"



#124
TheCrowX

TheCrowX

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
Hi everyone i tried to use this method but it didn t work here is what i did step by step
I created 2 folders ( $TEXTMODE$ ) one under $OEM$ and another under I386
so now i have
D:\XPCDFE\$OEM$\$TEXTMODE$
D:\XPCDFE\I386\$OEM$

I copied all my sata driver to both directories
then modified winnt.sip here is what i added

[MassStorageDrivers]
"iaAHCI_ICH7R = "IntelĀ® 82801GR/GH SATA AHCI Controller (Desktop ICH7R/DH)" = "OEM"

[OEMBootFiles]
txtsetup.oem
iaahci.inf
iaahci.cat
iastor.sys

and here is some other winnt.sif infos

[Unattended]
UnattendMode=FullUnattended
OemSkipEula=Yes
OemPreinstall=Yes
TargetPath=\WINDOWS
FileSystem=*
UnattendSwitch="yes"
WaitForReboot="No"
DriverSigningPolicy=Ignore

so can anyone tell me what s wrong in the installation ?
I attached also a copy of txtsetup.oem ( btw i modified the file extension to .txt to i could upload it here )

Thanx in advance

Attached Files


Edited by TheCrowX, 18 May 2006 - 01:23 AM.


#125
cdob

cdob

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
@TheCrowX

[MassStorageDrivers] has to match the description in txtsetup.oem.
That's not the hole line. Remove iaAHCI_ICH7R.

[MassStorageDrivers]
"Intel(R) 82801GR/GH SATA RAID Controller (Desktop ICH7R/DH)" = "OEM"


Or try
[MassStorageDrivers]
"Intel SATA RAID Controller" = "OEM"
"Intel SATA AHCI Controller" = "OEM"


; ****************************************************************************
; ****************************************************************************
; **	Filename:  TxtSetup.OEM
; ****************************************************************************
; ****************************************************************************

[Disks]
disk1 = "Intel Matrix Storage Manager driver", iaStor.sys, \

[Defaults]
scsi = iaStor

;----------- Component Section -----------

[scsi]
iaStor = "Intel SATA RAID Controller"
iaAHCI = "Intel SATA AHCI Controller"

;-------------------------------------------

[Files.scsi.iaStor]
driver = disk1, iaStor.sys, iaStor
inf	= disk1, iaStor.inf
catalog = disk1, iaStor.cat

[Files.scsi.iaAHCI]
driver = disk1, iaStor.sys, iaStor
inf	= disk1, iaAHCI.inf
catalog = disk1, iaAHCI.cat

;-------------------------------------------

[Config.iaStor]
value = "", tag, REG_DWORD, 1b
value = "", ErrorControl, REG_DWORD, 1
value = "", Group, REG_SZ, "SCSI miniport"
value = "", Start, REG_DWORD, 0
value = "", Type, REG_DWORD, 1

;-------------------------------------------------------

[HardwareIds.scsi.iaStor]
id = "PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C3&CC_0104","iaStor"
id = "PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2652&CC_0104","iaStor"
id = "PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24DF&CC_0104","iaStor"
id = "PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_25B0&CC_0104","iaStor"
;id = "PCI\VEN_8086&CC_0104","iaStor"

[HardwareIds.scsi.iaAHCI]
id = "PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C1&CC_0106","iaStor"
id = "PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2652&CC_0106","iaStor"
id = "PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2653&CC_0106","iaStor"
;id = "PCI\VEN_8086&CC_0106","iaStor"





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN