Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

UltraMon

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1
sOid

sOid
  • Member
  • 4 posts
Dear readers,

It isn't a problem to install UltraMon silent, but I also want to register it silent, by a register key, but I can't find what the regkey has to be...

Can someone help me with that?

Tia!


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
syntax_13

syntax_13

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
Have you tried using RegMon to find it?

#3
sOid

sOid
  • Member
  • 4 posts
Well, I've found it but what do I have to put in a .reg file now?
Here's a screenshot to make things clear :)

Screenshot

(sorry for messing up the layout)

#4
MCT

MCT

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,291 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
u should block out your product key so ppl arent using it..

but, goto start > run > regedit
goto the key where your registration info is, highlight the key, goto file > export

name it something.reg & there u go :)

from a cmd/bat file just type

REGEDIT /S myfile.reg

change filenames accordingly
Posted Image Posted Image
Windows 7 32Bit 2GB Ram 120GB HDD (Laptop), Windows 8 4GB Ram 1TB HDD (Desktop) Windows XP SP3 VM with enhancements!

#5
sOid

sOid
  • Member
  • 4 posts

u should block out your product key so ppl arent using it..

but, goto start > run > regedit
goto the key where your registration info is, highlight the key, goto file > export

name it something.reg & there u go :rolleyes:

from a cmd/bat file just type

REGEDIT /S myfile.reg

change filenames accordingly

Thanks :)
Don't really care about the key, anyone is free to use it :D

#6
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts

Don't really care about the key, anyone is free to use it :D

Prohibited by Forum Rules. :rolleyes:

Also, this page loads slowly. Why don't you attach your pic instead of posting it? :)
Posted Image

#7
sOid

sOid
  • Member
  • 4 posts

Don't really care about the key, anyone is free to use it :D

Prohibited by Forum Rules. :rolleyes:

Also, this page loads slowly. Why don't you attach your pic instead of posting it? :)

Ok, I'll edit it :D

#8
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts
Now, much faster. Thanks.
Posted Image

#9
big poppa pump

big poppa pump

    Damn Newbies!!

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
I actually used wininstall LE and added the regsistry keys to the msi file itself. Now i only gotta install the msi file and the program is registered automatically.

DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert || Opty 165 CCBBE 0610DPMW @ 3.01Ghz (335*9) - 1.52V, TT Big Typhoon w/120mm Panaflo
2 x G.SKILL F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ || BBA Radeon 1900XTX || X-Mystique DD 5.1 with/ Pioneer THX 1015TX
2*74GB Raptors - Raid 0 || 2*300GB Seagate 7200.9 NCQ SATA-II || 4*Hitachi 500GB 7K500 || Mad Dog Triple Format DL DVD+/-RW/DVD-Ram
OCZ GameXstream 700W || CM Stacker STC-01 || 2 * Dell 2405FPW


#10
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
i know this is an old topic, but i have a question....

i'm trying to silently register my ultramon, and i followed the steps of the OP, but my reg info was in a diff key
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\UserData\S-1-5-18\Products\7AC9ADC90F5C80341B06A674D709D0D6\InstallProperties]

Does this mean that I won't be able to install this program on any other computer, since the key always changes?

Or will I be able to install it without problems?

Thanks!

[edit] tried to install it on another machine. the reg didn't work. when trying to figure out why, i saw that, on this machine, the key was:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\UserData\S-1-5-21-776561741-1078145449-1343024091-500\Products\7AC9ADC90F5C80341B06A674D709D0D6\InstallProperties]

The computers have the same OS (XP sp2 Corp), same key, etc. Why is one:
S-1-5-18
and the other:
S-1-5-21-776561741-1078145449-1343024091-500???

Edited by a06lp, 03 August 2006 - 01:54 PM.


#11
redfive19

redfive19

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
Well looking at his screenshot, I can tell you that it will be different for every user who tries it. Reason is, the first part of the SAM ID (forgot the technical name for it) "S-1-5-18" is gonna be different. Definately makes this trickier. You should instead of using RegMon try RegShot to take snapshots before and after. Sometimes these keys are moved to a more permanent location.

#12
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
I'm pretty sure the keys stay there.
See my edit - I sorta narrowed it down more.
Is there any way to work with this?

Or maybe use a wildcard somehow (like "insert current machine id here")?

#13
big poppa pump

big poppa pump

    Damn Newbies!!

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
When you install Ultramon make sure you install it for all users and not just for the current user only.
Also the registry key you have there for Ultramon is incorrect. I will let you know the location for the key when I get back home this evening.

DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert || Opty 165 CCBBE 0610DPMW @ 3.01Ghz (335*9) - 1.52V, TT Big Typhoon w/120mm Panaflo
2 x G.SKILL F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ || BBA Radeon 1900XTX || X-Mystique DD 5.1 with/ Pioneer THX 1015TX
2*74GB Raptors - Raid 0 || 2*300GB Seagate 7200.9 NCQ SATA-II || 4*Hitachi 500GB 7K500 || Mad Dog Triple Format DL DVD+/-RW/DVD-Ram
OCZ GameXstream 700W || CM Stacker STC-01 || 2 * Dell 2405FPW


#14
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts

When you install Ultramon make sure you install it for all users and not just for the current user only.
Also the registry key you have there for Ultramon is incorrect. I will let you know the location for the key when I get back home this evening.


I just installed it with the /qb switch - i don't know who it installed for...

I'll be waiting for the key - thanks!

#15
big poppa pump

big poppa pump

    Damn Newbies!!

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
make sure you put '/ALLUSERS = 1' before the /qb without the quotes

DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert || Opty 165 CCBBE 0610DPMW @ 3.01Ghz (335*9) - 1.52V, TT Big Typhoon w/120mm Panaflo
2 x G.SKILL F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ || BBA Radeon 1900XTX || X-Mystique DD 5.1 with/ Pioneer THX 1015TX
2*74GB Raptors - Raid 0 || 2*300GB Seagate 7200.9 NCQ SATA-II || 4*Hitachi 500GB 7K500 || Mad Dog Triple Format DL DVD+/-RW/DVD-Ram
OCZ GameXstream 700W || CM Stacker STC-01 || 2 * Dell 2405FPW


#16
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts

make sure you put '/ALLUSERS = 1' before the /qb without the quotes


doesn't work for me. it brings up the window with all thw switches (none of which say anything about allusers)
I tried:
/ALLUSERS = 1
/ALLUSERS=1

neither works...

Edited by a06lp, 03 August 2006 - 02:17 PM.


#17
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts
I think it's used without a slash (/)
Posted Image

#18
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts

I think it's used without a slash (/)


Yes!
Now it worked:
CMD=%cdrom%\\$OEM$\\Applications\\UltraMon\\UltraMon26en_x32.msi ALLUSERS=1 /qb REBOOT=Suppress

And I checked in the registry, and the install path is:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\UserData\S-1-5-18\Products\7AC9ADC90F5C80341B06A674D709D0D6\InstallProperties


Looks good, I think... :whistle:

#19
link627

link627
  • Member
  • 4 posts

I think it's used without a slash (/)


Yes!
Now it worked:
CMD=%cdrom%\\$OEM$\\Applications\\UltraMon\\UltraMon26en_x32.msi ALLUSERS=1 /qb REBOOT=Suppress

And I checked in the registry, and the install path is:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\UserData\S-1-5-18\Products\7AC9ADC90F5C80341B06A674D709D0D6\InstallProperties


Looks good, I think... :whistle:



This works, thanks :thumbup




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN