Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

PROB | ATI DVD-Decoder

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#26
n00b

n00b

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 137 posts
  • Joined 18-January 04
Are the decoder files supposed to be in the common files folder?

I got it to silently install by using InstallShield X and modifying the installer, SO SWEET AND EASY :lol:

I run it like this for those interested:
msiexec /qb /i atidvd.msi reboot=reallysuppress

and there is a custom execution script that aborts the install when you try to install it silently, all I did was delete that .. and now it installs

EDIT: oops... cannot repair/modify/uninstall DANG


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
Diabolical82

Diabolical82

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Joined 22-June 04
great find, well keep it up and keep us post on your progress.
Free LCD Screen I need 5 mores refers!!!

#28
nickxp

nickxp
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 17-August 04
fine,where can i get it?

#29
Diabolical82

Diabolical82

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Joined 22-June 04
Google is your friend, http://www.vbxtras.c...tallshieldx.asp

I'm still working on it, until i find solution, but I'm afraid my hand is all tied up with college, and part-time job.
Free LCD Screen I need 5 mores refers!!!

#30
polymorphean

polymorphean
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 27-August 04
Run the Setup.exe that the Decoder downloads with:

/z-wF:\

as the commandline/switch where F: is the location of the CD. This is the command that the Install button sends...

When I monitored file access it accesses the following files:
***\BIN\aticdfp.sys -I imagine fp is FingerPrint/FolderProperties/Etc and shows where the folders/files are. I tried tricking the installer by making empty folder structures, but it didn't work...it did however work with the Setup.exe that is downloaded and only needs to see one other file.
***\install\DVDDcdr\DVDDcdr.dat

So create a folder...say C:\FakeCD

and under it have the following folders:
\BIN\
\install\DVDDcdr\

In \BIN\ put aticdfp.sys and in \install\DVDDcdr\ put DVDDcdr.dat

Now run Setup.exe /z-wC:\FakeCD

That's pretty much it, and about as far as I'd go since this still requires an original CD to copy the files from and get the Decoder downloaded...and since ATI is awesome I don't want to tick them off by giving away any more secrets. Repackaging the Decoder may make them mad since they put so much effort in hiding it, and could get a lawsuit slapped on you. Gotta be careful these days.

#31
Diabolical82

Diabolical82

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Joined 22-June 04
Lawsuit gwahahaha.

I guess you're paranoid, but that's cool. ATI should've made it easier, but why bother creating installer that cost arm and leg just to prevent anyone trying silent install? Maybe it's time for ATI to quit making our life a living hell, otherwise I'll go back to nVidia, cuz it's much simplier.

Maybe you could sent them an email, and let them what I've been up to... and I wonder how they'll react?
Free LCD Screen I need 5 mores refers!!!

#32
nickxp

nickxp
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 17-August 04
thanks,i mean where can i get atidvd.msi?

#33
polymorphean

polymorphean
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 27-August 04
Someone just sent me an email saying they couldn't get my method to work. I've used it on like 4 different versions with no problems. They stated they are trying to use it as:
/z-wD:\software\applications\wpi\ati\decoder

I haven't had much luck with long paths in the command. You must remember this install is thinking it is pulling from a CD. I usually copy it to a folder right off the root of C: like C:\Decoder or something and it works fine. Also remember this doesn't work on the package you download...they put checks in there that this doesn't fool. You have to first have a valid CD and run the downloaded package to get the EXE file that installs it. This app also checks for a valid CD and can be fooled with my approach. Thus, I also cover my butt with ATI in that you need a valid CD to do it in the first place, then those of us with legit copies can run it in silent, etc after it is extracted/downloaded with the package.

#34
OCedHrt

OCedHrt

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 08-August 04
Was trying to play some HDTV 1920x1080 content on my computer and found that it just plain doesn't work too well. So went around looking for MPEG2 decoders and remembered, doesn't ATI have something like that for my BBA ATI 9800 Pro!? I bit the bullet and opened up my cd/manual package that was still in shrinkwrap :(, popped that in, got the update utility from ATI's website, and proceeded to figure out how to install it without the CD.

I'm going to post the link to the setup program that the update utility downloads because you still need the cd to run the setup program, so I think it's okay. Plus their link is so simple I don't think they really care about hiding it.

Link to setup.exe : http://www2.ati.com/drivers/setup.exe

As posted earlier, the setup program checks for the files \BIN\aticdfp.sys and \Install\DVDDcdr\DVDDcdr.dat. Simply copy these files and run setup with the right parameters, right? Well, aticdfp.sys is 108MB! Now comes the fun part:

1. Open up command prompt.
2. Change directory to the place where your copy of aticdfp.sys is. (NOT ON CD)
3. Run: fsutil sparse setflag aticdfp.sys.
4. Run: fsutil sparse setrange aticdfp.sys 4096 38067485.
5. Run: fsutil sparse setrange aticdfp.sys 38117149 76139699.

Now it's only using 192kb! Use your favorite compression program (HINT HINT: NOT WINZIP) that supports sparse (bzip, rar?) or is atleast smart enough to notice it's 99.999999999% 0's (rar, 7zip).

Note: You could probably put tighter boundaries on the sparse ranges but sparse segments comes in 64kb blocks, so it doesn't really matter.

Also, a note about the long paths, I have spaces in mine, but I use quotes and it works. I wrote a simple batch file like the following:
cmdow @ /HID
@ECHO OFF

SET CWD=%CD%
setup.exe /z-w"%CWD%"
I'm not sure if you can call a batch file from 7z's sfx script, if someone tries/knows LMK.

A little update: With the ATI DVD Decoder (Cyberlink with Hardware Acceleration), I can play the 1920x1080 HDTV content only using 40-50% cpu, vs 10fps at 100% cpu with ffdshow or 15fps with dscaler! :D

Edited by OCedHrt, 01 December 2005 - 04:51 AM.


#35
tommy_vercetti

tommy_vercetti

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 01-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

Went to this thread and pulled out my old driver cd and installed the ATI decoder, it's pretty good compared to all the commercial bloated ones, Tried the one compiled by the other guy works but the decoder is installed, but just not functional. If Anyone can help me with the .msi, I can see all the coponents it installs but just cannot create a setup file for it, cos it still keeps asking to run from setup. I running Installshield Pro 11.5 Trialware, not many days left for the trial to expire, so if anyone can help me


Thanks

#36
OCedHrt

OCedHrt

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 08-August 04

Hi,

Went to this thread and pulled out my old driver cd and installed the ATI decoder, it's pretty good compared to all the commercial bloated ones, Tried the one compiled by the other guy works but the decoder is installed, but just not functional. If Anyone can help me with the .msi, I can see all the coponents it installs but just cannot create a setup file for it, cos it still keeps asking to run from setup. I running Installshield Pro 11.5 Trialware, not many days left for the trial to expire, so if anyone can help me


Thanks


Use the batch code I have in my previous post. Save that in a .bat file in the same directory as the msi/setup. You still need to use setup.exe (the one mentioned in my above post).

Basically, actually do some reading and follow the instructions in my post :P

#37
tommy_vercetti

tommy_vercetti

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 01-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Im sorry you did not get me, I paid for the ATi card I am allowed to use that product without frequent request for my now old cd, In the ATiDec.msi I can see all the modules, what I want is to reengineer it,I know that's wrong but still I paid for it. So I just need to make a setup.exe for the msi or make changes in the msi, tried doing that but was not able to do that properly, any help would be welcome.


P.S. If you think my views violates the MSFN forum rules pls close this post

Edited by tommy_vercetti, 05 December 2005 - 04:43 AM.


#38
edadat

edadat
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 07-December 05
Polymorphean

Great tip for the setup.exe /z-w switches. All works for me. I have a Connect3D Radeon 9500 NP, and was a little disappointed to discover I couldn't install the ATI DVD Decoder, even tho I have the original CD - I'm guessing it was because I have an OEM version of the card.

Now I can make the most of the Adaptive de-interlacing that's built-in, primarily for experimenting with AVISynth stuff.

Anyway, I created my own little batch file to automate the process of installing from setup.exe.
Simply paste into notepad, save as a *.bat file and run from the same folder as setup.exe. I found that it didn't matter where you create your fakecd directory tree (can be many levels deep) and that you can spoof the files it looks for. I'd be interested to hear if this works for folks:

@ECHO OFF
setlocal enableextensions
pushd %CD%
mkdir fakecd\BIN
cd fakecd
SET schwing=%CD%
mkdir install\DVDDcdr
cd bin
echo fakefile > aticdfp.sys
cd ..\install\DVDDcdr
echo fakefile > DVDDcdr.dat
popd
start /WAIT Setup.exe /z-w"%schwing%"
IF EXIST fakecd rd /S /Q fakecd
endlocal


Regarding that stupid atiCDwiz.exe file that ATI tricked me into thinking is the actual installer, you can easily get round the CD check with a little tool called Enabler. Quite honestly, I don't know why they bother with such checks, when programs like Media Player Classic (with in-built filters) are freely available and the quality difference may be negligible, depending on your graphics card.

Anyway, for completeness, here's how I did it:

Simply insert any old CD, point it at that CD and click Next. Click ok when it say "Valid ATI CD not found". Then run enabler, double click on ATI CD Wizard Page 2 of 4, look for where it says &Next and right-click that, then left click Enable.

The enable button will no longer be greyed out, and you can progress to download setup.exe.
:thumbup

#39
tommy_vercetti

tommy_vercetti

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 01-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

We have a lot of interesting people out here, anyways I want to rengineer the .msi and any guys with Installshield knowledge wanting to help out...

#40
nio

nio
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 04-April 06
Hi there!

I found very useful info here. I have a Radeon 9550 256MB AGP.
I have installed everything for the dvd decoder to work. I stuck in installing the ATI DVD Player, because it also asks for a cd-serial number, that the included-cd doesn't have!
I have Power DVD 6 Installed.

My question is...

How on Earth can i finally use the card's on board DVD Decoder????????
What are the needed settings???

I have installed Windows Media Encoder, Ati Media Center and everything exept from Ati DVD Player, but i've read that the Power DVD Player can also be used. But how?????

Thank you for your time!

#41
nateklomp

nateklomp

    MS Junkie since DOS2.1

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Joined 12-May 04
ATI HARDWARE+ATI DECODER=HARDWARE-ACCELERATED DVD PLAYBACK.

ATI HARDWARE+POWERDVD DECODER=SOFTWARE-ONLY PLAYBACK.

#42
nio

nio
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 04-April 06
Well.. after thinking about it and all those hours i've spent searching and all those stuff installed on my P3 1GHz, i decided to give up the try.

With all those ati software stuff, i noticed some strange behaviour on some game graphics, so i decided to keep my system simple. Unless there's a way to use that h/w decoder with installing only one app.
In Power DVD settings, there's a "enable hardware acceleration" check button.
When i check this, my cpu usage during dvd playback is around 35% and without having anything installed (no ati media center, no ati decoder or anything else.).
When i un-check this, cpu usage climbs up to 75%.
The same exactly was the behaviour with all those ati software stuff.

On the other hand, i find that on windows media player, in menu tools -> options -> performance -> advanced, the "Prefered decoder" settings are frozen... and still was that way after installing all ati software.

So no more framework, ati media center, windows media decoder, ati decoder, and many many more that finally proved to be completelly useless to me.

I now only have the latest version of drivers and i am happy!

Edited by nio, 04 April 2006 - 10:55 AM.


#43
tommy_vercetti

tommy_vercetti

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 01-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,


Not going to give up so easily, to all ATi users I have taken out all the DVD decoding filters and attached to this post, you can use a bacth file to register this to your windows and use them.


P.S.

Good news I am planning on making a INF file for this and then install it using that so I will have a uninstall link in my control panel(just learning and this is gonna take time). Any interested ATi card enthusiast can contact me regarding this and we might be able to come up with something as the main thing are the filters, the rest is just the installer used to put it in place. The INF version will be more advanced as it will be able to put settings in the registry just like the actual one.

Hahahahaha, this stupid thing has 4.8 mb global limit but won't let me attach a .9 mb rar file

#44
tommy_vercetti

tommy_vercetti

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 01-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The Inf script to launch the install process for the .ax filters
/----> start here <------/

[Version]
Signature = $Windows NT$

[SourceDisksNames]
75 = %DISKNAME%

[SourceDisksFiles]
%FILENAME%.inf = 75
claud.ax = 75
CLNavX.ax = 75
CLVSD.ax = 75
PowerDVD.SIM = 75

[Inf.Copy]
%FILENAME%.inf

[New.Uns]
claud.ax
CLNavX.ax
CLVSD.ax
PowerDVD.SIM

[Do.Regist]
11,,claud.ax, 1
11,,CLNavX.ax, 1
11,,CLVSD.ax, 1

[File.Del]
%FILENAME%.PNF

[DestinationDirs]
DefaultDestDir = 11
Inf.Copy = 17
File.Del = 17

[DefaultInstall]
AddReg = Reg.Settings, Reg.Uninstall
CopyFiles = Inf.Copy, New.Uns
RegisterDlls = Do.Regist

[DefaultUninstall]
UnregisterDlls = Do.Regist
DelReg = Reg.Settings, Reg.Uninstall
DelFiles = Inf.Copy, New.Uns, File.Del

[Reg.Settings]
;DVD in WMP
HKCU,Software\Microsoft\MediaPlayer\Player\Settings,EnableDVDUI,,"yes"

[Reg.Uninstall]
HKLM,%UNINSTAL%\%DESCNAME%
HKLM,%UNINSTAL%\%DESCNAME%,DisplayName,,"%DESCNAME%"
HKLM,%UNINSTAL%\%DESCNAME%,UninstallString,,"%REMOVCMD% %17%\%FILENAME%.inf"

[Strings]
; Non-localizable
DISKNAME = "ATIDVD Decoder"
SC = "SOFTWARE\Classes"
SCC = "SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID"
SMWntCv = "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion"
SCcsCMr = "SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\MediaResources"
UNINSTAL = "Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall"
REMOVCMD = "rundll32.exe setupapi.dll,InstallHinfSection DefaultUninstall 132"

; Localizable
FILENAME = "atidvd"
DESCNAME = "ATIDVD Decoder"


/------> end here <------/


The filters can be extracted using the Uniextract utlitly available somewher on this forum, also the powerdvd.sim is the key if you don't put that file nothing will work.


If anybody can still improve on my Inf file would be great or even make a Msi would be even better...

That's all for now..

For all you lazy people here is the download link http://rapidshare.de...ecoder.exe.html

Sorry to have to use Rapid Share, also right click the file and open in WinRAR before installing to see what is actually in there, should know what it is doing, actually there is lot of scope for improvement, but Im not a programmer just a enthusiast, so bear with this, any troubles PM me I might be able to help

Edited by tommy_vercetti, 21 April 2006 - 01:04 PM.


#45
Noise

Noise

    Windows Guru

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 425 posts
  • Joined 27-February 04
That's a very nice INF file. Don't see too many of those these days :)

#46
tommy_vercetti

tommy_vercetti

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 01-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Download url http://rapidshare.de...ecoder.exe.html

#47
cristianb

cristianb
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 17-May 06
i have the same problem with a ATI tv wonder pro!!! before was working fine without ati decoder with my onboard vga, well now with my new fx 5500 PCI the tv its flickering on the top of the screen, so i can see just the bottom normal.I've tried many software and the same problem.Well few days ago i tried christv and its working just with deinterlaced disable.I want to use ati software and i dont know how to resolve this problem.I download the ati decoder from here and its still now working :angry: maybe someone know how to fix this problem, thanks!!!

#48
tommy_vercetti

tommy_vercetti

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 01-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

Today is your lucky day cos all the big guys have abandoned this topic and it's just me trying to hold on...

Your lucky day bcos just last night I figured out what is to be done, I've tried trying to disassemble and all sort's of things like trying to register the filters with regserver and like but was not satisfied with that, so here is the official way how it should have been done long ago...

So to the main part..

Get the file here

Then form the setup file you have do a admin install using
setup.exe /A
as the parameters

This will give you the following files
1. ATIDec.msi
2 Common folder

Now note that the Common folder contains all the filters and that the executable to this is the ATIDec.msi but if you click on it it will give you an error message that it cannot be run from the msi directly(bul*****). So I happened to check out this site and while going through the Quicktime deployment issues found out the solution.


So now to overide all the msi and other restriction you can run the msi directly without modifying or anything by this command
msiexec /i ATIDec.msi ISSETUPDRIVEN=1  /QB

The command ISSETUPDRIVEN=1 overides the cannot be run from the msi directly condition without even having to touch the ATIDec.msi with ORCA(A Msi editing tool). For those installing on fresh XP SP 2 machines it will give you an error that it needs some ISS scripting engine is not installed no to worry try to run the setup.exe directly it will give you an error message saying that it needs to be run from the ATi CD-wiz, do not click on ok, first go to your temp(C:\Documents and Settings\Your Namet\Local Settings\Temp) directory and from there look around for a file named ISScript9.Msi

Then in order to not get that error message and be able to install write a cmd file ATIDVD.cmd with the following code in it

msiexec /i ISScript9.Msi /qb
msiexec /i ATIDec.msi ISSETUPDRIVEN=1  /QB

Please note you need to put the actual file locations in place of the file names, I have tried this and I know it works...

Hope this help...

This is my longest and maybe last for this topic as it is resolved now

Edited by tommy_vercetti, 17 May 2006 - 09:20 PM.


#49
cristianb

cristianb
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 17-May 06
i am using win2k and i cant find that ISScript9.Msi anywhere :no:

#50
tommy_vercetti

tommy_vercetti

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 01-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
s*** this place won't let me upload files, sorry had to use Rapid share, here is the link

Edited by tommy_vercetti, 20 May 2006 - 07:57 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN