Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

SAV 9 - Symantec AntiVirus 9.0

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
372 replies to this topic

#1
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
could we have a detailed article on how to install/pre-configure SAV 9.0? :)
And also, about how to have the updated patches and anti-virus definitions merged into install source?

I'm sure many of you have done this before successfully. Please consider taking up the above request. :rolleyes:





Update: here's a good, and confirmed to work properly, guide - made by mazin.

Guide for SAV's AIP

Before you use this guide, make sure SAV isn't installed on your system. Otherwise, you'll get errors when creating the Administrative Installation Point.

Create a folder anywhere on your hard disk and name it whatever you like. I'll assume you name it "SAVSource".

Copy the following files into "SAVSource":

1- 0x0409.ini (for French version, you need 0x040c.ini, instead)
2- Setup.ini
3- setup.exe
4- Data1.cab
5- Symantec AntiVirus.msi

Those 5 files are copied from your CD (of version 9.0.0.338), of course.

6- SAVCE_9.0.0.1400_AllWin_EN .msp

This file is extracted from SAVCE_9.0.0_mp2.zip (3 MB) downloadable from here.
(for French version, you download this, instead.)

7- yyyymmdd-###-i32.exe

It's usually 5+ MB in size and can be downloaded from here. The file I'm using in this guide is named 20040828-003-i32.exe!
(for French version, you start here, instead.)

8- lusetup.exe

It's 2.5+ MB in size and can be downloaded from here.

9- remote.cmd

The following quote shows the contents of remote.cmd!

cls
@echo off
ECHO Creating AIP
start /wait setup.exe /A /V"/QB TARGETDIR=%systemdrive%\SAV91400" :D
sleep 30
copy lusetup.exe %systemdrive%\SAV91400\CommonAppData\Symantec\LiveUpdate\LuMMInst\Lsetup.exe
ECHO Patching AIP
copy "SAVCE_9.0.0.1400_AllWin_EN .msp" %systemdrive%\SAV91400\savce1400.msp
start /wait msiexec /p %systemdrive%\SAV91400\savce1400.msp /a "%systemdrive%\SAV91400\Symantec AntiVirus.msi" /QB
del %systemdrive%\SAV91400\savce1400.msp
ren "%systemdrive%\SAV91400\Symantec AntiVirus.msi" SAV.msi
ECHO Updating AIP Virus Definitions
attrib -r "%systemdrive%\SAV91400\program files\Symantec AntiVirus\Virus Defs\*.*"
start /wait 20040828-003-i32.exe /Extract /Q "%systemdrive%\SAV91400\program files\Symantec AntiVirus\Virus Defs"
exit

Before you run remote.cmd, make sure you put sleep.exe in your system32 or Windows folder.
After remote.cmd exits, you should have your AIP created (ready steady) as a folder in your system drive and named SAV91400.
Now, delete "SAVSource" folder, as it's no longer needed.

To install SAV using your AIP, add these lines to your batch file:

ECHO SAV 9.0.0.1400 V.Defs updated 28.8.2004
start /wait %systemdrive%\Install\SAV91400\SAV.msi /QB RUNLIVEUPDATE=0 REBOOT=ReallySuppress


Edited by prathapml, 28 September 2004 - 05:29 AM.

Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Moezy

Moezy

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
I would like to know as well please. :)

#3
Bâshrat the Sneaky

Bâshrat the Sneaky

    aka Wim Leers

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,214 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
How to install it can you find in this topic:

Direct from the CD:
MSI_FAQ.txt
******************************************************************************
Symantec AntiVirus Corporate Edition 9.0             MSI_FAQ.TXT
Copyright 2004 Symantec Corporation.         All rights reserved. March 2004
******************************************************************************

This file is a list of the most commonly used MSI commands for Symantec 
AntiVirus and Symantec Client Security. For a complete list of commands, 
properties, and features, see the Symantec Knowledge Base.


BASIC MSI commands
------------------
/QN - Quiet No UI
/QB - Quiet Basic UI
/L*V log.txt - full verbose logging to file log.txt


BASIC MSI properties
--------------------
REBOOT=REALLYSUPPRESS


SAV properties
--------------
INSTALLSERVER= (1 = Server, 0 = Client, Default is client)
	SERVERGROUPNAME= (New or prexisting servergroup)
	SERVERGROUPPASS= (New or prexisting servergroup password. The default 
                          is symantec)

NETWORKTYPE= (1 = Managed, 2 = Unmanaged, default is Unmanaged)
	SERVERNAME= (preexisting SAV Servergroup)

RUNLIVEUPDATE= (run LiveUpdate during install = 1, do not run LiveUpdate=0, 
                default is On)

ENABLEAUTOPROTECT= (1 = ON, 0 = OFF, default is On)

INSTALLDIR= (Install target directory, default is C:\Program Files\
             Symantec AntiVirus)

SERVERPARENT= (e.g. SERVERPARENT=MySavServer)
Note: For a secondary server silent install from the command line, you must 
set the SERVERPARENT property to the Parent server computer name. When doing 
a UI or Symantec System Center rollout install, setting this property is not 
required.   


SAV features
------------
EMailTools
NotesSnapin
OutlookSnapin
Pop3Smtp
QClient
SAVHelp
SAVUI


Adding and removing features
----------------------------
To remove existing features:

REMOVE=<feature1>,<feature2>,<feature3>

To add new features:

ADDLOCAL=<feature1>,<feature2>,<feature3>, <existing feature 1>, 
         <existing feature 2>, etc.

Note: When adding new features using ADDLOCAL, any existing features on the 
target computer that you want to retain must be included in the features that 
you are specifying. The installation will remove any features on the target 
computer that are not listed.


Command line example
--------------------
This example demonstrates a silent Symantec AntiVirus Server installation. 
The server is named MYSAVSERVER and uses the password MYSAVPASSWORD. 
LiveUpdate is not run, and the server is not restarted even if its required.

Sample command line: 
setup /s /v"/l*v log.txt INSTALLSERVER=1 SERVERGROUPNAME=MYSAVSERVER 
SERVERGROUPPASS=MYSAVPASSWORD RUNLIVEUPDATE=0 REBOOT=REALLYSUPPRESS"

The best way to install newest updates is this one in my opinion.
And you can download the newest updates here

But like this it won't be 'merged' into source, but at least it's easy maintainable. (Which is more important IMHO)

#4
Mei

Mei

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
Actually, I've used the informations contained in the MSI_FAQ.txt in order to have a silent Installation, but it crashes with error... I have to recheck my commandline.

A patch exists for SAV9, but it is in .MSP format, so I don't now how to install it. Maybe we can slipstream it... I need help for this :)
Here is the link : http://www.symantec...._9.0/files.html

For the virus definition, simple download the lastest Symantec Security Responce Intelligent Updater and run it with the /Q- switch. (downland the x86 and not the i32 version)
Here is the link : http://securityrespo...s.download.html

#5
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
That's great news!
You find the warez which already have the build1400 update integrated. How they do it is described below.

Slipstream SAV9 Update
1. Run a setup.exe /A (admin install point)
2. Get AV-defs (get the i32 version) from here
3. Save it in a folder, and then change into that directory using the command-prompt. Create a new folder called "updts".
3. Extract the above-mentioned exe using "/EXTRACT .\updts" switch, and in the admin-install folder, over-write files in "\program files\Symantec AntiVirus\Virus Defs" with all files from the extracted i32 update.
2. extract "SAVCE_9.0.0.1400_AllWin_EN .msp" from the update (see previous post) .zip and place it into the SAV9 admin/server-image install dir.
3. Open a command-prompt into that directory, and use the following command:
msiexec /p "SAVCE_9.0.0.1400_AllWin_EN .msp" /a "Symantec AntiVirus.msi" /QB

So there it is, AV-updates and latest SecurityCenter patch merged into the distribution source. Now, can we have more details from ppl who have successfully pre-configured their SAV?
I mean, how to:
1. Disable the LiveUpdate that comes up at the end of install?
2. Disable Automatic updating
3. And whatever else, interesting things you ppl have found out.

Edited by prathapml, 30 August 2004 - 02:38 PM.

Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#6
Agent-X

Agent-X

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
Thanks for the info prathapml but unfortunately I have some minor issues still.
I followed yor instructions but after a succesfull install (in vmware) I still needed two liveupdates to get it updated.

Any ideas how to solve this? :/

#7
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I still needed two liveupdates to get it updated.

Could you please mention which ones those are?
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#8
Agent-X

Agent-X

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
If you can tell me how to find out :)

For the moments some screens of the update:

[edited]


The virus definitions as stated in the programm were only updated after the seccond liveupdate.

#9
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
OK, understood what the problem is. :) (you can now edit out those screenies)

The SAV isn't ever satisfied with what is already there (even if it is the latest already) - it necessary always wants to go out and download the latest updates - I saw this being discussed somewhere - there's probably a registry entry, or a file signature somewhere which we aren't able to update when we merge the newest virus definitions.
Well, no probs as long as you can manually deny it permission to update itself, when you already *KNOW* that it has the latest it could get. :rolleyes:
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#10
Agent-X

Agent-X

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
Ok, my workaround so far is to simply call the manual virusupdate with the /Q switch.
I get an error doing this if I don't move/copy the file to the target system first (to be deleted afterwards).
This wil result in an updated definition but as you mentioned SAV still likes to update anyway :)

Also, executing a .msi file with the /qn switch gives me a nasty pop up if the publisher is unknown (fe the newly build SAV package)

Will this show during unattended install?

#11
Ziuck

Ziuck

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
nevermind

#12
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

executing a .msi file with the /qn switch gives me a nasty pop up if the publisher is unknown

Will this show during unattended install?

Hmm.... I suppose if it shows up during your testing in normal windows mode, it would do the same during uA setup as well.
I would gladly use the update with /Q switch, but my only gripe with it is that it would end up swelling the size of my CD - so I prefer to replace the existing defs with new - which Symantec still isn't satisfied with - I suppose it thinks we are a bunch of lying kids, so it asks its mother and confirms the news. :)
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#13
Ziuck

Ziuck

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
is there anyway to recompress all of this like it was before the updates?

#14
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes.
Make that entire install folder compressed into an SFX archive which silently extracts to "%SystemDrive%\install\Applications\" folder from CD. The next command after that can be to run "%SystemDrive%\install\Applications\SAV\whatever.msi /whatever".

Easy, and at the end of the process, the space SAV occupies on your CD is reduced from its original size.
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#15
buzzons

buzzons

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
bleh my install of SAV wont work :S

using

ECHO.
ECHO Installing SAV 9.0
start /wait %systemdrive%\install\Applications\SAV\sav.msi /QN INSTALLSERVER=1 SERVERGROUPNAME=Boxen SERVERGROUPPASS=****** NETWORKTYPE=Managed RUNLIVEUPDATE=1 REBOOT=REALLYSUPPRESS

and having :

Directory of c:\XPCD\$OEM$\$1\Install\Applications\SAV

12/08/2004  03:14    <DIR>          .
12/08/2004  03:14    <DIR>          ..
14/04/2004  21:21      4,817,612 SAV.msi
            1 File(s)      4,817,612 bytes
            2 Dir(s)  133,503,991,808 bytes free


I get the "Installing SAV 9.0" echo.. and then there is a gap while it does something.. then it goes onto the next program. However when the process finishes SAV has not been installed into the \program files\ and there is no Sheild icon in the system tray. The program has not been installed.. and I dont know why, can any one help me please?

many thanks

Buzzons

#16
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Use "/QB" instead of "/QN" (atleast during testing). That way, you'll get an on-screen diag-box if anything is wrong during install. Do check that out and report back on what it says.

Also, you might like to un-install your current Anti-Virus, and install the SAV9 (which you are attempting to unattend) in the normal way while windows is fully operational - then you'd know if there's been any file-corruption.
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#17
buzzons

buzzons

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
im installing it within a Virtual PC so there is nothing installed as it is. Ill post back in a few mins with the result of that flag change.

thanks for the fast response

#18
buzzons

buzzons

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
data1.cab can not be found during the install.. bleh?

#19
sleepnmojo

sleepnmojo

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 472 posts

Yes.
Make that entire install folder compressed into an SFX archive which silently extracts to "%SystemDrive%\install\Applications\" folder from CD. The next command after that can be to run "%SystemDrive%\install\Applications\SAV\whatever.msi /whatever".

Easy, and at the end of the process, the space SAV occupies on your CD is reduced from its original size.

prathapml which msi are you using, or how do you integrate back to the Data1.cab? After following your instructions, I get 7 folders.

If I copy the original over, it will ask for the Data1.cab rather than use the updated files in the folder. Any idea here?

:: nevermind. Figured out how to do it. When I did the setup /a, it didn't work till I did it from the cd. Then everything worked.

Also something to add. when updating the virus defs, rather than using winrar to extract, use the command line
<exe file> <folder to extract to> /EXTRACT

copy the contents of that folder to \program files\Symantec AntiVirus\Virus Defs. If it worked, you won't see an update from liveupdate

#20
buzzons

buzzons

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
well i went and got everyting from my SAV install disk in \SAV\ and copied it into the install folder .. seems to work fine :) :rolleyes: thanks man for the response

#21
tcsdoc

tcsdoc

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts

ECHO Installing Symantec AntiVirus Corp v9.0.0.1400
start /wait %systemdrive%\install\Applications\NAV\sav.msi /qn RUNLIVEUPDATE=0 REBOOT=REALLYSUPPRESS

ECHO Installing Virus Definitions Dated August 8th, 2004
start /wait %systemdrive%\install\Applications\NAVdefs\navupdate.exe /qb


These are the lines from my install.bat file. It loads SAV CE and the Updates without any inputs. I hope this info is helpful.

#22
r4v3n

r4v3n

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
How do you get setup /a to work. When I try it only wants to upgrade my installation and then tells my that my installation is newer already and quits. Strange thing is that my SAV installed is only 9.0.0.338.

By the way: I think the updater should be installed with /q only. Perhaps it works just as well with /qb?

Best regards
Niklas

#23
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
When you run "Setup /A", you shouldn't have that app installed. So un-install SAV and try again.

Hey all, LiveUpdate has been updated to v2.5 to be compatible with XPSP2. Downloadable here. In NAV, you'd simply replace the "lusetup.exe" in the setup folders to have an updated version. But here, there seems to be no way visible (yet).

Any takers for an article on how to integrate LiveUpdate 2.5 into SAV9 ? :)
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#24
buzzons

buzzons

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
couldnt you just run the install file as it only needs u to click once?

#25
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

couldnt you just run the install file as it only needs u to click once?

1. Demands too much effort (tried taking the file on CD to 200 PCs and clicking to update, and clicking OK, and clicking restart, and kicking the makers for having made this so horrible?)

2. It will take up too much redundant space on the unattended CD (SAV already has a version of LU right? so why not just replace it with newer one?)
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN