Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Guide: Mozilla Firefox Unattended

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
636 replies to this topic

#601
zomig

zomig
  • Member
  • 2 posts
hi
I have looked through this thread and used the search but i have not been able to find a solution to my problem.

I have downloaded astalavista firefox installer, but everytime i run the command on a clean install of windows xp so that i can just test to see if will go in ok i get an icon in the bottom right of the screen which when you right click on it, it say "script paused" or exit, this is from a command prompt.
i have run the command "setup.exe /silent" also tried other switches like -ms and just double clicking on the file itself. All comes back with the same thing. Tried this on 2 seperate installations of xp, once i get this bit working i can then add it into the unattended section of my runonce.

The original firefox 1.04 from the authors site works with -ms switch no problem, just this one that i cannot get to work. obviously something i am doing wrong or perhaps the i need something else to get the astalavista installer to work ?

Anyhelp appreciated

zomig


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#602
syntax01010

syntax01010

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts
Here is what i'm attempting to do. I think it is possible with what i've seen in this post so far, but i'm not 100% on how to go about it. Perhaps a tutorial or something could be put together for custom Firefox installers?

1. Install the latest Firefox 1.0.4 as of this writing.
2. Install custom selected set of extensions. Perhaps with a prompt or dialog box with checkboxes to select/remove the extensions installed per user choice?
3. Install a collection of additional themes that are tested to work with latest Firefox build.
4. Install Quicktime Alternative, Real Alternative, Windows Media, Flash, Shockwave, Adobe Reader plug-ins.
5. Install a preconfigured set of bookmarks.
6. Give the choice of a Firefox desktop icon or start menu icon(pinned to top of start menu if chosen) with both icons having a similar right click options as the IE icon has.

This last one here is one I am having the most trouble with. I am not sure if this is possible or not, but it is something that I and many of my friends are interested in if possible.

6. Configure the automarks/urlfiller/thecleaner extensions or similar so that every time Firefox is started/restarted the url history in the address bar is cleaned and filled with only the urls of bookmarks and set the history function so typed urls don't ever get saved for url address autofill and only bookmark urls autofill/autocomplete in the address bar.

It would be nice to put this all together as a silent installer for clean installs of Windows, but i'd be more than happy to just get some sort of graphical/semi graphical installation like this put together that could be done from within an already installed Windows. Any assistance with putting this together would be greatly appreciated. I'd be glad to document the files and steps necessary with screenshots to some sort of .pdf guide to post online and also be more than happy to seed such a guide/installer via bittorent when completed.

Anyone willing to assist with this, please feel free to eMail me, pm me or IM me via any of the clients I use - AIM/Yahoo/MSN.

#603
sleepnmojo

sleepnmojo

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 472 posts
I have an installer which does all but 2, 3, and 6. This is all using the default installer.

2. This is just a pain in the arse. There would be to many modifications to both the extension and installer. I usually prefer to do this via command line, and I see no simple way to integrate the many different extensions easily. Good luck with that one.

3. These are similar to extensions, but I haven't checked. Themes would seem easier, but I only run the default theme. If I could ever find one that looks halfway decent I would try to integrate it, but still, there is the command line.

4. Have it, and it is selectable in the installer

5. Don't really have it, but you could copy in your bookmarks.htm file into the installer. Which would be simple.

6a. I have this, and only installs the desktop link if there is a user, otherwise it is the pinned icon. I haven't tested it, and I have it deletable. Though I wouldn't mind someone checking it for me.

6b. You have two 6s. This would be user dependent, or machine specific. This may also require an extension, but I haven't looked into it to much.

I could post my installer, and you can dissamble it, and try to add the parts I won't do.

#604
NeoBD

NeoBD

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
after a silent install ... How to Get rid of the First Starup Import Settings Screen . .cause i'm trying to run firefox.exe to silently install xpi and jar files. but it shows the imprt settings from Internet Explorer etc Dialog.. Anybody has any idea how to get rid of that?

TQ

#605
SiMoNsAyS

SiMoNsAyS

    C'mon you apes! You wanna live forever!?

  • Patrons
  • 3,455 posts
@NeoBD, try to create a profile from command-line.
it has been already commented on this thread :)

#606
svenby

svenby

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 46 posts
Mozilla firefox 1.0.4 silent install without switch

Download swedish
Download English


I have edit config.ini
Look for this
[General]
; Run Mode values:
; Normal - Shows all dialogs. Requires user input.
; Auto - Shows some dialogs, but none requiring user input. It will
; automatically install the product using default values.
; Silent - Show no dialogs at all. It will install product using default
; values.
Run Mode=silent

#607
sleepnmojo

sleepnmojo

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 472 posts

I have edit config.ini
Look for this
-ma: Run setup in Auto mode.\n *

-ms: Run -setup in normal fashion.\n
change to
-ms: Run -setup in Silent fashion.\n

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I know I haven't downloaded the file, but please tell me those aren't the edits you made to make it silent, because that shouldn't. That is the usage string, ie when you use the /? this is what is shown.

What is everyone's obsession with silent, switchless installers? I group that together with a trojan. Leave the switches in there.

It looks like the installer is larger than the normal (english) installer. I'm assuming the swedish would be around the same size. Are there other changes to the installer? If all you want to do is make it switchless, you are adding a lot of extra space for something so trivial.

#608
anandus

anandus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 30 posts
I read somewhere that somebody used these switches for Firefox:
FF.exe -ms -ira

Does anyone know what this -ira switch does?

And my extensions won't install. What am I doing wrong?
This is part of my RunOnceEx.cmd:
REG ADD %KEY%\070 /VE /D "Firefox" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\070 /V 1 /D "%PP%\FF\FF.exe -ms" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\070 /V 2 /D "\"%PROGRAMFILES%\Mozilla\Firefox\firefox.exe\" -CreateProfile default "%USERPROFILE%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles" /f

REG ADD %KEY%\071 /VE /D "Firefox Extensions" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\071 /v 1 /d "\"%PROGRAMFILES%\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe\" -install-global-extension %PP%\Install\FF\XPI\1.xpi" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\071 /v 2 /d "\"%PROGRAMFILES%\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe\" -install-global-extension %PP%\Install\FF\XPI\2.xpi" /f
Firefox installs fine, but not the extensions.
Is the profile-creation done right?

(I don't want to make a SFX with a ready-prepared profile, I'd rather do it this way..... if it's possible..)

#609
sleepnmojo

sleepnmojo

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 472 posts

Does anyone know what this -ira switch does?

This is supposed to disable the RunAppX sections in the installer, but I don't think it is really needed anymore. I usually leave it, in case they decide to update the installer.

And my extensions won't install. What am I doing wrong?
This is part of my RunOnceEx.cmd:

REG ADD %KEY%\070 /VE /D "Firefox" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\070 /V 1 /D "%PP%\FF\FF.exe -ms" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\070 /V 2 /D "\"%PROGRAMFILES%\Mozilla\Firefox\firefox.exe\" -CreateProfile default "%USERPROFILE%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles" /f

REG ADD %KEY%\071 /VE /D "Firefox Extensions" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\071 /v 1 /d "\"%PROGRAMFILES%\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe\" -install-global-extension %PP%\Install\FF\XPI\1.xpi" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\071 /v 2 /d "\"%PROGRAMFILES%\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe\" -install-global-extension %PP%\Install\FF\XPI\2.xpi" /f
Firefox installs fine, but not the extensions.
Is the profile-creation done right?

(I don't want to make a SFX with a ready-prepared profile, I'd rather do it this way..... if it's possible..)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

There could be a couple problems. I know some extensions have issues, but its usually rare. If you are doing this on a slower computer, or VMware, it could be taking its time making a profile, or installing old extensions. I would check to make sure the profile is made. Then for the extension, I usually add the start /wait, otherwise it seems to jump to the next one, creating problems. I usually consoladate the installing of extensions in a batch file, which I have posted in another thread.

#610
-I-

-I-

    win2k Freak

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 639 posts
trying with
@echo off

start /wait "%systemdrive%\program files\mozilla\firefox.exe" -add-global-extentions %systemdrive%\oem\ffxpi\extention.xpi
exit
Seams to just start firefox (in browser mode)

where the same command (without start /wait) does install the extention - anyone for comment???
[message of the .....whatever]
Dont be a luser*!*@msnf.org: Ask Good Questions. , read the microsoft guide, google-it-yourself
Do NOT use pirated software, there is free opensource software for allmost every task you seak!
Where is the "any key" ???

#611
sleepnmojo

sleepnmojo

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 472 posts

trying with

@echo off

start /wait "%systemdrive%\program files\mozilla\firefox.exe" -add-global-extentions %systemdrive%\oem\ffxpi\extention.xpi
exit
Seams to just start firefox (in browser mode) 

where the same command (without start /wait)  does install the extention - anyone for comment???

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Make sure you have the right parameter
-install-global-extension

Also make sure you don't have another firefox.exe running, as that would cause problems (this is why I insist on the start /wait).

#612
Gagorian

Gagorian

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
When using simonsays package the shortcuts on the desktop and the quicklaunch bar don't get the mozilla firefox icon (they have the "no icon"-icon). Any fix to this? (it's annoying to locate the icons manually).

#613
SiMoNsAyS

SiMoNsAyS

    C'mon you apes! You wanna live forever!?

  • Patrons
  • 3,455 posts

When using simonsays package the shortcuts on the desktop and the quicklaunch bar don't get the mozilla firefox icon (they have the "no icon"-icon). Any fix to this? (it's annoying to locate the icons manually).

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

weird, open the sfx exe archive and locate Setup\setup.cmd.
at the very end of that file you'll see the commands used to create shortcuts, feel free to play with them (although is working fine here :})

#614
Gagorian

Gagorian

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
Yeah, I figured that it might work or it would've been reported. But for me the icons have not worked on two separate installations (and the older and newer version of your package, if I recall the pre-1.0.2 worked). I don't really see anything wrong with the cmd-file but the fact is that the shortcuts wont locate the .ico files from the directory even if they're there. So to fix the icons have to manually pick the firefox exe and choose the icons from it. Weird.

Well I'll see if I can figure something out, suggestions are appreciated.

#615
specialized

specialized
  • Member
  • 1 posts
Install Firefox Unattended

REG ADD %KEY%\010 /VE /D "Firefox 1.0.4" /f 
REG ADD %KEY%\010 /V 1 /D "%systemdrive% /install\firefox\firefox104.exe -ms" /f

greetings!! :hello:

#616
ZileXa

ZileXa

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
I've made my own default profile (by starting Firefox using the default profile)... it works fine with my unattended install... I did NOT modified download location.

Now I have this annoying problem:
The computer I modified the default profile was logged in to my account (Zilexa).

Now on pcs installed with my unattended disc, if I download something in Firefox, it gets downloaded to:
C:\Documents & Settings\ZILEXA\DESKTOP (all in capitals)

instead of the desktop of the current user...

How can I change this? it is VERY annoying!

#617
sleepnmojo

sleepnmojo

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 472 posts

Well I'll see if I can figure something out, suggestions are appreciated.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Did you change the default installation path? I could see that messing up the icons.

Now on pcs installed with my unattended disc, if I download something in Firefox, it gets downloaded to:
C:\Documents & Settings\ZILEXA\DESKTOP (all in capitals)

instead of the desktop of the current user...

How can I change this? it is VERY annoying!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Check in the default profile for a prefs.js. In there there should be a download directory path, just delete it.

#618
Ben.Hahlen

Ben.Hahlen

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
I am using this silent install package since recently.
I have a problem though.
FireFox gets installed properly, and also the .xpi and .jar files I included are installed correctly, BUT:
When I check for updates, it shows each plugin/theme that requires an update twice, and if I install a (updated) theme or extension, my bookmarks don't work anymore.
Do you perhaps know how this could be?

Thanks in advance.
The package is great! :thumbup

Edited by Ben.Hahlen, 13 June 2005 - 11:23 AM.


#619
sleepnmojo

sleepnmojo

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 472 posts
How are you installing the extensions? Via command line, or profile? Sounds like you might be doing both.

If you install via command line and want to update; you should uninstall the extension, then install the updated extension via command line.

Never heard of the bookmarks problem, but it could be a problem with how you are installing everything.

I would recommend starting with the normal setup, and install just your extensions and themes. If you are doing more, then I say you are doing to much.

#620
Astalavista

Astalavista

    MSFN loyalist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,338 posts
SimonSay request update on the first page to reflect this new profile.exe

Hello folks if you are new to firefox or if you a veteran. Here is a default profile I have created for Firefox 1.04. Extensions up to date as of June 25, 2005.

What this default will do is install 2 dozen of the most essential extension
you will need. Plus it will install a default theme. Also it has the lastest
adblocking script as of today. So no more ads no more annoying pop ups.
Test it out today.

Profile.exe <- download it here

Why a default profile? What is this for?

Well basically, if you want to install firefox 1.04 all u need is a switch -MS
to install firefox silently.

Now what about extensions and bookmarks?

Well basically using the default profile.exe method it is easy to update
and you only need to use Winrar SFX.

Here is default profile i have made for YOU!

All you have to do is download profile.exe

double click on it. It will silently install itself

now how do you u know that it worked?

* first backup your bookmarks and settings before you go further.


Simple all u have to do is go to

c:\ Documents and Settings folder

right click on the Documents and Settings folder
and search for mozilla folder and delete them all

now launch firefox

select dont import i.e. bookmarks

and wala u will see ... enjoy! from Astalavista

Edited by Astalavista, 25 June 2005 - 12:23 PM.


#621
MioKawaii

MioKawaii

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
I have a question on profile backup with batch file. The following batch file can only be run if placed in the profile folder (PS- The filelist might not be the minimum compulsory list):
 
@echo off
IF NOT EXIST "%systemroot%\system32\7zA.exe" copy "%programfiles%\7-zip\7zA.exe" "%systemroot%\system32"
ECHO bookmarks.html>> listfile.txt
ECHO cert8.db>> listfile.txt
ECHO cookies.txt>> listfile.txt
ECHO defaults.ini>> listfile.txt
ECHO formhistory.dat>> listfile.txt
ECHO hostperm.1>> listfile.txt
ECHO inforss.rdf>> listfile.txt
ECHO inforss.xml>> listfile.txt
ECHO key3.db>> listfile.txt
ECHO localstore.rdf>> listfile.txt
ECHO mimeTypes.rdf>> listfile.txt
ECHO prefs.js>> listfile.txt
ECHO search.rdf>> listfile.txt
ECHO secmod.db>> listfile.txt
ECHO signons.txt>> listfile.txt
7zA a -t7z MioProfile.7z @listfile.txt -mx9
DEL listfile.txt
EXIT

So what do I have to add in order for it to be able to run anywhere? To be precise, how to search for the profile directory and set it as variable automatically?

#622
sleepnmojo

sleepnmojo

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 472 posts
I don't know if you want to parse each user, but that would just mean an extra for loop, but this would get every profile for the current user.

The cmd would save the 7z files next to the cmd file, where you could keep the 7zip executable if you wish, but I remark of the different ways of doing it. Also made editing the list file a little easier.

 
@ECHO OFF
REM Add the path to the 7zip executable
SET PATH=%PATH%;"%ProgramFiles%\7-zip\"

REM or leave it beside this cmd file
SET PATH=%PATH%;%~dp0

REM the list of files to backup
(
ECHO bookmarks.html
ECHO cert8.db
ECHO cookies.txt
ECHO defaults.ini
ECHO formhistory.dat
ECHO hostperm.1
ECHO inforss.rdf
ECHO inforss.xml
ECHO key3.db
ECHO localstore.rdf
ECHO mimeTypes.rdf
ECHO prefs.js
ECHO search.rdf
ECHO secmod.db
ECHO signons.txt ) > %TEMP%\listfile.txt

REM save all the profiles in the profile directory
FOR /d %%D IN ("%APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\*") DO (
PUSHD %%D
7zA a -t7z "%~dp0\%%~nD.7z" @"%TEMP%\listfile.txt" -mx9
POPD
)


#623
enderandrew

enderandrew

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
How do you make these custom Firefox installers that include Flash, extensions, etc?

I would like to make a cab I can throw in nLite that will install Bon Echo alpha 3 (or maybe even this build of Alpha 3) with all my favorite extensions, etc.

#624
JohnS

JohnS

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts

How do you make these custom Firefox installers that include Flash, extensions, etc?

I would like to make a cab I can throw in nLite that will install Bon Echo alpha 3 (or maybe even this build of Alpha 3) with all my favorite extensions, etc.

Just read the "changelog.txt" that is inside the rar file in here (post 599).
You can include Flash dll in the Plugin directory.
By the way I am still using this nice piece of code to install my Firefox v1.5.
Thank you SiMoNsAyS :thumbup :thumbup

Edited by JohnS, 29 May 2006 - 12:40 PM.


#625
Alphaz

Alphaz

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 82 posts

Download!


This link is dead

Install Firefox Unattended

REG ADD %KEY%\010 /VE /D "Firefox 1.0.4" /f 
REG ADD %KEY%\010 /V 1 /D "%systemdrive% /install\firefox\firefox104.exe -ms" /f

greetings!! :hello:


Thanks for this post man, quick and easy




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN