Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

kTool (just another software selector)

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
145 replies to this topic

#1
kenedy

kenedy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 12-February 04
AutoIt script for selecting/installing software.
kTool v1.1a
Source code

Features:
Works in GUI/Silent mode
Can work from GuiRunOnce/cmdlines.txt/Detached
Supports restarting (if any of installed software requires restart, PC is restarted and program execution is continued)
Autologon - if restarts are needed it (optionally) asks for currently logged on user password and writes autologon information to registry. Only required number of logons are written. Currently Win2000/XP only.
Separate software list for each Windows version (95/98/NT4/ME/2000/XP)

Full description

Screenshots:
Main GUI:
Posted Image

Progress type 1:
Posted Image

Progress type 2:
Posted Image

ChangeLog

Older versions:
1.0c
First version


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
kenedy

kenedy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 12-February 04
Removed
Link to file is moved to first post.

Edited by kenedy, 29 September 2004 - 08:13 AM.


#3
evilvoice

evilvoice

    Ditchy McAbandonpants

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 946 posts
  • Joined 27-January 04
very nice tool...one thing I would like to say is I notice ktool can have parameters passed to it, maybe you could include a parameter string so that say someone could run ktool 1,3,4,7,8,10...which would in turn silently install the first app header listed in file.ini, then 3,4,7,8, and lastly 10, just a suggestion...I would say something about avlable, but you said not to mention the layout...
When I spotted this little cutie with some sex appeal. I winked at her, she gave me a look like I'm a booger. I thought b***h, I'd rather spend my money on a hooker. Then a bright idea ran across my mind, if I could swipe a manikin I'd have a freak all the time.

#4
kenedy

kenedy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 12-February 04

maybe you could include a parameter string so that say someone could run ktool 1,3,4,7,8,10...which would in turn silently install the first app header listed in file.ini, then 3,4,7,8, and lastly 10, just a suggestion...

This can be done but I can't imagine situation when this will be usefull. Can you explain it.

#5
evilvoice

evilvoice

    Ditchy McAbandonpants

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 946 posts
  • Joined 27-January 04
ya know what, youre right...because honestly, if you can type it in a cmd window, you could just select the software in the app...so, youre right...not really a good suggestion. Well, then, Id have to say this is **** near perfect (near cuz nothing is perfect ;) )
When I spotted this little cutie with some sex appeal. I winked at her, she gave me a look like I'm a booger. I thought b***h, I'd rather spend my money on a hooker. Then a bright idea ran across my mind, if I could swipe a manikin I'd have a freak all the time.

#6
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Joined 19-August 04

Suggestions that will make it more functional, on the other hand, will be carefully reviewed, and if I find them usefull - they will be added.

Suggestions:
how about Default Options, Select All, and Deselect All.

Seems pretty useful to me!!

Questions:
1) How many lines can each Program have? Can I have two RunWait commands in a row? 2 DosCommand ? etc?

2) For WaitProcess - am I typing the process name (the same thing i would use, for example, in TASKKILL - the exe in Task Manager?)

3) Could you explain the run from CD thing more clearly?

#7
kenedy

kenedy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 12-February 04

how about Default Options, Select All, and Deselect All.

I'll think about adding Default Options (or maybe remembering last selection)

1) How many lines can each Program have?  Can I have two RunWait commands in a row? 2 DosCommand ? etc?

Only one of each type. Enough for all the programs I use.

2) For WaitProcess - am I typing the process name (the same thing i would use, for example, in TASKKILL - the exe in Task Manager?)

Yes, the process name from Task Manager

3) Could you explain the run from CD thing more clearly?

If you are running kTool from CD, drive letter is basically unknown and you cant use full paths. So add Append=CD to .ini file and paths will become relative to kTool.exe. (the path to kTool will be appended to command path)
Example. Suppose kTool.exe is in D:\soft. So instead of typing
[SomeSoftware]
Run = D:\soft\Folder1\SomeSoftware.exe
you type
Run = Folder1\SomeSoftware.exe

Note that that way you lose ability to launch programs from network and other drives.

#8
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Joined 19-August 04

I'll think about adding Default Options (or maybe remembering last selection)

Default is the most important in that list, I just figured while you were at it, it would make it easier to do the other 2 as well...

Only one of each type. Enough for all the programs I use.

What if, for example, I have a program and an add-on? I'd have to do them seperately?
Also, I can have a list of up to 8 commands for one program (assuming they are all different commands, one of each = 8)

running kTool from CD


This sounds useful. Is it faster/slower than hard drive installation?

#9
kenedy

kenedy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 12-February 04

What if, for example, I have a program and an add-on?  I'd have to do them seperately?

Yes.
But there is alternative. For installing hotfixes I use:

[Hotfixes]
RunWait = ktool.exe hotfixes.ini

There is no reason to select each hotfix separately so I just launch another instance of kTool in silent mode to install all hotfixes. hotfixes.ini contains
[KBxxxxxx]
RunWait = KBxxxxxx.exe /switches
for every hotfix

This sounds useful.  Is it faster/slower than hard drive installation?

Installing software from CD? Slower.

#10
edmoncu

edmoncu

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Joined 28-April 04
just a quick question... can this run at the t-39 stage?
Please join the growing Filipino Community of PC Experts and Enthusiasts
Posted Image

#11
kenedy

kenedy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 12-February 04

just a quick question... can this run at the t-39 stage?

T39 = cmdlines.txt?

#12
evilvoice

evilvoice

    Ditchy McAbandonpants

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 946 posts
  • Joined 27-January 04
detahcedprogram from winnt.sif is t-39
When I spotted this little cutie with some sex appeal. I winked at her, she gave me a look like I'm a booger. I thought b***h, I'd rather spend my money on a hooker. Then a bright idea ran across my mind, if I could swipe a manikin I'd have a freak all the time.

#13
kenedy

kenedy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 12-February 04
Haven't tried GUI mode but silent works fine.
Just dont use any commands besides Run and RunWait.

#14
sixpack

sixpack

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts
  • Joined 29-May 04

I'll think about adding Default Options (or maybe remembering last selection)


I cant wait :w00t:
Never say, "Oops!" always say, "Ah, interesting!"

#15
kenedy

kenedy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 12-February 04
Uploaded new version.
New parameters in .ini file - AutoSelect and SaveSelection.
AutoSelect - default options
SaveSelection - remembers what was selected and writes that information to AutoSelect
[Config]
AutoSelect = |WinZip 9.0|WinRAR 3.4|Acrobat 6.0
SaveSelection = 1


#16
sixpack

sixpack

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts
  • Joined 29-May 04
thanks for the update :thumbup
works fine
Never say, "Oops!" always say, "Ah, interesting!"

#17
mazin

mazin

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,952 posts
  • Joined 12-January 04
@kenedy

COOL! I'll give it a try and report back. Thanks.
Posted Image

#18
Senser

Senser
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 11-September 04
@kenedy, i just took a first look at kTool.

Really like your INI-syntax, very easy to use.

A few small suggestions for future versions of kTool:

INI-syntax:
- per application keyword 'default=1' for applications that should be installed by default
- global keyword 'autoInstallSeconds=360' will wait for user input till xxx seconds and than start installing the default applications only.

Interface:
- little typo 'avialable' should be 'available . :whistle:
- i don't like selecting applications by using the cursor keys, i would like to browse though the list with cursur keys and select with spacebar or double click (for example). Maybe you can fix that?
- sort the application list by alfabet.

Thats it. Hope you like the suggestions. ;)

#19
kenedy

kenedy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 12-February 04

- per application keyword 'default=1' for applications that should be installed by default

There is global default application list now.

- global keyword 'autoInstallSeconds=360' will wait for user input till xxx seconds and than start installing the default applications only.

I have serious doubts about usefulness of this.

- little typo 'avialable' should be 'available .  :whistle:

Ok. Will be fixed :hello:

- i don't like selecting applications by using the cursor keys, i would like to browse though the list with cursur keys and select with spacebar or double click (for example). Maybe you can fix that?

No. I like the current way. All mouse navigation is kept to minimum.

- sort the application list by alfabet.

But then you can't sort them by category.

#20
edmoncu

edmoncu

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Joined 28-April 04
wanna clarify something, where have you uploaded a newer version?
Please join the growing Filipino Community of PC Experts and Enthusiasts
Posted Image

#21
Senser

Senser
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 11-September 04
@Kennedy,

The autoInstallSeconds could be handy if you don't have time to come back to the keyboard. If you use this functionality the system can be completly installed with the default software.

About navigating without mouse; totally agree, keyboardnavigation is a lot faster. Maybe you could make it like this: navigate with cursur keys, select with spacebar. In your current version, browsing through the list alone equals selecting the applications..

Can you explain what you mean with the catagory function? I cannot this back in the program.. :}

#22
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Joined 19-August 04
Well, for "categories" you could make a "Program" with no parameter called [----------], and then ---------- will show up on the list, thus breaking the list into sections.

Suggestion 1: VERSION NUMBERS, so we don't get confused as to which version we have.

Suggestion 2: Unlimited amount of each function - anything can be put under [Program], and should work correctly. (ex: 3 RunWaits)

#23
sixpack

sixpack

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts
  • Joined 29-May 04
hmm.. got some errors (see pic) i think that the blue line on the right pane is 0:
second error when i try to edit the win_xp.ini
on my test computer the tool restores the old win_xp.ini
so even when i delete all files and copy a new set that works on my pc
it sets the old config back.
btw when i drag and drop the ini file it works :wacko:

edit:
ok the ktool copy's the ini file to Documents and Settings\name\Local Settings\Temp
i did delete it and it works fine now.

Attached Files


Never say, "Oops!" always say, "Ah, interesting!"

#24
kenedy

kenedy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 12-February 04
edmoncu
>>wanna clarify something, where have you uploaded a newer version?
Just redowload file.

Senser
>>The autoInstallSeconds could be handy if you don't have time to come back to the keyboard.
What kind of installation would that be? Half-unattended? :wacko: I think WPI wave that functionality. Search forum for it.
>>About navigating without mouse...
I think current way is faster. Anyway I can't change it without destroying ability to select items with one click.
>>Can you explain what you mean with the catagory function?
Items show up in order that you write them in ini file. Therefore you can have all antivirus in one block, archivers in one block etc.

a06lp
>> VERSION NUMBERS
Good idea.
>>Unlimited amount of each function
Excellent idea. Could't figure out how many commands to add. 2,5,100? Unlimited is the answer :thumbup But this requires much reprogramming so will take some time.
>>Well, for "categories" you could make a "Program" with no parameter called [----------]...
It already works that way.

>>Well, for "categories" you could make a "Program" with no parameter called [----------]...
Oh, sorry it doesnt. Currently only empty sections "[]" are not selectable.

Edited by kenedy, 27 September 2004 - 02:03 AM.


#25
kenedy

kenedy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Joined 12-February 04
Offtopic
I created other tool for building unattended Windows CD's.
But it's too big to post on this forum. 120K actually but with all example and other files it takes ~1MB. Can anyone suggest a place to host it?

Ok, have it. Thanks mazin

Edited by kenedy, 28 September 2004 - 09:27 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users