Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

HFSLIP (original thread)

- - - - -

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
733 replies to this topic

#726
Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 06-August 04
Yzöwl
When you run the script in a folder there are a few new sub-folders appear in the main folder where you place hot-fixes and additional files (you certainly found it already, sorry for explaining this, just in case).

Not sure if your MSI installer could be placed in any HFSLIP folder:

FDVFILES folder is for fdv's IE-removal files.
FIX folder for your customize files or files you want to replace in the source (like notepad.ex_, winnt.sif, ntdetect.com and ntldr for w2k).
HF folder is for hot fixes only (!).
HFCABS folder is for DirectX and IE6 cabs (you can also place LegitCheckControl.cab there).
HFSVPK folder is for .cmd files, inf files, .reg files and silent switchless snstallers (only .cmd and .exe files are ran from svcpack.inf! .inf and .reg files are ran through a newly created HFSLIP.CMD that you can find in SVCPACK folder after slipstreaming).
HFSVPK_SW folder is for programs with a /Q:A /R:N silent switch.
MSIEXT folder is for a msi-extractor tool.
SOURCE folder is for the distributive.

So there is no folder to place your own MSI file.
I have one MSI installer in my installation that I run through a .cmd file (this .cmd file can be ran from cmdlines.txt or placed in HFSVPK). It istalls good with /qn Reboot=Suppress switch.

I personally use HFSLIP to slipstream hot-fixes, DirectX and (theoretically because I don't ;) IE6 (Windows 2000 here). I aslo slipstream all my tweaks and install all my appz with an .inf file and a .cmd file placed in HFSVPK (this way I don't need OEM folder and even winnt.sif - just theoretically because I use it in fact :) And they are easier to manage if you have all of them in separate file that you can edit any moment AFTER slipstreaming (For example, you don't like a program and you can just delete it from appz.cmd and no need to uncab svcpack.in_, edit it and cab it again. And you can specify any swich for a program in appz.cmd too).

I hope you like the scipt and the result you get after running it ;) I sincerely hope on this because your knowlege and experience in batch-cripting is well-known in this forum and may be usefull for all users :)

Edited by Oleg_II, 05 October 2005 - 12:14 PM.

Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#727
fdv

fdv

    MSFN Expert

  • Developer
  • 1,111 posts
  • Joined 16-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yzöwl, didn't know you gots the xp. you're right , MSI instructions are not in there. sorry about that. i'll clarify this with TP. in 2k, they go into the HF folder, and you use the MSICabExtract.exe file; this is the first time this MSI issue has come up in connection with 2k3/xp and this needs to be answered so i'll document that when TP tells me what's up.

as for svcpack.in_, that's right too, i was misremembering, i'll edit my post to prevent confusion. ok i'll admit it's been a long time since i've looked at the code :P

a few folks have PMs from me, check your inboxes.

Edited by fdv, 05 October 2005 - 10:31 AM.


#728
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,681 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
To clarify, if you have an MSI type hotfix, you place the update into the HF folder and you need to fill the MSIEXT folder with the msi-extractor tool. The tool is a relatively small, and is totally harmless even if you don't have any MSI type hotfixes. Personally, I just leave that tool in that folder and leave it. If HFSLIP needs it, then it's used. But, if HFSLIP calls it and you decided to not have it there, don't cry to me saying HFSLIP doesn't work. :)

@FDV, "didn't know you gots the xp" That's f-n funny! You made it sound like a disease!

@Oleg_II - Thanks for your help. Greatly appreciate it.

@TAin - In the event that we get our own forum, I'll post directions on how to slipstream lots of codecs into the source.
Posted Image

#729
ratba_tardly

ratba_tardly

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 03-October 05
Wait...what I said was, I will use my computer at work to build the directory (ies) and then take it home on a CD or DVD, thereby eliminatiing the need to install the OS first at home, only to reinstall without all the junk. Then I was talking about what a pleasure it will be to spend my last ten days on the job goofing off rather than doing an honest day. I can't see what the "insult" was, right down to the smiley. Saug, what the hell are you talking about?!

#730
murvun

murvun

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
  • Joined 19-July 05
ratba_tardly: use hfslip to slipstream something into the source. but if you talk about "reinstall without all the junk" you should perhaps look for nlite?

you talk about one additional reinstall. try to imagine, how many installations tommyp and fdv made while developing hfslip.

and try to imagine, how many installations everyone made while understanding and testing hfslip.

regards

murvun

Edited by murvun, 06 October 2005 - 01:40 AM.

Posted Image

#731
saugatak

saugatak

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Joined 15-July 05
ratba, maybe I was being overly sensitive, didn't quite understand what you were saying.

my apologies.
Posted Image

#732
fdv

fdv

    MSFN Expert

  • Developer
  • 1,111 posts
  • Joined 16-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Supporting HFSLIP (if you want to -- no offense taken if you don't put this in your sig!)

Put this in your signature of your profile to add an "HFSLIP" icon to the bottom of your posts.

[url=http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showforum=129][img]http://www.vorck.com/images/hfslip-small.png[/img][/url]

It's small and unobtrusive. Let's get word out about this new forum for October. In November I'll probably take the graphic down. You'd be surprised how much a simple logo eats up in bandwidth, being reloaded constantly :blink:

Again, it's strictly for those who want to -- nothing personal if you don't... :D
But if you don't, HFSLIP will just turn off your refridgerator via TCP/IP and let your girlfriend's Hagen-Daazs go all melty...

Edited by fdv, 07 October 2005 - 12:03 AM.


#733
rfliu2000

rfliu2000
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 04-August 05
FOR /F %%I IN ('FINDSTR /I /B Localization !SRC!\i386\PRODSPEC.INI') DO SET %%I
IF "!Localization!"=="Arabic" SET LG=AR ARA
IF "!Localization!"=="Chinese(Taiwan)" SET LG=CHT
REM FOR WINDOWS server 2003 CHINESE
IF "!Localization!"=="Simplified Chinese" SET LG=CHS ZHCN ZH ZH-CN
IF "!Localization!"=="Chinese(PRC)" SET LG=CHS ZHCN ZH ZH-CN

IF "!Localization!"=="Czech" SET LG=CZ CZE
IF "!Localization!"=="Dansk" SET LG=DA DAN
IF "!Localization!"=="German" SET LG=DE DEU
IF "!Localization!"=="???????" SET LG=EL ELL
IF "!Localization!"=="English" SET LG=EN ENU
IF "!Localization!"=="ESPANISH" SET LG=ES ESP
IF "!Localization!"=="Finnish" SET LG=FI FIN
IF "!Localization!"=="French" SET LG=FR FRA
IF "!Localization!"=="Hebrew" SET LG=HE HEB IW
IF "!Localization!"=="Hungarian" SET LG=HU HUN
IF "!Localization!"=="Italian" SET LG=IT ITA
IF "!Localization!"=="JAPANESE" SET LG=JA JAP NEC
IF "!Localization!"=="KOREAN" SET LG=KO KOR
IF "!Localization!"=="Dutch" SET LG=NL NLD
IF "!Localization!"=="Norwegian" SET LG=NO NOR NB NN
IF "!Localization!"=="Polski" SET LG=PL PLK
IF "!Localization!"=="Portuguese" SET LG=PT PTG
IF "!Localization!"=="Portuguese(Brasil)" SET LG=PT-BR PTB PTBR
IF "!Localization!"=="Russian" SET LG=RU RUS
IF "!Localization!"=="Swedish" SET LG=SV SVE
IF "!Localization!"=="TURKISH" SET LG=TR TRK
IF "!Localization!"=="TIAWANESE" SET LG=TW TWN ZHTW ZH-TW

FOR %%S IN (%LG%) DO (
IF EXIST HFCABS\SCRIPT%%S.CAB EXPAND HFCABS\SCRIPT%%S.CAB -F:* !WORK!\IE6EXP
IF EXIST HFCABS\SCRIP%%S.CAB EXPAND HFCABS\SCRIP%%S.CAB -F:* !WORK!\IE6EXP
)


#734
xper

xper

    Insane Clown

  • Administrator
  • 20,161 posts
  • Joined 16-August 01
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
This topic is too long and is closed.

Please feel free to open new topic in HFSLIP forum.

Thanks

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Become an MSFN Sponsor Now! Keep Up MSFN Running

Read MSFN Forum Rules
Not a member? Donate here!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users