Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

how about putting a new task manger?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1
kurt476

kurt476

    YU-GI-OH!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 624 posts
  • Joined 26-October 04
how about putting a new taskmanger that you can replace so you can set the priority to high to run time?
I been braeking bearier's in my lifestyle to change. like nonething.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
ssmokee

ssmokee

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Joined 05-November 04
The only freeware task manager I ever managed to find was Win9x/ME TaskManager by Coral Software. Its functionality is somewhat broken, and it does not always display correct CPU usage. TaskInfo2003 is an awesome task manager that blows away anything else Ive seen, but it is not free.

#3
kurt476

kurt476

    YU-GI-OH!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 624 posts
  • Joined 26-October 04
how about if i find a task manger the is better and test it out i will get some may to make 1 for you i think there is one i seen that is freeware and it's not that one you are talking about
I been braeking bearier's in my lifestyle to change. like nonething.

#4
kurt476

kurt476

    YU-GI-OH!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 624 posts
  • Joined 26-October 04
hi it's me again here is a task manger just like windows 2k and i think it is freeware http://www.niresoft.com/tm.asp
I been braeking bearier's in my lifestyle to change. like nonething.

#5
ssmokee

ssmokee

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Joined 05-November 04
Well it definately looks promising, and yes it is free. I will try it out as soon as I can.

#6
soldier1st

soldier1st

    I Work For The Shinra's Elite Squad Known As Soldier

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
would it be possible to use that win9x task manager and could it replace the one that comes with win 98 se?makes sense if it's possible cuzz that task manager for win9x is very good
Here At Shinra HQ,Any and All Resistance Against The Shinra Will Be Dealt With Thus Utilizing Shinra's Elite Squad Known As Soldier

#7
WatcherSea

WatcherSea

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 26-June 05
I use " Process Explorer " from Sysinternals:

http://www.sysintern...ssExplorer.html

"Ever wondered which program has a particular file or directory open? Now you can find out. Process Explorer shows you information about which handles and DLLs processes have opened or loaded.

The Process Explorer display consists of two sub-windows. The top window always shows a list of the currently active processes, including the names of their owning accounts, whereas the information displayed in the bottom window depends on the mode that Process Explorer is in: if it is in handle mode you’ll see the handles that the process selected in the top window has opened; if Process Explorer is in DLL mode you’ll see the DLLs and memory-mapped files that the process has loaded. Process Explorer also has a powerful search capability that will quickly show you which processes have particular handles opened or DLLs loaded.

The unique capabilities of Process Explorer make it useful for tracking down DLL-version problems or handle leaks, and provide insight into the way Windows and applications work.

Process Explorer works on Windows 9x/Me, Windows NT 4.0, Windows 2000, Windows XP, Server 2003, and 64-bit versions of Windows for x64 processors.
"

WatcherSea

#8
Petr

Petr

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Joined 15-April 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I use " Process Explorer "  from Sysinternals:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Unfortunately it does not show memory usage.

Petr

#9
eidenk

eidenk

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,527 posts
  • Joined 28-March 05

Unfortunately it does not show memory usage.


Apart from Taskinfo which is shareware I can't recall any serious free Task/Process manager candidate (PrcView, Current Process or Process Explorer) that displays memory use, but almost any resident memory manager (without which in my opinion no 9x system can be run satisfactorily) will display memory use in the tray.

PS : CoralSoft's Win9x/ME Task Manager (A free clone of Win 2000 Task Manager) does display memory use in the performance tab but is my opinion too poorly featured as it does not allow setting process priorities, it does not allow to view modules loaded by processes and it does not allow to dump any information to file.
Asus A8V Deluxe - Athlon 64 FX-55 2.6Ghz - 1GB DDRAM 400 - Windows ME (IE 5.5 SP2 Shell) + KernelEx 4.0 and Revolutions Pack 10

#10
Petr

Petr

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Joined 15-April 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Unfortunately it does not show memory usage.

Apart from Taskinfo which is shareware I can't recall any serious free Task/Process manager candidate (PrcView, Current Process or Process Explorer) that displays memory use, but almost any resident memory manager (without which in my opinion no 9x system can be run satisfactorily) will display memory use in the tray.

PS : CoralSoft's Win9x/ME Task Manager (A free clone of Win 2000 Task Manager) does display memory use in the performance tab but is my opinion too poorly featured as it does not allow setting process priorities, it does not allow to view modules loaded by processes and it does not allow to dump any information to file.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I have bought Performance 95 7 years ago and it displays memory usage for each process but it is not free - and also rather old now.

What do you mean by "resident memory manager"? I use none and had never problem with W98SE?

Petr

#11
nateklomp

nateklomp

    MS Junkie since DOS2.1

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Joined 12-May 04
Hiya All,

I've checked out some of these apps, looking for a taskman replacement:
Coral's and (now defunct)Niresoft's are both unacceptable; Coral's is apparently unfinished, and Niresoft's causes system slowdown and instability! Process explorer is OK but doesn't show mem. usage + other details NT users are used to seeing...it seems either process explorer or the default taskman are the only acceptable "free" options..IMHO.

:)

#12
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,931 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Unfortunately it does not show memory usage.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

That's the main problem of all free task managers - it's impossible to get memory usage without writing a low level driver. I remember MS WinTop PowerToy did it well.
If I'll rewrite my taskmanager I'll use WinTop driver functionality.

#13
ssmokee

ssmokee

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Joined 05-November 04

PS : CoralSoft's Win9x/ME Task Manager (A free clone of Win 2000 Task Manager) does display memory use in the performance tab but is my opinion too poorly featured as it does not allow setting process priorities, it does not allow to view modules loaded by processes and it does not allow to dump any information to file.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I think youre right about the coralsoft task manager. I used it for a while, but I was never happy with it. Have you tried Cool Beans task manger? It also works on 2k/xp like taskinfo does. It has a good bit of extra functionality over the stock 2k/xp task manangers as well. The only thing Im not sure about it setting priorities under 98. I would say it is stands out as the best of the freeware taskmanagers that will run on 98.

#14
eidenk

eidenk

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,527 posts
  • Joined 28-March 05

What do you mean by "resident memory manager"? I use none and had never problem with W98SE?


I am using Ram Idle as a background task, it monitors the amount of free physical memory, dispay its value in the tray and autofrees (optional) some of it when it becomes too low as Windows does not seem to do it by itself. If I do not use this tool free memory can easily reach 0 and the system then becomes unstable. It is a well known problem isn'it ? Or have I missed something ? Sure it is not necessary to have a resident one but I am sure you are sometimes using one tool or another to free unused physical memory.
Asus A8V Deluxe - Athlon 64 FX-55 2.6Ghz - 1GB DDRAM 400 - Windows ME (IE 5.5 SP2 Shell) + KernelEx 4.0 and Revolutions Pack 10

#15
eidenk

eidenk

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,527 posts
  • Joined 28-March 05

Have you tried Cool Beans task manger?


I've just installed it. It's nice but it's not exactly my cup of tea. If only because it always floats on the screen (No send to tray or minimize option apparently) and uses around 8-10 % each of the resources (GDI, User, System) which is a lot.
Asus A8V Deluxe - Athlon 64 FX-55 2.6Ghz - 1GB DDRAM 400 - Windows ME (IE 5.5 SP2 Shell) + KernelEx 4.0 and Revolutions Pack 10

#16
WatcherSea

WatcherSea

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 26-June 05
Everest has a section for memory usage per application.

It's not a Task Manager but it does show the info.

http://www.lavalys.com/products/overview.php?pid=1〈=en

EDIT: The newest free version does not have this feature.

Use the last version of AIDA32 which Everest is based upon.

http://fileforum.bet...32/1033800563/1

"Publisher's Description:
AIDA32 is a professional system information, diagnostics, and benchmarking program. It extracts details of all components of the PC and can display, print, or save it in various formats like HTML, CSV, or XML. For corporate users, it offers command-line switches, network audit and audit statistics, remote system information, and network management."

WatcherSea

Edited by WatcherSea, 29 June 2005 - 03:54 PM.


#17
VWIMaster

VWIMaster

    Computer Enthusiast

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 05-June 05
I too would like a task manager, but really one just like the XP version for win98.

Anyone ever seen the CTRL+ALT+DEL box comes with RM Community Connect 3? Thats what I want, just similar without the workstation lock features.

Click on taskmanager from there you get the original XP one.


Great if anyone could make this or tell me how, because XP taskmgr.exe not compatible with Win98se / 98se2me

Thanks :D




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN