Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How to make a 7-Zip Switchless Installer

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
287 replies to this topic

#251
ExTruckie

ExTruckie

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 77 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
:hello: In other words run the installer then archive the extracted files along with the following in the config.txt
Thanks

Since I posted I redownloaded the open office installer, and redid the steps and I get the same error box

Run the downloaded installer and use the extracted files.
The .cmd file should look like this:
@echo off
msiexec /i openofficeorg24.msi ALLUSERS=1 SELECT_WORD=1 SELECT_EXCEL=1 SELECT_POWERPOINT=1 ADDLOCAL=ALL /qb! /norestart
exit
or
@echo off
 msiexec /i openofficeorg24.msi ALLUSERS=1 SELECT_WORD=1 SELECT_EXCEL=1 SELECT_POWERPOINT=1 ADDLOCAL=ALL /qn /norestart
 exit
The second does not have the progress bar.


Mark Minnich
MCTS Microsoft Windows Vista: Configuration,
MCTS Windows Server 2008 Network Infrastructure: Configuration,
MCTS Microsoft Windows Server 2008 Active Directory: Configuration
MCITP Server Administrator


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#252
ExTruckie

ExTruckie

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 77 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks that did the trick
Mark Minnich
MCTS Microsoft Windows Vista: Configuration,
MCTS Windows Server 2008 Network Infrastructure: Configuration,
MCTS Microsoft Windows Server 2008 Active Directory: Configuration
MCITP Server Administrator

#253
insan

insan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
Thanks for this thread !

I want to integrate MS .NET Framework 1.1 SP1 & 2.0 in my xp cd.

I have used this french forum. But I don't know how to make a 7-Zip switchless installer.

For information, I have in my \$OEM$\$1\apps\: 2 folder (dotnet11 + dotnet02) and 1 file (dotnetfx.bat), this batch :

@echo off
echo Installing Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1 SP1 ...
echo ===============================================
start /wait msiexec /i %systemdrive%\apps\dotnet11\netfx.msi
start /wait msiexec /i %systemdrive%\apps\dotnet11\langpack.msi /qb
echo.
echo Installing Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 ...
echo ===========================================
start /wait msiexec /i %systemdrive%\apps\dotnet02\netfx.msi ADDEPLOY=1 REBOOT=REALLYSUPRESS /qb
start /wait msiexec /i %systemdrive%\apps\dotnet02\langpack.msi ADDEPLOY=1 /qb
echo.

Thanks for help.

Edited by insan, 04 September 2008 - 12:10 PM.


#254
insan

insan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
It's ok now, I have solved my problem :

1. To compress with 7-Zip : dotnet11, dotnet02, dotnetfx.bat, StartX.exe
This create : dotnetfx.7z

2. To create a folder containing : dotnetfx.7z, 7zs.sfx, Msistub.exe, config.txt

______ config.txt_________
;!@Install@!UTF-8!
RunProgram="dotnetfx.bat"
;!@InstallEnd@!
_______________________

3. To make in command prompt : copy /b 7zs.sfx + config.txt + dotnetfx.7z dotnetfx.exe
This create dotnetfx.exe who I use to instal MS .NET Framework 1.1 SP1 and 2.0 silently.

Edited by insan, 05 September 2008 - 12:24 AM.


#255
COKEDUDEUSF

COKEDUDEUSF

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
Thx for this. I hope I can figure it out.

#256
JoaoVr

JoaoVr

    Portugal

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,
Is there any way to make the desktop the default folder for the Sfx extraction?
Ty

Edited by JoaoVr, 27 November 2008 - 10:15 AM.

JoaoVr ;)

#257
bojinov

bojinov
  • Member
  • 1 posts
Hi all,

Thanks for the great tut.
I have a small, but fatal (to me) problem with it. I hope you can help me out:

config.txt
;!@Install@!UTF-8!
RunProgram="program.exe"
GUIMode="2"
Progress="no"
;!@InstallEnd@!

copy /b 7zS.sfx + config.txt + 7zSFX.7z test.exe

I ve created the 7z archive using the latest 7zip - v 4.62 and the SFX module from the current tutorial.

When the "program.exe" is started the application window is not on focus, it appears to be behind the current window. It looses focus even if started from the Desktop
It is shown on the task bar but I have to switch to it manually. what bugz me out is that only happens like 30% of the starts .. some times it is on focus.

I checked the startup path and they are all started from diff folders in the temp folder and there is no pattern.

Thank you.

Edited by bojinov, 08 December 2008 - 11:40 AM.


#258
w00dr0w

w00dr0w
  • Member
  • 4 posts
Ok I'm having an issue (probably my inept scripting)
I'm trying to make Realtek's HD audio drivers & app install silently, in the readme it says

--------------------
Silent Installation:
--------------------

Run "Setup.exe /s /f2<path\LogFile> /z[-rp<path\LogFile>]"
i.e. setup.exe /s /f2c:\mylog.log /z[-rpC:\RHDSetup.log]

I tried all sorts of formating for it and none of it seems to work. The last one i tried I created the Config.txt containing an almost exact copy of their command and to no avail :sigh:
;!@Install@!UTF-8!
RunProgram=setup.exe /s /f2c:\test\mylog.log /z[-rpC:\RHDSetup.log]
;!@InstallEnd@!

Just get a msgbox with the header 7-zip and the message saying config failed
Could someone help me figure out how to setup the config.txt right please?
I just need to get this one driver/program to install silently and I'll have my whole boards devices slipstreamed into XPhome

If you need any extra info don't hesitate to ask!

#259
gora

gora

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

;!@Install@!UTF-8!
RunProgram=setup.exe /s /f2c:\test\mylog.log /z[-rpC:\RHDSetup.log]
;!@InstallEnd@!

RunProgram=setup.exe /s /f2c:\\test\\mylog.log /z[-rpC:\\RHDSetup.log]

IMPORTANT! Certain two-symbol sequences in the Value are parsed as follows:

\\ = \
\" = "
\n = caret return
\t = tabulation (TAB)
As a result, you MUST use DOUBLE backslashes (\\) wherever you normally use backslashes (\) (e.g. in paths or dialog texts). Similarly, if the Value contains double quotes ("), you MUST precede them with a backslash (\").



#260
w00dr0w

w00dr0w
  • Member
  • 4 posts
Interesting...
I asked this on ryanvm forums and I was told I forgot the quotes

RunProgram="setup.exe /s /f2c:\test\mylog.log /z[-rpC:\RHDSetup.log]"

was their suggestion, which worked. However Im having difficulty with the PC being rebooted once the installer has ran, and realtek says the silent install shouldn't reboot the PC...

I'll try it with your code and see if I don't come out any better.

Nope, just tried your code and it's not working again

Edited by w00dr0w, 29 January 2009 - 12:05 PM.


#261
radix

radix

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 738 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
If the sfx extract the installer on the hdd and start installation from there works?
;!@Install@!UTF-8!
InstallPath="%temp%\\RHD"
RunProgram="setup.exe /s /SMS"
Delete="%temp%\\RHD"
GUIMode="2"
;!@InstallEnd@!


#262
Geej

Geej

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 635 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

If you need any extra info don't hesitate to ask!

Could it be your c:\mylog.log and C:\RHDSetup.log were in wrong location? As far as I understand, mylog.log or RHDSetup.log should normally be in same directory as your setup.exe. Just my guess.

#263
w00dr0w

w00dr0w
  • Member
  • 4 posts

If you need any extra info don't hesitate to ask!

Could it be your c:\mylog.log and C:\RHDSetup.log were in wrong location? As far as I understand, mylog.log or RHDSetup.log should normally be in same directory as your setup.exe. Just my guess.


that just tells the install where to put the log of the install when it's installing.
ill have to try that other code here in a few, though having it run the manual installer would be undesirable, i guess i can manage

#264
gora

gora

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
It is my error, inverted commas in line are obligatory!!! Should be so:
RunProgram="setup.exe /s /f2c:\\test\\mylog.log /z[-rpC:\\RHDSetup.log]"
About syntax of the command
setup.exe /s /f2c:\mylog.log /z[-rpC:\RHDSetup.log]
I do not know, but if it works in bath a file in such kind and in a file of a configuration of the modified module will work. Check up its work at first in bath a file, and then already working variant transfer to a configuration file considering inverted commas and double slashes.

Edited by gora, 30 January 2009 - 06:02 AM.


#265
w00dr0w

w00dr0w
  • Member
  • 4 posts

It is my error, inverted commas in line are obligatory!!! Should be so:

RunProgram="setup.exe /s /f2c:\\test\\mylog.log /z[-rpC:\\RHDSetup.log]"
About syntax of the command
setup.exe /s /f2c:\mylog.log /z[-rpC:\RHDSetup.log]
I do not know, but if it works in bath a file in such kind and in a file of a configuration of the modified module will work. Check up its work at first in bath a file, and then already working variant transfer to a configuration file considering inverted commas and double slashes.


I have the installer working, perfectly using this config.txt
;!@Install@!UTF-8!
RunProgram="setup.exe /s /f2c:\mylog.log /z[-rpC:\RHDSetup.log]"
;!@InstallEnd@!
with one exception
I'll post what I posted @ ryanvm forums

It's restarting the PC as soon as it's finished installing. I need to turn this off. I don't know if there's a parameter I can add to config.txt to keep it from restarting the PC, I checked the setup's .ini file and found some promising stuff, but I'm no coder and I have no clue what I need to do. So hopefully one of you can help me with this.

The interesting info in the setup.ini is below
[General Settings]
OEM = 0
DelDatUpd = 0
DelDatUni = 0
RtkLogON = 1
ForceSetupQFE = 0
ForceInstallRtk = 1
RtkAPODbgReg = 0
RtkAPOReg = 1
RemoveHDQFE = 0
QFEReboot = 0
fW2KForceRebt = 0
SilentReboot = 0
NUpgradeDrv = 0
NRunClsWin = 0
QFEOption = /o /norestart /passive
HideWinParm = /go

I tried adding /norestart to config.txt, but that doesn't do anything. I'm wondering if I can edit the .ini itself and change one of those flags to keep it from restarting after installing?

Once again your time, effort, and help are greatly appreciated...
large test

#266
judolphin

judolphin
  • Member
  • 1 posts
What a great guide, thanks so much!

To automate the process even more:

1. Modify 7zs.sfx as desired according to OP's instructions
2. Copy 7zS.sfx to your SYSTEM32 directory
3. Enter the following into a batch file:

-------------------------------BEGIN CODE-------------------------------
@echo off
cls
%~d1
cd %~p1
echo Enter the command (e.g. "msistub setup.msi /qb-!") without quotes:
echo.
SET /P CMDLINE=
echo ;!@Install@!UTF-8! > config.txt
echo RunProgram="%CMDLINE%" >> config.txt
echo ;!@InstallEnd@! >> config.txt
copy /b %windir%\system32\7zs.sfx + config.txt + %1 %~n1.exe
del /q config.txt
------------------------------- END CODE -------------------------------
(The "code" tag messed up the echo commands)

4. Save batch file as %WINDIR%\System32\CreateInstaller.bat (save as UTF-8 as stated by original poster)
5. In Windows Explorer, Go to the "Tools\Folder Options"
6. under the "File Types" tab, go to the .7Z extension and click "Advanced"
7. Click "New..."
8. Under "Action" type "Create Installer" without quotes
9. Under "Application used to perform action" type
%WINDIR%\system32\CreateInstaller.bat "%1"
10. Now, right-click any .7Z file you want to convert into an installer, and click "Create Installer"
11. A DOS window will prompt you for the command you want to execute within the 7Z archive. Enter it without quotes.
12. Voila! The installer appears alongside the 7Z file.

Sorry I don't have time at the moment to upload screen shots. Just wanted to post this up. It's been a *great* tool for me. Thanks!

Edited by judolphin, 05 February 2009 - 02:46 PM.


#267
PiRaT3iToR

PiRaT3iToR
  • Member
  • 4 posts
hi , nice guide ! :yes:

my problem is this

;!@Install@!UTF-8!
RunProgram="tfb.exe"
$location = @ProgramFilesDir & "\tfb\test\"
fileCopy("tc.plg", $location)
;!@InstallEnd@!

I like 7zip too, for it wonderful compression - but its not work :no:

Any Ideas?

#268
iuli_kyle

iuli_kyle

    SFXMaker Developer

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
The configuration file is incorrect. From what i see, i guess you used AutoIT. 7-Zip (written in C) and AutoIT are totally different things. I suggest you use my little application, SFXMaker which automatizes the process of creating switchless installers. You can find it in this forum or at iSoft Official WebPage :)
Posted Image SFXMaker - The most complete switchless installer creator software

If you like SFXMaker, please consider making a donation to show your support and help.

#269
znogi

znogi
  • Member
  • 1 posts
I am a Noob to this. Where can i find the $OEM$ Folder?

Edited by znogi, 06 July 2009 - 11:06 AM.


#270
ghostE

ghostE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
Hello ppl
How do you know to make all the switches? & all the cmd commands?
i need a guide please for the switches
Thank you for your help...

Edited by ghostE, 06 July 2009 - 02:10 PM.


#271
strel

strel

    segmentation fault

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 629 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Look here: http://7zsfx.info/en/

#272
ghostE

ghostE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts

Look here: http://7zsfx.info/en/

Thank man it look scary but i'll try
Thanks again

#273
peekaboo2

peekaboo2
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:XP Home

DigitalAZ

it u are hving problems with keytotime guide

i have a video! yes a video on how to 7zip office 2003

check the link on my sig

keytotime

u are welcome to link or use my video as a ref to making 7zip.

:)

I cant find your video !

#274
behdadsoft

behdadsoft

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I act according to your instructions and I made a file setup with 7Zip
But the program only compressed mode is removed and the file runs the installation program should I install it myself. While the installation program should automatically be done. Please guide me. :hello:

This my Config File :

config:
;!@Install@!UTF-8!
GUIMode="2"
RunProgram="Setup.exe"
;!@InstallEnd@!

And use this command :

copy /b 7zsD.sfx + config.txt + (Setup.exe).7z (Setup.exe).exe

#275
twistedfate122

twistedfate122
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
for some reason i cant download the 7zs.sfx file




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN