Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\Download

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
ReverseC

ReverseC
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 05-March 05
I have WinXP setup on a 5 GB partition with all my apps setup on another partition. I recently I noticed my Windows partition was filling up with stuff in the C:\Windows directory. I found that the directory C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\Download
is 569 MB. I am not familiar with how Windows uses stuff from this directory...all I know is that this is where windows updates are kept.

Would it be possible to delete all these files (or most of them) in this directory or does the OS constantly load up files stored here?

Thanks in advance,
Charles


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
jpatto

jpatto

    Member

  • Guests
  • PipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Joined 21-September 04
If you stop Automatic Updates you can delete ALL the folders contained in the SoftwareDistribution folder (then restart Automatic Updates)......Ive not come across any problems doing this and believe it should be safe to delete.

#3
soldier1st

soldier1st

    I Work For The Shinra's Elite Squad Known As Soldier

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
if i were you i would avoid deleting stuff from thag folder as it may be needed later on.
Here At Shinra HQ,Any and All Resistance Against The Shinra Will Be Dealt With Thus Utilizing Shinra's Elite Squad Known As Soldier

#4
Dell and Rodney

Dell and Rodney

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Joined 29-October 04
This folder is safe to delete - its only used to store windows updates - occasionally this becomes full and ppl have problems with windows update therefore its perfectly safe to delete. OR if you in a position now that you dont know whos right and whos wrong then burn the contents of that folder to disk and then delete it delete the folder from the system and see if you come across any problems

#5
Jeremy

Jeremy

    Casual Poster

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,473 posts
  • Joined 24-June 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

if i were you i would avoid deleting stuff from thag folder as it may be needed later on.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Stop being afraid of the System32! It's not as dangerous as everyone thinks! I have gone trhough every file in Windows. There is a lot of junk that can be removed. Do not tell a user what he/she can or cannot delete unless you know exactly what you're talking about.

#6
ReverseC

ReverseC
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 05-March 05
Thanks for the help! What I'm going to do is just move this folder to another partition. I'll probably wait a week and see if any errors come up regarding this folder. If no errors I'll delete it or burn it to disk.

Thanks again.

#7
Guest_HasseB_*

Guest_HasseB_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --
Thanks, a had the same problem but its gone now :rolleyes:

#8
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,407 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Just the Folder Contents, not necessarily the whole folder...

AutoUpdates is a 2-step (?) process -
1 - Download to that folder and "expand" to sub-folders the Update file(s)
2 - Install from the sub-folders and store
2a - the Uninstall "backup" (previous files "replaced") info in various $NTUninstallxxx folders
2b - the Hotfix install (for tracking) to $HF_MIG$ folder (ref. here)

Item 1 (contents, not the Folder) are safe to delete
Item(s) 2a, if deleted, will prevent you from uninstalling a given Update
Item(s) 2b, if deleted, may/will cause a cross-module (i.e. erroneous) future install

Not exactly positive about #2a-b and not really sure if the Folder will be recreated (if deleted) but positive about the Contents (safe to delete).

Warning (to be safe)! Best to turn off AutoUpdates first and be sure no Updates are actively installing, delete, then turn updates back on (if you wish).

Note - If your original install is pre-SP3, then another folder(s) is created containing the Service Pack(s) and should also be left alone... kind of becomes "part of the original install".

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users