Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Nvidia driver slipstream?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#1
Pyr0

Pyr0

    Transcendant

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 28-January 05
i was just wondering if anybody had managed to integrate the nvidia sata raid drivers into the install?
i started to look int this a couple of days ago, but so far i haven't been able to do it myself.
i think my problem is to do with the naming of the drivers (internal, driver, and friendly)
in the txtsetup.sif file
but i don't really know???
at the moment when it starts the windows setup i don't get any errors, but it doesn't see my raid drives either :(

i know i've messed something up, but i'm just too stupid to see it :blushing:

i got this info. from the txtsetup.oem file

[Files.scsi.RAIDCLASS]
driver = d1,nvraid.sys,RAIDCLASS
inf = d1,nvraid.inf
dll = d1,nvraidco.dll
catalog = d1,nvraid.cat

[Files.scsi.BUSDRV]
driver = d1,nvatabus.sys,BUSDRV
inf = d1, nvatabus.inf
dll = d1,idecoi.dll
catalog = d1, nvata.cat


id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_008E", "nvatabus"
id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0085", "nvatabus"
id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00D5", "nvatabus"
id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00EE", "nvatabus"
id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00E3", "nvatabus"
id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00E5", "nvatabus"
id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0035", "nvatabus"
id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0036", "nvatabus"
id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_003E", "nvatabus"
id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0053", "nvatabus"
id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0054", "nvatabus"
id = "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0055", "nvatabus"

i presume that the naming is something like:

driver names nvraid.sys & nvatabus.sys

internal driver names: RAIDCLASS & BUSDRV

friendly names = RAIDCLASS = "NVIDIA RAID CLASS DRIVER (required)"
BUSDRV = "NVIDIA NForce Storage Controller (required)"


and so from that i added these lines to the TXTSETUP.SIF file

[SourceDisksFiles]nvraid.sys = 1,,,,,,3_,4,1,,,1,4
nvraid.inf = 1,,,,,,,20,0,0
nvatabus.sys = 1,,,,,,3_,4,1,,,1,4
nvatabus.inf = 1,,,,,,,20,0,0


[HardwareIdsDatabase]
GenNvRaidDisk = "nvraid"
_NVRAIDBUS = "nvraid"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_008E = "nvatabus"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0085 = "nvatabus"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00D5 = "nvatabus"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00EE = "nvatabus"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00E3 = "nvatabus"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00E5 = "nvatabus"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0035 = "nvatabus"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0036 = "nvatabus"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_003E = "nvatabus"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0053 = "nvatabus"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0054 = "nvatabus"
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0055 = "nvatabus"


[SCSI.Load]
atapi = atapi.sys,4
nvraid = nvraid.sys,4
nvatabus = nvatabus.sys,4


[SCSI]
nvraid = "NVIDIA RAID CLASS DRIVER (required)"
nvatabus = "NVIDIA NForce Storage Controller (required)"


and i copied all the driver files to the amd64 folder

please help me i'm going mad :realmad:
E6750
Asus P5N32-E SLI
8800GTX @ 696/1701/2088
4x1GB DDR2
Enermax Galaxy 850W


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
TheDr!ll

TheDr!ll

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 31-August 04
Ive got the same problem, I can get my 32 bit xp integrated no problems but cant
get 64bit working at all.

http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=45407

#3
TheDr!ll

TheDr!ll

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 31-August 04
Try these new beta xp64 drivers out m8..lets see if we can get an install going.

http://www.k8we.com/...656_WINXP64.zip

#4
Pyr0

Pyr0

    Transcendant

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 28-January 05
Thanks TheDr!ll,

nice find m8 :thumbup
E6750
Asus P5N32-E SLI
8800GTX @ 696/1701/2088
4x1GB DDR2
Enermax Galaxy 850W

#5
big poppa pump

big poppa pump

    Damn Newbies!!

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Joined 10-September 03
None of these beta drivers are going to work since none of them are whql and have a valid cat file. XP64 already comes with built in support for nvidia nforce3 support. These drivers will be given preference no matter which beta drives you use. The only way to get around this and do a proper install is to either have drivers that are whql'd or hack files in x64 that disables the built-in nforce3 support and thus the installation starts looking for the drivers at an alternative location.

DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert || Opty 165 CCBBE 0610DPMW @ 3.01Ghz (335*9) - 1.52V, TT Big Typhoon w/120mm Panaflo
2 x G.SKILL F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ || BBA Radeon 1900XTX || X-Mystique DD 5.1 with/ Pioneer THX 1015TX
2*74GB Raptors - Raid 0 || 2*300GB Seagate 7200.9 NCQ SATA-II || 4*Hitachi 500GB 7K500 || Mad Dog Triple Format DL DVD+/-RW/DVD-Ram
OCZ GameXstream 700W || CM Stacker STC-01 || 2 * Dell 2405FPW


#6
Pyr0

Pyr0

    Transcendant

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 28-January 05
if that was the case then how have we been able to use beta drivers to install windows xp x64 in the past?
E6750
Asus P5N32-E SLI
8800GTX @ 696/1701/2088
4x1GB DDR2
Enermax Galaxy 850W

#7
jbm

jbm

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 646 posts
  • Joined 16-September 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

if that was the case then how have we been able to use beta drivers to install windows xp x64 in the past?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


What he's saying is the inorder for drivers to be integrated on the CD they
need to have beed signed and have a .cat file with them. I can use both
Nvidia and Silicon Image beta drivers if I use a floppy and F6. But they don't
work if I try to integrate them on a 64XP CD.

#8
TheDr!ll

TheDr!ll

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 31-August 04

None of these beta drivers are going to work since none of them are whql and have a valid cat file. XP64 already comes with built in support for nvidia nforce3 support. These drivers will be given preference no matter which beta drives you use. The only way to get around this and do a proper install is to either have drivers that are whql'd or hack files in x64 that disables the built-in nforce3 support and thus the installation starts looking for the drivers at an alternative location.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


None of the 64x nvidia drivers that I have used , have a .cat file...even whql ones.

#9
big poppa pump

big poppa pump

    Damn Newbies!!

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Joined 10-September 03
And none of them are going to have one till the time nvidia releases an official set of drivrs for the x64 edition. However......there are other ways around!!! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert || Opty 165 CCBBE 0610DPMW @ 3.01Ghz (335*9) - 1.52V, TT Big Typhoon w/120mm Panaflo
2 x G.SKILL F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ || BBA Radeon 1900XTX || X-Mystique DD 5.1 with/ Pioneer THX 1015TX
2*74GB Raptors - Raid 0 || 2*300GB Seagate 7200.9 NCQ SATA-II || 4*Hitachi 500GB 7K500 || Mad Dog Triple Format DL DVD+/-RW/DVD-Ram
OCZ GameXstream 700W || CM Stacker STC-01 || 2 * Dell 2405FPW


#10
Pyr0

Pyr0

    Transcendant

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 28-January 05
...Like using the cat files from 32bit???
E6750
Asus P5N32-E SLI
8800GTX @ 696/1701/2088
4x1GB DDR2
Enermax Galaxy 850W

#11
jbm

jbm

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 646 posts
  • Joined 16-September 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

...Like using the cat files from 32bit???

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

That wouldn't work. The .cat or security catalog file is for a specific
driver. Also if you make any changes like edit the .inf file then the .cat
file is again nogood. You also couldn't use a .cat file from a different
64bit driver.

#12
Pyr0

Pyr0

    Transcendant

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 28-January 05

However......there are other ways around!!! rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif


could you be a bit more specific then please.

we did ask for a bit of help here :blushing:
E6750
Asus P5N32-E SLI
8800GTX @ 696/1701/2088
4x1GB DDR2
Enermax Galaxy 850W

#13
Jazkal

Jazkal

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Joined 16-January 04
Have you guys tried this one from nVidia?

WHQL Certified Version 71.84 x64 drivers
Did you RTFM?

#14
Bâshrat the Sneaky

Bâshrat the Sneaky

    aka Wim Leers

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,214 posts
  • Joined 29-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Note that the new nForce 6.56 drivers seem to work!!!

#15
Pyr0

Pyr0

    Transcendant

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 28-January 05

Have you guys tried this one from nVidia?
WHQL Certified Version 71.84 x64 drivers

Jazkal: thaey are the video drivers, we are trying to integrate the sata/Raid drivers


Note that the new nForce 6.56 drivers seem to work!!!

Bâshrat the Sneaky: what method did you use? could you please give plenty of details.


people keep popping in here and leaving one line answers, what's the point of that!
we need some complete answers, not just - 'oh there are other ways'
so what are the other f***ing ways???

i'm sorry for getting so annoyed, but when i only get half answers it kinda p***es me off
i mean, why not just type the complete answer in the first place, instead of dragging it out.
you guys are obviously trying to make out that you know how it's done, so why not just let us all know!

Sorry about the rant, and thanks in advance for any help we may recieve

Pyr0
E6750
Asus P5N32-E SLI
8800GTX @ 696/1701/2088
4x1GB DDR2
Enermax Galaxy 850W

#16
TheDr!ll

TheDr!ll

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 31-August 04
Yes it would be nice if we were given some sort of clue to installing these xp64 raid drivers into the O/S so we can actually use it!!!

Anyone had any success with this at all on this forum? :no:

Any help would be welcome, as the tryed and tested methods do not seem to work for pyro and myself.

#17
Bâshrat the Sneaky

Bâshrat the Sneaky

    aka Wim Leers

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,214 posts
  • Joined 29-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I don't have a 64 bit processor, so unfortunately I cannot post my experiences... if you buy me one, I'd be glad to test it :D

Source. It's in Dutch... and apparently heavily moderated, because the positive report I read there is gone...

#18
Pyr0

Pyr0

    Transcendant

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 28-January 05
gutted :(
E6750
Asus P5N32-E SLI
8800GTX @ 696/1701/2088
4x1GB DDR2
Enermax Galaxy 850W

#19
lionden

lionden
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 03-November 04
I don't claim to be an expert..I just want to share how i integrated my via sata driver..

Edit the txtsetup.sif file found in the AMD64 folder..

find the line in the brackets and add the following lines:

[SourceDisksFiles]viamrx64.sys = 1,,,,,,3_,4,1,,,1,4
viamrx64.inf = 1,,,,,,,20,0,0

[HardwareIdsDatabase]
PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3249 = "viamrx64"
PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3149 = "viamrx64"
PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3164 = "viamrx64"

[SCSI.Load]
viamrx64 = viamrx64.sys,4

[SCSI]
viamrx64 = "VIA VT8237/6421/6410 SATA RAID Controller(SRV2003/XP-x64)"


Copy the viamrx64.sys driver files to your AMD64 folder..Done..

Sorry I know this topic is about Nvidia driver slipstream..

#20
jbm

jbm

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 646 posts
  • Joined 16-September 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I don't claim to be an expert..I just want to share how i integrated my via sata driver..

Edit the txtsetup.sif file found in the AMD64 folder..

find the line in the brackets and add the following lines:

[SourceDisksFiles]
viamrx64.sys = 1,,,,,,3_,4,1,,,1,4
viamrx64.inf = 1,,,,,,,20,0,0

[HardwareIdsDatabase]
PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3249 = "viamrx64"
PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3149 = "viamrx64"
PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3164 = "viamrx64"

[SCSI.Load]
viamrx64 = viamrx64.sys,4

[SCSI]
viamrx64 = "VIA VT8237/6421/6410 SATA RAID Controller(SRV2003/XP-x64)"


Copy the viamrx64.sys driver files to your AMD64 folder..Done..

Sorry I know this topic is about Nvidia driver slipstream..

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Are the VIA SATA drivers you integrated WHQL with a .cat file?

#21
Pyr0

Pyr0

    Transcendant

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 28-January 05
somebody must've been able to slipstrean the 64bit nforce4 drivers into the xp64 cd by now surely??

i've tried and tried but i just can't figure it out :no: :crazy:
E6750
Asus P5N32-E SLI
8800GTX @ 696/1701/2088
4x1GB DDR2
Enermax Galaxy 850W

#22
TheDr!ll

TheDr!ll

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 31-August 04
Hi again Pyr0, I think when we get the real official Mcoy drivers from Nvidia with .CAT files in ...I recon we can get it working OK as we did with 32 bit XP.

Just have to wait M8..as no-one on here can give any real answers to do this..unless they are using some other kind of chipset motherboards!!

#23
Pyr0

Pyr0

    Transcendant

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 28-January 05
i've seen a couple of posts saying that they managed to slipstream nforce3 drivers into x64, since these are basically the same drivers, there must be a way

  big poppa pump 
post May 6 2005, 04:54 PM
Post #28

Finally slipstreamed all drivers and typing this off a successful installation of an unattended xp64 cd on a raid 0 partition. Mobo is MSI Neo2 NF3 and I used exactly the same method as I did for my earlier 32bit installations.


E6750
Asus P5N32-E SLI
8800GTX @ 696/1701/2088
4x1GB DDR2
Enermax Galaxy 850W

#24
Viking

Viking

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 15-May 05

I don't claim to be an expert..I just want to share how i integrated my via sata driver..

Edit the txtsetup.sif file found in the AMD64 folder..

find the line in the brackets and add the following lines:

[SourceDisksFiles]
viamrx64.sys = 1,,,,,,3_,4,1,,,1,4
viamrx64.inf = 1,,,,,,,20,0,0

[HardwareIdsDatabase]
PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3249 = "viamrx64"
PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3149 = "viamrx64"
PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3164 = "viamrx64"

[SCSI.Load]
viamrx64 = viamrx64.sys,4

[SCSI]
viamrx64 = "VIA VT8237/6421/6410 SATA RAID Controller(SRV2003/XP-x64)"


Copy the viamrx64.sys driver files to your AMD64 folder..Done..

Sorry I know this topic is about Nvidia driver slipstream..

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



I've tried this myself loinden, but it doesn't seem to work for me. This is the kind of response I'm seeing everywhere, but it doesn't seem to work! Can you confirm that you have actually made this work?

Is this the problem you're having too Pyr0? The old way just isn't working?

From what I understand, and I've been doing this for a while, the security CAT file is irrelevant in textmode install, because it doesn't check the CAT until windows itself has loaded in basic form at the first GUI setup screens, and the drivers start to load shortly after that?

Anyone else got a comment on this?

#25
TheDr!ll

TheDr!ll

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 31-August 04

i've seen a couple of posts saying that they managed to slipstream nforce3 drivers into x64, since these are basically the same drivers, there must be a way

  big poppa pump  
post May 6 2005, 04:54 PM
Post #28

Finally slipstreamed all drivers and typing this off a successful installation of an unattended xp64 cd on a raid 0 partition. Mobo is MSI Neo2 NF3 and I used exactly the same method as I did for my earlier 32bit installations.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


LETS SEARCH THE NET FOR BIG POPPA PUMP, AND SEE HOW HES DONE IT!!!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users