Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

98SE2ME = Killer Replacements: ME -> 98 SE

* * * * - 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
1083 replies to this topic

#676
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Does either of rpcrt4.dll from

5.0.2193.1 Win2000
5.1.2600.1106 WinXP
5.1.2600.2180 WinXP SP2

work in 98SE2ME have you tested?

Edited by PROBLEMCHYLD, 09 December 2006 - 10:47 AM.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#677
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
MDGx,

If you have a moment, please check out my latest post in the Autopatcher 98SE thread. I REALLY don't want to type all that again.

Anything you can think of regarding why the My Computer icon is the newer one in Display Properties but only the original 98SE default one appears on the desktop?

And how come 98SE2XP and the WMP 10 for 9x had those bad reactions when installing them after the Autopatcher? Didn't have that funky stuff happen before. Running now without 98SE2XP or the WMP 10 for 9x updates, having uninstalled them along with the WMP10 Fraunhoffer codec. Just using my Cyberlink mp3 PowerEncoder for now and afraid to try again until I have a clue why those error messages, mismatched WMP file versions, weird XP style toolbars, etc. happened. Powerprof.dll? Huh?

98SE2ME was fine, except for a rather strange install of my Turtle Beach USB Midi Cable. Windows needed to install the driver several times, seemingly losing it after the initial install as it needed to install it again on restart. Then when I went to test the midi using the provided Turtle Beach SoundCheck and driver check, Windows started installing it again and this time I needed to search all over for files it couldn't find on its own. One file was only found on the Windows Me cd! Apparently Windows 98SE doesn't come with the file but I put the Windows Me cd in as a last resort and there it was!

Following that, the midi port and software worked fine.

Oh, fine except for that My Computer icon thing. Three Explorer.exe files are on my system. Two of them are identical newer ones and an older one. One of the newer ones is in the Windows\System folder and the older one is in one of your backup folders. But somehow the icon from it is still on the desktop.

So far no IOS Errors. That seems to be a unique problem that only effects me. Still afraid every time I restart! Maybe I'll luck out this time.
Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#678
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Does either of rpcrt4.dll from

5.0.2193.1 Win2000
5.1.2600.1106 WinXP
5.1.2600.2180 WinXP SP2

work in 98SE2ME have you tested?

rpcrt4.dll for 2000/XP [all editions] is completely different = Unicode and NTx core specific.

#679
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Anything you can think of regarding why the My Computer icon is the newer one in Display Properties but only the original 98SE default one appears on the desktop?

And how come 98SE2XP and the WMP 10 for 9x had those bad reactions when installing them after the Autopatcher? Didn't have that funky stuff happen before. Running now without 98SE2XP or the WMP 10 for 9x updates, having uninstalled them along with the WMP10 Fraunhoffer codec. Just using my Cyberlink mp3 PowerEncoder for now and afraid to try again until I have a clue why those error messages, mismatched WMP file versions, weird XP style toolbars, etc. happened. Powerprof.dll? Huh?

98SE2ME was fine, except for a rather strange install of my Turtle Beach USB Midi Cable. Windows needed to install the driver several times, seemingly losing it after the initial install as it needed to install it again on restart. Then when I went to test the midi using the provided Turtle Beach SoundCheck and driver check, Windows started installing it again and this time I needed to search all over for files it couldn't find on its own. One file was only found on the Windows Me cd! Apparently Windows 98SE doesn't come with the file but I put the Windows Me cd in as a last resort and there it was!

Following that, the midi port and software worked fine.

Oh, fine except for that My Computer icon thing. Three Explorer.exe files are on my system. Two of them are identical newer ones and an older one. One of the newer ones is in the Windows\System folder and the older one is in one of your backup folders. But somehow the icon from it is still on the desktop.

So far no IOS Errors. That seems to be a unique problem that only effects me. Still afraid every time I restart! Maybe I'll luck out this time.

About 98SEMP10 + 98SE2XP:
Please install the new 98MP10 [unified 98SEMP10 + 98SE2XP]:
http://www.mdgx.com/wmp.htm#98MP10
98MP10 installs all files from 98SEMP10 + 98SE2XP.
No need to install 98SEMP10 or 98SE2XP anymore.
Therefore only 1 files set and only 1 backup set.

About 98SE2ME:
I never heard of such problems [Desktop icons].
I don't think 98SE2ME does anything to your icons.
Also if you have 3 instances of explorer.exe, it's not because of 98SE2ME.
98SE2ME option 6 installs 98SE SP2 [Gape] explorer.exe in %windir% and backs up yours as explorer.256 also in %windir%.
98SE2ME option 3 installs WinME explorer.exe and backs up your as %windir%\explorer.98A .
That's it.

About your sound card drivers:
Might be some of the files installed by 98SE2ME for USB/Firewire/WDM, because they change to WinME install engine which is slightly different.
But in the end, your drivers should be insrtalled properly.
Unfortunately I can't test this, I don't have such a sound card.

HTH

#680
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
Some news on the Explorer.exe front.

The file existed in the Windows folder as 4.72.3612.1700 Aug 20, 1999. It was also in the Windows\WIN98SE.9ME folder as the same version with a date of July 26, 2006, as well as in the C:\9!M folder with the July 26. 2005 version.

The old original version from the 98SE cd was Explorer.98. Explorer.256 was the same version and date as the newer ones.

Somehow the one in the Windows folder had the updated version number but the 98SE cd file date. The icon in Display Properties Effects tab showed the newer one but could not be applied.

First I tried System File Checker to extract the one in the C:\9!M folder to C:\WINDOWS. It said it did it but what it actually did was replace the one in the C:\9!M folder with the one in C:\WINDOWS and kept that one there too! So it still wasn't fixed.

I copied the newer one from the Windows\WIN98SE.9ME folder back into C:\9!M, burned to cdr and deleted the Explorer.256 and Explorer.98, and rebooted to Command Prompt Only. I copied the C:\9!M version into the C:\WINDOWS folder and rebooted.

All fixed! The old icon doesn't show up anywhere and the new one applies as system default.

I then installed the WinME theme and just applied the colors and icons to get the nicer looking stuff. But at least my system isn't confused now.

I took a plunge and uninstalled the Roland and Yamaha Midi, the Turtle Beach USB cable, QMAXII, and the M-Audio Revo 5.1 soundcard. I then installed my Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro. I want to see whether the MSDOS driver works with the Pro card like it does with the normal and Platinum Audigy 2 ZS. I was also displeased with how old Windows games that used midi had problems using the Roland or Yamaha software synths. They would have worked with the Microsoft default midi but for some reason the M-Audio drivers don't include that in the installation. So without my installing the soft synths I would have had no midi whatsoever. Plus no Sensaura in the 98 M-Audio driver.

Strange that the soft synths work fine with midi games on XP. Here, I had to keep playing around with turning Direct Sound on and off and adjusting latencies, etc. A pain in the neck and since the M-Audio card doesn't upsample anything I was getting horrid sound as they would play at 8000 kHZ rather than 44100. Or the game midi would cut off and I needed to restart the computer to get it back.

Midi music files played fine, just the games were tricky. Goodbye! Nice Soundfont midi and no hastles with the all included stuff from Creative. The card doesn't sound as nice with no effects as the Revo, but it offers nearly all the features it does on XP. So, fully functional audio without a ton of 3rd party additional software.

Amazingly 98SE survived the changes. I'll wait on applying the new 98MP10. Things work. Don't wanna break'em!
Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#681
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Don't forget when you add the new WinME shell32.dll
to replace the shortcut arrows with the empty icon

Edited by PROBLEMCHYLD, 13 December 2006 - 01:34 AM.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#682
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Don't forget when you add the new WinME shell32.dll
to replace the shortcut arrows with the empty icon

This is WinME shell32.dll, not 98/98SE shell32.
To my knowledge WinME shell32 does not exhibit that bug.
That bug is specific strictly to 98/98SE shell32.dll updates 4.72.3812.600 + 4.72.3812.620:
http://www.mdgx.com/98-5.htm#PSBF

Therefore patching not necessary for WinME.

HTH

#683
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I think IPROP.DLL from unofficial dcom is newer than the 1 from WinME

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#684
Hu$tle

Hu$tle

    Junior

  • Banned
  • Pip
  • 86 posts
How do i install System Restore and all its components from my WinME cd
on my Win98SE2ME computer?

#685
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I think IPROP.DLL from unofficial dcom is newer than the 1 from WinME

I'm not sure.

These are the ones I have [using getver.exe = http://lbrisar.htmlp...d32.html#getver]:

IPROP.DLL 4.0.1381.326 stamp 11-18-1999 96016 Bytes = from WinNT4 SP6a
IPROP.DLL 4.0.1381.4 stamp 6-8-2000 110592 Bytes = from WinME CD-ROM [identical with the 1 from Win98 SE CD-ROM]
IPROP.DLL 4.0.1381.6 stamp 8-20-1997 96016 Bytes = from DCOM98

If 326 is considered greater than 4 [as in 004] or than 6 [as in 006], you're right, 326 is newest. [?]
But if 6 [as in 600] is considered greater than 326, the 1 from official DCOM98 is newest. [?]
So which way is the right way?
Does anybody have any ideas how this actually works?
Thanks in advance.

______________________________


How do i install System Restore and all its components from my WinME cd
on my Win98SE2ME computer?

You don't.
To my knowledge this is not possible [yet].
Too many WinME system files dependencies.

And I'm sure if it can be done, the entire procedure will be posted here.

HTH

#686
Petr

Petr

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

These are the ones I have [using getver.exe = http://lbrisar.htmlp...d32.html#getver]:

IPROP.DLL 4.0.1381.326 stamp 11-18-1999 96016 Bytes = from WinNT4 SP6a
IPROP.DLL 4.0.1381.4 stamp 6-8-2000 110592 Bytes = from WinME CD-ROM [identical with the 1 from Win98 SE CD-ROM]
IPROP.DLL 4.0.1381.6 stamp 8-20-1997 96016 Bytes = from DCOM98

If 326 is considered greater than 4 [as in 004] or than 6 [as in 006], you're right, 326 is newest. [?]
But if 6 [as in 600] is considered greater than 326, the 1 from official DCOM98 is newest. [?]
So which way is the right way?
Does anybody have any ideas how this actually works?


The version number is stored as four 16-bit words, each part of it may have value 0 to 65535. So the lowest version number is 0.0.0.0 and the highest 65535.65535.65535.65535.

Some more information from MSDN:
VS_FIXEDFILEINFO Structure
File Version Comparisons
Codeguru: Versioning in Windows

Petr

#687
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
PROBLEMCHYLD:

I have removed WinME IPROP.DLL from options 1 + 2.

HTH

#688
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
Hu$tle,

Sheesh, I just typed a whole post and lost it when IE couldn't link properly.

http://www.geocities.../sysrestore.htm

That's the link to a current script based 98 system backup project. That may do the trick for you.

Alternative include just sticking with scanreg /restore from a command prompt only startup. You can edit scanreg.ini to include some additional system configuration files to those it includes.

PowerQuest SecondChance is what SystemRestore was based upon. If you can find PowerQuest SystemTools 2005 (or 2006, I forget) then that has the last version made.

Symantec GoBack is a currently sold product that also can restore even if you can't even boot to dos. Don't do any funky partition stuff with it though, as it changes the boot sector to do its magic.
Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#689
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Can we get a Games only option to 98SE2ME
please also about the help files and chm files installed by 98SE2ME
can you have them all sent to the help folder with all the rest of the chm/hlp
files my system is very organize.The 98SE2ME chm needs to be updated also it should be
installed to the help folder even after installation of the 98SE2ME folder.

Also USB from option 1/2/8 does not work properly
i have to install NUSB. It did used to work once upon a time but not now
you might have to analyze Maximus Decim Native USB ver.2.3
and figure out the culprit of things.

Can we get a icon change on the start button please the old one looks dry.

Other than that its running lovely

Edited by PROBLEMCHYLD, 24 December 2006 - 03:51 PM.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#690
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
MDGx, I wanted to let you know that for some crazy reason the McAfee SiteAdvisor Plus flags your mdgx.com website. To go there or download anything from there I need to disable SiteAdvisor's Protected Mode and also respond to downloads in their warning box about your site that it's okay to allow the download.

No problem when using Windows 98 since their SiteAdvisor 98 plugin is buggy and will crash Internet Explorer if installed. But of course that's a crappy work-around (use 98 and don't install SiteAdvisor)!

Anyway to communicate with McAfee to let them know your's is a good site, not dangerous at all?

Maybe they're reacting to some of the 3rd party sites linked to from your site. Perhaps if any link on a site leads to where even a popup exists then SiteAdvisor flags the whole site as dangerous. Seems a bit paranoid if you ask me.
Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#691
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
After testing on a VMWare 98SE install and toggling off the 98SE2ME and 98MP10 in auto-patcher then installing them afterwards, all is well.

The only strange thing is that the My Computer desktop icon remains the original default 98SE one even though Explorer.exe's icon in the Windows folder is the newer one and that newer one also appears in Display Properties as the default one.

Don't mind the old one though, since the rest of the icons haven't changed either. If I want the 2000/Me style I can get them from a Windows Me theme I have.

Nice color scheme. I like that it doesn't change the font like Gape's Service Pack does. I like the normal font but enjoy the prettier colors on the title menu's, desktop, etc.

Now let's see what happens when I try installing my USB printer and Microsoft Works/Office stuff. I normally do those earlier but didn't want to spend the time until I saw whether these operating system updates went well.
Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#692
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

The only strange thing is that the My Computer desktop icon remains the original default 98SE one even though Explorer.exe's icon in the Windows folder is the newer one and that newer one also appears in Display Properties as the default one.

Have you tried to delete %windir%\ShellIconCache and then shut down "normal": Start -> Shut Down -> Shut Down?

This way ShellIconCache should be recreated to contain updated icons.

HTH

#693
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
Ya know, when I installed McAfee 2006 security software the newer style My Computer icon appeared. So now it matches what it's supposed to be.

Maybe their installer deleates that ShellIconCache file in order to refresh things.

But thanks for that tip as I now know what to do myself to refresh things. Another way to refresh if the shortcut arrows look like they're there but they're not (look damaged) is to apply large icons then uncheck it and apply again. Shortcut arrows are then repaired.

I had to do that after Nero 7 stuff got installed.

I remember reading about the ShellIconCache refresh by deleating and rebooting but it got lost somewhere in my brain among the thousand Windows tips that exist there!

Too bad there's no undelete for brain cells.
Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#694
ZaPbUzZ

ZaPbUzZ

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 25 posts
I need to know a couple of things.

Ater installation the system's autoexec.bat is still loading files into the system directory on each reboot how come?

Would it be possible to place a 3rd party compression utility such as 7zip into a background utility
to automatically load the set of winme files whenever it is needed than scanning the unofficial
service pack cab.

Is there a place online to grab a complete manual installation guide that outlines the components effects and problems that can or can't happen doing this mod.

Thankyou.

P.S. In case people are migrating to NT for driver compatability; winme actually accepts some
xp drivers as it is a hybrid driver system unique to the rest of 9x.

I have been running my own mod of this for years but i haven't been able to the registry, shell and driver components..good job.

One thing i did do is put default system drivers into 98se from winme .. it was good. :)

Edited by ZaPbUzZ, 31 January 2007 - 05:41 AM.


#695
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
http://www.mdgx.com

I tried to give a direct link to the page but the site navigation leaves the main url there wherever you go. Just scroll down and click on the 98SE2ME link and you'll see the manual installation method.

That autoexec.bat bug existed in very early releases of 98SE2ME. The files are copied the first time you restart after installing 98SE2ME. You don't need them copied again! So you can just delete those lines.

I was hoping to solve the system just turning the monitor off when trying to restart in MS-DOS Mode by installing the patched 98SE versions of USER.EXE and USER32.DLL from an extracted Unofficial 98SE Service Pack sp2.cab file. I need to set the ExittoDos.pif to its own dos configuration in order to get Windows to restart to dos mode properly.

Returning to the 98SE versions didn't fix it so I'll just keep the Exittodos.pif with its own configuration. It works fine that way. Perhaps it's videocard driver related. I just can't set it to use the default dos configuration, but whatever. As long as I can get there!

I'll keep the 98SE patched files. Don't see the need to switch them back.
Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#696
celtish

celtish

    Win98SE Forever!

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts

98SE2ME · UPDATED] · 1-24-2007

Please see the top of this topic for most recent 98SE2ME update.

Excellent as always but why does it always install things with W98, WIN, 256, and *W98.* extensions? They don't seem to have any useful function.

I am using a programme called WinPatcher. Could this be useful if incorporated in 98SE2ME?

Also, would it be possible to have metapad as the notepad?

Edited by plonkeroo, 01 February 2007 - 03:05 AM.

celtish of Southport
Just my twopenn'orth!
Computer Club http://www.celticsurf.net/computers/
Internet Abuse http://www.celticsur...cape/abuse.html

Posted Image

#697
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I need to know a couple of things.

Ater installation the system's autoexec.bat is still loading files into the system directory on each reboot how come?

Would it be possible to place a 3rd party compression utility such as 7zip into a background utility
to automatically load the set of winme files whenever it is needed than scanning the unofficial
service pack cab.

Is there a place online to grab a complete manual installation guide that outlines the components effects and problems that can or can't happen doing this mod.

Thankyou.

P.S. In case people are migrating to NT for driver compatability; winme actually accepts some
xp drivers as it is a hybrid driver system unique to the rest of 9x.

I have been running my own mod of this for years but i haven't been able to the registry, shell and driver components..good job.

One thing i did do is put default system drivers into 98se from winme .. it was good.

Thanks a lot for your appreciation.
I hope you enjoy 98SE2ME.

To answer your questions:

1. Autoexec.bat is used to run batch files right after (re)boot but before Windows GUI starts [win.com].
But after those batch files complete their run, the modded autoexec.bat is deleted and replaced with original [unmodified] autoexec.bat [if any].

2. The WinME files installed by 98SE2ME into C:\9!M are extracted from the installer, which is built using InnoSetup [ http://www.jrsoftware.org/isinfo.php ], which in turn uses 7-zip compression to shrink files to maximum compression ratio available. This is detailed in READ1ST.TXT:
READ1ST.TXT
under the "UNINSTALL 98SE2ME" section, and also in INNOFILE.TXT [part of INNOFILE.ZIP]:
http://www.mdgx.com/9s2m/INNOFILE.ZIP
Whenever 1 runs the main batch [98SE2ME.PIF], and then selects an option, necessary files are copied from C:\9!M to respective target directories, and necessary files [if any] are extracted from WinME CABs, which must be present for most options.
Disk space taken by 98SE2ME installation files is ~ 9 MB.
After installing desired option(s), 98SE2ME can be completely uninstalled, thus freeing that disk space.

3. Complete 98SE2ME guide is here [in plain TXT format]:
READ1ST.TXT
See the "98SE2ME.PIF COMPLETE GUIDE" section for details on all installed components [8 options total].
Same READ1ST.TXT pops up whenever one installs 98SE2ME, or any options.

4. Win98 SE also accepts certain NT4/2000/XP/2003 drivers, even better after installing 98SE2ME options 1, 2 or 8.

HTH

#698
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

http://www.mdgx.com

I tried to give a direct link to the page but the site navigation leaves the main url there wherever you go. Just scroll down and click on the 98SE2ME link and you'll see the manual installation method.

Any web page [HTML document] can be viewed or saved [copied to clipboard] from any web site [even the ones with frames, like mine], if using:
- MS Internet Explorer: right-click on plain text [without links] on the page you want to view [even inside frames] -> select Properties -> see Address: (URL) -> triple-click on top of the actual URL to highlight it entirely -> right-click -> click Copy -> then paste URL into address box in any web browser or text/doc application.
- Firefox/Mozilla: right-click on plain text [without links] on the page you want to view [even inside frames] -> select This Frame -> click Show Only This Frame -> this will show the frame [web page] URL in the address box, you can then cut + paste.
- Opera: similar way.

HTH

#699
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Excellent as always but why does it always install things with W98, WIN, 256, and *W98.* extensions? They don't seem to have any useful function.

I am using a programme called WinPatcher. Could this be useful if incorporated in 98SE2ME?

Also, would it be possible to have metapad as the notepad?

1. All those files are backups of files that are replaced by 98SE2ME options.
READ1ST.TXT explains what they do, which files they back up, how to restore original files by using those renamed files, and how to delete those backups if you wish:
READ1ST.TXT

2. The only purpose of 98SE2ME is to upgrade Win98 SE to WinME level.
Therefore it does not install 3rd party apps, games, tools, tweaks etc.
This is explained in READ1ST.TXT under the "FAQ" section:
READ1ST.TXT

3. I chose PFE [Programmer's File Editor] because has features no other Notepad replacement has.
Among other unique features: it is the only text editor I've seen which opens huge text files fast, without "choking".
Of course, it is a matter of personal preference which text editor one wants to use.
PFE is installed only by options 1 and 5.
Option 2 [main option which installs the ~ 700 WinME files] does not install PFE.

HTH

#700
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
Alright! I didn't know that trick with getting the urls. Awesome.

Typing now from Firefox in OpenSUSE Linux 10.2. Gosh, this operating system is cool. I'm a first timer in any Linux and after years of spending, and spending, and spending $$$, I am simply amazed and can hardly believe how absolutely everything in this Linux world is free (excepting the hardware, ink, paper, cds, dvds). It appears that the only thing I'll really need a Windows setup for is for complete game compatibility. Unbelievable. Where have I been?

I was so afraid of needing to learn complex new commands but found that not only are they not so complex, but really the only time it was absolutely necessary to leave the GUI was to install the proprietary ATI videocard driver so I could get all the neat desktop 3d effects. And the KDE GUI is, well, not dissimilar to anything I've used before. And it's pretty too!

I'll stop since this isn't the place I guess, but I'm finding this new to me thing quite exciting. I'll likely keep multi-booting with my Windows stuff mainly to keep my games alive but, to be honest, I've got XP on here but I can't seem to want to leave this here strange new world so I can begin the much more tedious process of installing all my Windows programs.

At least I'm glad I didn't have the funds to get Vista the first day. I see now it will cost me just $259 instead of a whopping $400 as it's been discovered that we can upgrade with a clean install without having XP previously installed just by running the Vista upgrade setup twice, leaving out the key the first time and choosing a clean install the second time. Then it'll format and install itself fresh. I've got 2 XP Homes and 2 XP Pros so I certainly qualify for the upgrade price discount anyway. Heck, with all the feedback I sent in during the Customer Preview time and all the money I've spent on Microsoft software I find it hard to justify spending even that much money on the thing. Still, it'll be at least another month before even that'll be possible for me. Might not do it at all. I'm searching for things I CAN'T do with the free Linux running the computer at this point, and wondering what Vista can offer me that's worth $259.
Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN