Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Microsoft Update

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
49 replies to this topic

#26
raduking

raduking

    RegTweak XP

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Joined 30-July 03
do you get the same error as I do ?
My Webpage - Get RK Launcher 0.4 Beta

4000 hungry children leave us per hour, from starvation,
While billions are spent on bombs, creating death showers.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
RyanVM

RyanVM

    Like a big surly teddy bear.

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,756 posts
  • Joined 31-August 03
You guys will be happy to know that IE7 defaults to MU :P
RyanVM MSFN Files | RyanVM Forums
Please do not link directly to files on my site or modify/redistribute them without getting my permission first. Link to the above URL instead.
Current Update Pack Release: 2.2.2
(Released April 28, 2008)

BTW, 90% of what I say is kidding around. Don't take things so personally ;)

#28
raduking

raduking

    RegTweak XP

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Joined 30-July 03
so those files will be automatically put there ?
My Webpage - Get RK Launcher 0.4 Beta

4000 hungry children leave us per hour, from starvation,
While billions are spent on bombs, creating death showers.

#29
PoloDude

PoloDude

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 57 posts
  • Joined 08-June 04

i have registered post Windows Installer 3.1 (v2) :(

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Can't it be that you disabled windows update by using a registry fix?
poloplayers do it always 4 times, 7 minutes ^^

#30
mrnxdmx

mrnxdmx

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 91 posts
  • Joined 17-November 04

You guys will be happy to know that IE7 defaults to MU :P

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

:realmad: :realmad:
I wonder what will microsoft do with xp sp3,ie7?
Maybe will require a phone call to get a very very special key :wacko:

#31
fraizzo

fraizzo
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 05-May 05
Pleas can you help me.

In my unattended installation i have created a .bat for manual integration of ActiveX, i have created a link to Microsoft Update, now i have 2 questions.

1. How i can skip the two windows that Microsoft Update Site ask me (START + CONTINUE)???

2. How can i add my link to the site inside the START MENU???

Thank you in advance :D

Francesco

#32
maxamoto

maxamoto

    I got mad skillz I will get wild

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Joined 27-October 04

Pleas can you help me.

In my unattended installation i have created a .bat for manual integration of ActiveX, i have created a link to Microsoft Update, now i have 2 questions.

1. How i can skip the two windows that Microsoft Update Site ask me (START + CONTINUE)???

2. How can i add my link to the site inside the START MENU???

Thank you in advance :D

Francesco

There's no way to skip the initial screens, so far as I am aware of. I'm sure it will be possible in the future. As far as creating the shortcut goes, download shortcut.exe, drop it in \XPCD\$OEM$\$$\System32 (or wherever your UACD lives) and use the following syntax wherever appropriate:

Shortcut.exe /f:"%ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Start Menu\Microsoft Update.lnk" /a:c /t:"C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe" /p:C:\WINDOWS\system32\muweb.dll,LaunchMUSite

You might need to modify the syntax above for your environment. The first time you go to the site, the icon for that shortcut will change to what it's supposed to be, but until then it will just be a generic pale blue page-looking icon. Regards :)

#33
showha

showha
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 27-December 04

There's no way to skip the initial screens, so far as I am aware of. I'm sure it will be possible in the future. As far as creating the shortcut goes, download shortcut.exe, drop it in \XPCD\$OEM$\$$\System32 (or wherever your UACD lives) and use the following syntax wherever appropriate:

Shortcut.exe /f:"%ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Start Menu\Microsoft Update.lnk" /a:c /t:"C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe" /p:C:\WINDOWS\system32\muweb.dll,LaunchMUSite

You might need to modify the syntax above for your environment. The first time you go to the site, the icon for that shortcut will change to what it's supposed to be, but until then it will just be a generic pale blue page-looking icon. Regards :)



did it support for pre_install?

thx!

#34
RyanVM

RyanVM

    Like a big surly teddy bear.

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,756 posts
  • Joined 31-August 03
My update pack skips the initial screen ;)
RyanVM MSFN Files | RyanVM Forums
Please do not link directly to files on my site or modify/redistribute them without getting my permission first. Link to the above URL instead.
Current Update Pack Release: 2.2.2
(Released April 28, 2008)

BTW, 90% of what I say is kidding around. Don't take things so personally ;)

#35
BoardBabe

BoardBabe

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,415 posts
  • Joined 04-October 04
How'd you do that?
BoardBabe

#36
RyanVM

RyanVM

    Like a big surly teddy bear.

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,756 posts
  • Joined 31-August 03
hp38guser discovered that DataStore.edb is the key file.
RyanVM MSFN Files | RyanVM Forums
Please do not link directly to files on my site or modify/redistribute them without getting my permission first. Link to the above URL instead.
Current Update Pack Release: 2.2.2
(Released April 28, 2008)

BTW, 90% of what I say is kidding around. Don't take things so personally ;)

#37
BoardBabe

BoardBabe

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,415 posts
  • Joined 04-October 04
I see... so to skip initial MU screen just backup DataStore.edb to UA CD/DVD

$$\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore

(Do you know what exactly this file contains of info?)

Edited by BoardBabe, 09 November 2005 - 04:58 AM.

BoardBabe

#38
BoardBabe

BoardBabe

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,415 posts
  • Joined 04-October 04
bump
BoardBabe

#39
blinkdt

blinkdt

    Somewhat Knowledgeable

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 582 posts
  • Joined 30-September 03
RyanVM's posts are intriguing, to say the least. I'm using a ham-handed AutoIt script to get the job done at present (please do not ask me to post it--it works but I'm not proud of it).

@BoardBabe: the OEM method did not work for me. One author claims DataStore.edb can be deleted and replaced during the install, but most agree that it is one tough nut to crack. Googled "DataStore.edb" and did some reading, turns out it is a database file related to the update feature, no real surprise there. I assume if a current database file can be integrated, then Windows will accept the Microsoft Update feature.

The key, then, is to integrate DataStore.edb and related files from the get-go, the first method preferred by it_ybd.

So I took a look at RyanVM's UpdatePack and found a few entries in the "entries.ini" file that appeared relevant:
;This section contains entries that need to go into the [Files] section of dosnet.inf
d1,DataStor.edb
d1,muweb.dll

;This section contains entries that need to go into the [WinntDirectories] section of txtsetup.sif
242 = SoftwareDistribution\DataStore

;This section contains entries that need to go into the [SourceDisksFiles] section of txtsetup.sif
DataStor.edb = 100,,,,,,,242,0,0,DataStore.edb
muweb.dll	= 100,,,,,,,2,0,0

Dropped RyanVM's DataStor.ed_ file in the I386 directory together with my muweb.dll file and expanded DataStor.ed_ as DataStor.edb and DataStore.edb for good measure, dropping them in I386 as well. Updated the dosnet.inf and txtsetup.sif files, but no luck.

@RyanVM: is it bigger than a bread box? Any help here would be greatly appreciated by those of use who are looking simply to integrate this feature. I am certain that I have missed a few files and more.
no peace for the wicked, no rest for the good

#40
BoardBabe

BoardBabe

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,415 posts
  • Joined 04-October 04
I have now done 3 successfull VMware full format/install tests of my UADVD and I got IE Tools>Windows Update to default to Microsoft Update AND skip the initial MU screen, where you have to click Yes... etc.

How I did it?

1. If you have previously installed and ran MU on your local OS:
Boot your computer in SAFE MODEand DELETE DataStore.edb in %WinDir%\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore
2. Reboot computer to "normal mode" and run Microsoft Update (You should get the initial welcome to MU screen) follow the steps where you have to click start etc...
3. Again reboot to SAFE MODE and COPY DataStore.edb to desktop or wherever.
4. Boot to normal mode and place the copy you just made of DataStore.edb on your UA CD/DVD in $OEM$\$$\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore

Ofcourse you will have to have MU properly installed and service registered during your UA installation process. Why all the reboots and safemode? Simply to get a "fresh" version of DataStore.edb (Should have a filesize of about 1032kb) that is not locked or used by any process.

This seems to work flawless for me. :thumbup

Edited by BoardBabe, 13 November 2005 - 01:48 PM.

BoardBabe

#41
blinkdt

blinkdt

    Somewhat Knowledgeable

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 582 posts
  • Joined 30-September 03
Nice. So this is what I have:

$$\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\DataStore.edb
$$\System32\muweb.dll
$Docs\All Users\Start Menu\Microsoft Update
(shortcut to C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe C:\WINDOWS\system32\muweb.dll,LaunchMUSite target)

I'm going to try to register muweb.dll from Cmdlines.txt:

[COMMANDS]
"regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\muweb.dll"

Not sure about that, though. But worth a shot.

Edit: no luck. :no:

Edited by blinkdt, 14 November 2005 - 12:56 AM.

no peace for the wicked, no rest for the good

#42
BoardBabe

BoardBabe

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,415 posts
  • Joined 04-October 04
What did not work? The MU integration or skipping the initial screen?

Make sure you followed my procedure to get a "clean" copy of DataStore.edb. Also I personally register wups2.dll and muweb.dll from cleanup.cmd and not CMDLINES.txt. Don't know if it makes a difference...
BoardBabe

#43
blinkdt

blinkdt

    Somewhat Knowledgeable

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 582 posts
  • Joined 30-September 03
I believe MU integration is fine, but I continue to experience the same situation faced by raduking on page 2 of this thread. That said, MU integration appears to be nothing more than correctly placing and registering one DLL file based on what I have picked up in this discussion. Your procedure for securing a clean copy of DataStore.edb was crystal-clear and makes perfect sense.

I will try to register both .dll's and/or play with this some more.

Edited by blinkdt, 14 November 2005 - 08:36 PM.

no peace for the wicked, no rest for the good

#44
BoardBabe

BoardBabe

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,415 posts
  • Joined 04-October 04
Im not quite sure why it does not wor for you, but it might sem you do not have all the components needed for MU?

If I have understood correctly you will need to install;
Windows Installer v3.1
Windows Update v6
Microsoft Update

To make sure MU works properly. My guess is that you need to double check if you have all of those installed.
BoardBabe

#45
EmRoD

EmRoD

    Powered by PlugSquare.com

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 97 posts
  • Joined 16-January 04
Successfully passed the 2 "activation steps" and got rid of the 0x800... error message.

I backed up a DataStore.edb like BoardBabe said.
and I created a SFX file for it, launched via SVCPACK.inf.

I'm using the wonderfull HFSLIP so this SFX is integrated during the Slipstreming process.

I've got now a Fully automated slipstreamed XP Pro SP2 with MU :)

Thanks :)

Edited by EmRoD, 17 March 2006 - 05:09 AM.


#46
GeneralMandible

GeneralMandible

    Major

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Joined 08-July 04

I have now done 3 successfull VMware full format/install tests of my UADVD and I got IE Tools>Windows Update to default to Microsoft Update AND skip the initial MU screen, where you have to click Yes... etc.

How I did it?

1. If you have previously installed and ran MU on your local OS:
Boot your computer in SAFE MODEand DELETE DataStore.edb in %WinDir%\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore
2. Reboot computer to "normal mode" and run Microsoft Update (You should get the initial welcome to MU screen) follow the steps where you have to click start etc...
3. Again reboot to SAFE MODE and COPY DataStore.edb to desktop or wherever.
4. Boot to normal mode and place the copy you just made of DataStore.edb on your UA CD/DVD in $OEM$\$$\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore

Ofcourse you will have to have MU properly installed and service registered during your UA installation process. Why all the reboots and safemode? Simply to get a "fresh" version of DataStore.edb (Should have a filesize of about 1032kb) that is not locked or used by any process.

This seems to work flawless for me. :thumbup

FYI
You shouldn't have to go into safe mode. All you need to do is stop the Automatic Update service. DataStore.edb should only be in use by Windows update services (web or AU).
"I am the colony!"
My Website

#47
DarkShadows

DarkShadows

    The brighter the light, the darker the shadows.

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Joined 12-January 05
I'd like to encourage everyone reading this thread to also check out GUIDE: Download Everything Microsoft, a complete, step-by-step, how-to, which includes all of the most useful information contained in this thread you are currently reading, as well as information on some other closely related items that you should consider integrating into your XPCDs. Much of the linked guide's information has been discussed in other disparate MSFN Forums threads (like this one), but it is all brought together in one place along with new information not covered anywhere else on MSFN.

Guide Topics Include Integrating:

  • Windows Installer 3.1 v2 (3.1.4000.2435) - KB893803
  • Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications - KB905474
  • Windows Update Agent
  • Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool ActiveX Control - KB892130 (LegitCheckControl.cab)
  • Office Genuine Advantage Validation Tool ActiveX Control (OGAControl.cab)
  • Windows Update ActiveX Control (wuweb_site.cab)
  • Microsoft Update ActiveX Control (muweb_site.cab)
  • Office Update Installation Engine ActiveX Control (opuc4.cab)
  • Microsoft Update Catalog Internet ActiveX Control (MuCatalogWebControl.cab)

All of the above items are closely interrelated as it they all pertain to downloading Microsoft Software Updates to your Windows XP computer. In fact, many of the above items are so closely intertwined that some will not work correctly without the correct installation of others.
I'm still looking for that damned <Any> key!
Check Out My: Sysinternals Installer Builder | GUIDE: Download Everything Microsoft

#48
Lolita

Lolita

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Joined 21-August 04
I wanted to do it myself to see how it works and not use DarkShadow's inf, everything works now - WU, WGA, OGA, but when i go to MU i need to allow MU activeX. I don't need to install it, just allow it.

#49
DarkShadows

DarkShadows

    The brighter the light, the darker the shadows.

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Joined 12-January 05
My Guide (linked above) now has newer .infs which address the authorization issue.
I'm still looking for that damned <Any> key!
Check Out My: Sysinternals Installer Builder | GUIDE: Download Everything Microsoft

#50
sohail.pendhari

sohail.pendhari
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 20-June 09
Hi All ,
I have a microsoft update agent exe ,which does the job of switiching from WU to MU .For Systems in which muweb.dll is not present have to install the ActiveX manually by visiting the MU site .Once to Install ActiveX muweb.dll gets placed in system32 folder .The Microsoft update agent does that job .just run the setup and and muweb.dll will get placed in the system32 folder and you can visit MU site without any ActiveX installation propmt.
But the problem ,I am facing is with 64-BIt OS.In 64-BIt Edition the location of muweb.dll varies its c:\windows\SysWow64 folder . Any one have any idea on this for how to get it done ?...