Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Integration of NVIDIA's nForce RAID and AHCI drivers

* * * * * 4 votes

  • Please log in to reply
1989 replies to this topic

#1801
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I want to build an XPSP3 installation disc which can support a wide variety of nForce-based systems. Ideally, I would like to integrate both LEGACY and the 9.99.0.9 drivers onto a single disc. Apart from me having to edit the INF/OEM files accordingly (to eliminate dupe entries), are there any drawbacks?

That is an interesting idea to integrate 2 different nForce SATARAID drivers into the same XP CD, one for the LEGACY Mode nForce 2-4 systems and the other for the more actual nForce RAID systems (by the way: AHCI support will not work with them).
Although I am always warning to integrate more than 1 textmode driver of the same chipset vendor into a Windows XP CD, this special combination may work:
  • modded LEGACY folder v6.99 and
  • modded SATARAID folder v9.99.09
Both have to be integrated separately (single driver mode) as textmode drivers into a Windows XP CD.

Reason for being optimistic, that it will work:
Since the SATA and RAID drivers of both driver versions have different names, they will not be overwritten while nLite is copying them into the i386 directory of the CD.

Further advices:
  • Although I do not know, if it is really needed, you should erase double HardwareID entries from the INF and OEM files before integrating them to avoid any interfering acts while doing the Windows Setup. If you want, I can help you to do it.
  • Please give us a feedback, if that worked, because this might be interesting for other users too.
  • If you should not succeed with this procedure, you may use the DriverPacks method (>Link<), but this will not work with nLite.
Just to remember you: Only the private use of nLite is allowed, any use of nLite for a business purpose is illegal.

Good luck!
Fernando

Edited by Fernando 1, 20 January 2010 - 04:31 AM.

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1802
mongo66

mongo66

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 28-October 08
Thanks for your input!

Quite some time ago, I created a BartPE live CD which included both your LEGACY and 9.99.09 driver sets:

Intel_textmode_drivers_v8.7.0.1007_mod_by_Fernando
nForce IDE 99909 for XP 32bit mod by Fernando
nForce LEGACY 699 for XP 32bit built by Fernando

Although it was a half-baked effort and purely experimental, I've had no problems using this CD on legacy or newer systems (so far). Unfortunately, I didn't go on to create a similar XP installation disc at the time. Over the past 2-3 years, I have created several XP discs with integrated drivers, none of which was an All-In-One solution. TBH, I'm fed up with having to sift through all these discs whenever I needed to use one. Therefore, I'm hoping to create a new disc based on what I had achieved with BartPE.

textmode:
- Intel 9.5.0.1037 WHQL (or should I use your modded package? please advise)
- nForce LEGACY
- nForce 9.99.0.9 (sataraid)

pnp drivers:
- nForce 9.99.0.9 (sata_ide)

About the hardware IDs -- it only makes sense to remove duplicate entries; if only for the reasons you've mentioned. In creating the BartPE CD, the LEGACY inf/oem files were edited to "exclude" HWID's already present in the 9.99.0.9 package. While the only change made to the 9.99.0.9 configuration files was the removal of *_NVRAIDBUS and *NVRAIDBUS hardware ID's. Everything else was left intact.

BTW, I messed around with the DriverPacks Method before, but never got it to work properly.

Edited by mongo66, 20 January 2010 - 11:04 AM.


#1803
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ mongo66:

Regarding the Intel textmode drivers I recommend to take the modded version, because this way you will get all possible ICH6-10 chipset AHCI and RAID systems supported.
If you want to integrate the newest Intel textmode drivers, take the RST driver v9.5.6.1001, which I have modded yesterday. >Here< is the download link of the 32bit version.

Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1804
mongo66

mongo66

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 28-October 08
It seems I've come across a stumbling block, something I had carelessly overlooked earlier on. Both LEGACY and 9.99.0.9 drivers share one common denominator: RAID Controller. As I mentioned in an earlier post, two driver integration is made possible by editing the relevant INF/OEM files. This is all fine and dandy, but when it comes to RAID Controller id's, *_NVRAIDBUS and *NVRAIDBUS, omitting them from either package will result in mismatched drivers being installed:

nvgts.sys + nvraid.sys, or
nvatabus.sys + nvrd32.sys

Whereas keeping them won't eliminate the mismatched driver issue (on the LEGACY side of things) and may cause conflicts during Windows Setup due to the duplicate entries in TXTSETUP.SIF. Whatever the case, it doesn't look too promising for SATA RAID systems. Not exactly what I was hoping for, so it's a no go :(


P.S. - What is it with NVIDIA and their drivers? Intel is so much easier to work with.

Edited by mongo66, 22 January 2010 - 12:29 PM.


#1805
Smash85

Smash85
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 28-January 10
Hello all of you. I'm trying to install Windows XP Pro x86 SP3 on my SATA HDD. (Seagate OEM) to no avail as of yet. I've read the first post and I'm still a little confused, my motherboard is an Asus M268-AM SE2. The chipset is NVIDIA GeForce 7025/nForce 630 a (MCP68 SE). I don't know exactly which drivers I should include in the slipstream version of my installation. Thanks for the help.

From the first post, I'm guessing I should use the drivers in the B section (AHCI), but my chipset isn't listed...

OK, I've managed to get through me first problem:

I had Win7 installed before. It made a system partition on the C: drive. When XP extracts the installation files, it puts them on that drive even though I was installing on D:. (http://www.theelderg...showtopic=29867)

I deleted that partition and now it installs.

But now I have the last problem: BSOD at last reboot....

My CD-ROM has only a SATA connector, can someone explain to me if that's the problem. (I don't get it)
Or maybe I just have the wrong drivers slipstreamed. For now I used the latest ones from the ASUS website for my MoBo (NVIDIA nForce Chipset Package Driver V15.45(Chipset version 4.6.9.0) for Windows XP.(WHQL)). I'll retry and make sure they're in textmode.

Also, for my BIOS configuration:

in IDE Configuration, my options are:

IDE Controller: Enabled/Disabled
Serial ATA Controller: Enabled/Disabled
nVidia RAID Controller: Enabled/Disabled

What should I choose ?


Simon

Edited by Smash85, 28 January 2010 - 01:06 PM.


#1806
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ Smash85:

Welcome at MSFN Forums!

It is not easy to help you, because you obviously do nt know, if your SATA hdd is running in RAID or AHCI Mode. Unfortunately you have already formatted the Win7 partition, which makes it impossible to have a look into the Device Manager.
Before I can start withnany help, you should give me some further informations:
1. How many hdd's are connected to you motherboard?
2. Where can I get some informations about your ASUS M268-AM SE2? I don't find anything about that board at ASUS web pages.

I'm trying to install Windows XP Pro x86 SP3 on my SATA HDD. (Seagate OEM) to no avail as of yet. I've read the first post and I'm still a little confused, my motherboard is an Asus M268-AM SE2. The chipset is NVIDIA GeForce 7025/nForce 630 a (MCP68 SE). I don't know exactly which drivers I should include in the slipstream version of my installation.

That depends on the answer to the question, in which Mode (AHCI or RAID) your SATA Controller is running.

I deleted that partition and now it installs.
But now I have the last problem: BSOD at last reboot....

Which driver did you integrate?

Also, for my BIOS configuration:
in IDE Configuration, my options are:
IDE Controller: Enabled/Disabled
Serial ATA Controller: Enabled/Disabled
nVidia RAID Controller: Enabled/Disabled
What should I choose ?

The answer depends on what you want.
If you want to use the AHCI features, you probably have to enable the "Serial ATA Controller" and to disable the IDE one.
The NVIDIA RAID Controller should be disabled anyway, unless you are going to create a RAID array (minimum 2 hdd's required).

Edited by Fernando 1, 28 January 2010 - 02:13 PM.

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1807
Jaxx

Jaxx
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 13-February 10
Hey guys,

I'm trying to install XP 32Bit on 2TB Raid 1 on a NVIDIA Integrated Quadro FX470 system. The raid controller according to the manual is a NVIDIA MediaShield RAID controller. Which driver do I need to use to make a slipstream? The FX470 chipset I have is not listed under any of the drivers listed in this thread.

I'd be happy if you could help me out with this!

Thanks

Jaxx

#1808
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ Jaxx:
Welcome at MSFN Forums!

Please give me the name of your mainboard or notebook. FX940 is a GPU chip, but not an nForce chipset.
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1809
Jaxx

Jaxx
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 13-February 10
Thanks Fernando 1 !
I have a Asus TW100-E5 Barebone which has a Asus P5N-VM WS motherboard in it.

#1810
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I have a Asus TW100-E5 Barebone which has a Asus P5N-VM WS motherboard in it.

Both SATARAID drivers I have recommended for "all other chipsets" within my guide should work for your system. So you can integrate either the SATARAID driver folder v10.3.0.46 or v9.99.09.

Good luck!
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1811
cyr42000

cyr42000
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 10-February 10
Hello

I'm trying to install xp pro 32 bits in ahci mode on asus M4N78 PRO with a nforce 710a controler
i'm using NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller 10.3.0.46 with nlite but dont work
hdd are not detected
what is the good driver for my motherboard
sorry for my english

Thank you

#1812
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ cyr42000:
Welcome at MSFN Forums!

I'm trying to install xp pro 32 bits in ahci mode on asus M4N78 PRO with a nforce 710a controler
i'm using NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller 10.3.0.46 with nlite but dont work
hdd are not detected
what is the good driver for my motherboard

I assume, that your SATA hdd is connected with a NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller, which has been set to "AHCI" Mode within the BIOS.
If the SATA_IDE driver v10.3.0.46 has been integrated as TEXTMODE driver, but was not able to detect your SATA hdd, you should integrate the SATA_IDE driver v11.1.0.33, which can be downloaded from >here<.
Please report here, if you succeeded this way. This may help other users with a similar hardware configuration.

Good luck!
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1813
cyr42000

cyr42000
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 10-February 10
ok that work

I have integrated the driver v 11.1.0.33 with nlite and i have succed to install xp in ahci mode
for information i have a m4n78 pro with GeForce 8300 (MCP78U) PCB 1.02G and bios 10.04

Thank you very much Fernando

#1814
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ cyr42000:
Thanks for your feedback.
Your report encouraged me to update my guide and to offer these customized nForce IDE drivers v11.1.0.33 for all users with an MCP65-79 chipset.


@ all viewers of this thread:
Today I have updated my guide again.
This is the changelog:
  • new: mod. nForce SATARAID drivers v11.1.0.33 (32/64bit)
  • new: mod. nForce SATA_IDE drivers v11.1.0.33 (32/64bit)
  • new: "MCP65-79 Actual Driverpacks" v7.3 (32/64bit)
  • enhanced compatibility: mod. nForce LEGACY drivers v6.99 (32/64bit)
  • updated: "NF4-7 Performance Packs" v5.9 (32/64bit)
  • updated: "LEGACY Remix Packs" v5.8 (32/64bit)

Any feedback is much appreciated.

Have fun!
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1815
geophyte1

geophyte1
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 24-February 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Fernando,

Thank you for your hard work on the integration of raid and AHCI on the xp pro x64 operating system.
In January I used your guide with nlite and it worked like a charm
I used parts I had bought about two years ago. The mother board was an Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe.
Finding your guide made all the difference.

Geophyte1

#1816
rexrohunter

rexrohunter
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 26-February 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I have some problems at instalation on a acer aspire 5520g. When i try to install i can`t see the hard disk. I`m preatty sure that win 7 has sata drivers incorporated for my nvidia nforce chipset. When I browse for drivers I can see the hard disk, i tried to install them from a external hdd and from a cd. Not working. Maybe someone come with a ideea. I tryed to install win xp also and it works ... Maybe someome can give me another sata drivers. I tried with drivers from acer website

Edited by rexrohunter, 26 February 2010 - 10:51 AM.


#1817
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ rexrohunter:
Welcome at MSFN Forums!
The topic of this thread is the integration of NVIDIA's nForce RAID and AHCI drivers into a Windows XP CD.

I tryed to install win xp also and it works

So where is your problem?

Maybe someome can give me another sata drivers. I tried with drivers from acer website

You will find other nForce SATA drivers within the first post of this thread, but they are only usable with Windows XP and Windows Server 2003.
If you want to get Windows 7 installed onto your nForce 630a (MCP67) chipset Acer notebook, you should search for appropriate Win7 nForce drivers at Acer's or NVIDIA's download pages.

Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1818
mkeptau

mkeptau
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 08-March 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Fernando,
I install successfully XP SP3 on asus K40IN (chipset's NVIDIA MCP75L) with compatibility mode in BIOS (using nLite to intergrate driver)
and then, I try to change compatibility mode to enhance mode but unsuccessfull.
please tell me how to change to enhance mode or install XP in enhance mode?!

thank you.

sorry for my english.
detail for asus K40in: http://www.asus.com/...B4TfUFszKKyzdR1

#1819
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ mkeptau:
Welcome at MSFN Forums!

I install successfully XP SP3 on asus K40IN (chipset's NVIDIA MCP75L) with compatibility mode in BIOS (using nLite to intergrate driver)
and then, I try to change compatibility mode to enhance mode but unsuccessfull.
please tell me how to change to enhance mode or install XP in enhance mode?!

Since I am not sure, what ASUS means with "Compatibilty" (=IDE?) and "Enhanced" (=AHCI?) SATA Mode, it is difficult to help you.
Maybe you will get some useful informations by reading >this< thread.
If not, here are some questions:
1. Which nForce IDE driver version and folder did you integrate, when you prepared the recently used nLited XP CD?
2. Which Controller names are listed within the "IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers" section of your Device Manager while running XP?

Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1820
mkeptau

mkeptau
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 08-March 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
you're right.... I integrated wrong driver version :w00t:
i made other CD with other driver. it's work.
Thank you very much :thumbup

#1821
Jaxx

Jaxx
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 13-February 10
Hey guys,

have the following problem.
Tried installign Windows but it wouldn't find my Raid 1 setup. Then I used Fernandos SATARAID 1110333 Mod 32 Bit driver and got Windows installed. It's been running fine now for 2 weeks. One morning I saw that Windows had rebooted but didn't know what happened. A day later I realized, that I suddenly had two hard drives in "My Computer" instead of the one RAID 1 array. During the day I did not notice the change I kept using the PC and due to that the two hard drives have slightly differnt data on them now. In the Windows Event Viewer I saw that it logged the following things:

Event ID 259: The signature for Raid Array \Device\00000068 - NVIDIA MIRROR 1.81T was updated after a degrade.

Event ID 262: Raid Array \Device\00000068 - NVIDIA MIRROR 1.81T was marked as degraded. A Raid Disk from the Array was not enumerated correctly.

I went to the NVIDIA Control Panel and it showed that the array was degraded. It had the option of repairng or rebuilding (can't remember the exact term). Decided to make a Backup Image before proceeding. In the process of installing the backup software I had to reboot the PC. I noticed in the RAID Boot Manager which get shown during the boot process, that both drives were flashing red and were labeled degraded. Back in Windows the Array is now not shown anymore in NVIDIA Control Panel!? How can I join the 2 drives back together to one MIRROR Array without the array being recognized by NVIDIAs Control Panel?? I have no clue. Could the driver be the reason? Please help me with this. Thanks

Jaxx

Edited by Jaxx, 12 March 2010 - 10:26 AM.


#1822
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I noticed in the RAID Boot Manager which get shown during the boot process, that both drives were flashing red and were labeled degraded. Back in Windows the Array is now not shown anymore in NVIDIA Control Panel!? How can I join the 2 drives back together to one MIRROR Array without the array being recognized by NVIDIAs Control Panel??

If you are not able to repair the RAID array from within the NVIDIA Control Panel, you have to do it from within the MediaShield Utility (RAID ROM Utility) by hitting the required keys while booting.

I have no clue. Could the driver be the reason?

I don't think, that the integrated nForce RAID driver v.11.1.0.33 caused the degradation of the RAID.
Nevertheless you may give me the details regarding your nForce chipset and the OS you are running.
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1823
Jaxx

Jaxx
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 13-February 10
Attached are a couple of screenshots I took. I'm not 100% sure what I need to do. If I go to one of the 2 shown in the overview and select "Rebuild", I get the message shown in green. Does that mean I need to select one of them and delete it? What do I need to do after that?

Attached Files



#1824
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Attached are a couple of screenshots I took. I'm not 100% sure what I need to do. If I go to one of the 2 shown in the overview and select "Rebuild", I get the message shown in green. Does that mean I need to select one of them and delete it? What do I need to do after that?

Since I never have seen a degradation of both mirrored hdd's of a RAID1 array, I am not able to help you in this case.
If you have been able to get an image of your RAID data, you may create the array again from scratch, but if not, I do not know what to do first.
According to my knowledge you will not loose the data - contrary to the RAID0 - by breaking the RAID1 array. So you should be able to create a new RAID1 array anyway.

Good luck!
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1825
Treeant34

Treeant34
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 24-March 10
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Howdy Fernando:

I was recently bequeathed a Chaintech VNF4 MOBO (not the Ultra)...

I attempted to use two five-year old 40 Gb Samsung Spinpoint SATA I HDD's to create a bootable RAID 0 array for the OS (WIN 2K Pro SP4)...

Prior to using the HDD's, I ran the Samsung ES Tool on them to make sure there were no errors (they were OK) and then wiped them with DBAN...

I found the latest NVIDIA drivers (v 6.86 for this OS) and a somewhat helpful guide on their site (Configuring bootable NVIDIA RAID array for a Windows XP 32-bit/Windows XP 64-bit Edition installation)...

I figured the difference between XP and 2000 SP4 would be negligible in terms of setting up the RAID array...

I enabled the RAID in the BIOS, rebooted and went into the RAID config screen (F10), configured the two drives as a striped array, set them as bootable and rebooted...

I had previously copied the SATARAID files onto a floppy for the F6 install...

I hit F6 when the OS asked for the RAID drivers, and left the floppy in until the OS had completely loaded and took everything out when the OS loader said to remove the disc(s)...

The OS recognized the RAID 0 array (because I had a single 74 Gb drive as the primary partition to format with NTFS)...

The whole process went without a hitch but on the first reboot, I got a BSOD (something about an inaccesible boot partition) before Windows loaded...

I rebooted and went into the BIOS to see if the RAID array was set as the Boot disc and it was...

I rebooted and got the same BSOD...

I wiped the discs and reloaded from scratch but got the same deal again...

I accidentally came across your XP thread and I had no idea that this NVIDIA RAID driver thing was a global issue...

I'm wondering if the slipstreaming method will work with Win 2000 Pro SP4?

Your thoughts on this would be appreciated...

Tree




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users