Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Integration of NVIDIA's nForce RAID and AHCI drivers

* * * * * 4 votes

  • Please log in to reply
1989 replies to this topic

#1976
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I wanted to try your driver packs...I saw you have support for 64bit too...Won't that work?

It will work, if you just integrate the one and only correct textmode driver for an individual hardware configuration, but it may not work, if you integrate a mixture of several textmode drivers and enable a big variety of different AHCI and RAID Controllers from different vendors.
Nevertheless you may try it. Here you can find links to some common 64bit textmode drivers for Windows XP x64:EDIT:
If you want to integrate AHCI/RAID drivers for JMicron or Marvell Controllers into a Windows XP x64 CD, you can find approproate driver links within the start post of >this< German language thread (you will find the driver links without any problem).

Why is the install failure risk so high?

Because the intensive hardware detection and selection of the appropriate driver takes place within the second (GUIMODE) part of the OS installation, whereas the hdd/SSD detection has to be done within the first (=TEXTMODE) part of the OS installation. You can integrate so many different PnP drivers you want - the OS Setup will only accept the correct ones, but if you integrate a wrong textmode driver or enable a wrong AHCI/RAID Controller during the integration procedure, you may get a BSOD.
Furthermore the textmode drivers may be overwritten during the integration procedure, if you integrate more than 1 driver with the same name (e.g. iaStor.sys).

Regarding Windows XP x64 you may try nLite, but it will be hard to find the suitable drivers for the big variety of Ethernet Controllers.

So that means I may as well as abandon it?

No, you can integrate as many 64bit Ethernet drivers as you want or find. There is no risk of an OS installation failure, because the LAN drivers are PnP ones and will be sorted out within the GUIMODE part of the OS installation.

Regards
Fernando

Edited by Fernando 1, 04 March 2012 - 01:04 PM.

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1977
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ all visitors of this thread:

Today I have slightly updated the start post of this thread.

Here is the Changelog:
  • updated: modded 32/64bit "Actual nForce Driverpacks for XP" (now v9.0)
  • updated: modded 32/64bit "Non-AHCI nForce Performance Packs for XP" (now v9.0)
  • updated: modded 32/64bit "Special MCP65-67 nForce Driverpacks for XP" (actual: v9.0)
  • updated: modded 32/64bit "nForce LEGACY Remix Packs" (now v9.0)
  • changed: all download links (now all files are hosted on a quick ftp server)
Any feedback is recommended.

Regards
Fernando

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1978
supercalm

supercalm
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 26-December 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello everyone,

I have an old pc and i got a SSD sandisk 128g the read/write speeds is not that good well better then HDD but still low.
My Motherboard is Asus M2N68-AM PLUS, I heard something about ACHI, TRIMS, etc, Well in Bios i can not find AHCI i have 3 options on IDE Configuration and that is
1)IDE Controllers
2)Serial -ATA Divices
3) nVidia Raid Function
I am runing Windows 7 x64
Can you please help me and tell me what can i do? Thank you
 


Edited by supercalm, 26 December 2013 - 10:37 AM.


#1979
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

@ supercalm:

Welcome at MSFN Forum!

As you already have realized, an nForce chipset mainboard is not the best basis to get the best possible performance of an SSD.

This is what I recommend to do:

1. Enter the BIOS and set the nForce Controller to "IDE" mode.

2. Don't install any NVIDIA nForce SATA driver and let Win7 x64 use the generic MS IDE driver named PCIIDE.SYS.

This is the only way to get TRIM support, which will enhance the lifespan of your SSD and will prevent a sudden performance breakdown.

 

Regards

Fernando 


My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1980
supercalm

supercalm
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 26-December 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks alot for the welcome man! Thanks for your reply aswell!!
WHen i got the ssd i was like OMG everything was better faster games was runing like i had good cpu but now after 3months i had to format my system  and i lost write speed
now i am doing test and my write is at 50max after that i started searching whats going on, and now i am reading your phrase and will prevent a sudden performance breakdown.
So can this happened? Thanks again!

PS: I had always IDE enabled on bios, now i made all nvdia controllers to Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE controllers, i got 3 of them and 3 ata channel 0 and 3 ata channel 1

 

PS1: One more question you may know, My cpu is AMD Phenom™ 9550 Quad-core Processor 2.21GHz, for the moment i can not effort to change mobo and cpu so i was thinking
if i can get a mobo with AHCI who can suport my processor and later on i can get a better cpu aswell, because now i am runing with ddr2 no ahci and no sata 3, what do you think? is it posible?


Edited by supercalm, 28 December 2013 - 02:19 AM.


#1981
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

@ supercalm:

 

If I were you I would wait until I have enough money to buy a cheap mainboard with an Intel 7-Series chipset and a suitable Intel CPU.


My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1982
supercalm

supercalm
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 26-December 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

OK I will follow your advice,
One more thing, to make it clear, my read speed atm is 250/s almost same when i got the SSD but the write speed is where i have problem, because my write speed was 150-180/s and now its 50/s max, even my HDD has write 50/s
so i dont know if you get my point but something is wrong with the write speed, i didnt had ahci before nothing was the same pc same memory same vga, I had to make format my SSD and put new windows up and from that time everything get worst..

 

PS: thank you for your patience man.


Edited by supercalm, 28 December 2013 - 05:57 AM.


#1983
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

One more thing, to make it clear, my read speed atm is 250/s almost same when i got the SSD but the write speed is where i have problem, because my write speed was 150-180/s and now its 50/s max, even my HDD has write 50/s
so i dont know if you get my point but something is wrong with the write speed, i didnt had ahci before nothing was the same pc same memory same vga, I had to make format my SSD and put new windows up and from that time everything get worst..

Maybe you have forgotten to enable the Write Caching option for your SSD from within the Device Manager.

This is how you do it:

  • Run the Device Manager.
  • Open the section "Disk Drives" and search for your SSD.
  • Do a right click onto the listed SSD and hit "Properties" > "Policies".
  • Enable the "Write Caching" option. If you want the best possible write performance, enable the other option as well.

After the reboot you should get better Write benchmark results.

 

Here are some additional tips:

1. Your SSD should always be connected with the first of the available SATA ports (Port 0).

2. Don't try to run the Win7 Defrag Tool for your SSD (this procedure is not needed for SSDs and will shorten their life time).


Edited by Fernando 1, 28 December 2013 - 06:15 AM.

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1984
supercalm

supercalm
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 26-December 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I Did that between the time i post the previous post i enabled and the other option, i did a test and was 140/s now i am trying again and is 80/s still i think something is missing...

when you saying SATA ports on mobo? it is on SATA 1 and the cable is the HDD one. On properties: location 0 (Channel 0, Target 0, Lun 0)

 

ps does the raid function helps if will put my other HDD driver?

last test 166/s so i think i am fine now


Edited by supercalm, 28 December 2013 - 06:38 AM.


#1985
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

last test 166/s so i think i am fine now

Yes, it may take some time until TRIM resp. the Garbage Collection has cleaned the SSD and the Write Caching feature fully works.


My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1986
supercalm

supercalm
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 26-December 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks a lot Fernando for once more! You are great person! Much Respect! :thumbup



#1987
sabesto

sabesto

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 24-February 14
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

what driver pack i need for hp pavilion dv6000 laptop. have amd turion 64 x2 mobile technology TL-50. I cant install win xp iwe tryed anything. So much i understand i dont have ATA enable otpion in BIOS settings and i need put drivers to OS with nlite. Please help me...



#1988
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

@ sabesto:

 

If you should be able to boot into Vista or any other Windows OS, please check the HardwareIDs of the in use SATA Controller:

Open the "IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers" section of the Device Manager, do a right click onto the listed SATA Controllers and choose the options "Properties" > "Details" > "Property" > "HardwareIDs".


My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1989
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,823 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

@fernando

JFYI, some "previous art" is here:

http://www.msfn.org/...in-7-to-win-xp/

 

jaclaz



#1990
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

@fernando

JFYI, some "previous art" is here:

http://www.msfn.org/...in-7-to-win-xp/

Thanks for the info!


My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users