Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Drivers from CD: Simple Method

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
221 replies to this topic

#76
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Joined 19-August 04

If i use this method for installing drivers, whenever i install some new hardware on my computer, i will need my unattended dvd?

you shouldn't...

I've installed printers and mice after installation, and never was asked for the u-DVD.

i havent tried a HDD, but i imagine it would be the same.
if someone knows otherwise, let me know.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#77
Sonic

Sonic

    Sonic

  • Patrons
  • 1,603 posts
  • Joined 04-December 03
Just to fix my supposition, WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe is just present to skip the non-signed drivers, ok ? if I have all whql drivers, it's not necessary ?

#78
idle.newbie

idle.newbie

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 93 posts
  • Joined 01-August 04
@sonic:
you don't need WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe for WHQL drivers.

@hp38quser:
i love sysinternals & nircmd :blushing:
seems PsSuspend fix the driver extraction before T-34 limitation, got my perfect method. :D
you should keep WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe(for non WHQL) until driver scan finished, T-13 will be a good place to PsKill it. @T-39 REG ADD HKLM\....\RunOnceEx to PsKill or CMDLINES.TXT. and turn back Pyron's postinstall. or do that @WINNT.SIF [GuiRunOnce], if my broken memory still ok it's about T-9?

anyone knows if SetupCopyOEMInf.exe accepts more than one paths?
Detached.cmd for DriverOnCD or Driver7z2HD:
@ECHO OFF
.\PsSuspend.exe setup.exe
.\WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe
IF EXIST Drivers.7z DO (
::REM extracting drivers archiver to hd, optional
  .\7za.exe x -y -aoa -o"%SystemDrive%\Drivers" ".\Drivers.7z"
  .\SetupCopyOEMInf.exe "%SystemDrive%\Drivers"
) ELSE (
  .\SetupCopyOEMInf.exe Drivers
)
.\PsSuspend.exe -r setup.exe
::REM PsKill WatchDriverSigningPolicy
REG ADD "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx" /V "zzzPsKillWatchDriverSigningPolicy" /D "%CD%\PsKill.exe -t WatchDriverSign"
::REM PostInstall
REG ADD "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx" /V "zzzzPostInstall" /D "regedit /s %CD%\postInstall.reg"
EXIT
WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe, SetupCopyOEMInf.exe, PsSuspend.exe, PsKill.exe, postInstall.reg(Pyron's DevicePath/DriverSigning regTweak), 7za.exe(optional), Drivers.7z(optional) in $OEM$ directory.
those psKill and postInstall stuff can put in #1 HKLM\...\RunOnceEx(maybe RunOnce, can't sure), #2 CMDLINES.TXT, #3 WINNT.SIF [GuiRunOnce].

edit:
process name for psKill to kill seems only 15 chars in length at w2k box, psKill "WatchDriverSign".

Edited by idle.newbie, 04 November 2005 - 08:33 PM.


#79
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,767 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

free sysinternals' PsSuspend included inside PsTools? http://www.sysintern.../PsSuspend.html


Arguments="/Q /C FOR /F %I IN (%SystemRoot%\SYSTEM32\$WINNT$.INF) DO (FOR %J IN (%I$OEM$) DO (IF EXIST %J (start /min /D%J Autoit3.exe Drivers.au3)))"

using DetachedProgram to scan dospath should consider a hack, tho it works currently, it may not perm.

i love Pryon's SetupCopyOEMInf.exe :D

maybe i should modify my Detached.cmd with PsTools into:
@ECHO OFF
.\PsSuspend.exe setup.exe
.\WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe
::rem extracting drivers archiver to hd, optional
::rem .\7za.exe x -y -o"%SystemDrive%\Drivers" ".\Drivers.7z"
.\SetupCopyOEMInf.exe Drivers
.\PsSuspend.exe -r setup.exe
save another 118,272(AutoIt3.exe) - 31,232(upx -9 PsSuspend.exe) = 87,040 bytes :D


WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe should PsKill after T-13?

if SetupCopyOEMInf.exe accepts more paths, then i'll change to SetupCopyOEMInf.exe Drivers "%SystemDrive%\Drivers", fits on both [drivers on cd] and [drivers extract to hd].


Just rebuilt my image & ran with around a dozen pnp drivers all recognized & all worked superbly, used the psSuspend & found it to be very smooth.

Cheers Guys

Regards

MC

#80
Nucleus

Nucleus

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Joined 15-February 05
I want to put the contents of DriversAutoIt.zip in the same folder as the drivers. ($OEM$\Drivers) What path must i change?

#81
koeppr

koeppr
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 05-November 05
Hi There,

This is a great find for me. I am trying to get a AMD A64 up and running and keep getting set-up aborts for driver errors. I know I need the Via Chipset drivers as well as CDROM and EDI HD drivers. None of these are on floppy because the files are too large. I was going to post a question to see if anyone has or would write a program to do just this.

Will it work to preload WXP X64 drivers prior to set-up ?

Also since I loaded SP3 I can't get pop -ups. I can't download your fine program from here.. It there another place I can download it from ?

There are so many hobbiests suffering from not having drivers in their Systems at set-up. NewEgg posts are full of them. I think I will write to NewEgg and tell them about this post. It will help many who have spent a lot of $$ to get into the 64 bit arena.

Ron

#82
g8way2

g8way2

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 04-November 05
Thanks a lot for this method, I have just started to build my own unattended install dvd and the automatic driver installation was drving me crazy. This method looks nice and easy = me likes. Just one question:

In the Unatteded Guide, the drivers are placed in the $OEM$/$1/Drivers folder. I followed the instructions and made some subfolders, one for each set of drivers, ie 000_chipset, 001_graphics, etc.

The question is: Can I have subfolders inside the specific driver folders, ie /Drivers/001_graphics/SomeFolder1 and /Drivers/001_graphics/SomeFolder2 and will the AutoIT method scan the subfolders for drivers, or must i use inf files put directly in the /Drivers/001_graphics folder ?

cheers in advance

#83
cyberloner

cyberloner

    CyberMania.ws

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 19-July 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
we all put in $oem$\Drivers i think and no more $1 ..
u put in $1 will copy it to $systemdrive$\drivers...

u can use sub folders and it will scan it too....

i just dun like the popup cmd screen at the installation but it works like charm..

Thanks guys!
CyberMania
AMD FX 8350 Vishera | Scythe Ninja 2 | ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 | Micron VALUE DDR3 2X 4GB 1333MHZ (OC 1866MHZ) | SAPPHIRE HD7770 | 27" Samsung P2770H | 2X WD 2TB Black | CM iGreen Power 600W | Klipsch ProMedia GMX A-2.1 | X-FI Titanium | CM ELITE 430

#84
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Joined 19-August 04
@g8way2:
No $1 folder. Follow the instructions in the first post of this thread. the unattended guide is for a different method. this is the autoit method.

@hp38guser:
I tried your autoit code in this post but setupcopyoem was paused for some reason...
i have modified the code and am retrying now. i'll post results in an hour or so, and then if it works, ill update the first post.

#85
cyberloner

cyberloner

    CyberMania.ws

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 19-July 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
yup ... when comes to installation..
it will copy a while... stop a while... copy a while.... and stop....a while...
but when finish... everything is install well...
CyberMania
AMD FX 8350 Vishera | Scythe Ninja 2 | ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 | Micron VALUE DDR3 2X 4GB 1333MHZ (OC 1866MHZ) | SAPPHIRE HD7770 | 27" Samsung P2770H | 2X WD 2TB Black | CM iGreen Power 600W | Klipsch ProMedia GMX A-2.1 | X-FI Titanium | CM ELITE 430

#86
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Joined 19-August 04

yup ... when comes to installation..
it will copy a while... stop a while... copy a while.... and stop....a while...
but when finish... everything is install well...


I'm not ready to take that sitting down.
This start/stop problem didn't exist before pssuspend.
I'm trying my modified code to see if that helps-

btw cyberloner, - which code did you use?

#87
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,767 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


yup ... when comes to installation..
it will copy a while... stop a while... copy a while.... and stop....a while...
but when finish... everything is install well...


I'm not ready to take that sitting down.
This start/stop problem didn't exist before pssuspend.
I'm trying my modified code to see if that helps-

btw cyberloner, - which code did you use?



Didn't notice that with my install at all? Strange?

#88
cyberloner

cyberloner

    CyberMania.ws

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 19-July 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


yup ... when comes to installation..
it will copy a while... stop a while... copy a while.... and stop....a while...
but when finish... everything is install well...


I'm not ready to take that sitting down.
This start/stop problem didn't exist before pssuspend.
I'm trying my modified code to see if that helps-

btw cyberloner, - which code did you use?


all files isin $OEM$

Run(@ScriptDir&"\SUSPEND.EXE setup")
Run(@ScriptDir&"\DIGISIGN.EXE")
RunWait(@ScriptDir&"\COPYINF.EXE "&@ScriptDir&"\Drivers")
ProcessClose("DIGISIGN.EXE")
Run(@ScriptDir&"\SUSPEND.EXE -r setup")


(IN WINNT.SIF)
[GuiUnattended]
DetachedProgram = ".\system32\cmd.exe"
Arguments="/Q /C FOR /F %I IN (%SystemRoot%\SYSTEM32\$WINNT$.INF) DO (FOR %J IN (%I$OEM$) DO (IF EXIST %J (start /min /D%J Autoit3.exe Drivers.au3)))"

maybe i'll try format again

Edited by cyberloner, 06 November 2005 - 01:43 PM.

CyberMania
AMD FX 8350 Vishera | Scythe Ninja 2 | ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 | Micron VALUE DDR3 2X 4GB 1333MHZ (OC 1866MHZ) | SAPPHIRE HD7770 | 27" Samsung P2770H | 2X WD 2TB Black | CM iGreen Power 600W | Klipsch ProMedia GMX A-2.1 | X-FI Titanium | CM ELITE 430

#89
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Joined 19-August 04
ok...
even with the modified au3 file i had the stalling.

i think i am going to change the method to a batch script.
again, i'll test it (good thing im off today) and i'll post results. gimme another 2 hours.

#90
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Joined 19-August 04
ok, im getting really p***ed off.

this is the sixth reinstall i've done today.

Doesn't make a difference if it's autoit or batch, my setup keeps freezing/stalling/pausing.
And it's always at the exact same spot (Dell Dimension\D850 V.9X-56K Data-Fax Modem\del200fk.inf).
The same drivers work fine with the old method (the one in the first post)...
It's got to be something with the pssuspend, because when i run the batch in windows it works perfectly (except pssuspend says it cannot find setup.exe).

I dont know why the batch and autoit files freeze me up though.

I'm running out of ideas...
I'm going to try to remove that driver from the cd and see what happens.

But if anyone else has any ideas as to why this is happenening, i'd love to hear them.

Edited by a06lp, 06 November 2005 - 03:41 PM.


#91
cyberloner

cyberloner

    CyberMania.ws

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 19-July 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
can u use batch while installing windows?
i tried to creat a batch file at $oem$
and creat a driver.cmd

and make a CMDLINES.TXT
[COMMANDS]
"Driver.CMD"

@echo off
pssuspend.exe setup.exe
start watchdriversigningpolicy.exe
setupcopyoeminf.exe Drivers
pskill.exe -t watchdriversigningpolicy.exe
pssuspend.exe -r setup.exe
exit



and remove the entries

(IN WINNT.SIF)
[GuiUnattended]
DetachedProgram = ".\system32\cmd.exe"
Arguments="/Q /C FOR /F %I IN (%SystemRoot%\SYSTEM32\$WINNT$.INF) DO (FOR %J IN (%I$OEM$) DO (IF EXIST %J (start /min /D%J Autoit3.exe Drivers.au3)))"

but it won't install any driver for me... just testing....
CyberMania
AMD FX 8350 Vishera | Scythe Ninja 2 | ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 | Micron VALUE DDR3 2X 4GB 1333MHZ (OC 1866MHZ) | SAPPHIRE HD7770 | 27" Samsung P2770H | 2X WD 2TB Black | CM iGreen Power 600W | Klipsch ProMedia GMX A-2.1 | X-FI Titanium | CM ELITE 430

#92
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Joined 19-August 04
i tried AGAIN, but it froze.

it had nothing to do with the driver itself (as i suspected).

I counted how many drivers were processed - 30 before the computer froze.

The only thing I can think of is that the Setup itself, if PAUSED for too long, will freeze the computer so that it will restart itself on next reboot.

I have no way of really testing this theory, but I can tell you that the exact same disc, with the only difference being the addidtion of the pssuspend is what caused the problem.

if im right, we shouldnt, and cant, pause the actual setup,. this brings me back to the original method - the one in the first post of this thread.

i need other people to test and comment on this. this is me, calling for help.


to those whose setup worked (using the pssuspend): how many drivers inf files were integrated/processed?
about how long did it take?

Edited by a06lp, 06 November 2005 - 06:18 PM.


#93
idle.newbie

idle.newbie

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 93 posts
  • Joined 01-August 04

can u use batch while installing windows?
i tried to creat a batch file at $oem$
and creat a driver.cmd

and make a CMDLINES.TXT


and remove the entries

(IN WINNT.SIF)

but it won't install any driver for me... just testing....

if you wanna try batch way, remove Drivers.cmd in CMDLINES.TXT, and keep the [GuiUnattended] part:

[GuiUnattended]DetachedProgram = ".\system32\cmd.exe"
Arguments="/Q /C FOR /F %I IN (%SystemRoot%\system32\$winnt$.inf) DO (FOR %J IN (%I$OEM$) DO (IF EXIST %J (START /MIN /D%J Drivers.cmd)))"



got no CDR now, but when i insert my old disc(using DetachedProgram with batch @T-39). i've done following tests:
when setup.exe starts, press Shift-F10 to open command prompt, and enter "PsSuspend setup.exe" when DetachedProgram starts. the setup.exe totally frozen(even no repaint). i didn't put drivers on cd, compressed drivers instead, the 7z extracting console works fine as usual. the setup.exe stopped until "PsSuspend -r setup.exe"(30min at least, out for something).

tho i didn't execute any WatchDriverSigningPolicy/SetupCopyOEMInf, do that using OemPnPDriversPath(my driver lists' short), the issue using DetachedProgram to install pnp drivers is time exceeded T-34.
the setup.exe freeze, drivers extracting smoothly, nothing geek to me. it seems okay using PsSuspend in DetachedProgram with batch.
ps. full SP2 source image last year without nLited, no hotfixs, nothing patched.

Edited by idle.newbie, 06 November 2005 - 06:47 PM.


#94
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Joined 19-August 04

i've done following tests
...


This is the code I tested (although it can't be the problem, because I also tested the autoit scripts form page 8)
When run in Windows, it works perfectly...But when I run it during setup, my setup freezes.
CLS
@ECHO OFF
TITLE Drivers-from-CD Installation
color 1F

::  Pause Setup
	.\PsSuspend.exe setup.exe
::  Allow for Unsigned Drivers
	start .\WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe
::  Install Drivers
	IF EXIST Drivers.7z (
	  .\7za.exe x -y -aoa -o"%SystemDrive%\Drivers" ".\Drivers.7z"
	  .\SetupCopyOEMInf.exe "%SystemDrive%\Drivers"
	) ELSE (
	  .\SetupCopyOEMInf.exe Drivers
	)
::  Close WatchDriverSigningPolicy
	TASKKILL /F /IM WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe
::  Resume Setup
	.\PsSuspend.exe -r setup.exe

EXIT

(my driver lists' short)

I need someone to test a CD with about 50 drivers .inf files, so that I can see if this is the problem I'm having.

Edited by a06lp, 06 November 2005 - 06:49 PM.


#95
cyberloner

cyberloner

    CyberMania.ws

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 19-July 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks idle.newbie
will try again...
i still having the lag while copying inf.... =)
CyberMania
AMD FX 8350 Vishera | Scythe Ninja 2 | ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 | Micron VALUE DDR3 2X 4GB 1333MHZ (OC 1866MHZ) | SAPPHIRE HD7770 | 27" Samsung P2770H | 2X WD 2TB Black | CM iGreen Power 600W | Klipsch ProMedia GMX A-2.1 | X-FI Titanium | CM ELITE 430

#96
RogueSpear

RogueSpear

    OS: SimplyMEPIS

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,529 posts
  • Joined 18-September 04
I haven't been closely following this thread, and I've tried to read through and follow everything, but to be honest I don't have everything down that's going on here. Soooo, if this has been brought up, my sincerest apologies. With all of the recent use of pssuspend and pskill, I'm just wondering if using AutoIt's builtin function ProcessSetPriority has been explored here. On it's face, it seems like it would do what you want it to do.

#97
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • Joined 19-August 04

I'm just wondering if using AutoIt's builtin function ProcessSetPriority has been explored here. On it's face, it seems like it would do what you want it to do.

Yeah, it's been explored. It doesn't pause Setup, it slows it. Some people had so many drivers that setup continued without finishing copying the driver infs. hence all this pausing setup talk.

#98
RogueSpear

RogueSpear

    OS: SimplyMEPIS

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,529 posts
  • Joined 18-September 04
I was thinking more along the lines of setting setup.exe to idle and your AutoIt script to high. Perhaps a double whammy like that could force the issue.

#99
X-Savior

X-Savior

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Joined 23-February 05
Hey Everyone!!!!!!! :D

I'm Back!!!!! :thumbup How's it going Erik, Rogue, Bashrat!

Wow, Things have sure come a long way since we developed the KTD Method! I am still catching up on everything to date. How is it working? I assume we have finally merged KTD & Unlimited Methods? :yes:
EVGA 680I MB, Intel Core 2 Duo 6600 @ 3.5 Ghz, 2 x EVGA 7800 GTX (256 MB) PCI-E (SLI Configuration), Sound Blaster X-FI Music, 4 GB (4x 1024MB) OCZ PC-2 6400 Gold XTC Memory, 2 x Raptor 74 Gb RAID-0, 2 x Seagate 500 GB SATA (1TB RAID), Dell 24" Widescreen LCD Panel & Dell 22" Widescreen LCD Panel (Dual View), Pioneer DVD-RW, Zalman 9500-Cu CPU Cooler, Antec Sonata II Case.

#100
g8way2

g8way2

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 04-November 05
@ a06lp -->> thanks , hehe I did read the whole thread and still managed to overlook the install instructions

Ok, everything up and running and so far no probs. First testrun installed ok.

Next question, is it possible to combine this method with something that makes it possible to get the MassStorage drivers to install as well . Yes, I know AutoIt is only for PnP devices, but I want my MTV as well ;) Any hint greatly appreciated. Or would it be better/easier?? to go generic and go for BTS Driver Pack solution instead




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users