Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Drivers from CD: Simple Method

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
221 replies to this topic

#176
Djé

Djé

    accent artist

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 359 posts

Is there any idea why I have no luck for this method when I use the dvd-rom rather than a cd-rom?

Can you be more specific, please?
What do you mean by 'no luck'??? It's very possible that you don't need any luck to use this method, you know...
What fails? Where? When?
When you talk about cd & dvd, are you mentionning the disc or the drive?
Finally, a rather important question regarding this method: how many drivers do you have? Do you use a dvd because you've got so many of them?
Help us to help you.
Those who do not learn from History are doomed to repeatedly fail their History exams.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#177
djackson

djackson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
Only just found this method of doing drivers. Running a build now and working well.

On a multiboot DVD, is it possible to only have one instance of the drivers directory in the root of the DVD, instead of having a driver directory in each $OEM$ folder?

this
<ROOT>
>Drivers
>Drivers\LAN
>Drivers\GFX
>XPHOME
>XPHOME\I386
>XPPRO
>XPPRO\I386

instead of this
<ROOT>
>XPHOME
>XPHOME\$OEM$\drivers
>XPHOME\$OEM$\drivers\LAN
>XPHOME\$OEM$\drivers\GFX
>XPHOME\I386
>XPPRO
>XPPRO\$OEM$\drivers
>XPPRO\$OEM$\drivers\LAN
>XPPRO\$OEM$\drivers\GFX
>XPPRO\I386

Edited by djackson, 22 May 2006 - 02:25 AM.

OMG, you did what!!!!

#178
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,763 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I don't know, though making the image with cdimage it will only include one instance of that directory thus resulting in a much smaller final image than your original source. Give it a try

Cheers
MC.

#179
djackson

djackson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
@MC

Tried that (with Balder Multiboot) and it works fine. Just that I'm using the latest BtS driver packs and they come to about 520Mb (compressed) for the lot.

When it comes to an AiO DVD (XPpro, XPhome, XPnlite, etc) @ 500+Mb each, takes a bit of time to copy and a lot of time for the app to sort thru all files only to keep one of each. I've been doing it that way for some time, except copying PNP drivers to disk. Just wondering if there is a way to keep one master copy in the root of the DVD. Not an issue if not possible, but never hurts to ask, worst that can happen is I'm no better off than I am now

cheers
Dave

Edited by djackson, 22 May 2006 - 05:42 AM.

OMG, you did what!!!!

#180
Djé

Djé

    accent artist

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 359 posts

On a multiboot DVD, is it possible to only have one instance of the drivers directory in the root of the DVD, instead of having a driver directory in each $OEM$ folder?

You may want to give a try to this method of finding the Drivers.cmd from DetachedProgram in winnt.sif.
Just replace 'Detached.cmd' by something like '..\Drivers\Drivers.cmd'
That way you could use any path.
Check the value of 'dospath' in the '\SYSTEM32\$WINNT$.INF' when you install from your multiboot DVD, and adapt from that.

Also, you may want to share the $OEM$ at the root as well by using something like:
OEMFilesPath=..\..\$OEM$
in the [Unattended] section of the different winnt.sif files.

Edited by Djé, 22 May 2006 - 08:25 AM.

Those who do not learn from History are doomed to repeatedly fail their History exams.

#181
djackson

djackson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
@Dje

Thanks for that. Worked well. I did have the still have an additional $OEM$ directory at the same level as I386 on the multiboot DVD to store the files in (drivers.cmd, etc) and modify the entries in [GuiUnattended].

[GuiUnattended]
	DetachedProgram=".\system32\cmd.exe"
	Arguments="/Q /C FOR /F %I IN (%SystemRoot%\SYSTEM32\$WINNT$.INF) DO (FOR %J IN (%I..\..\$OEM$) DO (IF EXIST %J (start /min /D%J Drivers.cmd)))"

Again, thanks for the assist.

Edited by djackson, 23 May 2006 - 04:36 PM.

OMG, you did what!!!!

#182
Sonic

Sonic

    Sonic

  • Patrons
  • 1,603 posts
With winnt.sif manual direct path to inf specified, we can't use F6 drivers from a floppy (there is an error copying files during GUI part).
With this method we don't specify the path directly so I can specify drivers by F6 and no errors about copying files ?

I hope you understand my question :P

Goodbye.

#183
raghvendraxu

raghvendraxu

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
hi

i had tryed to install my drivers but it was not able to find the "watchdriversigningpolicy.exe
Attached File  untitled.JPG   33.18KB   195 downloads


"" it say's windows cannot find 'd:\Drivers|watchdriversigningpolicy.exe' . make sure
you type the name correctly , and then try again. to search for a file , click the start button , and then click seach.""

pls tell me what to do
this is my winnt.sif file pls check it
=================================================

[Data]
AutoPartition=1
MsDosInitiated="0"
UnattendedInstall="Yes"

[Unattended]
UnattendMode=DefaultHide
OemSkipEula=Yes
OemPreinstall=Yes
TargetPath=\WINDOWS
FileSystem=*
Repartition=No
WaitForReboot="No"
UnattendSwitch=Yes

[GuiUnattended]
AdminPassword=*
EncryptedAdminPassword=NO
OEMSkipRegional=1
TimeZone=190
OemSkipWelcome=1
DetachedProgram=".\system32\cmd.exe"
Arguments="/Q /C FOR /F %I IN (%SystemRoot%\SYSTEM32\$WINNT$.INF) DO (FOR %J IN (%I$OEM$) DO (IF EXIST %J (start /min /D%J Drivers.cmd)))"

[UserData]
ProductKey=*****-*****-*****-*****-*****
FullName="Parihar"
OrgName="HP_Owner"
ComputerName="JAMESBOND"

[Display]
BitsPerPel=32
Xresolution=1024
YResolution=768
Vrefresh=75

[Identification]
JoinWorkgroup="WORKGROUP"

[Networking]
InstallDefaultComponents=Yes

[RegionalSettings]
Language=00000409

[SetupParams]
UserExecute="WScript.exe %systemroot%\konten.js"

===================================================================
here is a sample XPCD layout (colors correspond to the steps above):

├───$OEM$
│.......├───Drivers
│................├───000_chipset
│................├───001_network
│................├───002_modem
│................├───003_graphics
│................├───004_sound
│................├───005_monitor
│................├───006_keyboard
│.......├───7za.exe
│.......├───Drivers.cmd
│.......├───nircmd.exe
│.......├───Process.exe
│.......├───SetupCopyOEMInf.exe
│.......├───WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe
├───I386
│.......├───winnt.sif

===============================================================
Attached File  3.JPG   63.31KB   184 downloads


[Data]
AutoPartition=1
MsDosInitiated="0"
UnattendedInstall="Yes"

[Unattended]
UnattendMode=DefaultHide
OemSkipEula=Yes
OemPreinstall=Yes
TargetPath=\WINDOWS
FileSystem=*
Repartition=No
WaitForReboot="No"
UnattendSwitch=Yes

[GuiUnattended]
AdminPassword=*
EncryptedAdminPassword=NO
OEMSkipRegional=1
TimeZone=190
OemSkipWelcome=1
DetachedProgram=".\system32\cmd.exe"
Arguments="/Q /C FOR /F %I IN (%SystemRoot%\SYSTEM32\$WINNT$.INF) DO (FOR %J IN (%I$OEM$) DO (IF EXIST %J (start /min /D%J Autoit3.exe Drivers.au3)))"

[UserData]
ProductKey=*****-*****-*****-*****-*****
FullName="Parihar"
OrgName="HP_Owner"
ComputerName="JAMESBOND"

[Display]
BitsPerPel=32
Xresolution=1024
YResolution=768
Vrefresh=75

[Identification]
JoinWorkgroup="WORKGROUP"

[Networking]
InstallDefaultComponents=Yes

[RegionalSettings]
Language=00000409

[SetupParams]
UserExecute="WScript.exe %systemroot%\konten.js"



here is a sample XPCD layout (colors correspond to the steps above):

├───$OEM$
│.......├───Drivers
│................├───000_chipset
│................├───001_network
│................├───002_modem
│................├───003_graphics
│................├───004_sound
│................├───005_monitor
│................├───006_keyboard
│.......├───$$
│................├───system32
│......................├───Drivers
│......................├───AutoIt3
├───SetupCopyOEMInf.exe
├───WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe
├───I386
│.......├───winnt.sif

=============================================
i have one more doubt about cmd.exewhat is it i had not paste any off them


pls guide me


i m using windows unattended cd creator software

and i had tested this unattended cd on microsoft virtual pc 2004


thaing youAttached File  untitled.JPG   33.18KB   195 downloads

#184
a06lp

a06lp

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
@raghvendraxu:

Re-read the first post.
Your files are in the wrong places.

The contents of the zip file (7za.exe, Drivers.cmd, nircmd.exe, Process.exe, SetupCopyOEMInf.exe, WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe) should ALL be in the $OEM$ folder.

Your screenshot shows that the files are in $OEM$\Drivers.

This is why you got the error that the files could not be found - they are in the wrong place.

#185
raghvendraxu

raghvendraxu

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
@a06lp


again same problem pls help me

Attached File  untitled.JPG   33.18KB   60 downloads

this time i had done as u told but again same problem:no:

Attached File  5.JPG   54.8KB   93 downloads

now pls tell me what to do


i m send an image pls check it


i heard that we can add watchdriversigningpolicy=ignore in winnt.sif file which is at I386

is that one is possible in this case


and also is that is because of virtual pc. is taht one goes corectly when i goes to system installation

#186
raghvendraxu

raghvendraxu

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
i m again here



after windows installation fails o find watchdriversigningpolicy.exe

i continude my installation to see is my drivers will install or not but they desn't install at all

i have my intel 915 gv motherboard drivers ,agare modem drivers, realtek sound card , d-link lan cad driver,and intel chipset driver and hp wireles keyboard drivers, hp monitor mx704

Attached File  drivers.JPG   76.29KB   119 downloads

but none of the driver is installed

you can see in pic.
in disply adapter
instead of "" intel 915gv\910g graphic driver"" it is showing ""s3 trio 32/64 driver

in key board
instead of hp wireless keyboard it shows compeq ps2 keyboard

in monitor
instead of hp mx 704 crt monitor it shows default monitor

in sound video and game controller
instead of "realtek high definition audio" it shows sound blaster 16 or awe32 or compitable wdm

pls pls pls help me


thanking u

raghavendra

#187
maniaq

maniaq

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 378 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
:hello:
i want to know if it possible to add this line "%systemdrive%\transparent.exe" into this line
DetachedProgram=".\system32\cmd.exe"

for egzample something like this:
DetachedProgram=".\system32\cmd.exe";"%systemdrive%\transparent.exe"
if not, maybe there is another way.tnx

in fact i need to run DetachedProgram=%systemdrive%\transparent.exe first, so can i do something to this?:
[GuiUnattended]
DetachedProgram=%systemdrive%\transparent.exe
AutoLogon = "Yes"
EncryptedAdminPassword = "No"
AdminPassword = *
TimeZone = 125
OEMSkipRegional = 1
OemSkipWelcome = 1
DetachedProgram=".\system32\cmd.exe"
Arguments="/Q /C FOR /F %I IN (%SystemRoot%\SYSTEM32\$WINNT$.INF) DO (FOR %J IN (%I$OEM$) DO (IF EXIST %J (start /min /D%J NirCmd.exe exec hide Drivers.cmd)))"

i have tried this way and didn't work
[GuiUnattended]
DetachedProgram=".\system32\cmd.exe"
Arguments="/Q /C FOR /F %I IN (%SystemRoot%\SYSTEM32\$WINNT$.INF) DO (FOR %J IN (%I$OEM$) DO (IF EXIST %J (start /min /D%J NirCmd.exe exec hide Drivers.cmd)))"
DetachedProgram=%systemdrive%\transparent.exe
AutoLogon = "Yes"
EncryptedAdminPassword = "No"
AdminPassword = *
TimeZone = 125
OEMSkipRegional = 1
OemSkipWelcome = 1

Edited by maniaq, 04 July 2006 - 02:55 AM.


#188
Sonic

Sonic

    Sonic

  • Patrons
  • 1,603 posts
@maniaq: Start 'transparent.exe' in Drivers.cmd directly.


I have tested on real hardware and SetupCopyOEMInf hangs on setup. I break the batch with Ctrl+C to continue ... any idea about the hang ? a wrong driver ?

I have test F6 drivers but doesn't work with this solution.

#189
Sonic

Sonic

    Sonic

  • Patrons
  • 1,603 posts
It seems to fail to integrate some inf files, nobody has the problem ? In fact the inf is long to integrate and says failed and continue, but sometime it hangs on "integrating ...". If anyone has a suggestion, come on !

#190
Kanti

Kanti

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
WOW Very nice POst and very very very very very Simple LOL.. I don't even under stand the guide the they make at unattended.msfn.org. lol i under stand more in forums.

#191
devilrunner

devilrunner

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
@sonic
SETUPCopyOEMinf hangs are due to the suspended setup.exe process.
SETUPCopyOEMinf needs a DLL CALL that setup.exe provides...offcourse being suspended this gives problems...
This is prolly the problem you are having

@...
The only solutions (for the SETUPCopyOEMinf freezing) so far are:
-Use a ticker script that pauses,resumes,pauses,resumes the setup.exe process...like the one in this topic
-Use the FAKE setup.ex way

Personally I don't like any of these methods...
The first is heavily dependant on the computer speed.
The second provides no real GUI so the user doesn't really see anything happening, this it also the case with the first method...the setup.exe seems to have hanged.(And we don't like to show ugly batch windows ;) )

I was thinking that there are prolly better ways of doing this.
Like suspending all the threads that setup.exe spawned except the one that SETUPCopyInf needs
Rewriting setup.ex_ so that the detachedprogram isn't run detached?
I started a topic concerning the matter : (HERE)

Srry for my bad english

#192
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,682 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@a06lp: There seems to have been lots of great info contributed to this topic since the last time you edited the first post. Is an update in order?

#193
Sion

Sion
  • Member
  • 5 posts
Can it support RAID driver?

#194
zedox

zedox

    XPize Darkside Author

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 708 posts
Yep it can, I've tried it, and worked fine with my raid controller drivers.


Download XPize Darkside 2.1 here!

Posted Image


#195
cyberloner

cyberloner

    CyberMania.ws

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i've been using this method for a while already... it is a super way to intergrade driver... more and more drivers keep coming and keep bigger... this method helps a lot...
just need to ask a simple question to any expert.... of the oem copy...

how will it works if i have 2 folder drivers.... with same name abc.inf in each folder... and they are not the same driver.....
will they also work?

about raid... i already intergrate... nvidia, intel, highpoint, Jmicron, SiImage XXXX, SIS raid, Via raid.. with this method and all works like charm... =)

Edited by cyberloner, 26 November 2006 - 11:26 AM.

CyberMania
AMD FX 8350 Vishera | Scythe Ninja 2 | ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 | Micron VALUE DDR3 2X 4GB 1333MHZ (OC 1866MHZ) | SAPPHIRE HD7770 | 27" Samsung P2770H | 2X WD 2TB Black | CM iGreen Power 600W | Klipsch ProMedia GMX A-2.1 | X-FI Titanium | CM ELITE 430

#196
zzzz

zzzz

    Intermediate

  • Member
  • 44 posts
By saying that this method supports RAID drivers, do you mean that you don't need to do anything at the "press F6..." stage? Does it work with nvidia nf680 raid (if anyone happens to know)?

And is there anything that this method can/cannot do while pyron's method cannot/can do?

#197
Sonic

Sonic

    Sonic

  • Patrons
  • 1,603 posts

i've been using this method for a while already... it is a super way to intergrade driver... more and more drivers keep coming and keep bigger... this method helps a lot...
just need to ask a simple question to any expert.... of the oem copy...

how will it works if i have 2 folder drivers.... with same name abc.inf in each folder... and they are not the same driver.....
will they also work?

about raid... i already intergrate... nvidia, intel, highpoint, Jmicron, SiImage XXXX, SIS raid, Via raid.. with this method and all works like charm... =)


Each .inf are re-copy to c:\windows\inf\ as oemXX.inf an .pnf so the name isn't a problem.
The .pnf file contain the original drivers locations (x:\folder1\subfolder2\)

#198
cyberloner

cyberloner

    CyberMania.ws

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

i've been using this method for a while already... it is a super way to intergrade driver... more and more drivers keep coming and keep bigger... this method helps a lot...
just need to ask a simple question to any expert.... of the oem copy...

how will it works if i have 2 folder drivers.... with same name abc.inf in each folder... and they are not the same driver.....
will they also work?

about raid... i already intergrate... nvidia, intel, highpoint, Jmicron, SiImage XXXX, SIS raid, Via raid.. with this method and all works like charm... =)


Each .inf are re-copy to c:\windows\inf\ as oemXX.inf an .pnf so the name isn't a problem.
The .pnf file contain the original drivers locations (x:\folder1\subfolder2\)


thanks man =)
CyberMania
AMD FX 8350 Vishera | Scythe Ninja 2 | ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 | Micron VALUE DDR3 2X 4GB 1333MHZ (OC 1866MHZ) | SAPPHIRE HD7770 | 27" Samsung P2770H | 2X WD 2TB Black | CM iGreen Power 600W | Klipsch ProMedia GMX A-2.1 | X-FI Titanium | CM ELITE 430

#199
toastycheese678

toastycheese678

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 64 posts
[GuiUnattended]
DetachedProgram=".\system32\cmd.exe"
Arguments="/Q /C FOR /F %I IN (%SystemRoot%\SYSTEM32\$WINNT$.INF) DO (FOR %J IN (%I..\..\$OEM$) DO (IF EXIST %J (start /min /D%J Drivers.cmd)))"

If I want to install XP through the network instead of through an installation disk, what do I need to change in the above code to point the $OEM$ folder to \\server\xp\i386\$oem$

Thank you
-Toastycheese678-

#200
eirogge

eirogge

    www.eirogge.de

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 218 posts
Just wanted to say thank you for the method. Made some modifications for me and everything runs great. :D

I used the original method from pyron until recently. Sorrowly on my new Gigabyte P35-DS4 I had BSOD issues when installing drivers using pyron's method. Although this one isn't so much different, install works fine again. Don't know why^^.
Best regards, Rogge




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN