Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Decoding Microsoft keys

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#51
Stoic Joker

Stoic Joker

    I Hate Titles

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Joined 16-August 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@ Stoic Joker- which version of key decoder did you use?

The "Original" (LM only) version that was on page one of the thread that day (on XP). I'm running Vista x64 Business Edition here in my home office, and am getting the following error when trying to run Key Decoder:

Component 'comdlg32.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid.

Note: All my dialogs Common and otherwise are running fine ... so I'm guessing it's the proggie. ;)

(But Seriously...) I don't recall if it was the header file (.h), the library file (.lib) or both that have/require updated versions to resolve the error (in C++), but I've run into it before.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
orev

orev

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 31 posts
  • Joined 11-May 05
Here's the solution to the vista 64 bit issue. The registry is being virtualized, so you can't get at the key from your program, because it's a 32bit program. You need to tell RegOpenEx that you don't want the virtualization. I have now got it working in my program. You can find more information here:
http://msdn2.microso...y/aa384129.aspx

And do a search for registry virtualization to get the rest of the context.

#53
tenf00t

tenf00t
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 26-September 07
Ok, I will probably sound stupid for this but I can't figure out what to put in the "Active Directory Location to Search". I have an OU called Computers right under the DUMMY.LAN domain. I thought I would have to put LDAP://OU=Computers,DC=DUMMY,DC=LAN but I get and error saying Critical Error: -2147217865 Table doesn't exist. Can somenone enlighten me?

Thank you

#54
IcemanND

IcemanND

    MSFN Junkie

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,266 posts
  • Joined 24-September 03
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
It should be a matter of entering the proper LDAP path and having rights to the machines in the path. If you are using the command line switches you might try enclosing the path in quotes though it should not be required. If you are doing it from the settings menu it won't matter.

Are you running it from a machine which is a member of the domain? Not necessarily the desire OU but a domain member.

#55
tenf00t

tenf00t
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 26-September 07
You were right I had an error in my LDAP path.

Thank you

It should be a matter of entering the proper LDAP path and having rights to the machines in the path. If you are using the command line switches you might try enclosing the path in quotes though it should not be required. If you are doing it from the settings menu it won't matter.

Are you running it from a machine which is a member of the domain? Not necessarily the desire OU but a domain member.



#56
niknak

niknak

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 29-April 07
With regards to Office 2000,

Produkey only finds the Product ID not the install key.

Going further, when you update Office 2000 either with a patch or via Office update you always have to insert the Office 2000 CD. This suggests to me that the Product ID is being decoded back to a code present on the CD and maybe to another registry entry.
Hope this maybe useful.

This system is Win 2k with Office 2k Pro

#57
orev

orev

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 31 posts
  • Joined 11-May 05

With regards to Office 2000,

Produkey only finds the Product ID not the install key.

Going further, when you update Office 2000 either with a patch or via Office update you always have to insert the Office 2000 CD. This suggests to me that the Product ID is being decoded back to a code present on the CD and maybe to another registry entry.
Hope this maybe useful.

This system is Win 2k with Office 2k Pro


Office goes back to the CD because it has to get the original dll files and such when applying the patch. It doesn't check codes. There is nothing on the CD specific to your key code, because there's no way they could mass produce each CD with a different code on it.

#58
KRYOGENIUS

KRYOGENIUS

    Enhancer

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Joined 12-April 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello

Works too on Windows Home Server (Based on Windows 2003 Small Business Edition)

++

#59
tapper123us@yhaoo.com

tapper123us@yhaoo.com
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 15-January 08
WORKED WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS PULLING UP OFFICE 2007 PROFESSIONAL PLUS

#60
jcarle

jcarle

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,579 posts
  • Joined 14-August 04
Works with XP Pro and Office 2007.

It does NOT detect Visual Studio 2008 Team System.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#61
IcemanND

IcemanND

    MSFN Junkie

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,266 posts
  • Joined 24-September 03
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It does NOT detect Visual Studio 2008 Team System.


Get me a copy and I'll see if I can get it. :)

Really, see if you can find the DigitalProductID value for it in the regsitry and tell me the full registry path to it and I'll see why it is not being found. You can use the Enterprise v2.28 and select the Settings Menu, then slect the last option to 'Search the entire registry for product keys' and it will hopefully return the value and the registry location for it.

#62
jcarle

jcarle

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,579 posts
  • Joined 14-August 04
For Visual Studio 2008, there's a [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\VisualStudio\9.0\Registration] registry key with three values : PIDKEY, ProductID and UserName.

PIDKEY contains the actual product key without dashes.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#63
IcemanND

IcemanND

    MSFN Junkie

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,266 posts
  • Joined 24-September 03
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Did you install Visual Studio with a Transform file? Some previous version would put the PIDKEY in when a transform was use and the digitalproductid when manually installed.

#64
jcarle

jcarle

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,579 posts
  • Joined 14-August 04

Did you install Visual Studio with a Transform file? Some previous version would put the PIDKEY in when a transform was use and the digitalproductid when manually installed.

I believe so. The product key is embedded in my installation.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#65
NorseLaQuet

NorseLaQuet
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 30-January 08
Any update? I actually need my Visual Studio 2008 CD key right now, as I misplaced my old key and only have it installed on one computer that I need to format soon.

Thanks for all of your hard work

#66
IcemanND

IcemanND

    MSFN Junkie

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,266 posts
  • Joined 24-September 03
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@NorseLaQuet -
Did you try this? or check for the pidkey value jcarle found in the registry on his machine?

Really, see if you can find the DigitalProductID value for it in the registry and tell me the full registry path to it and I'll see why it is not being found. You can use the Enterprise v2.28 and select the Settings Menu, then slect the last option to 'Search the entire registry for product keys' and it will hopefully return the value and the registry location for it.



#67
NorseLaQuet

NorseLaQuet
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 30-January 08
Scratch that,
inside [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\VisualStudio\9.0\Registration]
there was PIDKEY which had my CD key in it. I assumed it was encoded somehow, but it was not! Thanks alot, jcarle for tracking that down!!

#68
Nerwin

Nerwin

    Photographer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Joined 31-May 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Oh Man, Doesn't work for me.... Gives me the following error (screenshot)


http://nerwin.net/pu...ages/rte339.png

Also, I am using Windows Vista Ultimate SP1

Thankies!

Desktop: Intel Core i5-3570K @ 3.8ghz || G. Skill Ripjaws 8GB DDR3 2133 || ASUS P8Z77-V LK || 128GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD || 640gb WD SATA HDD || Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO || Corsair TX650M || ASUS 24X SATA DVD Burner || Fractal Designs Arc Midi || Windows 7 64-bit 


#69
nayss

nayss
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 09-August 08

Got my hands on Visual Studio 2003 Student and Professional and tested. Added them and Office XP.

Also found issue with Project 2002 - working on update for tomorrow.

Still looking for someone to test 2000 server.

Thanks all for the assistance thus far.
If anyone has further suggestions, please let me know.



Hello,

unfortunately it doesn't work on my notebook, running Vista Home Premium 32bit, installed also Office 2007 Business Edition.
Following error occurs :

Component 'comdlg32.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered :
a file is missing or invalid

Does anyone knows, what does it means ?

Best Regards...

nayss

***EDIT on Oct. 25th 2009***

problem is solved. the data-media has been corrupted, so this file was unable to read.

thanx for answering at all.

best regards nayss

Edited by nayss, 25 October 2009 - 05:49 AM.

running Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SB x86

#70
IcemanND

IcemanND

    MSFN Junkie

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,266 posts
  • Joined 24-September 03
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You need a copy of comdlg32.ocx on your machine usually end sup on your system from some other software install. It's not a redistributable file so I can't include it with the executable but you can find it on the web for download, just put it in the same folder as the exe or in the system32 directory.

#71
Juspion

Juspion
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 15-May 09
First, thanks for the work.

I ended up in this forum after hours spent on searching how to find the product key for an Office 97 installation, for which no key related to any type of registration exists in my registry. Only Access 97 has been installed, and is working.

No software was able to find any info on this but Belarc Advisor, which gave me a Product ID only (all programs find my XP and Office 2K3 keys without problems).

I wasn't able to use keydecoder to get the key from this PID, it stays on "collecting information from..."

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance !

FG

#72
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,803 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
If I remember correctly, Office 97 DID NOT store the key in the Registry. (which would be a good reason why it cannot be found there ;)).

During the install/setup the actual .exe was edited and user/registration was embedded into it.

I am pretty sure that at least Excel worked like that, but of course my memory could be failing.(or maybe it was Office 4.3 that worked like that)

jaclaz

#73
Guest_wsxedcrfv_*

Guest_wsxedcrfv_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --
> I've written my own application to get and display the Windows and Office cd keys.

Um - where do I download this application from?

#74
IcemanND

IcemanND

    MSFN Junkie

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,266 posts
  • Joined 24-September 03
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
There a problem with the download links in the first post? They are working for me.

#75
Cokaric

Cokaric
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 29-January 11
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Is there any chance you can post your source code or at least explain how does the encryption/decryption algorithm goes?
I am the shadow on the moon at night
Filling your dreams to the brim with fright




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users