Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Force Install ATI Catalyst Drivers

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
27 replies to this topic

#1
Thauzar

Thauzar

    4th Star Learner

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 10-August 04
I have an ati graphic card preinstall with my Dell pc, and I'd like to update the drivers but I can't install the latest ati catalyst drivers because of some INF error. Looked on ati help site and it says it's on purpose on 3rd party installed ati cards and to use the one provided by Dell. But those are outdated since 2003!!!!

It also said to try and install default graphic adapter drivers but I cant do this in XP cause it automatically detects my card as an ati radeon and installs 2003 ati drivers.

So how could I force install the new ati catalyst drivers so it doesn't check if I have the correct ati hardware installed?

Thanks
5. Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. -- Tarun


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
nmX.Memnoch

nmX.Memnoch

    MSFN Master

  • Patrons
  • 2,084 posts
  • Joined 15-September 04
Require more information...

What model is your Dell PC? If it's a laptop then you may be out of luck but you can give the Catalyst Mobility drivers a try.

If it's not a laptop then what is the model of the ATI card?

#3
Thauzar

Thauzar

    4th Star Learner

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 10-August 04

Require more information...

What model is your Dell PC?  If it's a laptop then you may be out of luck but you can give the Catalyst Mobility drivers a try.

If it's not a laptop then what is the model of the ATI card?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


It is a laptop, inspiron 5150, but i'll give those mobility drivers a try...
5. Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. -- Tarun

#4
nmX.Memnoch

nmX.Memnoch

    MSFN Master

  • Patrons
  • 2,084 posts
  • Joined 15-September 04
It looks like they base their drivers links with a session timeout so you can't link them.... :}

Go to their main page. Select Windows XP from the "Drivers and Software" menu. Click on "Windows XP Drivers and Software" and then select "Notebooks with ATI Graphics" on the next page. And finally select "Catalyst Mobility 5.9 for Windows XP".

They don't list Dell in the support section but that doesn't necessarily mean it won't work.

#5
Thauzar

Thauzar

    4th Star Learner

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 10-August 04

It looks like they base their drivers links with a session timeout so you can't link them....  :}

Go to their main page.  Select Windows XP from the "Drivers and Software" menu.  Click on "Windows XP Drivers and Software" and then select "Notebooks with ATI Graphics" on the next page.  And finally select "Catalyst Mobility 5.9 for Windows XP".

They don't list Dell in the support section but that doesn't necessarily mean it won't work.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



Thanks, I tried it yesterday and unfortunately it didn't work for the same reason the other install didn't work either. So it kinda make me go back to my first question: how can we force install ati drivers so it doesnt check what hardware I have install?? At worst, how could someone install ati drivers on a system that does not even have an ati card? Cause I'm sure the normal catalyst drivers would work perfectly, they only added a "protection" so they would not have to support Dell users if there was any trouble with a new driver.
5. Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. -- Tarun

#6
Zxian

Zxian

    Scroll up - see the Google bar?

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,929 posts
  • Joined 30-September 04
Hehe....I have the answer!!!

http://www.driverheaven.net/

Go and grab the Driverheaven Mobility Mobber V2.2 and use that to patch the installer for the ATI Catalyst drivers.

You might need to find older Catalyst Drivers for your laptop. I've got the Catalyst 5.6 drivers on my laptop, since 5.7 and 5.8 don't work for me (no idea why). I haven't tried 5.9 yet either.

Hope this helps!

#7
Thauzar

Thauzar

    4th Star Learner

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 10-August 04

Hehe....I have the answer!!!

http://www.driverheaven.net/

Go and grab the Driverheaven Mobility Mobber V2.2 and use that to patch the installer for the ATI Catalyst drivers.

You might need to find older Catalyst Drivers for your laptop. I've got the Catalyst 5.6 drivers on my laptop, since 5.7 and 5.8 don't work for me (no idea why). I haven't tried 5.9 yet either.

Hope this helps!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



I'll try it out when I get home tonight!!! Thanks, I already have 5.6, .7 .8 and mobility drivers since I had to try all of them to see IF they worked. *fingers crossed*. I'll post back to tell the results
5. Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. -- Tarun

#8
oneless

oneless

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 382 posts
  • Joined 07-January 05
i have more luck with CATALYST Uninstaller
you can run it before install newer drivers .
it will delete the traces of ALL old ATI drivers in your system.

Edited by oneless, 27 September 2005 - 04:50 PM.

     oneLess

#9
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,265 posts
  • Joined 23-December 04
the mobility modder worked for me, and make sure that you use the ati driver for mobos with integrated graphics(IGP). or else you wont have much luck, its dloadable from ati's site.


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#10
Thauzar

Thauzar

    4th Star Learner

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 10-August 04
This thread will surely help other people too.

for my part, the modd program 1st proposed did it perfectly with the 5.9 catalyst drivers... Don't know if they were IGP or whatever I just took the biggest file in Windows XP for RADEON... not like it there was a 1000 choices either.

And I finaly played the FEAR demo and this game rocks!

Thanks a lot guys. Uninstalling old drivers wouldn't have done bad but what's done was done and it worked, but next time I'll go for the cleaner install
5. Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. -- Tarun

#11
Zxian

Zxian

    Scroll up - see the Google bar?

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,929 posts
  • Joined 30-September 04
Glad to hear that you got it sorted out.

Maybe I'll image my computer and see if I can get 5.9 to install... I doubt it though. 5.7 and 5.8 didn't work... :}

#12
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,265 posts
  • Joined 23-December 04

Glad to hear that you got it sorted out.

Maybe I'll image my computer and see if I can get 5.9 to install... I doubt it though. 5.7 and 5.8 didn't work... :}

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

if u have a laptop then get the IGP drivers with the mobility modder if needed


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#13
Zxian

Zxian

    Scroll up - see the Google bar?

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,929 posts
  • Joined 30-September 04
Thanks ripken204. I'll give that a shot...

I just realized that I told Thauzar to get the Driverheaven Mobility Mobber V2.2... don't we all just wanna steal from Driverheaven Mobility? ;)

#14
Zxian

Zxian

    Scroll up - see the Google bar?

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,929 posts
  • Joined 30-September 04
Well... I guess I'm stuck with 5.6... I tried the standard 5.9 and the IGP 5.9 (both modded... wouldn't install otherwise) and no go. I just end up with an unreadable display. :(

#15
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,265 posts
  • Joined 23-December 04
well what happened? did u start up the comp and get a bunch of errors? if so then you will have to mod the driver .inf file and put in ur hardware id.


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#16
Zxian

Zxian

    Scroll up - see the Google bar?

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,929 posts
  • Joined 30-September 04
I tried using the Modder... but when I start up the computer, I don't get anything on my screen except a vague grey line.

#17
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,265 posts
  • Joined 23-December 04
go into the device manager and find ur vid card, then go into its properties, and post the hardware id(HWID), then i wil send you the inf file for 4.9


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#18
Zxian

Zxian

    Scroll up - see the Google bar?

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,929 posts
  • Joined 30-September 04
You mean 5.9... right? ;)

And you want the number under the device Properties->Details->Hardware IDs, right?

PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4C66&SUBSYS_08600E11&REV_01
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4C66&SUBSYS_08600E11
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4C66&CC_030000
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4C66&CC_0300

That's what I gots...

Thanks in advance!

#19
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,265 posts
  • Joined 23-December 04
thats right, now what vid card u have?


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#20
Zxian

Zxian

    Scroll up - see the Google bar?

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,929 posts
  • Joined 30-September 04
Umm.... 32MB ATI Radeon 9000 Mobility... I think.

Compaq labels it as a 9200, but Lavalys and the Omega drivers list it as a 9000.

#21
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,265 posts
  • Joined 23-December 04
https://dlmdownloads..._gart_26409.exe

download this driver, extract the files, then put the attachment in
E:\ATI\SUPPORT\5-8-igp_xp-2k_dd_ccc_wdm_sb_gart_enu_25203\Driver\2KXP_INF\
or whatever the right path is but make sure u get the last few folders right, and overwright the file that is in that folder, then try to install it


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#22
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,265 posts
  • Joined 23-December 04
and if that doesnt work then just try to install it by going into the device manager and then find ur vid card, update driver, then choose the driver youself and open that inf file that u will dload.


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#23
Zxian

Zxian

    Scroll up - see the Google bar?

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,929 posts
  • Joined 30-September 04
I'm going to try with the standard ATI Catalyst drivers first. I've never been able to get the IGP drivers to install, even with a modded INF file from the DriverHeaven site.

EDIT - I think you forgot to attach the INF file... :P

Edited by Zxian, 03 October 2005 - 05:31 PM.


#24
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,265 posts
  • Joined 23-December 04
well i just figured out that it would allow me to attach it b/c the file size is too big but its only 177kbs...

http://frontiernet.n...ts/CX_25203.inf
u can dload it here

also if u cant get into windows after installing it , then just boot into safe mode and uninstall the driver

Edited by ripken204, 03 October 2005 - 05:40 PM.


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#25
Zxian

Zxian

    Scroll up - see the Google bar?

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,929 posts
  • Joined 30-September 04
I get an error:

Video Error
INF cannot be found

I tried putting it into the directory (didn't overwrite anything), as well as renaming it so that the filename matched that of the original.