Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

RISult - Integrating RIS + RyanVM/BTS packs

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
113 replies to this topic

#1
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05
Hi Everyone,

I have been having lots of fun recently with RIS, RyanVM update packs and BTS driver packs. The result is that I realised that creating an unattended and fully integrated RIS risetup build that will install on most systems requires many tweaks/steps.

Now, given I like a bit of a project (it feeds the geek in me! :D ) I've spent the past month creating a batch file that does the following:

1. Converts a vanilla risetup i386 file set to fully resemble a CD based file set
2. Edits BTS batch files for unattended use
3. Integrates RyanVM's update packs
4. Integrates BTS's driver packs
5. Edits BTS batch files for RIS install
6. Converts the file set to fully resemble a risetup file set
7. Removes uneeded files

I've, rather cheesily, called the file "RISult" - mainly because I can't think of anything better! :P

For anyone that uses RIS on a daily basis, or has tried integrating RyanVM's and/or BTS's packs for RIS manually, this will hopefully prove to be very useful.

I have tested this a fair bit but welcome observations and suggestions as I wish to update the file regularly.

I have compiled a "to do" and "known issue" list, and will update as I can.

To do:

- Rewrite RISult using VB

Known Issues:

- None

RISult can be downloaded via:

Link removed as now as way out of date. If you need this please PM me. Thanks.

Please note, the following information is contained within RISult.cmd and is reproduced below for reference. Please read before use!!!

Please BACK UP your system/RIS files BEFORE use!
Although this file has been successfully tested, please realise that you use it AT YOUR OWN RISK!

This file is FREEWARE and can be used by anyone for any purpose

Tested with Windows 2003 Server (Standard and Enterprise) SP1, Windows XP Professional SP2 and RIS
Only the BTS method 2, GUIRunOnce, KtD=No configuration has been tested (RISult executes these options by default)
Only paths/filenames with no spaces in them have been tested

This script assumes that:

All initial files come from official, vanilla Microsoft VLP media with latest service pack slipstreamed
Risetup.exe has been used to copy up a vanilla Windows XP Professional SP2 CD to your RIS server
The i386 folder from the above has been copied to a local directory
You have ROBOCOPY installed on your PC (i.e.Install Windows Server 2003 Resource Kit)
The USER CUSTOMISABLE SECTION of the batch file below has been edited to suit your system
When all is done you will edit or replace the i386\templates\*.sif file yourself
You will need to restart the binlsvc service after batch file completion

RISult - a batch file for creating RIS compatible integrations 

Last successfully tested with:

RyanVM Integrator		 Version: 1.2.2
RyanVM Update Pack		Version: 2.0.5
BTS Base Pack			 Version: 6.03.4

RISult would not work without the significant effort of others
Please see the CREDITS section within for full acknowledgements

Version 1.1.7 (24/03/06)

Written by:
Andrew M Woodman - AKA Fencer128 (http://www.msfn.org and RyanVM forums)

IMPORTANT! - Before continuing Please make sure you have:

ECHO 1. Read and understood the statements at the top of the batch file
ECHO 2. Edited the "USER CUSTOMISABLE SECTION" at the top of the batch file

Please can people test it and let me know how it goes.

Good luck! ;)

Andy

EDIT: RISult has been updated. See included changelog for full details:

Download from:

Link removed as now as way out of date. If you need this please PM me. Thanks.

Edited by Fencer128, 05 May 2009 - 03:49 PM.

RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
InTheWayBoy

InTheWayBoy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Joined 16-August 04
This is sweet! I was reading some of your posts on RyanVM's board about all this...I'll give it a spin tomorrow at work.

#3
Bâshrat the Sneaky

Bâshrat the Sneaky

    aka Wim Leers

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,214 posts
  • Joined 29-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
This is something that's on the to-do list, of course. But it's nice to see users are willing to do the effort to create their own solutions! :)

#4
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05
Hi everyone,

RISult has been updated to v1.0.2. Please see initial post for details. Changelog now also included in downloaded zip file.

Have fun :) ,

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

#5
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05
Hi Everyone,

RISult has been updated to v1.0.3. Please see initial post/included changelog for more details.

Cheers,

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

#6
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05
Hi Everyone,

RISult has been updated to v1.0.4. Please see initial post/included changelog for more details.

More importantly, *** INSTRUCTIONS *** now included! :)

Cheers,

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

#7
dgould393

dgould393

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 27-September 04
Tried RISult and other than fixing a problem in the .sif file where the quotes were in the wrong place (command10 = "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\TEMP\BTS_DPs_cleanup.cmd") everything seemed to work great. :thumbup

Followed the instructions and cast an image to a new machine. Then modified the new machine for the specific lab it was in (Desktop, start button and printer) and then ripreped a new image. No errors there.

Attempted to put the repreped new image on another machine and get the error "The BINL service cannot locate a flat image with a version that matches the version of the RIPREP image."

Any ideas?

:thumbup Forget ths post. I looked and found ntk* files that were updated in my RIPREP image that were not in my flat image. Copied them to the flat and it is loading now.

Edited by dgould393, 11 October 2005 - 10:52 AM.


#8
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05

Tried RISult and other than fixing a problem in the .sif file where the quotes were in the wrong place (command10 = "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\TEMP\BTS_DPs_cleanup.cmd") everything seemed to work great. :thumbup

Followed the instructions and cast an image to a new machine. Then modified the new machine for the specific lab it was in (Desktop, start button and printer) and then ripreped a new image. No errors there.

Attempted to put the repreped new image on another machine and get the error "The BINL service cannot locate a flat image with a version that matches the version of the RIPREP image."

Any ideas?

:thumbup Forget ths post. I looked and found ntk* files that were updated in my RIPREP image that were not in my flat image. Copied them to the flat and it is loading now.


Hi,

Glad to hear it works ok for you :) . I've corrected the sif file problem so if you redownload everything should be fine.

Thanks,

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

#9
dgould393

dgould393

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 27-September 04
I spoke (wrote :blushing: ) to soon. The Riprep image worked find on the machine I made it on but when I tried to put it on another machine (same purchase order) it reported that there was no hard drive. Also the orginal machine showed it needed 10 critical updates when I went to MS update. I did migrate both command 9 and command 10 to the sif file. Any ideas what I am doing wrong?

#10
RogueSpear

RogueSpear

    OS: SimplyMEPIS

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,529 posts
  • Joined 18-September 04
I've personally never had luck with RIPrep and after fighting with it for so long, just went ahead and made my normal RIS images so automated and tweaked that the end result is the same. Actually probably superior since it's clean install. I've never considered RIPrep installs to be "clean".

My first hunch is to say that there's a difference in the mass storage controller from one machine to another. With all of these new SATA controllers, RAID controllers coming out these days, I could imagine this happening.

#11
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05

I spoke (wrote :blushing: ) to soon. The Riprep image worked find on the machine I made it on but when I tried to put it on another machine (same purchase order) it reported that there was no hard drive. Also the orginal machine showed it needed 10 critical updates when I went to MS update. I did migrate both command 9 and command 10 to the sif file. Any ideas what I am doing wrong?


Hi,

I'm not sure what the issue is, but I wrote RISult to deal with risetup.exe file sets, as opposed to riprep images. There may be a problem with RISult, but I suspect if you've built a "master" PC using a RIS image created via RISult (and that works ok for you), and then used riprep on it to create an image - the problem lies with one or more of the following:

1. The changes made by riprep
2. Slightly differing hardware on different machines
3. The known issues in RyanVM and/or BTS base packs

Please let me know if you get any further forward with this.

Thanks,

Andy

Edited by Fencer128, 12 October 2005 - 06:16 AM.

RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

#12
dgould393

dgould393

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 27-September 04
The reason I use Riprep is to rebuild about 80 public machines bi-monthly. Each machine has two different user profiles (not counting the Administrator) and all of them are members of a domain. If I could find some way of putting those profiles into the orginal image I wouldn't need to use Riprep. Any ideas anyone?

Edited by dgould393, 23 October 2005 - 03:49 PM.


#13
RogueSpear

RogueSpear

    OS: SimplyMEPIS

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,529 posts
  • Joined 18-September 04
Going on a guess here.. you want to take two domain user accounts that are simply "users" in the domain and add them to either the Administrators or Power Users group on the local machine. If this is the case you could easily modify the user accounts script I have in my guide to do just that. If you're not too familiar with VBscript and need a hand, just let me know.

#14
raymondbreen

raymondbreen
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 04-March 05
Hi,

I have been using ris with ripref very succesfully since march/april, as it stands at the moment my company has rolled out over 200 machines with all of two images :)

As for the error "The BINL service cannot locate a flat image with a version that matches the version of the RIPREP image." . I have had this when you have created a ripimage from a full xp installation source that doesnt exist on your ris share as riprep requires a normal installation from ris to be carried out before you can riprep.

Great script, I will give it a go next time i need to update our driver pack images as its a pain in the butt to do it manually.

Thanks :)

#15
Standard_L

Standard_L
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 01-November 05
I am quite impressed with this tool, it will come in very handy and I thank you for your time and effort. I only have to correct two issues in order to get it to work for me. I may be doing something wrong or leaving something out that is required. I don't install BTS drivers, I leave the directory blank. Same with the Custom folder, I leave it empty as well. I am using RVM_Integrator_1.0.exe with RVMUpdatePack2.0.0.cab.


1. I have to change sp2.cab reference in txtsetup.sif of RIS_Install from sp2.cat to sp2.cab.

2. I have to run the following commands post-install inorder to get Windows Update to work. Error Code: 0x800A01AE:

regsvr32 wuapi.dll
regsvr32 wuaueng.dll
regsvr32 wuaueng1.dll
regsvr32 wucltui.dll
regsvr32 wups.dll
regsvr32 wups2.dll
regsvr32 wuweb.dll

Has there been any success using other tools, such as nLite, with your script?

#16
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05
@Standard_L

RISult has currently not been tested to work with RyanVM's 2.0.0 update pack (see banner screen). The reason for this is that I'm waiting on Bashrat releasing a new version of his Base pack that corrects an issue with High Definition Audio (it's not a big change so hopefully it won't be too long). As soon as this is ready I'll run it (and RyanVM packs) through RISult, make any tweaks that are required and then release a new version.

With regard to your issues, my script shouldn't do anyting funny to sp2.cab or txtsetup.sif. If this is something caused by RISult then I suspect it is related to the lack of RVM pack 2.0.0 testing.

However, I believe it is not a RISult issue and is most likely related to your source files. RISult expects a clean vanilla SP2 slipstreamed win xp pro source (i.e. no hacking, no nlite, etc). If you have altered your source at all I suggest trying the whole process again, but with untouched files.

With regard to nlite, I do not use it and have not built any particular functionality into RISult to support it. Nor have I tested with it. That's not to say it won't work though.

Good luck,

Andy

Edited by Fencer128, 02 November 2005 - 03:19 AM.

RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

#17
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,253 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
If you're in a domain, you can have a "default" profile of sorts - create the folder structure \\<dcserver>\netlogon\Default User\. If that folder structure exists in your domain, new users will use that profile when they log on to a new machine and create a new profile.

You could also use roaming profiles with this, in which case your problem would be solved that way as well.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#18
Standard_L

Standard_L
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 01-November 05
@Fencer128

Thank you for your fast reply! I took a look at RIS_Original txtsetup.sif and it contains "sp2.cab". The CD that I had used for RIS_Original was a flat SP2 slipstream. You are probably right though, I am breaking standard operating parameters. Once again, appreciate the work.

#19
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05
RISult v1.0.5 now available for download from usual link.

Changes include removal of some file operations made unecessary by changes to BTS packs. See enclosed changelog for details.

Should now work with RyanVM 2.0.0 update pack, Integrator 1.0.2 and BTS base pack 5.11.2.

Please post any problems to this thread.

Thanks,

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

#20
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05
RISult 1.0.6 now available.

See enclosed changelog for details.

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

#21
Resonate

Resonate

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 25 posts
  • Joined 11-January 05
Hey dude ive managed to get a pretty good looking file set using RISULT however I did get one file not found error near the end. It didnt seem to copy the 7za driver pack files? Can I confirm they should be in $OEM$\$1 in 7za format?

Where should they be in the pre structure? Mine were in Unattend\RIS\BTS root. Maybe that was where I went wrong?

Anyhow the presetup.cmd file looks amended good however now ive got a problem loading the image.

I get in textmode "The OS you selected does not contain the necessary driver for yoru network adapter"

I notice that in AutoRIS Rogue includes a s***load of updated drivers in the NIC_Drivers folder. How do I go about including these in the completed RISULT build?

Cheers

#22
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05
Hi,

The DriverPacks should be in *.7z format (not *.7za). You seem to have everything else correct.

To add text mode LAN drivers to your RIS image (which is what I assume you're wanting to do) just copy the required *.inf and *.sys files for each adapter to the i386 directory of your RIS image once RISult has run. Once you have done this restart the binlsvc service in your RIS server and you are good to go.

Cheers,

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

#23
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05
Hi,

RISult has been updated (v1.0.7 available).

Thanks to "lightsout" for finding that the b57xp32.sy_ file wasn't being correctly expanded.

Enjoy,

Andy
RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.

#24
Resonate

Resonate

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 25 posts
  • Joined 11-January 05
Hi ive today sucessfully and finally used your script.

My problem with the files was my .sif file

You need to make sure that OEMpreinstall=yes else it dosnt copy the files to the root.

Anyway some feedback and bugreports if i may.

1. When specifying a default .sif file the script goes ahead and deletes ristndrd.sif but does not make the[guirunonce] amendments to the custom sif file. This in turns causes the finish.cmd and cleanup.cmd not to be exexuted post install. Ive gotten around this by commenting out the default sif section and renaming my default .sif to ristndrd.sif. This way the entries are correctly made to my custom file.

2. I still seem to be getting a file not found error in the script around this stage

REM Move necessary BTS files to RIS suitable locations
MOVE /Y OEM\bin\7za.exe $OEM$\$$\System32 >> "%LOGALL%"
MOVE /Y OEM\bin\SetDevicePath.exe $OEM$\$1\D >> "%LOGALL%"
MOVE /Y OEM\bin\WatchDriverSigningPolicy.exe $OEM$\$1\D >> "%LOGALL%"
MOVE /Y OEM\*.7z $OEM$\$1 >> "%LOGALL%"

Im not able to pinpoint the exact location as the logfile (which ive attached) appears to stop loggin after the error has occured. The script does however finish. There are several entries below these lines that appear to require logging but do not appear on the log.

3. There seems to be a problem with your amended BTS cleanup and finish.cmd. (although ive not actually ran them in the context you have due to the problem stated in section 1) i have manually clicked them and seen some problems.

Finish.cmd runs fine and appears to want to copy the BTS_DPs_cleanup.cmd to %SYSTEMDRIVE%\TEMP
After running the file the only file I see is one called TEMP with no file extension on the root. Editing this file indeed reveals that it is infact the cleanup.cmd. After giving this file back its file extension ive found problems from within this file also.

the file reads

CMDOW @ /HID
DEL /F /Q %SYSTEMDRIVE%\*.7z
DEL /F /Q %WINDIR%\system32\setupold.exe
DEL /F /Q %WINDIR%\system32\7za.exe
%WINDIR%\system32\presetup.cmd
RD /S /Q %SystemDrive%\D


Now line 5 appears to want to run presetup.cmd. i cant see a reason for this to happen at all as that file executes at the beginning of the GUI section of setup. Should that read DEL %WINDIR%\system32\presetup.cmd ??????????

Furthermore none of the %SystemDrive%\D got deleted. When i ran that line from dos there were millions of errors stating the files were already in use. Saying that though the problem could have been due to the fact presetup.cmd tried to execute.

I would like to thankyou once again for all the hard work you have put into this project and look forward to your feedback.

Thanks

Res

#25
Fencer128

Fencer128

    Fluffy

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-January 05
Hi Resonate,

Thank you for your thorough reporting of your problems. You've found a couple of issues that I'll look into and fix tomorrow when I've got some free time. I'll also respond to each of your points in detail.

Expect a v1.0.8 real soon! :D

Cheers,

Andy

Edited by Fencer128, 13 February 2006 - 04:23 PM.

RISult a utility to integrate RyanVM Updates and/or BTS DriverPacks into your RIS image.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users