Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

HFSLIP, The 2K/XP/2K3 slipstreamer

* * * * * 3 votes

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
410 replies to this topic

#51
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Can you try testing without a multiboot cd? Are you sure you have your multiboot bootloaders and other modified files on your cd set up correctly? Have you tested a virgin source to verify it's an HFSLIP issue or perhaps you are doing something incorrectly?
Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
EmRoD

EmRoD

    Powered by PlugSquare.com

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 97 posts
thanks for the advice, but i just saw on the latest version MU is supported. :D

gonna try this right now :)

thanks :thumbup

#53
teotwawki

teotwawki
  • Member
  • 6 posts

Just tried with the 60220 version and got the same problem.
I think I'll try a run through with a plain W2K CD to make sure I'm doing everything right.
Will post back soon.


Yea, the plain W2K server CD I just HFSLIP-ed works fine so the problems I'm haveing with the 3-way Pro/Server/Advanced must be more to do with the multi-boot than HFSLIP or anything I'm doing.

I'm curious about the bit in HFSLIP when it asks for the path to the booting version. Is there a bit of detail on that published somewhere ?

Meanwhile I'll try to make a single-boot disc from the 3-way original, keeping it's paths.

#54
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Thanks for adding the changelog to the first post; quite handy.

Suggestion/Request: add the contents of HFAAO to ERROR_REPORT.txt.
- Sub-suggestion: add contents of FDVFILES to ERROR_REPORT.txt...not sure how useful that would be, though.

DX7 vs. DX9 is still giving me problems. I now revert to DX7 when I use addons even without CODECS (or codec addons). Still trying to get the problem accurately diagnosed...

#55
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Tain, I'm not 100% sure about this, but it's worth a shot. If you are current machine is a FDV installation, you need to re-enable your 16 bit subsystem. See his site for details.
Posted Image

#56
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Thanks for the idea, but I don't think that is the issue. I built/installed my workstation OS in SEP05 and the patch is supposed to be for OCT-FEB. Just to be sure, I checked the patch INF and saw that its main function is to add a bunch of registry keys. My registry already has those keys so I believe that I'm OK.

Unless you think I should run the patch anyway?

Edited by TAiN, 05 March 2006 - 01:04 PM.


#57
fdv

fdv

    MSFN Expert

  • Developer
  • 1,111 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
TAiN, no need to add that patch. your system pre-dates that odd 16 bit subsystem error, so that probably isn't the culprit. not sure about this.

#58
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@FDV: Thanks, and welcome back!

I just ran HFLSIP with a lot of variables eliminated and DX9 came out alright...I am adding things back in hopes of discovering the culprit...it seems to be one of the addon packs that I am using but it will take some time to figure out which one(s).

Edited by TAiN, 05 March 2006 - 01:34 PM.


#59
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

OK, I think I've got this annoying problem nailed down. Whenever the install process has to stop and ask the user (me) to locate a file that is missing, I consistently get a dorked-up DX9c installation that dxdiag.exe reports as DX7. The point in the process that I am referring to is the "Registers components" phase, I believe. That is where setup/hfslip installs addon packs and registers HFEXPERT/CODECS.

If there is an INF in CODECS or one of the addons that doesn't point to the right file, there is a train wreck behind the scenes and DX9 is derailed. It doesn't seem to matter which addon/codec/file is missing; if the installer has to stop and ask then DX9 won't report be reported by dxdiag properly.

I wonder what else might be going wrong along with DX9...

Edited by TAiN, 05 March 2006 - 02:18 PM.


#60
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
The fix that's included in version 60304 and up only kicks in when DX9 and codecs are involved. It doesn't take into account possible issues between DX9 and addon packs. I'll see if I can remedy this by tomorrow...
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#61
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Can you attach your unworking hfslipwu.inf file?
Posted Image

#62
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@tommyp: Here is a zip with two different malfunctioning INFs per your request.
Attached File  HFSLIPWU.zip   3.26KB   50 downloads
One goes bad because of codecs, the other goes bad because of addons (ignore the /HF installs).

After even more testing, my original diagnosis is holding true. As long as there are no burps/hiccups/questions/problems everything is peachy.

Edited by TAiN, 05 March 2006 - 06:06 PM.


#63
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
@TAiN:
Do you have msxml3.dl_ in your SOURCESS\I386 folder?

@FDV/Tommy:
Is msxml3.dll removed with the FDV Fileset? If not, I see no problem in those HFSLIPWU.INF files.
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#64
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@Tomcat: Yes. That file is present in both of the "bad" filesets as well as my "good" fileset.

This is a bad addon if anyone else wants to give it a spin and see what happens...
Attached File  XAddon_Unlocker_Medium_v1.8.1.cab   99.32KB   46 downloads

Edited by TAiN, 05 March 2006 - 06:33 PM.


#65
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts

I can post a bad addon if anyone else wants to give it a spin and see what happens.

That might help ;)

I just started applying the fix to the HFAAO part of HFSLIP but then it occured to me that it just cannot be fixed in all cases. The issue is this... Some codec packages include a file that's also part of DirectX9, but they often include the version for Windows XP.

These are the cases it can be detected by HFSLIP:
- when it's "loose" inside the HFEXPERT\CODECS folder
- when it's "loose" inside an application addon CAB

It can be detected but cannot always be fixed when it's inside a CAB inside an application addon (assuming that the configuration file contains a reference to the file in question).

It can't be detected if the file is located inside:
- a switchless installer
- a switchless installer inside an application addon

Edited by Tomcat76, 05 March 2006 - 06:53 PM.

Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#66
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

But I have had this problem with addons that are in no way related to DX.

#67
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
Some codec packages contain files that happen to be part of DirectX9 too.
DirectX9 also covers "sound"....

Edited by Tomcat76, 05 March 2006 - 07:40 PM.

Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#68
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Some codec packages contain files that happen to be part of DirectX9 too.
DirectX9 also covers "sound"....


Some of the addons that cause problems (like the one I posted) have absolutely nothing to do with DX, video, codecs, or sound.

#69
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
OK... I can see the error. At least... I hope I found it...
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#70
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

This page is loaded with bad addons (or addons that just aren't working with HFSLIP), but i also has many that work great.

Here are some that have given me trouble:
Kels_CPLBonus_addon_v2.7.CAB
Kels_fileextensionstoggle_addon_1.3.cab
Kels_FindTarget_addon_v1.1.CAB
Kels_myuninst_addon_v1.33.CAB
MrsP_FileCase_ShellExt_Addon_v1.2.7.28.cab
shx_ZacamAddon_AttributeChanger_v5.23.cab

An issue that some of these (at least one) have is that they don't include a carriage return after the last entry of [txtsetup_files] so the next addon that gets parsed gets started in the middle of an existing line instead of starting a new line...this will stop your installation FAST :/

It is easy enough to fix, though.

#71
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
This was a bitter pill...

I hope I covered everything.
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#72
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I just got done HFSLIPing with 60306 and am booting now. One bug so far:
Names of the files in your HFAAO folder:
DIR/B/S/ON HFAAO
This one looks easy enough to fix :)

But then I hit a brick wall. Setup (in GUI) stopped to ask me for NT5.CAT. That was a showstopper. The only wildcard on that run was that I had HFCLEANUP included and, while it has been working for me, my reducer fileset isn't completely bug free yet.

I am installing again without HFCLEANUP now...but I forgot to replace Oleg2's files in FDVFILES with FDV's original files...will that cause an issue? I'll report my results when I come home for lunch.

Thanks for posting this new version and including my feature request.

Edited by TAiN, 06 March 2006 - 08:40 AM.


#73
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
Hey, it was 6am here and I've been up for 22 hours... :D

I re-released this one. You should get a correct listing in ERROR_REPORT.TXT now....
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#74
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Original 60306 ran fine (except for the HFAOO bug) when I removed my HFCLEANUP folder. That means I have a lot of bug-squashing to do on my reducers...<sigh>

/me heads over to the HFCLEANUP topic for reference

#75
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
I suppose you mean "60305". The only thing I changed in the updated 60306 over the original 60306 was that line in the ERROR_REPORT.TXT section...

I didn't touch the HFCLEANUP section in 60306 (or any other version for that matter) so it's probably better to head over to the HFCLEANUP thread, yes.
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN