Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Vista Tips and Tweaks

* * * * * 1 votes

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
130 replies to this topic

#101
AlYum

AlYum

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 29 posts
In Vista you can change the colors of boot menu (OS selection) and/or of additional options menu (which appears after pressing F8 while booting). All you need is to edit a XSL resource in bootmgr.exe.mui or in winload.exe.mui respectively, using any resource editor. Different colors can be set for different lines and options of those menus, for fonts and backgrounds, just by combinations of 4 letters from XXXX (black) to RGBI (white), for example RXXI will be red, RGXX will be brown.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#102
mcarfixer

mcarfixer
  • Members
  • 2 posts
I personally like to have my address bar at the top of the screen but in Vista you cant drag it from the taskbar. This is my trick to make it appear.

First create a new folder on your desktop, then drag it to the top of your screen and let go.
now you have a toolbar at the top of your screen named "New Folder".
Next right-click on the name of the "New Folder" toolbar and select toolbars then select address bar.
after that you can right-click on the "new folder toolbar" and click "Close toolbar" then your address
bar will take over the full width of the screen. :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup

This only works on the top of the screen.

Edited by mcarfixer, 10 April 2007 - 09:18 PM.


#103
albinohawk

albinohawk
  • Members
  • 1 posts
Recycle Bin link on right hand side of Start Menu (replaces Default programs)

I hate having icons on my desktop - much prefer the start bar links but for some reason theres no recycle bin one! <_<. The XP OEM link doesnt work with Vista so here's my alternative fix (tested on Home Premium)...

The Recycle_Bin_Start_Menu.reg file will replace Default programs with Recycle Bin.


The Default_Programs_Start_Menu.reg file will reset it back to normal


Unfortunately it looks like Microsoft have hard coded the tooltip - it seems to ignore the one specified in the registry. I turned off my tooltips anyway (they're pretty useless). Disable_InfoTips.reg does exactly that...

Feel free to improve on this tweak :)

Attached File  Recycle_Bin_Start_Menu.reg   5.36KB   102 downloads Attached File  Default_Programs_Start_Menu.reg   5.19KB   81 downloads Attached File  Disable_InfoTips.reg   300bytes   67 downloads

#104
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Add Advanced System Properties to Computer Menu

I hate to right-click my computer, choose properties, then choose advanced system properties. The extra step in middle is annoying and also the extra window that I have to close is annoying.

I added "Advanced System Properties" to right-click on Computer so avoid this with the following registry addition:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\AdvSysProp]
@=hex(2):41,00,64,00,76,00,61,00,6e,00,63,00,65,00,64,00,20,00,53,00,79,00,73,\
  00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,20,00,50,00,72,00,6f,00,70,00,65,00,72,00,74,00,69,00,\
  65,00,73,00,00,00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\AdvSysProp\command]
@=hex(2):63,00,6f,00,6e,00,74,00,72,00,6f,00,6c,00,20,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,64,\
  00,6d,00,2e,00,63,00,70,00,6c,00,00,00

Bring Back Classic Display Properties

In Windows XP, you could right-click on desktop, choose properties, and display properties would come up. All the properties were group in one as tabs. In Vista, it's been replaced by Personalization where you have to click and a new windows comes up. I like the classic XP style.

If you have XP, just rename %systemroot%\system32\desk.cpl to display.cpl to another location. Then copy display.cpl to vista's %systemroot%\system32 folder. It will add display to control panel. It works fine in Vista. Vista will ask you if the program ran correctly. Say yes.

Edited by spacesurfer, 12 April 2007 - 08:39 AM.


#105
wiSHmaKeR

wiSHmaKeR
  • Members
  • 9 posts
Insert "Control Panel" to "Computer" (cpn_add.reg):
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}\Shell]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}\Shell\Open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}\Shell\Open\Command]
@="Explorer.exe ::{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}"

;;

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\MyComputer\NameSpace]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\MyComputer\NameSpace\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}]
@="Control Panel"

Remove "Control Panel" from "Computer" (cpn_remove.reg):
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}\Shell]

[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}\Shell\Open]

[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}\Shell\Open\Command]

;;

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\MyComputer\NameSpace\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}]

Attached Files


Edited by wiSHmaKeR, 30 April 2007 - 02:17 AM.


#106
Jeronimo

Jeronimo

    vLite user

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
Alternative for the above tweak of wiSHmaKeR

Install:
reg add HKCR\CLSID\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}\Shell\Open\Command /ve /d "Explorer.exe ::{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}" /f
 reg add HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\MyComputer\NameSpace\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D} /ve /d "Control Panel" /f

Uninstall:
reg delete HKCR\CLSID\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}\Shell /f
reg delete HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\MyComputer\NameSpace\{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D} /f

Edited by Jeronimo, 25 April 2007 - 05:19 AM.


#107
wiSHmaKeR

wiSHmaKeR
  • Members
  • 9 posts
Enable underlined letters (a.k.a. Alt+Letter) for menus, all the windows and buttons (Windows Classic mode):
Here is the preview: http://www.myfilesta...s/wmk/test.html

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop]
"UserPreferencesMask"=hex:b0,12,01,80

If anyone has a better suggestion, I'd like to see it ;)

Attached Files



#108
arabianhorse

arabianhorse

    Go easy on me

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
hi

No Low DiskS pace Check. i fuand this some where


and i love it :thumbup


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"NoLowDiskSpaceChecks"=dword:00000001



#109
neo

neo

    Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert Consumer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,251 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Is there a registry tweak to disable the screensaver and the aero interface?

Is there a registry tweak to enable 120 DPI?


Copy n paste this reg code into a plain text file and save with .reg extension using Save As dialog box

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

'disable screen saver 
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop]
"SCRNSAVE.EXE"=""

'disable screen saver at logon screen
[HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Control Panel\Desktop]
"SCRNSAVE.EXE"=""

'disable aero interface service (restart needed)
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\UxSms]
"Start"=dword:00000000

:) patch this .............!

#110
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Is there a registry tweak to enable 120 DPI?

If you're doing it for an unattended install, then there's an even easier way - the "120 DPI" mode can be set thru your XML, example here - http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=90286
<DPI>120</DPI>


#111
Sgt_Strider

Sgt_Strider

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts

Is there a registry tweak to enable 120 DPI?

If you're doing it for an unattended install, then there's an even easier way - the "120 DPI" mode can be set thru your XML, example here - http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=90286
<DPI>120</DPI>


Can this be implemented through Vlite? If so, how?

#112
fizban2

fizban2

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,900 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Another Fun one, from the Start search box in your start menu, type in the name of the application you want the hit ctrl+shift then hit enter, you will receive and elevation prompt to enter credentails for evelated right if they are needed

#113
army20

army20

    MCSA, MCDST, MCTS (vista), A+ (2003)

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 522 posts
Faster Desktop After Login

1. Turn On Verbose Mode :
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System] Add dword value "verbosestatus" = 1

2. Reboot

3. After Login, Wait for "Preparing Your Desktop" message to display and Press ESCAPE, your desktop should appear 1 second after pressing ESCAPE.

Edited by army20, 20 July 2007 - 10:33 PM.


#114
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I would like a way to set pagefile silently please.
The old pagefileconfig.VBS & setting-registry-key, both seem to be deprecated in vista, and so its not directly usable (nor do I want to use those 2 methods).


What did seem to be recommended by MS, is this:
wmic computersystem where name="%ComputerName%" set AutomaticManagedPagefile=False
wmic pagefileset where name="%SystemDrive%\\pagefile.sys" set InitialSize=768,MaximumSize=768
However, doing that still is somewhat pointless, because the first line results in a situation worse than before (not only C:, but all drive-letters end up with a pagefile.sys).
The second line does the needful, but not before the first line has been run!
Failing a way to set pagefile silently, is there a way to completely disable it instead? (i know the reasons why it should remain enabled)

#115
Polarman

Polarman

    Long Live PC's

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
Found this tip on VistaX64.com

How to Fix a Slow Scan with the Software Option in a Registry Cleaner Program for 64 bit Vista

WHY: The Software scan option for your registry cleaning program is extremely slow (taking hours) and generating large incomprehensible results.

CAUSE: The registry has a second Wow6432Node key entry that is a blank duplicate causing this problem for the software option. It should not be in the registry.

NOTE: You should check for a update for your registry cleaning program to see if they found a solution to make their program work with this problem.

CREDIT: Credit belongs to BOWEN and bugfree at this link: http://forums.micros...o...1&SiteID=17

Here's How: (As a precaution you should create a system restore or backup the registry)

1. Open the Start Menu.

2. In white line (Start Search) area, type regedit and press Enter.

3. Click Continue button for UAC prompt.

4. In regedit, go to this key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Wow6432Node

5. In left pane, right click Wow6432Node and click Delete. WARNING: Make sure you only delete this second Wow6432Node, or you will trash your system.

6. Click Yes to the confirmation

7. Close regedit

I have personnaly tried this fix using RegSupremePro 1.7 and it solved my slow scan issue. It only takes a minute or two now. This could work other regcleaner too.

#116
stephens316

stephens316

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 55 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
MSFN Members

I’ve got something cool to show you.

You know that ugly background that shows up with Windows Vista whenever you lock your computer or log in? Good news: You can change it. Here’s how.

First, download ResHack (Resource Hacker). Open the EXE.

Open an explorer window and navigate to C:\Windows\System32\. Find the file imageres.dll. You’ll need to first take ownership of the file, and then give yourself full permissions. If you don’t know how to do that, Google it or something, I’m not gonna hold your hand through this.

After you’ve taken permissions, open it in ResHack. Look under the IMAGE resources and find your desktop resolution that corresponds to a resource number:

5031 = 1280×1024
5032 = 1280×960
5033 = 1024×768
5034 = 1600×1200
5035 = 1440×900
5036 = 1920×1200
5037 = 1280×768
5038 = 1360×768
5039 = 1024×1280
5040 = 960×1280
5041 = 900×1440
5042 = 768×1280
5043 = 768×1360

Note: If your resolution is not listed, you should use 5031. The image will stretch.

Find the one that matches your resolution, and open that numbered folder. Right click on the “1033″ and select “Replace Resource”. Browse to another image (preferrably of the same size… I don’t know what Vista does as far as stretching/tiling the image). When it asks you for the resource info, type this in:

Resource Type: IMAGE
Resource Name: 50xx (your screen resolution from above, the 50__ number)
Resource Language: 1033

Your new image should appear on-screen. Before you save it, go back to /System32/ and rename your original imageres.dll to something like image.res.dll~. After that, back in ResHack, choose File > Save As, and save it as C:\Windows\System32\imageres.dll. Close ResHack, try a Windows+L, and see if you see your image. If you do, congrats, you don’t have to look at Microsoft’s crappy “abstract wisp” art. If not… something went wrong. Try again

#117
alexBB

alexBB

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts

dAbReAkA;

use: CTRL+SHIFT+ESC to get task manager to open up directly, or right click on the Taskbar and select "Task Manager" from the context menu.

any tweak for making ctrl+alt+del open task manager instead of the "tasks screen"?


Or taskmgr.exe in Command prompt

Your posts are SUPER!. I have already copied at least a dozen into my DB.

#118
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Finally, mystery solved. No, the XP registry does not work any more. For some reason, MS made a change to this by placing it in the policies:

Disable Webservices for unknown file types
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

;Disable Webservices for unknown file types
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"NoInternetOpenWith"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"NoInternetOpenWith"=dword:00000001


#119
Extravert

Extravert

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
The best tweak? Maybe it is a personal one but here he is:
Don't use Vista on systems before 2006.

Oké, oké,

Use no superfetcher and disable it. Why? Program's already loaded in cache stays resident. Superfetcher pumps your cache full of data currently used, but how should Vista know what kind of data it should be? The only one who can tel you that is yourself. On some sessions you don'r need office and on some sessions you don't need media player. Not any Windows in the future can take this behaviour over. Not one system on earth can do that.
Superfetcher stresses the harddisk and more stress means a sooner faillure.

======================
Oké, I'll explain this, that's my duty now. It is not that negative about Vista.

Superfetch is a feature what loads most recent data into the systems cache. A very usefull feature, really? Yes, with 4096 MB in machine it works great, but why I won't recommend it?
On systems with 1024 MB of RAM or even with 2048 MB of RAM superfetcher won't work optimal. When disabling it on older systems you freed up resources and you leave the cache alone. It could be something slower when first opening Word eg, but when Word once is loaded it always stays resident in cache and the second time it starts up directly.
In the time ma machine went wrong I stick with 2048 MB for these days and then is disabling the best tweak I've had encountered ever.

Conclusion: Windows Vista is primairy build for future use. It contains technologies that less people uses (only powerusers?). No one told me about TxF great new features and why?
The only point in 'our' Dutch big organisation "de consumentenbond" is that they only gather negative views on Vista and not the positive one. Yes, I understand Vista gets a black backlight and the reason is simply as "the unknown", "We think we're professors, but no human is perfect or closely to it"

If you painted your sheep black, it stay black until they now the way to remove the paint ;)
The sollution is not the pollution inb this kind of view ;)

Edited by Extravert, 22 January 2008 - 05:52 AM.


#120
Chrysalis

Chrysalis

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
yes I strongly agree with disabling superfetch suggestion.

The idea behind superfetch seems to be to preload your most used apps libs etc. into memory when the machine boots until there is no free ram and all used by cache. The supposed benefit is that the first time you load up a app precached by superfetch it loads nice and fast from the cache. The obvious disadvantage is anything else you do during this precaching will be slower in addition your hard drive is been stressed. Without superfetch apps will still get cached except they will be cached after the first run like XP and unix operating systems do it, not sure if vista still has normal prefetch that XP uses my guess is it doesnt as I couldnt find the prefetch folder plus vista disables the last access timestamp by default which prefetch relies on. My real experience of superfetch is my hd was on indefenitly until I disabled the service, I sat waiting and the longest I waited for was 1hour 40 mins continous hd activity on a clean vista install so not quite what it was pre loading into the cache. I knew it was superfetch as the moment I disabled the service it stopped and stopped on all after bootups.

Edited by Chrysalis, 17 February 2008 - 08:45 PM.


#121
Angelico_Payne

Angelico_Payne

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 212 posts
There's a neat service configuration manual on BLACK VIPER VISTA SP1 SERVICES MANUAL, to help you tweak Vista a bit more to your taste.

Edited by Angelico_Payne, 16 April 2008 - 01:21 AM.


#122
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
I didnt see these..

Without doubt in my mind, probably the best tweak for windows, by far:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Executive]
"AdditionalCriticalWorkerThreads"=dword:00000010
"AdditionalDelayedWorkerThreads"=dword:00000010


thats 16 for both in decimal.no more no less, it is also the maximum afaik.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management\PrefetchParameters]
"EnableSuperfetch"=dword:00000000
"EnablePrefetcher"=dword:00000000

NO THANK YOU!

+ "DisablePagingExecutive"=dword:00000001
"LargeSystemCache"=dword:00000001

Of course.

#123
Lance_315

Lance_315
  • Members
  • 1 posts
How to enable Windows Aero in Vista Home Basic:
1. Type "regedit" (without quotes) in the Start Search box.
2. Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM. Set the value of registry keys Composition to 1 and CompositionPolicy to 2.
3. Restart the DWM service. There are two methods: one is to type "net stop uxsms" and then "net start uxsms" (both without quotes) on an elevated Command Prompt (right click Command Prompt and select Run As Administrator) and the other is to type "services" (without quotes) in the Start Search Box, select Services, right click on Desktop Window Manager, and select Restart.
4. Enjoy!

#124
Andromeda43

Andromeda43

    Retired PC Tech.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I didnt see these..

Without doubt in my mind, probably the best tweak for windows, by far:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Executive]
"AdditionalCriticalWorkerThreads"=dword:00000010
"AdditionalDelayedWorkerThreads"=dword:00000010


thats 16 for both in decimal.no more no less, it is also the maximum afaik.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management\PrefetchParameters]
"EnableSuperfetch"=dword:00000000
"EnablePrefetcher"=dword:00000000

NO THANK YOU!

+ "DisablePagingExecutive"=dword:00000001
"LargeSystemCache"=dword:00000001

Of course.


Since I set up several new PC's with Vista every month, I'm always looking for tweaks to make Vista run better without all the fluff, glitz and glitter.
I already have several that I use including some of the above.....but I'm curious about the "NO THANK YOU!".
What are you saying there? Would you please explain that in a bit more detail, for the nubies.

Thanks in advance,
Andromeda43 :hello:

#125
FaceMouth

FaceMouth

    What the hell is this thing?

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 71 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Unsigned drivers got you down? Are you like me and hate that bootpro program more than having to press a button? Well I have the cure, tested on Windows Vista home Premium x64 with SP1. I'm still laughing that someone bothered to write that little program to click some options on every boot.

Here you go, this is exactly the same as "Warn but don't Block", or whatever it's called, on xp. All day i could not install ATITool, even after using f8. I applied this tweak and presto. Not sure if i rebooted or not, probably stopping and restarting explorer should be sufficient.

Go to C:\Windosw\Inf directory. Find the file Sceregvl.inf. Might want to make a backup copy elsewhere before moving on. Under the section [Register Registry Values] you will copy and paste the following:

MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Driver Signing\Policy,3, "Devices: Unsigned driver installation behavior",3,0| DriverSigning0="Silently succeed ",1|"Warn but allow installation",2|"Do not allow installation"

then save the file and close it

open the "run" dialog box, and type the following regsvr32 "scecli.dll" (no quotes) . POW THAT IS ALL

from now on you will simply be asked if you want to install the driver.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN