Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

FIX folder prob: NTDETECT.COM and ntldr

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1
saugatak

saugatak

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Joined 15-July 05
FDV, I put the XP version of NTDETECT.COM and ntldr in the FIX folder. When I look at SOURCESS/I386 folder, however, Win2k NTDETECT.COM and ntldr are present.

Also, the HFSLIP'd Win2k install on VMWare has the Win2k version of NTDETECT.COM and ntldr.

What am I doing wrong?
Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
fdv

fdv

    MSFN Expert

  • Developer
  • 1,111 posts
  • Joined 16-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
just FYI, i changed the thread title to make it clearer.
i'll defer to tommyp on the 'why' though because i am not sure.
mine actually works fine. are you using the latest (october) version of HFSLIP?

Edited by fdv, 09 October 2005 - 11:17 PM.


#3
saugatak

saugatak

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Joined 15-July 05
@FDV, using latest HFSLIP and FDV fileset I believe as now I download the latest just before running HFSLIP.

My error log is attached.

P.S. I think Oleg's idea to remove help files is a good one. They're pretty much useless and if you can run HFSLIP, you can Google, hit M$ knowledge base and MSFN forums to find the answer you need anyway.

Attached Files


Posted Image

#4
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Dumb question, but are your 100% sure that the files you placed in the FIX folder are from an XP cd?
Posted Image

#5
saugatak

saugatak

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Joined 15-July 05
@tommyp

It is not a dumb question, but I am 100% sure I put in XP files because this computer I am using now is XP, and I used its NTDETECT.COM and ntldr. I compared dates and filesizes, and the NTDETECT.COM and ntldr in FIX are bigger files and later dates than the Win2k NTDETECT.COM and ntldr.

This is the computer I want to rebuild with HFSLIP FDV Win2k because XP is slowing this computer down a lot.

I'm doing some more work on FDV's files and I'll run HFSLIP again.

I've been researching what files to take out of the OS/2 subsystem (which IMO is completely extraneous) and will post shortly.

Edited by saugatak, 10 October 2005 - 06:32 AM.

Posted Image

#6
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,682 posts
  • Joined 24-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

My FDV/NoIE installs and runs great as long as I stay away from ntdetect and ntldr :)

If I drop those file into FIX and then HFSLIP/ISO/VMWARE as usual, I get the attached BSOD about an inaccessible_boot_device. If those files are NOT in FIX and I HFSLIP/ISO/VMWARE as usual, everything runs fine.

#7
saugatak

saugatak

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Joined 15-July 05
I've read in other forums that using NTDETECT.COM and ntldr does lead to a faster boot so I'd like to get it in there and give it a shot.

@TommyP and FDV, is it possible to just replace the NTDETECT.COM and ntldr in SOURCESS/I386 if the FIX folder method doesn't work?
Posted Image

#8
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes, you manually replace the two files into the SOURCESS\i386 folder. However, if you get a BSOD again. you have the wrong files.
Posted Image

#9
murvun

murvun

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
  • Joined 19-July 05
saugatak and tommyp:

in line 298: IF EXIST FIX COPY /Y FIX\*.* SOURCESS\I386

the copy-command can't see the hidden files NTDETECT.COM and ntldr

perhaps ATTRIB -S -H FIX\*.* might help?
Posted Image

#10
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@murvun - Cool suggestion. Can someone test?

I had an idea, perhaps it's a capitalization issue? I believe both my files are upper case.
Posted Image

#11
lupo

lupo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 09-July 05

saugatak and tommyp:

in line 298: IF EXIST FIX COPY /Y FIX\*.* SOURCESS\I386

the copy-command can't see the hidden files NTDETECT.COM and ntldr

perhaps ATTRIB -S -H FIX\*.* might help?

@ tommyp

Also, if you want, you can use xcopy instead of the copy command...

try this: (it copies hidden, system files and overwrites old and read-only files without confirm)

IF EXIST FIX XCOPY /H /R /Y FIX\*.* SOURCESS\I386
Posted Image

#12
saugatak

saugatak

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Joined 15-July 05
TommyP, let me know if you've fixed this issue in the latest HFSLIP and I will test it tonight.
Posted Image

#13
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@saugatak - I'm not going to release it just yet. Why not open a dos window in your HFSLIP folder. Type in
IF EXIST FIX XCOPY /H /R /Y FIX\*.* SOURCESS\I386 and see what happens. Also, check to see if those files have a hidden attribute and/or check capitalization.
Posted Image

#14
saugatak

saugatak

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Joined 15-July 05
@tommyp, I'm not as tech savvy as you are so this is how I interpreted what you suggested:

I opened a DOS window and CD to HFSLIP director. Then I typed "IF EXIST FIX XCOPY /H /R /Y FIX\*.* SOURCESS\I386"

In my FIX folder I had the following files:

1) Win XP SP2 version of NTDETECT.COM
2) Win XP SP2 version of ntldr
3) notepad.ex_ (made using Oleg's method, replace notepad with win32pad)
4) WINNT.SIF

The results were:

F:\HFSLIP IF EXIST FIX XCOPY /H /R /Y FIX\*.* SOURCESS\I386
FIX\notepad.ex_
FIX\WINNT.SIF
2 files copied.

By see what happens I guess you mean check the SOURCESS folder to see if the latest NTDETECT.COM and ntldr are included? I did that and both are still Win2k versions.
Posted Image

#15
lupo

lupo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 09-July 05
@saugatak
in my system my method works...
however can you use the method posted by murvun?
just to test if it works.


go in hfslip director and type:

ATTRIB -S -H FIX\*.* (no output is done)

IF EXIST FIX COPY /Y FIX\*.* SOURCESS\I386
(output the files copied)

Edited by lupo, 14 October 2005 - 04:13 AM.

Posted Image

#16
pene

pene

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 55 posts
  • Joined 05-July 05

The results were:
F:\HFSLIP IF EXIST FIX XCOPY /H /R /Y FIX\*.* SOURCESS\I386
FIX\notepad.ex_
FIX\WINNT.SIF
2 files copied.

@saugatak:

By the output of your xcopy, the only possible conlusion is that ntldr and ntdetect.com are not in your FIX directory, as I can't think of any reason that could cause xcopy ignore the files if they are there (when using the /H parameter). When running the XCOPY command (you ran it correctly), you should see the files ntldr and ntdetect.com being copied.

Regards,
Pene

Edited by pene, 14 October 2005 - 04:24 AM.


#17
Crash&Burn

Crash&Burn

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 364 posts
  • Joined 11-March 05
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
I Have to agree, I changed cabarc.exe to RAHS
then: X:\2KBootCD\+Tools\BLAH> xcopy /h /r /y *.* blah2\

Result: cabarc.exe in blah2\, as a -AHS file, removal of the ReadOnly flag, but Copy will do that as well.

#18
saugatak

saugatak

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Joined 15-July 05
OK this is what I did.

After reading these 2 posts, I did a screenshot of my FIX folder, posted. Since the last post in my thread, I have not changed the contents of my FIX folder. Here's the screenshot.

Anyway, I tried the same method again and this time . . . . it worked! :wacko:

You'll probably think that I didn't have the programs in the FIX folder, but I am 100% certain they were there.

I really don't know what happened.

Attached Files


Posted Image

#19
dirtwarrior

dirtwarrior

    OS modder

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,467 posts
  • Joined 07-March 05
Would those 2 files but from 2k3 work better?
Is it possible just to replace them in source cd?
Posted Image

#20
Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 06-August 04
saugatak
No problem with that. I have a bug today morning too: I saw things and was sure it was like I saw, but when I did the same procedure in the evening it was not excatly the same :wacko:
It happens sometimes B)
Posted Image

#21
saugatak

saugatak

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Joined 15-July 05
@oleg, thanks. It's a headscratcher sometimes.

@dirtwarrior, FDV said using Win2k3 NTDETECT.COM and ntldr work on Win2k and HFSLIP.

Whether Win2k3 NTDETECT.COM and ntldr run faster than XP versions I don't know.

I downloaded Win2k3 SP1 and am extracting it to get Win2k3 NTDETECT.COM and ntldr into my FIX folder and am going to run TommyP's latest HFSLIP. Will report on results tonight or by tomorrow.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN