Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

98 SE SP 3.32

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
2359 replies to this topic

#2301
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

How many important and useful patches if any is this SP missing? i noticed it doesn't have DX 9 either.

The only updates not included are,

 

DirectX 9c
Internet Explorer 6
NET Framework
Windows Image Acquisition 1.1 (WIA)
Windows Media Player 9 (WMP)

 

Everything else is there. New update coming soon so wait

 

Added 39 fonts Windows Server 2003
Added Microsoft L2TP/IPSec VPN Client 1.0
Added Microsoft Word 97 SR-2 http://www.msfn.org/...dalone-word-97/ very fast, lightweight, LEGAL, and fully functional. Supports everything but .DOCX format.

Renamed MSVCR70.DLL 7.0.9981.0 to MSVCRT.DLL 7.0.9981.0 (Replaces MSVCRT.DLL 7.0.2600.5701 Windows XP SP3)
Updated GDIPLUS.DLL 5.2.6002.23084 Windows XP SP3
Updated Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) Client 5.2.3790.0 Windows Server 2003
Updated Time Zone August 2013
Updated USBCCGP.SYS 5.1.2600.6437 Windows XP SP3


Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2302
cdoublejj

cdoublejj

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Joined 26-July 09

cool! can a i repatch a machine i i've already patched? maybe it's best to clean install or keep as is? too bad we can't stream line this in to a 98SE instillation CD, to fix some of the bugs like no CPU listing my computer.


Edited by cdoublejj, 21 October 2013 - 09:34 PM.


#2303
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 814 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

too bad we can't stream line this in to a 98SE instillation CD, to fix some of the bugs like no CPU listing my computer.

*EDIT: This works ONLY with an AMD processor. Does NOT work for an Intel processor.*

This is possible, but requires full slipstreaming rather than a Service Pack.

In the case of SYSDM.CPL and the CPU info, you can solve this one issue by placing a copy of the updated SYSDM.CPL (v4.10.2224 I believe?) in the \WIN98 folder that you install from (by copying it to the HDD and installing from there, or creating a new CD) along with the 98SE CAB files and then use this folder to do a new installation. The updated SYSDM.CPL will be used rather than extracting the older one from the CABs. (This works for any file that gets extracted from the CABs.)

Edited by LoneCrusader, 22 November 2013 - 01:22 AM.


#2304
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I remember once upon a time, people had doubted I had hundreds of users. Well, I was wrong and so were they. Its now in the thousands :yes:http://www.majorgeek...rvice_pack.html Of course, there is the few who run into problems due to hardware or not following instructions. Okay, okay, enough taunting the haters :sneaky: I need two batch files to complete my mission and need some help. First batch file, I need it to extract a .CHM, then launch the .chm file full screen. After that, close the .chm when users click the X and launch the main .EXE file. Second batch file, I need this one to check for a file, and if the file exist, extract a different file from a .cab. Thanks to the thousands of users who have help me accomplish this in the past 2 years, I really do appreciate it. A big thanks to almawardi for helping me get Word 97 working.


Edited by PROBLEMCHYLD, 11 November 2013 - 01:35 PM.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#2305
buyerninety

buyerninety

    Dude,¯\_{ö}_/¯ where's my avatar?

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Joined 18-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

NO-one so far ? (must be sleep time for wise owls) Lead off...

assumptions;

source and destination paths, source CABs, filenames, are known.

the chm file is not a chm_ file and the chm file ends with a .chm extension.

version of extract to be used is that avail in win98 cd not that on W95cd & not wextract.exe .

(sfc.exe or cscript.exe not considered).

YOU WISH THE DOS WINDOW TO close ? (well, minimize DOS Window anyway).

1. "extract a .CHM, then launch the .chm file full screen. After that, close the .chm when users click

the X and launch the main .EXE file."

START /MIN CHM.BAT

  and text inside file CHM.BAT;

C:\extract C:\some.cab some.chm C:\DESTPATH
C:\DESTPATH\some.chm
C:\MAINPATH\MAIN.EXE

  note;  .chm file above is not fullscreen.

 

2. "check for a file, and if the file exist, extract a different file from a .cab." (Should allow for IF/NOT...)

IF EXIST C:\SOME.FILE (
C:\extract C:\DIFF.CAB DIFF.FILE C:\DIFFPATH
) ELSE (
DOWHAT?
)

 

Maybe refer;

http://www.msfn.org/...-run-else-exit/

Cheers


Edited by buyerninety, 17 November 2013 - 02:48 PM.


#2306
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,259 posts
  • Joined 21-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Sorry, I've read this but never been a batch guy so can't help with this the way you want.

 

However, if you need all these operations to be launched after Windows finished loading and is fully functional, I can write AHK scripts, provided you first deploy the AutoHotkey exe (old ANSI version, not AHK_L) somewhere within %PATH% (Windows folder might work).

 

First batch above will not launch fullscreen and will also not wait for the .chm to close before launching the executable. I believe this can be done by launching an .inf (remember how TweakUI 1.33 launches its CHM - but not maximized, although it may be possible - and only after closing it the installation continues?)



#2307
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks guys. Drugwash, I would need to launch the .CHM file first because it has all the instructions. Maybe I should have took a BATCH course, because its not my strong field either. One of my computers just died, so I have to strip it a part and salvage the hardware. I will play with the batch code later. Thanks


Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#2308
buyerninety

buyerninety

    Dude,¯\_{ö}_/¯ where's my avatar?

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Joined 18-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Drugwash said;

"Sorry, I've read this but never been a batch guy"

Likewise, myself. In fact, I don't have a W98 computer ATM to test on - so I've been trying

out these commmands/BAT's in XP, in cmd.exe windows. Therefore, such is useful only as

guide for investigating what might work, the expectation being that PROBLEMCHYLD will

try & see what actually works in the W98 environment.

Anyway, onwards...

"First batch above will not launch fullscreen"...  (meaning the CHM will not be fullscreen),

Yes, as noted. Further testing shows CHM in fullscreen can be achieved by usage of START .

(In XP, this has the perhaps undesired result of an additional instance of the Command

window (cmd.exe here) - we'll come back to that...)

"and will also not wait for the .chm to close before launching the executable"

actually, I found that until the CHM was closed, (by clicking on its X as PROBLEMCHYLD

specified), MAIN.EXE would not open - MAIN.EXE immediately opening after that action.

{I was actually using calc.exe as a testing stand-in for whatever the actual MAIN.EXE is.}

I guess this can be explained because it's a XP CMD.EXE Window, & execution (of calc.exe hh.exe,

a '32-bit GUI app' ) is occuring via a Script, ref; http://www.computerh...om/starthlp.htm

 

When executing an application that is a 32-bit GUI application, CMD.EXE does not wait for the application

to terminate before returning to the command prompt. This new behavior does NOT occur if executing

within a command script.

When PROBLEMCHYLD tests in a Command.com Window on a W98 computer a different

behaviour may occur, as you believe. At present, I believe he could try (for);

1. "extract a .CHM, then launch the .chm file full screen. After that, close the .chm when users click

the X and launch the main .EXE file."

C:\CHM.BAT

  and text inside file CHM.BAT;

C:\extract C:\some.cab some.chm C:\DESTPATH

START /d C:\DESTPATH /MAX /WAIT some.chm

CALL C:\MAINPATH\MAIN.EXE

  note;  .chm file with batch changes above now is fullscreen!

depending on what kind of exe that MAIN.EXE actually is, it may/may not open maximized,

so he may end up needing to use START for MAIN.EXE, instead of CALL. It may be that

for every START the enduser will see another Command Window (at best, minimized to the

taskbar), which would be distracting... and may invite tampering.

If MAIN.EXE was the finish of his required actions then above needs e.g. EXIT, and also

instances of @ECHO occuring throughout (to "Make sure no text is displayed in the console

window to make it close automatically at the end of the batch file" ref;),

http://www.robvanderwoude.com/exit.php

If he found too many Command Windows were visible to the enduser, some could be

successively ended when unneeded (by TASKKILL for instance.)

Cheers


Edited by buyerninety, 18 November 2013 - 03:14 AM.


#2309
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,259 posts
  • Joined 21-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

That's quite complicated and if it were to require feedback in regard to failure or success of operations, it would become even more complicated.

 

If all this is to run when Windows already finished booting, I can provide AHK scripts that offer flexibility and feedback. But not in DOS mode or before the GUI environment is loaded.

 

Problemchyld, I've replied to you at FD forums as well.



#2310
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I responded to you over there.


Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#2311
MiKl

MiKl

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Joined 01-December 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi Drugwash, do you maybe know where I can still find the old AHK ?? And could you help me with a script I would like to use ?



#2312
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,259 posts
  • Joined 21-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Sure, I sent you a PM.



#2313
RacerBG

RacerBG

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 07-November 13
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Can I update my Windows 98 SE Bootable disk with this SP3 and does it's possible? Or the easiest way will be to write it to another disk and after the OS install just to run it.

 

Great work by the way! :)


banner-winxp-logo.gif


#2314
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Only certain files can be slipstreamed/updated. If you are going to end up installing the SP anyway, then just install after a clean install of Win 98 SE.

 

How do you guys like the Word 97 option?

 

@ Drugwash, I actually added a starter to launch the CHM file so users can read through all of the instructions thoroughly before installing.


Edited by PROBLEMCHYLD, 23 January 2014 - 10:04 AM.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#2315
TmEE

TmEE

    Mega Drive Modding Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 363 posts
  • Joined 17-September 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I found no obvious way to access it besides going into program files folder. It is certainly a welcome addition :)


Posted Image Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)

#2316
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I could have created a shortcut, but then where? I always move my shortcuts after installation of programs. I am very organized. Thanks for the feedback.

You can create your own shortcut and put it wherever you like.


Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#2317
TmEE

TmEE

    Mega Drive Modding Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 363 posts
  • Joined 17-September 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I would have put a shortcut on the desktop or in start menu programs group.


Posted Image Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)

#2318
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,259 posts
  • Joined 21-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Only certain files can be slipstreamed/updated. If you are going to end up installing the SP anyway, then just install after a clean install of Win 98 SE.

 

How do you guys like the Word 97 option?

 

@ Drugwash, I actually added a starter to launch the CHM file so users can read through all of the instructions thoroughly before installing.

Shamefully it's been a long time since I last installed uSP3. Can't focus on anything anymore and lack of spare hardware for testing is also a problem. However I hope the starter is working correctly.

 

Is Word 97 the same as Word that comes with MS Office 97? I'm just thinking of a possible confusion in case one also installs the full Office 97 suite.

 

A shortcut anywhere on desktop or Start menu > Programs would be welcome, just to let users know it's installed; they can always move it to any desired location afterwards. I also sort my shortcuts in custom category folders under the Start menu. Used to have a completely clean desktop with no icons other than My Computer with a blank icon and name, but I "lost it" years ago. Remember Mel Gibson and Danny Glover in the "Lethal weapon" series: "I'm too old for this sxxt".



#2319
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

NO-one so far ? (must be sleep time for wise owls) Lead off...

assumptions;

source and destination paths, source CABs, filenames, are known.

the chm file is not a chm_ file and the chm file ends with a .chm extension.

version of extract to be used is that avail in win98 cd not that on W95cd & not wextract.exe .

(sfc.exe or cscript.exe not considered).

YOU WISH THE DOS WINDOW TO close ? (well, minimize DOS Window anyway).

1. "extract a .CHM, then launch the .chm file full screen. After that, close the .chm when users click

the X and launch the main .EXE file."

START /MIN CHM.BAT

  and text inside file CHM.BAT;

C:\extract C:\some.cab some.chm C:\DESTPATH
C:\DESTPATH\some.chm
C:\MAINPATH\MAIN.EXE

  note;  .chm file above is not fullscreen.

 

2. "check for a file, and if the file exist, extract a different file from a .cab." (Should allow for IF/NOT...)

IF EXIST C:\SOME.FILE (
C:\extract C:\DIFF.CAB DIFF.FILE C:\DIFFPATH
) ELSE (
DOWHAT?
)

 

Maybe refer;

http://www.msfn.org/...-run-else-exit/

Cheers

Got it working

I would have put a shortcut on the desktop or in start menu programs group.

I will add shortcuts for all files on the Desktop. Users can sort them out later.

Shamefully it's been a long time since I last installed uSP3. Can't focus on anything anymore and lack of spare hardware for testing is also a problem. However I hope the starter is working correctly.

 

 

Is Word 97 the same as Word that comes with MS Office 97? I'm just thinking of a possible confusion in case one also installs the full Office 97 suite.

 

A shortcut anywhere on desktop or Start menu > Programs would be welcome, just to let users know it's installed; they can always move it to any desired location afterwards. I also sort my shortcuts in custom category folders under the Start menu. Used to have a completely clean desktop with no icons other than My Computer with a blank icon and name, but I "lost it" years ago. Remember Mel Gibson and Danny Glover in the "Lethal weapon" series: "I'm too old for this sxxt".

 

Added Microsoft Word 97 SR-2 http://www.msfn.org/...dalone-word-97/ very fast, lightweight, LEGAL, and fully functional. Supports everything but .DOCX format.

Yes........................................


Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#2320
Flasche

Flasche

    A bottled message!!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 596 posts
  • Joined 20-January 14
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks dude for such a nice service pack but there is an issue. It has been interrupting with my Linkseys WUSB54G network adapter. The thing has always been a pain to use, but now connecting to the internet is near impossible. It keeps saying You are connected to the access point, but the internet cannot be found. (dont say reinstall it for I have done that 25 times already) So what do you think can be interfering with the driver :huh: . (I didnt type my password in wrong either so please dont say that)


Seeker Of Truth by E. E. Cummings                                                                                           Quote (Me)

  • seeker of truth                                                 "If you want to reach and discover the true meaning of order; You must go through chaos first."            344d0f9.jpg
  • follow no path                                 
  • all paths lead where
  • truth is here
 

#2321
buyerninety

buyerninety

    Dude,¯\_{ö}_/¯ where's my avatar?

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Joined 18-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

As a quick reply, you should be giving more info, like if it is

a V4, V2 or V1 Linksys WUSB54G.

Near as can tell, drivers for Win98SE were available in the past +

apparently the 'Linksys Monitor' software is included inside the Linksys

drivers for later OSes, presumably same applies for 'Linksys Monitor'

software for Win98SE (using Win98SE drivers).

At http://support.links...USB54G/download

are FAQ for later OSes, but which should give you ideas for faultchecking

in 98SE.

Other documentation may be available, i.e. this document;

http://www.docstoc.c...SB54G-Version-1

mentions;

"How To Configure Wireless MAC Filtering

 ...To check adapter MAC addresses otherwise, you can;

 Look on the Box.

 In Windows 2000 or XP use ipconfig/all.

 In Windows 98[SE] or ME use winipcfg. "

(Sry for being so none-specific, have to leave computer now.)


Edited by buyerninety, 25 January 2014 - 02:41 AM.


#2322
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,338 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

?

I wasn't aware that 98SESP3.x included any "drivers" other than a number of OS-Specific (e.g. Newer USB Port Drivers)?

 

This indicates that Win98SE is ok with ANY of the "versions", so it appears to be irrelevant (last post).

http://community.lin...ws-98/td-p/4659

 

The drivers do, however, appear to be -very- specific as to the "version" of the device -

http://download.mode...USB54G/Drivers/

They are all there, including the 98SE ones -with- the Utility mentioned.

Fair warning - you get to download only -one- per day "for free" unless you register.


Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#2323
Flasche

Flasche

    A bottled message!!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 596 posts
  • Joined 20-January 14
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

As a quick reply, you should be giving more info, like if it is

a V4, V2 or V1 Linksys WUSB54G.

Its a V1.

 

Near as can tell, drivers for Win98SE were available in the past +

apparently the 'Linksys Monitor' software is included inside the Linksys

drivers for later OSes, presumably same applies for 'Linksys Monitor'

software for Win98SE (using Win98SE drivers).

At http://support.links...USB54G/download

are FAQ for later OSes, but which should give you ideas for faultchecking

in 98SE.

Other documentation may be available, i.e. this document;

http://www.docstoc.c...SB54G-Version-1

mentions;

The first link Is where I got the driver in the first place :w00t:. Though the issue just might be the hardware its self and not the driver since the computer my 98se computer is on was built for XP. ( I do have all correct drivers) The issue could also be an issue with driver and software install for I do remember finding some info on the linkseys community talking about that if I find the link I would post it.


Seeker Of Truth by E. E. Cummings                                                                                           Quote (Me)

  • seeker of truth                                                 "If you want to reach and discover the true meaning of order; You must go through chaos first."            344d0f9.jpg
  • follow no path                                 
  • all paths lead where
  • truth is here
 

#2324
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,338 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Their "How to troubleshoot" KB -

http://kb.linksys.co...=80&converted=0

Although I'd say, since this isn't -directly- related to the USP, maybe you should open a Topic over here -

http://www.msfn.org/...d-the-internet/

if you can't resolve it. Apparently, the one listed on Linksys is the exact one I linked to elsewhere, so your issue is more Hardware/Setup related and not a USP problem (AFAICT).

 

HTH


Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#2325
Flasche

Flasche

    A bottled message!!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 596 posts
  • Joined 20-January 14
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

Their "How to troubleshoot" KB -

http://kb.linksys.co...=80&converted=0

Although I'd say, since this isn't -directly- related to the USP, maybe you should open a Topic over here -

http://www.msfn.org/...d-the-internet/

if you can't resolve it. Apparently, the one listed on Linksys is the exact one I linked to elsewhere, so your issue is more Hardware/Setup related and not a USP problem (AFAICT).

 

HTH

Thanks for the help and I will check out those links.

 

 

As a quick reply, you should be giving more info, like if it is

a V4, V2 or V1 Linksys WUSB54G.

Its a V1.

 

Near as can tell, drivers for Win98SE were available in the past +

apparently the 'Linksys Monitor' software is included inside the Linksys

drivers for later OSes, presumably same applies for 'Linksys Monitor'

software for Win98SE (using Win98SE drivers).

At http://support.links...USB54G/download

are FAQ for later OSes, but which should give you ideas for faultchecking

in 98SE.

Other documentation may be available, i.e. this document;

http://www.docstoc.c...SB54G-Version-1

mentions;

The first link Is where I got the driver in the first place :w00t:. Though the issue just might be the hardware its self and not the driver since the computer my 98se computer is on was built for XP. ( I do have all correct drivers) The issue could also be an issue with driver and software install for I do remember finding some info on the linkseys community talking about that if I find the link I would post it.

 

I also found the link to the cite I was talking about but its not a linkseys community but tomms hardware :blushing: http://www.tomshardw...adaptor-windows. If I have anymore Issues I would post them were you recommend.


Seeker Of Truth by E. E. Cummings                                                                                           Quote (Me)

  • seeker of truth                                                 "If you want to reach and discover the true meaning of order; You must go through chaos first."            344d0f9.jpg
  • follow no path                                 
  • all paths lead where
  • truth is here
 




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users