Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Help with HD Audio drivers

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1
foxeh30

foxeh30
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 10-December 05
Hi all, first post :hello:

Right, recently bought a new motherboard (Sapphire PURE Innovation). Had no problems getting the board installed and getting the chipset drivers installed.

When I came to install the drivers for the Realtek HD Audio I was advised to install the kb888111 for XPsp2 before I installed the actual Realtek drivers.

After installing the hotfix I then installed the Realtek HD Audio drivers which came on my motherboard CD. During installation I was confronted with this message "Microsoft Bus Driver should be loaded in your system before installing Realtek HD Audio driver!" I click "Ok" and then it proceeds to complete the installation of the drivers and prompts me to reboot. I reboot but have no sound.

Now it is my understanding that when it means the MS Bus driver it means the kb888111 hotfix or have I got my wires crossed somewhere? Because if it is then why is it not recognising that I have already installed it. The actual Realtek drivers does install the hotfix itself.

I cannot get access to Volume Control from the Start Menu as I have a "problem with your hardware" conferonting me when I do. There are no Yellow Warning signs in the Device Manager and dxdiag tells me there is no sound hardware/software installed.

I am totally lost as to what I am doing wrong and I am wondering if anybody has had any experiences with this problem before and knows a solution. Upto now Sapphire and Realtek have been about as helpful as a kick in the balls.

Help of any kind is greatly appreciated, and if this has been posted in the wrong section, sorry! Feel free to move it if neccesary

foxeh


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Mercury_22

Mercury_22

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Joined 26-November 04
Hi! :hello:

I'm using the same Realtek HD Audio (v1.27 don't use the beta version ! ) and i've integrate kb888111 in my XPPro and I have no problems!

It seems to me that your problem it's installing kb888111 (not installing !) try to install manualy (unpack the driver and install the kb888111 for your OS ! )

PS First check your registry with any regcleaner!

Edited by Mercury_22, 10 December 2005 - 07:46 AM.


#3
foxeh30

foxeh30
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 10-December 05
I have tried unpacking and then installing kb888111 manually ands i still get the error.

According to regedit kb888111 is installed :/

#4
mediapla

mediapla

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
  • Joined 08-November 04
Have you a MS HDAudio Device installed in Device Manager ? My problem was, that i must change this device to Realtek HD Audio Device manually(also at the unattended installation with KB888111 in svcpack.inf)
But now i use devcon.exe at GUIRunOnce to delete this device and search for the right HDA device (Realtek or C-Media)

#5
foxeh30

foxeh30
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 10-December 05
No I dont have a MS HDAudio device in Device Manager

#6
Mercury_22

Mercury_22

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Joined 26-November 04

No I dont have a MS HDAudio device in Device Manager



This make me think that certainly you have a problem with kb888111 or a conflict in the Device Manager (even if you don't have a "Yellow Warning sign", check every device for conflicts at resources tab !)

Check for conflicts with other device drivers you installed before !

Try uninstall kb888111 and install again! (use a regcleaner first !! )

Good luck! :thumbup

Edited by Mercury_22, 10 December 2005 - 11:00 AM.


#7
Martin L

Martin L

    我叫马丁

  • Patrons
  • 2,563 posts
  • Joined 09-July 03
moved to correct forum.

#8
foxeh30

foxeh30
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 10-December 05
Having checked regedit to find the kb888111 hotfix I noticed that the other hotfixes have subfolders under the Filelist folder but the kb888111 doesnt.

Do you think that could be the source of the problem?

If so what do I need to do to get those subfolders into my hotfix because everytime I install the hotfix those folders are missing and I am guessing they should be there.

#9
Mercury_22

Mercury_22

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Joined 26-November 04
Here is my kb888111reg (it has "subfolders under the Filelist folder ")

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2]
"InstalledDate"="12/2/2005"
"InstalledBy"="SYSTEM"
"Type"="Update"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2\Filelist]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2\Filelist\0]
"FileName"="portcls.sys"
"Version"="5.1.2600.1364"
"BuildDate"="Tue Mar 16 13:58:17 2004"
"BuildCheckSum"="2b8f7"
"Location"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\DRIVERS"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2\Filelist\1]
"FileName"="Hdaudbus.sys"
"Version"="5.10.1.5013"
"BuildDate"="Fri Jan 07 20:07:15 2005"
"BuildCheckSum"="2e3ab"
"Location"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\DRIVERS"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2\Filelist\2]
"FileName"="Hdaudio.sys"
"Version"="5.10.1.5013"
"BuildDate"="Fri Jan 07 20:07:14 2005"
"BuildCheckSum"="29f16"
"Location"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\DRIVERS"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2\Filelist\3]
"FileName"="HdAProp.dll"
"Version"="5.10.1.5013"
"BuildDate"="Fri Jan 07 20:07:14 2005"
"BuildCheckSum"="acbd"
"Location"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2\Filelist\4]
"FileName"="HdAShCut.exe"
"Version"="5.10.1.5013"
"BuildDate"="Fri Jan 07 20:07:13 2005"
"BuildCheckSum"="184d4"
"Location"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2\Filelist\5]
"FileName"="HdAudRes.dll"
"Version"="5.10.1.5013"
"BuildDate"="Fri Jan 07 20:07:02 2005"
"BuildCheckSum"="0"
"Location"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2\Filelist\6]
"FileName"="portcls.sys"
"Version"="5.1.2600.1364"
"BuildDate"="Tue Mar 16 13:58:17 2004"
"BuildCheckSum"="2b8f7"
"Location"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\DRIVERS"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2\Filelist\7]
"FileName"="Hdaudbus.sys"
"Version"="5.10.1.5013"
"BuildDate"="Fri Jan 07 20:07:15 2005"
"BuildCheckSum"="2e3ab"
"Location"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\DRIVERS"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2\Filelist\8]
"FileName"="Hdaudio.sys"
"Version"="5.10.1.5013"
"BuildDate"="Fri Jan 07 20:07:14 2005"
"BuildCheckSum"="29f16"
"Location"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\DRIVERS"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Updates\Windows XP\SP3\KB888111WXPSP2\Filelist\9]
"FileName"="portcls.sys"
"Version"="5.1.2600.1364"
"BuildDate"="Tue Mar 16 13:58:17 2004"
"BuildCheckSum"="2b8f7"
"Location"="C:\\WINDOWS\\Driver Cache\\i386"

Try replace yours with mine or "Try uninstall kb888111 and install again! (use a regcleaner first !!! )"

Edited by Mercury_22, 11 December 2005 - 11:49 AM.


#10
foxeh30

foxeh30
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 10-December 05
Any chance you can export you reg file for me?

#11
foxeh30

foxeh30
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 10-December 05
Tried your reg file and then installed the drivers and I still get the error :(

Think I might just go out and buy a friggin Creative Soundcard and havew done with it unles anyone else has any other suggestions!

Thnx to Mercury for the help so far :)

#12
RogueSpear

RogueSpear

    OS: SimplyMEPIS

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,529 posts
  • Joined 18-September 04
It took me about a week to definitively figure this out... I have a computer at work that would go through a RIS install and two subsequent RunOnceEx reboots. But then after I would every last detail done, the computer would not reboot. At first I had to try booting like 5 times and it would finally boot up. Not good at all, but workable. Well then it got to where it wouldn't reboot no matter what. I then booted the unit to an ERD Commander CD to try and find the problem, but no luck there. Finally, because of my inherant distrust and disdain for RealTek, I disabled the RealTek HD in the BIOS and the computer has been fine ever since. I stuck an old SoundBlaster Live Platinum in there and it's happy. What I'm not so happy about is that the mobo (Gigabyte GI915GFM) only has two PCI slots to begin with. But wait! It gets better! This Gigabyte also has a RealTek NIC onboard, which I have found to be completely unusable. So I had to use the one remaining PCI slot with a 3Com NIC. Good thing there's 8 USB ports on this thing.

Another computer, based on an Intel mobo, also has a RealTek HD integrated. The difference with that one is that it only has three audio jacks in the back where as the Gigabyte has six :blink: but they both report as RealTek HD. Anyhow, that computer boots up just fine everytime. The problem is that it blue screens after about 10 minutes of use. I've tried three different versions of driver, mix and matched video adapters, etc. The only solution is, once again, disabling the RealTek HD in the BIOS.

#13
Mercury_22

Mercury_22

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Joined 26-November 04
Integrate kb888111 then install windows and if you don't have any audio device in device manager then it's a hardware problem!

#14
amgeex

amgeex
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 18-September 05
Suffering from the exact same problem. I'm on a new HP Pavilion model number w5210la. I'm about to make a new nlited cd, but this time I'll integrate the DriverPack Sound A and see what happens, I'll post back if this fixes the problem.

AMGeeX.

UPDATE: I fixed the problem, here's how I did it: Create a new nLite cd, don't remove anything, just integrate SP2; don't integrate any hotfixes. Now, at the end, do not make the iso image. Now download the DriverPacks BASE and DriverPack Sound A. Next go to THIS SITE for instructions on how to slipstream the DriverPack Sound A into your nLite cd. After you finish slipstreaming the driverpack unto your nLite cd run nLite again and just go into the last step and create the iso image. Now just burn that and install it and problem solved!

Edited by amgeex, 18 December 2005 - 12:39 AM.


#15
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05
To get HD Audio working i did this:

extract the KB888111 hotfix
then using nLite in Driver integration include an inf in the commonfiles folder of the hotfix
after that u can the setup any time after installing windows to get the additional Realtek Sound effects etc
"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]

#16
Mercury_22

Mercury_22

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Joined 26-November 04
New Ver:R1.28 Check "History"!

#17
homebuild

homebuild
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 03-December 07
I was moving a hard drive from an old system when this happend to me
These links from the Gigabyte site fixed the problem for me. Seems stupid uninstalling the driver and re-installing it this way but it works.

http://www.gbt-tech....aspx?FAQID=2538

http://www.gbt-tech....aspx?FAQID=2501

#18
easy

easy

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
  • Joined 27-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Integrate kb888111 then install windows and if you don't have any audio device in device manager then it's a hardware problem!


why do you integrate it to windows ???

imho its such better then all other methods if you extract the kb888111 package
and add to the oempnpdriverspath.

please add only commonfiles, the winxpsp2 directory which portcls.sys included is not needed when you have a sp2 disc.

first, its dont took extra space (file is in svcpack and extracted file(s) on root of the disc)
second, it must change some inf files.

so looks my oempnpdriverspath:

OemPnPDriversPath="DRIVERS\CPU;DRIVERS\SMBUS;DRIVERS\NVATA;DRIVERS\NVRAID;DRIVERS\ETHERNET;
DRIVERS\HDAUDIO;DRIVERS\HDAUDIO\SOURCE;DRIVERS\DISPLAY;DRIVERS\CAM;DRIVERS\VIDEO"

in /drivers/hdaudio is the kb888111 extracted package and in source are the needed hdaudio drivers.

this is the best way to add hdaudio device drivers !!! :thumbup

Edited by easy, 03 December 2007 - 02:56 PM.

Have a nice Patch-Day

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ___
MSI X79A-GD45 Plus | Intel Core i7 4930k | Corsair 12 GB DDR3 | MSI N560GTX TI | Corsair 120GB SSD | 2xSamsung 1000GB HDD


#19
Extravert

Extravert

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Joined 03-December 07
Just a personal remark, but could it be inherent at the problem of XP and HD audio chips?

Windows X64 recognize my AD1986a HD audio chip direct after the reboot after installing SP2. I've no problems at all, but:

1? Windows XP 32-bit should recognize much more devices than his 64-bit competetor. In my case, Windows X64 recognizes much more on my machine than 32-bit XP. Why?
2? Why is this fix not available on X64 versions? Don't they face the same problem or possibly not? I don't know. I guess!
3? Tried alternative drivers from the site of realtek himself or another FPP drivers?
4? Does anyone here have problems with the PCI to ISA bridge? This is an issue in Vista with much ASUS mainboards.

To figure out it is not a hardware related issue, download the trial Windows X64 version en if you still encounter problems; hardware related. Why? Because it should be working fine withoud hitches or whatever.

*Is searching:

Check this out. It is in Dutch, but use the link below

http://tweakers.net/...-audio-181.html

These drivers should be fine because all of these HD chips came from the same factory. Give it a try?

Never give up guys ;)

#20
Extravert

Extravert

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Joined 03-December 07

New Ver:R1.28 Check "History"!


12-21-05. That's the datum of the post of these drivers.

But most of these chips are from the same factory ?? I guess it right, or?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users