Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to install Vista 5270 on VMW

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
31 replies to this topic

#1
shanssv

shanssv

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 21-August 04
hi,

I have allocated 15 gb for vista on vmware before installing . during the screen select partition it wont format my hard disk and the "next" option is also disabled. Could anyone help me ?.please

Thanks
Shan :(


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Mr Snrub

Mr Snrub

    Former MSFT

  • Super Moderator
  • 765 posts
  • Joined 14-September 04
Vista betas won't install to "raw" disk partitions just yet.
What you should do is format the partition as NTFS then restart the VM and installation will go through.

VMWare have this documented here:
http://www.vmware.co...s_winvista.html

This is the relevant bit:

Installing the Guest Operating System
1. Insert the Windows Vista CD in the CD-ROM drive.

2. Power on the virtual machine to start installing Windows Vista.

3. If using a blank hard disk: When the Windows Vista installer menu appears, choose the first option, Install Now.

If installing over an existing guest operating system: Skip to step 9.

4. Press Shift-F10 to open a command prompt.

5. Start the disk partitioning utility.

diskpart

6. Enter the following commands to partition the hard disk:

select disk 0
create partition primary

7. When the partitioning process is complete, click the Reset button to reboot the virtual machine.

8. As the virtual machine begins to reboot, while the VMware logo appears on the screen, click inside the virtual machine window, then press Esc to get to the BIOS boot menu. Choose CD-ROM Drive as the boot device, then continue installing Windows Vista beta.

9. In certain Windows Vista builds, the installer chooses an incorrect default in the screen titled Choose your installation destination. It shows a partition with 0 MB free and makes that partition the default destination.

At that screen, you must change the choice to the disk (instead of the partition), then click Continue.

10. Follow the remaining installation steps as you would for a physical machine.


My TechNet Blog
I have CDO. It's like OCD except the letters are in alphabetical order, as they should be.


#3
shanssv

shanssv

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 21-August 04
hi,

thanx man ,i installed it .but it shows only in 4 bit color .my graphics card is geforce 5600. i downloaded the beta drivers from nvidia but it is not installing why ?

please could anyone help me?

Thanx
Shan

#4
Mr Snrub

Mr Snrub

    Former MSFT

  • Super Moderator
  • 765 posts
  • Joined 14-September 04
VMWare provides a virtual set of hardware for the guest OS - any physical hardware in the host is (for the most part) irrelevant.

What you need to do is install the VMWare Tools, this installs drivers for the virtual hardware to allow higher resolution & colour depth graphics - but you will not get Aero Glass enabled as the virtual hardware does not provide the necessary support.

When you install VMWare Tools in the virtual machine, make sure to check Windows Defender and apply the changes it wants to make to the registry before you restart.

On restarting you should have better graphics support, the mouse is no longer captured, but you most likely won't get audio without some messing around with drivers for the emulated hardware (unless VMWare update their Tools).

My TechNet Blog
I have CDO. It's like OCD except the letters are in alphabetical order, as they should be.


#5
Mr Snrub

Mr Snrub

    Former MSFT

  • Super Moderator
  • 765 posts
  • Joined 14-September 04
Step-by-step guide to what you should do:

1. Start the Vista installation process, after clicking Install, once the "Starting Installation..." message appears, hit SHIFT-F10 to bring up a command prompt:
Posted Image

2. Enter the commands:
DISKPART
SELECT DISK 0
CREATE PARTITION PRIMARY
EXIT
EXIT


3. Reset the virtual machine, hit F2 to enter the virtual machine BIOS and change the boot sequence as follows:
Posted Image

4. Restart the Vista installation process (go through as normal now, disk 0 partition 1)

5. After installation, Vista will have the following in Device Manager:
Posted Image

6. Install VMWare Tools, and during installation you will get a Windows Defender balloon pop-up to say some system changes need confirming, click Apply:
Posted Image

7. Restart Vista when prompted and your graphics should now be better, and looking in Device Manager you should have:
Posted Image

My TechNet Blog
I have CDO. It's like OCD except the letters are in alphabetical order, as they should be.


#6
fizban2

fizban2

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,895 posts
  • Joined 14-April 05
So Mr Snrub, is that acutally build 5286 or 5270 :). Just curious...

#7
shanssv

shanssv

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 21-August 04
hi,

is it possible to copy files from vmware workstation to my PC?

Thanx
Shan

#8
Mr Snrub

Mr Snrub

    Former MSFT

  • Super Moderator
  • 765 posts
  • Joined 14-September 04

is it possible to copy files from vmware workstation to my PC?

Yes, this is done by adding a shared folder.

With the VM running, right-click on the tab with the name and click Settings, then go to the Options tab.
Select Shared Folders on the left, then click on the Add button on the right to start the wizard.
Give the share a name, specify the location and read/write settings required, then click OK.

From within the VM now you can access the shared folders by running "\\.host\Shared Folders".

If you click on the VMWare Tools icon in the system tray in the VM you can see the "Shared Folders" tab with the brief help.


@fizban2: Yes, this is 5286 but for all intents and purposes the process is identical to 5270 I believe

My TechNet Blog
I have CDO. It's like OCD except the letters are in alphabetical order, as they should be.


#9
fizban2

fizban2

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,895 posts
  • Joined 14-April 05

hi,

is it possible to copy files from vmware workstation to my PC?


Once you install Vmware tools, you will also have the ability to drag and drop files into the VM, from the Vm just drag the files to your desktop and they will be copied there. This also works to move files into the VM

#10
shanssv

shanssv

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • Joined 21-August 04
hi,

thanks for the help . is there is anyway to bring the glass effect in VMW?

Thanx
Shan

#11
fizban2

fizban2

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,895 posts
  • Joined 14-April 05
unfortuantly no, not unless you can get your VM to recogonize your Video card, which i do not believe is possible since it uses a generic SVGA driver to show video, you would be better off either either dual booting your machine or get another HD you can use for testing

#12
Toontje

Toontje
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 09-January 06
I try to follow the intructions, but after:
DISKPART
SELECT DISK 0
CREATE PARTITION PRIMARY

I get the following message:

DiskPart has referenced an object which is not up-to-date.
Refresh the object by using the RESCAN command.
If the problem persists exit DiskPart, then restart DiskPart or restart the computer.

I try to instal build 5270 in VMW v5.5.0 build-18463

Thanks in advance for any ideas or tips!

#13
fizban2

fizban2

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,895 posts
  • Joined 14-April 05
restart the vm and follow the instructions to the same point again, if you get the same error, then try the command
C:\>Diskpart
diskpart> Rescan
diskpart> select disk 0
diskpart> create partition primary

that should get it, if not your VM isn't registering the VHD that you added, did you add a SCSI or IDE HD to the VM?

Edited by fizban2, 09 January 2006 - 02:14 PM.


#14
InViSibLe Gr

InViSibLe Gr

    huh?

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Joined 01-January 06
I have created the partition as you say and it was created ok
then i restarted the vmware and i added in the vmware bios
cd as first boot device but when i continue i receive an error
after the two screens that asks for cd key and computer name

EDIT

i solved this one by my self
thanks for ignoring me :)


Edited by InViSibLe Gr, 10 March 2006 - 06:23 PM.


#15
InViSibLe Gr

InViSibLe Gr

    huh?

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Joined 01-January 06
btw what vmware tools do i use if it works?

the xp tools or the longhorn tools?

or some other windows tools?

and a second q:

can i copy text from my pc and paste it on vmware and if i can how?

EDIT

i solve this one too


Edited by InViSibLe Gr, 10 March 2006 - 06:24 PM.


#16
Surfman19

Surfman19
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 12-March 06
i got the following message when i tried to install vista build 5308:
Setup was unable to locate a locally attached hard drive suitable for holding temporary Setup files.

what can i do now??? hmm....

i allocated 10GB for vista on vmware!
VMWARE 5.5.1 build-19175

Edited by Surfman19, 12 March 2006 - 06:18 PM.


#17
InViSibLe Gr

InViSibLe Gr

    huh?

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Joined 01-January 06

i got the following message when i tried to install vista build 5308:
Setup was unable to locate a locally attached hard drive suitable for holding temporary Setup files.

what can i do now??? hmm....

i allocated 10GB for vista on vmware!
VMWARE 5.5.1 build-19175

chabge the hd from 10 to 16GB and you will be ok

#18
Surfman19

Surfman19
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 12-March 06
ok, can i see transparent window and the 3d desktop with vmware and vista?

cu

#19
fizban2

fizban2

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,895 posts
  • Joined 14-April 05
no you won't be able to, lack of directx support in VMs...

#20
Javier Soto

Javier Soto
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 05-April 06
This is what appears here when I try to install it on Vmware :S (Vista 5432)
Posted Image

#21
Javier Soto

Javier Soto
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 05-April 06
Okay, I found the problem. My system has only 512MB of RAM, thus VMware will use 256 for Vista, and that's not enough... So I think I'll make a partition and install it there.
I have Windows Media Center Edition 2005 SP2, if I install Vista (5342) on a different partition, will I be able to boot both OSs?

Thanks in advance.

#22
fizban2

fizban2

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,895 posts
  • Joined 14-April 05
you will be able to boot both os's, but on your boot partition (the WMCE one) the bootloader will change to the vista one, at that point you will have to erase the partition and switch the bootloader off to use the boot.ini files instead so that you won't get prompted everytime to choose what OS you want (after unistall vista)

#23
Javier Soto

Javier Soto
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 05-April 06
Then it's imposible to have both OS in the same boot? so I can choose whenever I want to use Vista or WMC?

Thanks for your help.

#24
TT^4ever

TT^4ever
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 23-May 06
Whats the version of the VMware can lanch the Vista 5381?thank you.
And please give the download link? Thank you.
:)

#25
5eraph

5eraph

    Update Packrat

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,334 posts
  • Joined 04-July 05

Vista betas won't install to "raw" disk partitions just yet.

..

This is the relevant bit:

Installing the Guest Operating System
1. Insert the Windows Vista CD in the CD-ROM drive.

2. Power on the virtual machine to start installing Windows Vista.

3. If using a blank hard disk: When the Windows Vista installer menu appears, choose the first option, Install Now.

If installing over an existing guest operating system: Skip to step 9.

4. Press Shift-F10 to open a command prompt.

5. Start the disk partitioning utility.

diskpart

6. Enter the following commands to partition the hard disk:

select disk 0
create partition primary

7. When the partitioning process is complete, click the Reset button to reboot the virtual machine.

..

Thank you, Mr Snrub, for that insightful information.

I was having difficulty installing Beta 2 x64 (build 5384.4) on an nForce3 system that previously had XP x86 installed on a RAID 0 volume. I broke down the RAID to install Vista, but setup kept reporting that it couldn't retrieve my drive information and returning to the main screen.

I followed your directions and entered the following commands under DiskPart:

select disk 0
clean
create partition primary
select disk 1
clean
create partition primary
It worked perfectly. Thanks again!:D