Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

[Question] - Known Microsoft Volume Labels

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1
MrChris

MrChris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Joined 15-October 04
Where can I find a list of known Microsoft Volume Labels for the Media?

Many thanks,

MrChris


Title Edited - Please follow new posting rules from now on.
--Zxian



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Claymore1746

Claymore1746

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 05-November 05
Do you mean like these CD Codes for Windows XP?

Windows XP Professional x64 Edition Retail
ARMPXFPP_EN

Windows XP Professional x64 Edition Upgrade
ARMPXCCP_EN

Windows XP Professional x64 Edition OEM
ARMPXOEM_EN

Windows XP Professional x64 Edition VLK/Corporate/Volume
ARMPXVOL_EN

Windows XP Professional (SP2) Reinstallation CD
from Dell (pn:om150)
XP2_PRO_ENG

Windows XP Home (SP2) Reinstallation CD
from Dell (pn:7K404)
XP2_PER_ENG

Windows XP Professional (SP2) Retail
VRMPFPP_EN

Windows XP Home (SP2) Retail
VRMHFPP_EN

Windows XP Professional (SP2) Upgrade
VRMPCCP_EN

Windows XP Home (SP2) Upgrade
VRMHCCP_EN

Windows XP Professional (SP2) OEM
VRMPOEM_EN

Windows XP Home (SP2) OEM
VRMHOEM_EN

Windows XP Professional (SP2) VLK/Corporate/Volume
VRMPVOL_EN

Windows XP Home (SP2) VLK/Corporate/Volume
VRMHVOL_EN

Windows XP Professional SP2) MSDN
VRMPFPP_EN

#3
phatcat42141

phatcat42141

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Joined 08-December 05
You used to get every label here -- http://www.tacktech.com/ -- but I noticed that thier site is down for the moment.

#4
MrChris

MrChris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Joined 15-October 04

Do you mean like these CD Codes for Windows XP?



Thanks. Allthough I did kinda need those but really I was looking if there was a complete list out there. As at the moment I am looking for Visual Studio 2005 Professinal ENG.

Thanks,

MrChris

#5
phatcat42141

phatcat42141

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Joined 08-December 05

Do you mean like these CD Codes for Windows XP?



Thanks. Allthough I did kinda need those but really I was looking if there was a complete list out there. As at the moment I am looking for Visual Studio 2005 Professinal ENG.

Thanks,

MrChris


Do you have the "Multiple CD" versions or the "DVD" (that is if it comes in DVD format). If you have the Mutpile CD version then how many CD's are there in all? Plus you can use a program like "ISOBuster" to read the labels you already have on the iso or cd.

#6
MrChris

MrChris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Joined 15-October 04
I have the multiple CD version. I only downloaded the 2 CD's from Microsoft, I did not download the MSDN bundle, allthough I can if need be. I do not have access to the DVD version.

The thing is. I have created the ISOs for both CD's but when I start the install about 10mins into it it asks me for "Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 ENU - Disk 1" but it does not take. I think but am not sure it may have to do with the volume lable.

I downloaded these from Microsoft via This link (login required).

Thanks,

MrChris

Edited by MrChris, 29 December 2005 - 12:23 AM.


#7
phatcat42141

phatcat42141

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Joined 08-December 05

I have the multiple CD version. I only downloaded the 2 CD's from Microsoft, I did not download the MSDN bundle, allthough I can if need be. I do not have access to the DVD version.

The thing is. I have created the ISOs for both CD's but when I start the install about 10mins into it it asks me for "Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 ENU - Disk 1" but it does not take. I think but am not sure it may have to do with the volume lable.

I downloaded these from Microsoft via This link (login required).

Thanks,

MrChris


If you downloaded them from the Microsoft site what format were they in? ISO - bin/cue - ???
With the ISOBuster you can look at the files like ISO or bin/cue and get the Volume Label. Like for an ISO of WinXP PRO it would show something like "WXPVOL_EN" windos media center would show something like this "NR1PFRE_EN" So I would say that the image file you downloaded from Microsoft woulld show this type label in ISOBuster also

#8
MrChris

MrChris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Joined 15-October 04
There where not ISO's or BIN files. They where Self Extracting WinZip files.

#9
phatcat42141

phatcat42141

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Joined 08-December 05

There where not ISO's or BIN files. They where Self Extracting WinZip files.

Oh ok lol sorry bout that. I am still searching for a Volume Label list for you.
Now I have a DVD of the "Visual Studio .NET Enterprise 2003" and its Volume Label is "VSENARD1" So if I had a set of cd's they would be like "VSENARD1, VSENARD2, VSENARD3, VSENARD4, VSENARD5" and so forth. Let me ask my friend if he has the 2005 version (He always has the new stuff) lol

Edited by phatcat42141, 29 December 2005 - 01:12 AM.


#10
MrChris

MrChris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Joined 15-October 04
Iv been diggin and diggin but no luck.

Thanks,

MrChris

#11
phatcat42141

phatcat42141

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Joined 08-December 05
Apearntly the labels are the same for ""Visual Studio .NET Enterprise 2003" and for ""Visual Studio .NET Enterprise 2005". Now I did find this page for the Express Version -- http://msdn.microsof...upport/install/

It tells how to burn it to cd. But it also has the .img and .iso formats.

Ok my friend says the first 2 disc should be named cd1 "VSENARD1" and cd2"VSENARD2".
I hope this works for you.

Edited by phatcat42141, 29 December 2005 - 01:54 AM.


#12
MrChris

MrChris

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Joined 15-October 04
I have tried the sugested volume ables and that dit not work. It keeps asking me fofr the frist CD int the middle of the first CD Install @ file MSHTML.DLL @ CD1?????? So those CD Volumes did not work? Any other ideas?

Many thanks for help

MrChris