Wanted: Solution to removing IE core

Indie

Hi,

I'm looking for some hints on how I can remove IE core (security risk, right?) but still be able to play games with Steam. The thing is that when I join a server in Counter-Strike: Source the game gets minimized and several Open With prompts pops up (I ues Opera if that'll help).

So if you guys have anything at all that could help me, please let me know. :)

BTW someone named I_Broke_My_MHZ wrote this a few months ago in a similar thread:

Try loading a web page just using explorer. You will get a prompt just like you got one in these programs.

Then I got the idea, maybe if you kill explorer.exe before starting CS:S maybe then the Web Open prompts would disappear. What do you guys think, is it worth a try?

/Jacob

Edited by Indie

I think (though I'm by no means an expert) that you'd have to integrate whatever alternative web browser you use with the functions in the OS that IE normally handles. For instance, when I try to install PSP X with IE Core taken out, Firefox will open with an error message saying that it doesn't recognise a certain something, so can't open it (don't remember exactly what). If I close Firefox, only a white screen will be left in the installer...

Another example of different behaviour is PerfectDisk's welcome screen. With the IE Core taken out and using Firefox, a new window will pop up with the welcome screen in it (one that requires WMP codecs to be installed, though I don't -see- a difference if they aren't, but you get an error message) instead of it appearing embedded in PerfectDisk.

• 4 months later...

I don't run steam, there is a steam-free version.

Deleted Edition is a registered trademark of Monohouse©.

Deleted Edition is based on a new del *.* technology originally developed by bold_fortune® and now adopted with new improvements by Monohouse©, all deletion rights granted.