Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Is the Ctfmon.exe process really needed?

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

Poll: Is the Ctfmon.exe process really needed? (25 member(s) have cast votes)

Do have use for the Ctfmon.exe process to run in the background and steal memory?

  1. Yes (3 votes [13.64%])

    Percentage of vote: 13.64%

  2. No, never (13 votes [59.09%])

    Percentage of vote: 59.09%

  3. Rarely (3 votes [13.64%])

    Percentage of vote: 13.64%

  4. No idea (3 votes [13.64%])

    Percentage of vote: 13.64%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1
BoardBabe

BoardBabe

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,415 posts
  • Joined 04-October 04
What Is the Ctfmon.exe File?
Ctfmon.exe activates the Alternative User Input Text Input Processor (TIP) and the Microsoft Office Language Bar.

What Does the Ctfmon.exe File Do?
Ctfmon.exe monitors the active windows and provides text input service support for speech recognition, handwriting recognition, keyboard, translation, and other alternative user input technologies.

more information here...

Ctfmon.exe - it's an ever annoying helper tool that comes rather unexpectedly at times and liked by nearly nobody. (...) Unless you're using anything in that list above you'll want to stop this file from loading!

Can I Remove the Ctfmon.exe Process from running in the background?
Yes, with the following reg entry, CTFMON is prevent from ever starting up. More information in above link.

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
"ctfmon.exe"=-
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\CTF]
"Disable Thread Input Manager"=dword:00000001
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\CTF\MSUTB]
"ShowDeskBand"=dword:00000000

Edited by BoardBabe, 11 January 2006 - 01:45 AM.

BoardBabe


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Patrons
  • 11,030 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
Actually, if you've got Office in a terminal server environment, unless you're using multiple languages and actually need it, it can be a HUGE performance penalty. Just an FYI - we actually recommend removing the components completely in a TS environment if they aren't used, as they can cause issues in certain configurations (albeit rare, it does happen).

Edited by cluberti, 11 January 2006 - 09:17 PM.

MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#3
LLXX

LLXX

    MSFN Junkie

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,353 posts
  • Joined 04-December 05
I deleted the file on my installation. Never had any problems with that. It never comes back :)

#4
BoardBabe

BoardBabe

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,415 posts
  • Joined 04-October 04
I must confess I only used the regtweak above, and not actually removing the file from my admin install source, would you recommend removing the file from source/post-install, even when it is disabled?
BoardBabe

#5
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Patrons
  • 11,030 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
No, I wouldn't suggest it, but I have done it without issue. As long as the ctfmon.exe components aren't being installed (http://support.micro...om/?kbid=282599), I doubt it matters.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#6
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,613 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05

Sorry for the "bump", but I got curious about CTFMON running.

 

According to this -

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/827323

...the value for "ShowDeskBand" should be "1"

 

I did what the first post link said to do, then what the above link said to do, AND "removed" the HKCU "RUN" entry for it (you can "move" it to "RUN-" using e.g. CCleaner).

 

In addition, apparently the first post used the following instructions -

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/823586

...which contradicts what my first link proposes.

 

Confusing? Yes!

 

I hate it when "extra stuff" runs for no apparent useful reason.

 

edit - FYI - "Best Paractices for Server 2003 Terminal Server"

http://blogs.technet...nal-server.aspx


Edited by submix8c, 17 December 2013 - 03:17 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#7
GrofLuigi

GrofLuigi

    GroupPolicy Tattoo Artist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,365 posts
  • Joined 21-April 05

I think this entry changes state when the "bar" or "band" is dragged from the taskbar... As far as I know the LangBar can have three states: a bar on the taskbar (like quicklaunch), a compact bar (with only the button/icon with the language code), or a floating window. I think this entry is irrelevant when the LangBar is already turned off through the other entries.

 

It should be determined what Microsoft means by the terms toolbar band, desktop band or floating window... I guess there might be some inconsistencies, like in other things Microsoft. :)

 

In any case, I want neither, so it's 0 for me, and I never saw a ctfmon. :)

 

GL

 



#8
Acheron

Acheron

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 973 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
I use the following registry tweaks to prevent the CTFMON.exe process from running.
 
;Disable Advanded Text Services (Language bar)
HKCU,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\CTF","Disable Thread Input Manager",0x10001,1
HKCU,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\CTF\LangBar","DontShowCloseLangBarDlg",0x10001,1
HKCU,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\CTF\LangBar","ExtraIconsOnMinimized",0x10001,0
HKCU,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\CTF\LangBar","ShowStatus",0x10001,3
HKCU,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\CTF\MSUTB","ShowDeskBand",0x10001,0
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\CTF\SystemShared","CUAS",0x10001,0

You don't need the language bar to switch between keyboard layouts. Simply pressing ALT + SHIFT still works with these reg tweaks applied.

Edited by Acheron, 01 March 2014 - 08:18 AM.

Say no to bloatware. Download Nero Lite!