Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

What Not To Remove For Some Programs

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
192 replies to this topic

#151
OuTmAn

OuTmAn

    \ ( ^_^) /

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Joined 11-October 04
made several nLited iso, installed them in Virtual PC... but in many, VirtualMachine Additions don't want to install (MSI launches install but does a rollback before the end)...

I already figured that "file and printer sharing" network component is needed in order to execute setup up to the end.

However, in some cases, after install and a reboot, mouse integration doesn't work, shared folders aren't available, etc. and also cannot uninstall (same problem: try but rollback)!

some iso are working, but they are very very few nLited (ie. remove 2-3 components and no tweak at all)

I know, should do (many) bunch testing try-and-see; but to be honest I'm too tired, I'm busy of nLiting, breaks too many things, not enough infos of "this component is used by X and Y", no real dependencies management... and each test takes a LOT of time espacially on my turtle computer

so I drop, before I become crazy :P


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#152
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Joined 23-March 06
What windows is that? Details folks. Chuck Norris doesnt work here xD

#153
OuTmAn

OuTmAn

    \ ( ^_^) /

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Joined 11-October 04
Windows XP Pro SP3 - Corporate - English

SP3 directly integrated on SP0 (vanilla) source, then latest RyanVM UpdatePack, then WMP11+hotfixes using WMP11 Slipstreamer, then IE7 addon by OnePiece, using RyanVM/Siginet Integrator

Even on a very little nLited source, Additions can install, but if try to uninstall them, uninstall process fails, however after reboot no mouse integration, shared folders etc. and need to do some heavy registry deletions in order to be able to reinstall Additions and make it working again.

As I said, I'm very very busy of that breaking events... on my working source, I will simply try to remove some components that annoy me, like firewall/ALG, QoS, etc. and see if they're needed for Additions. It can also simply be network tweaks... absolutely no idea as of now...

could try some process/file access monitor on an unmodified source, or step-after-step image comparison... but I'm tired of it and simply don't have time :rolleyes: (work+studies...)

#154
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Joined 23-March 06
How do you expect that to help with nlite development that you fail to make a proper windows install cd? If you could come up with a detailed problem then that's good.

#155
visegrip

visegrip

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 19-October 08
I'm new to this forum, have just skimmed through the first 8 pages of this thread and done a few searches on the terms "HID" and "Human Interface Device" and not found an answer. Sorry if I have overlooked it.
In line with this thread's title, what shouldn't be removed during an nlite modification to maintain HID module functionality?
I am running XP with SP3 slipstreamed using nlite.
I apparently removed a component necessary for the HID service. I don't recall seeing it listed in the nlite "Remove components" window.
I just purchased a UPS with a third-party monitoring software that requires this service in order to work. I would like to run the monitoring service software because I live in an area with very unstable electrical transmission and have had an expensive power supply and monitor toasted previously.
Does anyone have information on which other components are necessary for the Human Interface Device service module to be installed and run properly?
If this has been addressed previously, a link would be nice.

#156
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Joined 23-March 06
Briefly looking into hid service, it does point to winsta.dll. I remember having the same issue that you have here but i dont recall what was needed to not remove for it to work.

#157
visegrip

visegrip

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 19-October 08
TranceEnergy,
Thanks for your reply, if you can remember or come up anything on this service and what needs to be kept using nlite for it to be maintained that would be fantastic. I will keep monitoring this thread. :)

#158
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Joined 23-March 06
A last session preset or such would help. Naturally you should stay clear of removing anything USB related to keep HID service working perfectly. Im not sure, but the first thing that popped into my head was terminal services, but that may be totally unrelated. As i said, i can't remember exactly, and my memory can't be forced =( As far as removal of components goes, if things will work or not, is always a question of what hardware the computer has. As a thumb rule, older devices needs things like those under "hardware support", newer devices most likely doesnt. And that again, is of course also dependent on the version of the driver of the hardware.

#159
Maxfutur

Maxfutur

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Joined 05-June 05

I just purchased a UPS with a third-party monitoring software that requires this service in order to work. I would like to run the monitoring service software because I live in an area with very unstable electrical transmission and have had an expensive power supply and monitor toasted previously.
Does anyone have information on which other components are necessary for the Human Interface Device service module to be installed and run properly?


Maybe (i used translation.txt file to get this) Battery:
S323="Battery"
S324="Microsoft ACPI-Compliant Control Method Battery, HID UPS Battery Driver. Don't remove if you use this installation on a laptop/notebook."

Be carefull because UPS are not (all) power protection enabled, i own a stabilizer (kind of) where the V should stay 110V-120V but it always goes up to 134V.

Have fun! :thumbup
Mozilla Firefox http://www.getfirefox.com the best web browser i've used.

#160
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Joined 23-March 06
Here is a wild guess :

Since i dont have a UPS myself, i dont know, but SURELY some UPS must come with some kind of software for monitoring its condition etc?

This would be very interesting to hear from if anyone has such software. Because the current UPS driver, at least for xp, even x64 in my case, is getting very old nowadays.
What i am getting is that how UPS works and such quite possibly works not according to windows services themselves.

#161
fgaine

fgaine

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 25 posts
  • Joined 07-July 08

Bootvis
Required: Task Scheduler
Error: Bootvis won't start on next boot without Task Scheduler.


this is not true...


Can you please develop? Because I've tried 3 or 4 times to optimize my booting time with bootvis but it doesn't want to do it_ it needs the Windows defragmenter which apparently needs the task scheduler to work. i've tried defragging with a third party app then run the optimization again. But it still doesn't work. if you know a way of making bootvis without task scheduler, you are welcome to explain: I can't find the task scheduler in TinyXP09 and I suspect it's been removed.
Advent 9515 Amd Turion 64 2ghz; 2gb RAM; 320Gb HDD; XP Pro SP3
Acer aspire One Intel Atom N270 1.6ghz; 1.5Gb RAM; 8gb SSD; TinyXP Rev09 Pro SP3

#162
visegrip

visegrip

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 19-October 08

Since i dont have a UPS myself, i dont know, but SURELY some UPS must come with some kind of software for monitoring its condition etc?

This would be very interesting to hear from if anyone has such software. Because the current UPS driver, at least for xp, even x64 in my case, is getting very old nowadays.


Exactly.
The UPS I have comes with monitoring software bundled. The software is call "PowView".
I can post a screenshot of its display from the user manual if you want.
The UPS can be connected to the PC with either a USB or LAN cable to use PowView monitoring.

#163
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Joined 23-March 06
Concerning UPS, i was wondering if the windows UPS service was actually needed. I'll try to see if i can get hold of that software. Any pictures or such wont help much unfortunately.

#164
visegrip

visegrip

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 19-October 08

Concerning UPS, i was wondering if the windows UPS service was actually needed.

I have previously installed PowView and connected the UPS to my PC using the provided USB cable. The software seemed to install properly and the PowView UI window opens but I didn't get any info from the UPS, so it seemed like it does need the HID service enabled and running in order to function properly and provide real-time monitoring of power.

#165
romanian

romanian

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 16-November 08
Ultravnc service needs Terminal Service to properly work per my experience.

Although ultravnc will install if terminal services is disabled upon reboot the server component won;t properly load. Upon activation of terminal services after a reboot the service load properly.

#166
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Joined 23-March 06

Ultravnc service needs Terminal Service to properly work per my experience.

Although ultravnc will install if terminal services is disabled upon reboot the server component won;t properly load. Upon activation of terminal services after a reboot the service load properly.



Have you tried to see if u can just remove the dependency?

#167
DiO

DiO

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 20-September 05
:hello: Hello everybody and a Happy New Year! :thumbup

Does anybody know what not to remove for Deep Freeze?

Thank you in advance.

#168
XP_NO

XP_NO

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 67 posts
  • Joined 14-December 08
The dutch tax program 2008 (belastingaangifte 2008) does need help&support installed. Without it will give an error and exit.

#169
CH_

CH_
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 13-January 09
Jumptrack 3.0 (http://www.l-and-b.dk/software.htm) needs Jet Database Engine.
Without it it is not possible to create or open a database (which are in Access 2000 format).

#170
OuTmAn

OuTmAn

    \ ( ^_^) /

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Joined 11-October 04
Hi,

for my wireless connection, if I want to make Windows "repair" it, I need these services :

connection manager : works if set to "manual", however it is always started as soon as network is running so I personally set it to "automatic"

cryptographic services : I just discovered about this one today. If it is not running, Windows cannot even disable the adapter. If set to "manual" but is not running, Windows don't start it so it fails. I used to set it to "manual", however I remember I always seen this service running. Should be started by Windows at boot. Now will set this one to "automatic"

network location awareness (NLA) : the same as cryptographic service except it is not adapter disabling that fails, but the the IP acquisition step. repair process hangs.

DHCP client : again the same except it is final registration step that fails. displays a message box "failed at DNS register". and DNS client nearly the same, it fails just before, at releasing the previous DNS set.

as you can see, crypto, NLA, DNS and DHCP are called at different steps of the repair process. I think these services might be crucial for wired connections too. Also, I've already constated removing too many network-related components can lead to serious issues, like impossibility to accept incoming connection requests (server-oriented apps).

about my config : manually set adresses, no DHCP server on the network, do not use the Windows wireless assistant, no WEP or WPA

regards

Edited by OuTmAn, 19 January 2009 - 11:15 AM.


#171
Eliasrd

Eliasrd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 26-October 07
what i need to leave so i will have conection to the internet with Router throw Ethernet cable ??
i tryed not to delete so much this but i allways delete something and i dont have connection :(

#172
OuTmAn

OuTmAn

    \ ( ^_^) /

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Joined 11-October 04
to begin, try if working with non-nLited install

some advices:

cmd run "ipconfig /a", look at results
(is your interface up and assigned with correct addresses?)

ping 127.0.0.1 (localhost)
ping hosts of local network
ping known internet IP like 208.67.222.222 (this one is OpenDNS server)

Edited by OuTmAn, 24 January 2009 - 09:42 AM.


#173
videobruce

videobruce

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Joined 09-August 06
Langage Bar; If you check to remove, apparently it disables the Quick Lanch. Anyone confirm this?

When not in use, turn off the juice.

Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill.


#174
OuTmAn

OuTmAn

    \ ( ^_^) /

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Joined 11-October 04
in my installs I always remove the language bar, and the quicklaunch isn't show by default. but I don't know if this is related to the language bar removal.

#175
videobruce

videobruce

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Joined 09-August 06
It isn't shown either way. The issue is it can't be enabled!

When not in use, turn off the juice.

Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill.