Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Adobe Photoshop CS2 Lite Version

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
23 replies to this topic

#1
Manju

Manju

    MSMG

  • Member
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 19-August 05
Hi, Well this is my first posting on msfn.

I would like describe u all how to make a Adobe Photoshop CS2 Lite Version, i.e, No Adobe Bridge, Adobe Stock Photography and Adobe Help Center.

-> Copy the contents of the photoshop CS2 to folder (Say C:\PS9).
-> Make an administrative Installation of the photoshop
-> fire a cmd prompt & type msiexec /a "adobe photoshop CS2.msi"
-> follow the onscreen instructions and choose the network directory as C:\PS9Lite or something you wish)
-> The setup will install the necessary files.
-> Now Copy the Adobe Common Files folder to the C:\PS9Lite folder.
-> From PS9Lite run the adobe photoshop CS2.msi or whatever msi file exist there.
-> the installation will give an error as cannot copy the file photoshop.cer, just ignore it, no problem. (in the msi file the path to the photoshop.cer there is a space included, u have to remove it in order to avoid the above error)
-> after the setup is complete, fire up the photoshop cs2 shortcut from the startmenu.
-> you will notice that no helpcenter, bridge, stock photography will be installed.

hope this method will workout for many.

Manju

Edited by Manju, 13 January 2007 - 11:48 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
harunaksoy

harunaksoy

    LazXpert

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Joined 15-January 04
wow great first post, this looks very interesting :) I'll try this soon.

#3
Keyser Soze

Keyser Soze

    Just another forum member

  • Member
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 07-April 04
Good work - keep it going. And post more simple instructions please. But like I say - keep it going. ;)

#4
slimzky

slimzky

    Self-Taught Geek

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Joined 09-February 05

Hi, Well this is my first posting on msfn.

I would like describe u all how to make a Adobe Photoshop CS2 Lite Version, i.e, No Adobe Bridge, Adobe Stock Photography and Adobe Help Center.

-> Copy the contents of the photoshop CS2 to folder (Say C:\PS9).
-> Make an administrative Installation of the photoshop
-> fire a cmd prompt & type msiexec /a adobe photoshop CS2.msi
-> follow the onscreen instructions and choose the network directory as C:\PS9Lite or something you wish)
-> The setup will install the necessary files.
-> Now Copy the Adobe Common Files folder to the C:\PS9Lite folder.
-> From PS9Lite run the adobe photoshop CS2.msi or whatever msi file exist there.
-> the installation will give an error as cannot copy the file photoshop.cer, just ignore it, no problem.
-> after the setup is complete, fire up the photoshop cs2 shortcut from the startmenu.
-> you will notice that no helpcenter, bridge, stock photography will be installed.

now, i would try to install photoshop without imageready and post it on my next post.

hope this method will workout for many.

Manju


i am dreaming of photoshop being portable :whistle: that will own B)
Posted Image

#5
bledd

bledd

    msfn is a friend of mine!

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,718 posts
  • Joined 24-March 04
you can get portable pshop!

#6
pawan

pawan

    The One

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 21-February 05
You joined the group in August 2005, and posting now.

Anyway thanks,

Your first post is great.

Pawan
Posted Image

#7
Hydrox

Hydrox

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 23-February 06
Wow I love to have one.
I tried as instructed a few times, but Ionly get this.... :cry:

Posted Image

#8
Manju

Manju

    MSMG

  • Member
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 19-August 05

Wow I love to have one.
I tried as instructed a few times, but Ionly get this.... :cry:

Posted Image


Well, u have to use the following syntax:
msiexec /a "adobe photoshop cs2.msi" from the original photoshop cs2 folder.
the above statement will make an administrative installation of photoshop only.

-
Manju

Edited by Manju, 13 January 2007 - 11:49 PM.


#9
Hydrox

Hydrox

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 23-February 06

msiexec /a adobe photoshop cs2.msi from the original photoshop cs2 folder

Tried that already, but when pressing OK nothing happens. But that won't stop me fo r trying again. thanks.

#10
Hydrox

Hydrox

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 23-February 06
ok.... I created C:\PS9. Copied the diskcontent to that folder.

hit cmd--> typed: msiexec /a Adobe Photoshop cs2.msi
Still the same message. When hit OK nothing happens.

msiexec /a C:\PS9\adobe photoshop cs2.msi gives the same message.

#11
Scubar

Scubar

    - Local Smartass -

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 802 posts
  • Joined 20-May 05
if ur using the cmd box and u have spaces in ur folder location u should enclose it in " eg

msiexec /a "C:\PS9\adobe photoshop cs2.msi"

hope that helps.

#12
Hydrox

Hydrox

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 23-February 06
That did it Scuba.. many thanks.

#13
Keyser Soze

Keyser Soze

    Just another forum member

  • Member
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 07-April 04
How is it possible to create an Adobe Photoshop CS2 Lite installation - yet still keep the Adobe Help Center?

#14
Manju

Manju

    MSMG

  • Member
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 19-August 05

How is it possible to create an Adobe Photoshop CS2 Lite installation - yet still keep the Adobe Help Center?


Hi
Just make an administrative installation of adobe helpcenter and and install it manually.
i think it will work, well i will try it and make sure it works

-
Manju

#15
slimzky

slimzky

    Self-Taught Geek

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Joined 09-February 05

you can get portable pshop!


how? havve u done it?
Posted Image

#16
JoaoVr

JoaoVr

    Portugal

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 60 posts
  • Joined 28-August 04

you can get portable pshop!


where?
JoaoVr ;)

#17
Manju

Manju

    MSMG

  • Member
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 19-August 05
just run the following command in the command prompt under the photoshopcs2 folder
msiexec /a helpcenter.msi and follow the instructions

or

just run the helpcenter.msi file under adobe photoshop cs2\help or \helpcenter
that will do the rest.

-
Manju

Edited by Manju, 13 January 2007 - 11:50 PM.


#18
slimzky

slimzky

    Self-Taught Geek

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Joined 09-February 05

just run the following command in the command prompt under the photoshopcs2 folder
msiexec /a helpcenter.msi and follow the instructions

or

just run the helpcenter.msi file under adobe photoshop cs2\help or \helpcenter
that will do the rest.

-
Manju


whats this for? for having a portable CS2 :wacko:
Posted Image

#19
Guest_komo_*

Guest_komo_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --
Gosh! I came to too late to this thread to make a lite version of Photoshop CS2. Anyway, is it possible that I manually uninstall Help Center, Bridge and Stock Photography? Will it render my Photoshop CS2 unusable? Thanks

#20
mitsukai

mitsukai

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Joined 07-January 07
can u be more descriptive what "adobe common folder"?

#21
Manju

Manju

    MSMG

  • Member
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 19-August 05

can u be more descriptive what "adobe common folder"?


Sorry for the late reply...
Inside the Photoshop setup folder there is a folder named "commonfilesinstaller"
copy this folder to the C:\PS9Lite folder specified in the above tutorial
as this folder is required for the adobe updater work properly.

soon will be releasing a batch file to automate the above tutorial.

#22
highv0ltage

highv0ltage

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 10-July 05
I've tried using the msiexec but all i get is an error that says,"The installation package could not be opened..." Any idea what this means? Thanks.

#23
Manju

Manju

    MSMG

  • Member
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 19-August 05

I've tried using the msiexec but all i get is an error that says,"The installation package could not be opened..." Any idea what this means? Thanks.


i think it is possible that part of your windows installation (the windows installer) is broken. try uninstalling the windows installer and then install with the newer version.

or u would have given a invalid pathname, try giving the correct pathname.

or the photoshop installation file would have got corrupted, replace with the correct copy of the installation file.

either one of this above might have happend, now try with the above tutorial.

Edited by Manju, 29 January 2008 - 12:18 AM.


#24
unbekannt15

unbekannt15

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 01-November 07
What's about Photoshop CS3? Will it also work?