Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Drivers Instalation in Post-Install stage (New Method)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
619 replies to this topic

#576
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
You shouldn't edit the inf files. Actually i think inf files shouldn't be touched at all as they may break things. I should fix this, as I'm pretty sure it's my fault :-)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#577
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Escorpiom please get the newest 2.0.0.27 and see if it works for you.

#578
Escorpiom

Escorpiom

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Escorpiom please get the newest 2.0.0.27 and see if it works for you.


Your updates are faster than I can test them :D
I'm already quite pleased with the program. At the moment I'm using a XP distribution share with integrated LAN and MS drivers.
From ROE a batch is run to map the network drive where all the drivers are. The program hardware installer and hardware.db are also on this network drive.
After the drive mapping, the program runs from ROE. Drivers are installed, program exits and the rest of the programs are installed from ROE.
I do not recreate the hardware database anymore in automatic mode. It takes too long.
If the some drivers are added /updated on the server, or the folder structure changes, I run the program from the server and manually create a new hardware.db.

This way, the whole installation process is completely unattended, while maintenance is easy (integrating hotfixes and some ap from svcpack)
I can easily go and do something else, after a while the system will be ready.

Agreed, editing inf files is not recommended. Hope it won't be necessary anymore with the new version.

I have another request. It is about the "copy driver" option in the XML file. When activating it, it will copy EVERY driver to the local disk specified.
It would be nice that ONLY the drivers needed for that system are copied, not all drivers. You can perhaps do this in combination with the search&match function.

Will test the new version asap and get back to you. Thanks again, nice work!

Cheers,
Escorpiom.

#579
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Escorpiom,

I do hope you know about map feature in the app itself right ?:-) But i guess you keep the program on share for easier maintenance with newer versions.

As for the copy feature it would be doable but it's not easy. I would need to realy get into .inf files and as you probably noticed my question on this board regarding backing up inf's i'm having a bit of problem with this :-)

#580
Escorpiom

Escorpiom

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Spot on.
I prefer not to copy stuff when it's not needed. It has do be deleted afterwards anyway. And yes, keeping it on the share is easier.
As far as the mapping, it's a neat future but I don't need it.

Today I tested the new version and although I could not verify the subsys issue, came across something else. It's a little difficult to explain, please ask me if you don't understand.
I have the inf from C-media audio driver. It contains a lot of device id's. Will attach the file here.
For some strange reason, the hardware database is limiting the amount of device id's added. Please note my hardware.db is about 10MB at the moment.
For example, VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_97611849 were referenced in the inf, but did not show in the hardware.db!
Only the first 53 lines from the 24D5 device were added, the rest was ignored.
You can see that the 8086 24D5 section has a lot more entries, I guess more then a hundred in total.
Because of this, the hardware was not installed. Error: Driver path not found in DB.

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_18841019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMICHX.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_18851019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMICHX.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_18861019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMICHX.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_006A&SUBSYS_0A171019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMNVDA.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_006A&SUBSYS_0A181019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMNVDA.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_006A&SUBSYS_0A191019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMNVDA.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,

As you can see, the last line referenced in hardware.db is "PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_18861019", after that the Nvidia section starts. But there are a lot more entries in the .inf file!

Either:
- The hardware.db is size-limited (10Mb?) and because of that the number of entries are cut-off
or
- Only a certain amount of entries per .inf file/device id is allowed/added to hardware.db

What could be the issue?

Cheers,
Escorpiom.

Attached Files



#581
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Spot on.
I prefer not to copy stuff when it's not needed. It has do be deleted afterwards anyway. And yes, keeping it on the share is easier.
As far as the mapping, it's a neat future but I don't need it.

Today I tested the new version and although I could not verify the subsys issue, came across something else. It's a little difficult to explain, please ask me if you don't understand.
I have the inf from C-media audio driver. It contains a lot of device id's. Will attach the file here.
For some strange reason, the hardware database is limiting the amount of device id's added. Please note my hardware.db is about 10MB at the moment.
For example, VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_97611849 were referenced in the inf, but did not show in the hardware.db!
Only the first 53 lines from the 24D5 device were added, the rest was ignored.
You can see that the 8086 24D5 section has a lot more entries, I guess more then a hundred in total.
Because of this, the hardware was not installed. Error: Driver path not found in DB.

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_18841019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMICHX.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_18851019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMICHX.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_18861019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMICHX.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_006A&SUBSYS_0A171019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMNVDA.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_006A&SUBSYS_0A181019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMNVDA.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_006A&SUBSYS_0A191019,\Sound\Cmedia\CMI_SIS_VIA_AC97\WDM\CMNVDA.INF,cmuda.cat,Unknown,

As you can see, the last line referenced in hardware.db is "PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_18861019", after that the Nvidia section starts. But there are a lot more entries in the .inf file!

Either:
- The hardware.db is size-limited (10Mb?) and because of that the number of entries are cut-off
or
- Only a certain amount of entries per .inf file/device id is allowed/added to hardware.db

What could be the issue?

Cheers,
Escorpiom.


Hello Escorpiom,

Indeed. You found a bug. The problem is AutoIt has a limit to how much data can be in a section in an ini(inf is special case of ini) file. IniReadSection will only read up to 32,767 chars. While the whole file has a lot more.
This means i have to rewrite the function that is responsible for reading up the file :-) Will do it later this week when I'll get some time.

Nice catch :-)

#582
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
So I was busy but this couldn't get out of my head. So here's a fixed one.

Version 2.0.0.28 (public)
- Fixed Drivers database creation for larger inf files. (recommended upgrade to newest version because of that);
Version 2.0.0.27 (public)
- Tweaked logging a bit
- Tweaked SEARCH & MATCH function
Version 2.0.0.26 (public)
- Tweaked hardware wizard a bit. There's no longer need to provide string with & char before the underlined char on button

Get newest version at: http://pro-solutions.pl

#583
Escorpiom

Escorpiom

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

So I was busy but this couldn't get out of my head. So here's a fixed one.


Cool! Darn lucky we are to have you here Madboy.
Ok, just did a quick check on the hardware.db and indeed, it seems all id's have been correctly added.
The file itself grew 1.4Mbyte, so you might guess there were some more entries missing....

Please allow me to test the new version, will report asap.

Cheers,
Escorpiom.

#584
Escorpiom

Escorpiom

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello again,

It has been a while, but I'm pleased to report complete success with the latest version of the program.
I did have some issues with multiple inf's and matching device id's, but that's on my side and was easy to resolve.
The hardware database works in alphabetical order. Sometimes an older driver was installed for a device while a newer driver was available.
Renaming of the folders was necessary, for example 01 and 02 in front of the names was OK to have the correct driver installed.

I believe there is nothing more to solve as it works fine now. Your support to the community is one of a kind Madboy.
If you have some spare time, you could take a look at updating the other (installed) drivers also.
At this moment, Windows XP installs some outdated drivers and it would be nice if the program compares all found hardware Id's with those in the hardware.db.
It would take a little more time but in that way every driver would be updated to it's latest version, not only the error devices.

Anyway, thanks for this awesome tool.

Cheers,
Escorpiom.

#585
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello again,

It has been a while, but I'm pleased to report complete success with the latest version of the program.
I did have some issues with multiple inf's and matching device id's, but that's on my side and was easy to resolve.
The hardware database works in alphabetical order. Sometimes an older driver was installed for a device while a newer driver was available.
Renaming of the folders was necessary, for example 01 and 02 in front of the names was OK to have the correct driver installed.

I believe there is nothing more to solve as it works fine now. Your support to the community is one of a kind Madboy.
If you have some spare time, you could take a look at updating the other (installed) drivers also.
At this moment, Windows XP installs some outdated drivers and it would be nice if the program compares all found hardware Id's with those in the hardware.db.
It would take a little more time but in that way every driver would be updated to it's latest version, not only the error devices.

Anyway, thanks for this awesome tool.

Cheers,
Escorpiom.


Hello Escorpiom,

I'm glad the program works. I know about it faults and i will try to make it better (aka use the highest version possible) for installing to unknown devices. As for the updating you could always use OldMethod which adds paths to all drivers to registry (may give some problems) instead of only choosen ones. This would force windows to search for newest driver (if you use the switch to update all drivers in xml). When i'll get time i'll most likely fix updating to new method (using db) and to use highest version only.

Unfortunetly I need the time to develop something i get money for ;-) So don't expect it to arrive in few days :-)

MadBoy

#586
pSycho-Y2K

pSycho-Y2K

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 44 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hey MadBoy :) I haven't seen you for a while on the forum. Did you had time to do some progress on your next release in the past two months?

Unfortunately I've come across a nasty bug which I like to inform you about. I ran the tool on an Acer Aspire One netbook, so I don't know if the problem is related to its devices. Perhaps you can debug what the problem is? Also, I'd like to know if the tool is (or could be made) Windows 7 compatible :)

Attached Files



#587
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hey MadBoy :) I haven't seen you for a while on the forum. Did you had time to do some progress on your next release in the past two months?

Unfortunately I've come across a nasty bug which I like to inform you about. I ran the tool on an Acer Aspire One netbook, so I don't know if the problem is related to its devices. Perhaps you can debug what the problem is? Also, I'd like to know if the tool is (or could be made) Windows 7 compatible :)

Hello psycho. This bug seems to be related to database prepare. I'll take a look at code later on but can you check if it crashes only on that one netbook? It shouldn't be related to hardware because what it is doing then is going thru all drivers and putting them in database. So if it crashes on one notebook it should crash on the other if you're using same share/folder which happens to store the drivers.

I'll take a look.

As for Windows 7 i haven't had a time to take a look at 7 how the drivers behave there and what could be done to extend functionality of the software to support Vista and Win7. I wanted to add backup drivers solution but since nobody could point me right way and i don't have time to dig myself it's put into on hold.

Currently i am working on Ultimate Unpacker in c# which allows unpacking of multiple releases/applications packed with zips/rars with simple queue / drag and drop or choice of a dir for example C:\Downloads, it should unpack and deleted (if option is set) not needed files etc etc :-)

Hope all is good with you,

MadBoy

#588
lezhrej

lezhrej
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
i dont get this program i already download the hardware installler and Hardware_config.xml. ill try to open the installer then i saw the program. how can use this if im going to put a driver on a newly installed windows. just run this program or i need to make or put a driver inside the program. pls help i really need this but im newbie i dont know know how to use this program.

#589
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

i dont get this program i already download the hardware installler and Hardware_config.xml. ill try to open the installer then i saw the program. how can use this if im going to put a driver on a newly installed windows. just run this program or i need to make or put a driver inside the program. pls help i really need this but im newbie i dont know know how to use this program.


Hello lezhrej,

There's no installer for this program. It's one executable to run (my bad for naming it Hardware Installer). You have to create directory somewhere (lets assume C:\Drivers). You put all drivers you have (in clean form - Driver Packs are best for this) and then you modify .xml to your needs (like point program to where drivers are etc). Then you just run program and it should do all for you. Just so you know it's not something you should use for one time installing of drivers (like your private computer, although you can). It's power is in reusing it over and over in company you work for so you can prepare one drivers directory (on cd, dvd or network drive) and program is supposed to do all the heavy work for you.

Hope this helps.

#590
lezhrej

lezhrej
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
ohhh that's a great explaination. so where i can find driver pack? you mean like example in dell they have a driver cab on drive c. right? can i use it to put in on my driver directory? maybe i need to put all drivers in one folder and put this hardware installer, config.xml and edit this xml to path the direction of my drivers. am i right? please help coz i think i understand what u mean but im confused.

#591
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

ohhh that's a great explaination. so where i can find driver pack? you mean like example in dell they have a driver cab on drive c. right? can i use it to put in on my driver directory? maybe i need to put all drivers in one folder and put this hardware installer, config.xml and edit this xml to path the direction of my drivers. am i right? please help coz i think i understand what u mean but im confused.


By driverpacks i meant http://driverpacks.net/. Drivers prepared by them are in clean form, having only .inf's and proper driver and not being packed with cabs, setup.exe and so on. It is possible that driver that has setup.exe, cab etc may work but it's not guaranteed so you may have to unpack and prepare the drivers for instalation (or use DriverPacks and pray they have all you need).

And yes, it's like in Dell you create on directory with all drivers and you put my program there or you keep it anywhere you want just .xml has to point to that directory. Then you run it (either in manual mode which you have to click thru, but it's very recommended in the beginning so you know what the program does, or in auto mode which after start will do what it says in .xml and shutdown itself when done).

By having one directory i mean C:\Drivers but you can have subfolders like C:\Drivers\Mobo\Somethings\Somethingelse. Program will search for drivers in every subdir so you don't have to put all drivers in one folder (it's even not recommended). I would suggest to read this whole thread (this may take a while) but should help you understand the process and see how other people get along with it.

#592
shambles

shambles
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:XP Home
this is my first post so please excuse me if I'm in the wrong place or wrong format. Most of this stuff is way beyond me, but I'm rebuilding my system after a trojan attack. Most things are up and running again but I cannot get my system to recognise my external drive - presumably my sata card is not registering. My card is a Silicon Image Si1 3112. It ran fine previously but now I cannot find a driver that I can install. I downloaded one from the SI website but when I opened it instead of an exe file I found a batch of files that I do not understand, with assorted endings. Is there a simple fix for an illiterate like me?

#593
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

this is my first post so please excuse me if I'm in the wrong place or wrong format. Most of this stuff is way beyond me, but I'm rebuilding my system after a trojan attack. Most things are up and running again but I cannot get my system to recognise my external drive - presumably my sata card is not registering. My card is a Silicon Image Si1 3112. It ran fine previously but now I cannot find a driver that I can install. I downloaded one from the SI website but when I opened it instead of an exe file I found a batch of files that I do not understand, with assorted endings. Is there a simple fix for an illiterate like me?


You should have created new thread. This one is for something diffrent then help with general drivers problems. I assume you have downloaded zip file or similar and after unpacking you have .inf file and bunch of other files but no .exe. This is normal. You should click start then in Run window type in devmgmt.msc. Then find device marked with yellow question mark and then right click on that device and choose properties. There you will find Install/Update driver in which you have to point to the .inf file that you unpacked.

#594
shambles

shambles
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:XP Home


this is my first post so please excuse me if I'm in the wrong place or wrong format. Most of this stuff is way beyond me, but I'm rebuilding my system after a trojan attack. Most things are up and running again but I cannot get my system to recognise my external drive - presumably my sata card is not registering. My card is a Silicon Image Si1 3112. It ran fine previously but now I cannot find a driver that I can install. I downloaded one from the SI website but when I opened it instead of an exe file I found a batch of files that I do not understand, with assorted endings. Is there a simple fix for an illiterate like me?


You should have created new thread. This one is for something diffrent then help with general drivers problems. I assume you have downloaded zip file or similar and after unpacking you have .inf file and bunch of other files but no .exe. This is normal. You should click start then in Run window type in devmgmt.msc. Then find device marked with yellow question mark and then right click on that device and choose properties. There you will find Install/Update driver in which you have to point to the .inf file that you unpacked.



Thank you for this assistance. I could not get Device Manager to recognise the files I had downloaded, but finally I gleaned from the Via website a download set which I had to save to CD to install, so I'm up and running again.

#595
pSycho-Y2K

pSycho-Y2K

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 44 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello psycho. This bug seems to be related to database prepare. I'll take a look at code later on but can you check if it crashes only on that one netbook? It shouldn't be related to hardware because what it is doing then is going thru all drivers and putting them in database. So if it crashes on one notebook it should crash on the other if you're using same share/folder which happens to store the drivers.


Hello MadBoy :)

It's not netbook related, it also crashes in VMware Workstation which never happend with your older releases, check the screenshot.
I'm going to try your previous version.

UPDATE: It seems only version 2.0.0.28 is affected, perhaps your new driver database creation is the problem?

Attached Files


Edited by pSycho-Y2K, 08 March 2010 - 09:38 AM.


#596
xecutor

xecutor
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

I have the same problem as pSycho-Y2K. I get exactly the same AutoIt Error.

Edited by xecutor, 29 March 2010 - 12:41 AM.


#597
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I tried reproducing your problems and I couldn't. I downloaded like 15 driver packs and db created clearly without problems. Would it be possible that you (psycho or xecutor) to create me some 7zip file of your drivers db and put somewhere to download (can be big) or maybe try to isolate a problem to specific driver, amount of drivers?

Edit: I found the problem, it's in one of external libs i use. Will try to fix, ask to get it fixed.

Edited by MadBoy, 12 April 2010 - 12:37 PM.


#598
pSycho-Y2K

pSycho-Y2K

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 44 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I tried reproducing your problems and I couldn't. I downloaded like 15 driver packs and db created clearly without problems. Would it be possible that you (psycho or xecutor) to create me some 7zip file of your drivers db and put somewhere to download (can be big) or maybe try to isolate a problem to specific driver, amount of drivers?

Edit: I found the problem, it's in one of external libs i use. Will try to fix, ask to get it fixed.

I use all drivers for Windows XP from DriverPacks.net. I download all de 7zips and extract them all in a single folder called Drivers which is located of the root of my USB-Harddrive (Z:\Drivers).

P.S. Any progress on this MadBoy? :)

Edited by pSycho-Y2K, 03 June 2010 - 08:42 AM.


#599
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


I tried reproducing your problems and I couldn't. I downloaded like 15 driver packs and db created clearly without problems. Would it be possible that you (psycho or xecutor) to create me some 7zip file of your drivers db and put somewhere to download (can be big) or maybe try to isolate a problem to specific driver, amount of drivers?

Edit: I found the problem, it's in one of external libs i use. Will try to fix, ask to get it fixed.

I use all drivers for Windows XP from DriverPacks.net. I download all de 7zips and extract them all in a single folder called Drivers which is located of the root of my USB-Harddrive (Z:\Drivers).

P.S. Any progress on this MadBoy? :)

Unfortunately no. I've reported error with this but nobody cares :-) I had couple of findings by fixing inf files by hand but it's a lot of work. Have to find some other way around it and it's hard with time I have now :-) Plus there's not much motivation left in this case. XP is fading away so I would need to support Windows 7 and that's a lot of work. I am focused on things that get me money right now but have hopes. Maybe I'll get some time to fix it.

#600
cdusseau

cdusseau

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 33 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I get stuck at the line:

[INFO] Disabling Window Managing Wizard

After it hits that it just sits there til the end of time...

Well nvm that was an easy fix...just disabled the wizard.

But now I'm getting stuck at:

No active plug & play process has been found after 5 seconds. Terminating,

Here's my config file:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<settings>
  <basic_configuration>
    <choice>Manual</choice>
    <window_managing>
        <hardware_wizard>
            <wizard_use>No</wizard_use>
            <wizard_title>Found New Hardware Wizard</wizard_title>
            <wizard_button_cancel>Cancel</wizard_button_cancel>
            <wizard_button_next>Next</wizard_button_next>
            <wizard_button_finish>Finish</wizard_button_finish>
        </hardware_wizard>
    </window_managing>
    <share_configuration>
        <use_mapping>Yes</use_mapping>
        <map_network_drive>    
            <drivers_share>
                <share_path>\\image-server\share\drivers</share_path>
                <domain_username></domain_username>
                <domain_password></domain_password>
            </drivers_share>
        </map_network_drive>
    </share_configuration>
    <drivers>
          <drivers_method>New</drivers_method>
          <drivers_database_use>Yes</drivers_database_use>
          <drivers_database_recreate>No</drivers_database_recreate>
          <drivers_database_path>$ProgramDir\hardware_database.db</drivers_database_path>
          <drivers_directory_path>z:\</drivers_directory_path>
          <drivers_packed>No</drivers_packed>
          <drivers_copy>No</drivers_copy>
          <drivers_copy_path>C:\Drivers</drivers_copy_path>
          <drivers_copy_delete>No</drivers_copy_delete>
          <options>
              <method>RegistryDevicePath</method>
              <registry_path>End</registry_path>
              <problem_ids>01,10,18,24,28,37,39</problem_ids>
              <update_all>No</update_all>
              <plug_and_play>
                    <option>Internal</option>
                    <time_to_wait>5</time_to_wait>
              </plug_and_play>
              <shutdown>
                    <auto_reboot_when_necessary>No</auto_reboot_when_necessary>
                    <auto_reboot_when_done>No</auto_reboot_when_done>
                    <auto_login>Yes</auto_login>
                    <notify_when_done>Yes</notify_when_done>
              </shutdown>
              <time_to_run>0</time_to_run>
              <force_run>Yes</force_run>
              <device_manager>Yes</device_manager>
          </options>
    </drivers>
    <log>
          <log_overwrite>No</log_overwrite>
          <log_to_file>Yes</log_to_file>
          <log_filename_path>$ProgramDir\hardware.log</log_filename_path>
          <log_option>Advanced</log_option>
    </log>
    <gui>
          <hide_legacy_devices>No</hide_legacy_devices>
          <fade_in_effect>No</fade_in_effect>
          <hide_views>No</hide_views>
    </gui>
  </basic_configuration>
</settings>

Basically I am trying to connect to a server that hosts the drivers for several systems. I don't want to copy the drivers locally (unless necessary). Anyone see where I am going wrong? Also, will the program always map the network drive as z:?

Edited by cdusseau, 07 October 2010 - 09:23 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN