Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Drivers Instalation in Post-Install stage (New Method)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
619 replies to this topic

#601
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I get stuck at the line:

[INFO] Disabling Window Managing Wizard

After it hits that it just sits there til the end of time...

Well nvm that was an easy fix...just disabled the wizard.

But now I'm getting stuck at:

No active plug & play process has been found after 5 seconds. Terminating,

Here's my config file:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<settings>
  <basic_configuration>
    <choice>Manual</choice>
    <window_managing>
        <hardware_wizard>
            <wizard_use>No</wizard_use>
            <wizard_title>Found New Hardware Wizard</wizard_title>
            <wizard_button_cancel>Cancel</wizard_button_cancel>
            <wizard_button_next>Next</wizard_button_next>
            <wizard_button_finish>Finish</wizard_button_finish>
        </hardware_wizard>
    </window_managing>
    <share_configuration>
        <use_mapping>Yes</use_mapping>
        <map_network_drive>    
            <drivers_share>
                <share_path>\\image-server\share\drivers</share_path>
                <domain_username></domain_username>
                <domain_password></domain_password>
            </drivers_share>
        </map_network_drive>
    </share_configuration>
    <drivers>
          <drivers_method>New</drivers_method>
          <drivers_database_use>Yes</drivers_database_use>
          <drivers_database_recreate>No</drivers_database_recreate>
          <drivers_database_path>$ProgramDir\hardware_database.db</drivers_database_path>
          <drivers_directory_path>z:\</drivers_directory_path>
          <drivers_packed>No</drivers_packed>
          <drivers_copy>No</drivers_copy>
          <drivers_copy_path>C:\Drivers</drivers_copy_path>
          <drivers_copy_delete>No</drivers_copy_delete>
          <options>
              <method>RegistryDevicePath</method>
              <registry_path>End</registry_path>
              <problem_ids>01,10,18,24,28,37,39</problem_ids>
              <update_all>No</update_all>
              <plug_and_play>
                    <option>Internal</option>
                    <time_to_wait>5</time_to_wait>
              </plug_and_play>
              <shutdown>
                    <auto_reboot_when_necessary>No</auto_reboot_when_necessary>
                    <auto_reboot_when_done>No</auto_reboot_when_done>
                    <auto_login>Yes</auto_login>
                    <notify_when_done>Yes</notify_when_done>
              </shutdown>
              <time_to_run>0</time_to_run>
              <force_run>Yes</force_run>
              <device_manager>Yes</device_manager>
          </options>
    </drivers>
    <log>
          <log_overwrite>No</log_overwrite>
          <log_to_file>Yes</log_to_file>
          <log_filename_path>$ProgramDir\hardware.log</log_filename_path>
          <log_option>Advanced</log_option>
    </log>
    <gui>
          <hide_legacy_devices>No</hide_legacy_devices>
          <fade_in_effect>No</fade_in_effect>
          <hide_views>No</hide_views>
    </gui>
  </basic_configuration>
</settings>

Basically I am trying to connect to a server that hosts the drivers for several systems. I don't want to copy the drivers locally (unless necessary). Anyone see where I am going wrong? Also, will the program always map the network drive as z:?


I see a couple of things you need to look out for:
1. You need to fill domain username and password:

<share_path>\\image-server\share\drivers</share_path>
<domain_username>SomeDomain\DriversAccount</domain_username>
<domain_password>NewPassw4343</domain_password>

2. When you set your drive mapped as drivers_share you need to use drivers_share as drive letter latter on.

<drivers_share>
<share_path>\\image-server\share\drivers</share_path>
<domain_username></domain_username>
<domain_password></domain_password>
</drivers_share>

So when you use mapped drive latter on use it like:
<drivers_directory_path>drivers_share:\</drivers_directory_path>
This will make sure program will find at what letter it mapped the drive and use it.
So to answer your other question about mapping drive to letter Z -> No, use variables, otherwise program may be confused.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#602
cdusseau

cdusseau

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 33 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm still getting stuck at:

No active plug & play process has been found after 5 seconds. Terminating,

#603
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm still getting stuck at:

No active plug & play process has been found after 5 seconds. Terminating,


Do you have any devices without drivers (being in Device Manager marked as ? or with some error code?)?

#604
cdusseau

cdusseau

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 33 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Yessir I do.

#605
cdusseau

cdusseau

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 33 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Well I tried using driverpacks with this and now I'm producing this Autoit error:

Posted Image

This only seems to happen when I try to prepare a database.

If I skip database creation I get this error instead:

Posted Image

Using this config file:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<settings>
  <basic_configuration>
    <choice>Manual</choice>
    <window_managing>
        <hardware_wizard>
            <wizard_use>Yes</wizard_use>
            <wizard_title>Found New Hardware Wizard</wizard_title>
            <wizard_button_cancel>Cancel</wizard_button_cancel>
            <wizard_button_next>Next</wizard_button_next>
            <wizard_button_finish>Finish</wizard_button_finish>
        </hardware_wizard>
    </window_managing>
    <share_configuration>
        <use_mapping>No</use_mapping>
        <map_network_drive>    
            <drive_1>
                <share_path>\\image-server\share\drivers\DriverPacks</share_path>
                <domain_username></domain_username>
                <domain_password></domain_password>
            </drive_1>
        </map_network_drive>
    </share_configuration>
    <drivers>
          <drivers_method>New</drivers_method>
          <drivers_database_use>Yes</drivers_database_use>
          <drivers_database_recreate>No</drivers_database_recreate>
          <drivers_database_path>$ProgramDir\hardware_database.db</drivers_database_path>
          <drivers_directory_path>RELATIVE:\DriverPacks\DriverPacks</drivers_directory_path>
          <drivers_packed>No</drivers_packed>
          <drivers_copy>No</drivers_copy>
          <drivers_copy_path>C:\Drivers</drivers_copy_path>
          <drivers_copy_delete>No</drivers_copy_delete>
          <options>
              <method>RegistryDevicePath</method>
              <registry_path>None</registry_path>
              <problem_ids>01,10,18,24,28,37,39</problem_ids>
              <update_all>Yes</update_all>
              <plug_and_play>
                    <option>Internal</option>
                    <time_to_wait>5</time_to_wait>
              </plug_and_play>
              <shutdown>
                    <auto_reboot_when_necessary>No</auto_reboot_when_necessary>
                    <auto_reboot_when_done>No</auto_reboot_when_done>
                    <auto_login>Yes</auto_login>
                    <notify_when_done>Yes</notify_when_done>
              </shutdown>
              <time_to_run>0</time_to_run>
              <force_run>Yes</force_run>
              <device_manager>Yes</device_manager>
          </options>
    </drivers>
    <log>
          <log_overwrite>No</log_overwrite>
          <log_to_file>Yes</log_to_file>
          <log_filename_path>$ProgramDir\hardware.log</log_filename_path>
          <log_option>Advanced</log_option>
    </log>
    <gui>
          <hide_legacy_devices>No</hide_legacy_devices>
          <fade_in_effect>No</fade_in_effect>
          <hide_views>No</hide_views>
    </gui>
  </basic_configuration>
</settings>

This is making the program pretty much useless to me. I know you have other priorities but any chance you know whats going on?

#606
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello. The first error is probably some misuse in code, but even if i fix it you will get the 2nd error.

The error is related to INI Read (_IniReadSection) and is related to code not written by me. I've reported error on author's thread but seems he doesn't care (http://www.autoitscr...showtopic=32004). The builtin IniReadSection has a limit which makes it unusable.

There are 3 choices:
1) Author fix it and for me it's simple fix
2) I try to fix it in his code and i don't know what's going on there so it will take me ages to do so :-)
3) I write my own approach to read the .inf files instead of using _IniReadSection.

I would prefer 1st option, as 2nd and 3rd considering a lot of projects i am thrown at I can't quick fix.

Hope you understand that. Sorry

#607
cdusseau

cdusseau

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 33 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Well if you do get around to fixing it I'd appreciate it. If not, I understand. I'm looking into some alternatives on the driverpacks forum.

#608
recon

recon
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi all,

I'm trying to get this tool working on my laptop, which is a dell latitude d620.
If everything is working ok i'm planning to use this tool to install drivers when deploying images.

For my test machine, i've downloaded every driver from the dell site and unpacked the exe's.
After that i changed some settings in hardware_config.xml like the driver path.

Now i've started pro hardware installer.
The first driver it installed was the VGA driver, but after that the tool was just sitting there and doing nothing...
After 10 minutes of waiting i stopped the program.

I have included my xml file and a screenshot.
What am i doing wrong?

Thanks :-)

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<settings>
  <basic_configuration>
    <choice>Automatic</choice>
    <window_managing>
        <hardware_wizard>
            <wizard_use>Yes</wizard_use>
            <wizard_title>Found New Hardware Wizard</wizard_title>
            <wizard_button_cancel>Cancel</wizard_button_cancel>
            <wizard_button_next>Next</wizard_button_next>
            <wizard_button_finish>Finish</wizard_button_finish>
        </hardware_wizard>
    </window_managing>
    <share_configuration>
        <use_mapping>No</use_mapping>
        <map_network_drive>    
            <drive_1>
                <share_path>\\127.0.0.1\c$</share_path>
                <domain_username>EM\MadBoy</domain_username>
                <domain_password>SuperPass</domain_password>
            </drive_1>
        </map_network_drive>
    </share_configuration>
    <drivers>
          <drivers_method>New</drivers_method>
          <drivers_database_use>No</drivers_database_use>
          <drivers_database_recreate>No</drivers_database_recreate>
          <drivers_database_path>D:\Drivers\hardware_database.db</drivers_database_path>
          <drivers_directory_path>D:\Drivers</drivers_directory_path>
          <drivers_packed>No</drivers_packed>
          <drivers_copy>No</drivers_copy>
          <drivers_copy_path>C:\Drivers</drivers_copy_path>
          <drivers_copy_delete>No</drivers_copy_delete>
          <options>
              <method>RegistryDevicePath</method>
              <registry_path>Begin</registry_path>
              <problem_ids>01,10,18,24,28,37,39</problem_ids>
              <update_all>Yes</update_all>
              <plug_and_play>
                    <option>Internal</option>
                    <time_to_wait>5</time_to_wait>
              </plug_and_play>
              <shutdown>
                    <auto_reboot_when_necessary>No</auto_reboot_when_necessary>
                    <auto_reboot_when_done>No</auto_reboot_when_done>
                    <auto_login>Yes</auto_login>
                    <notify_when_done>Yes</notify_when_done>
              </shutdown>
              <time_to_run>0</time_to_run>
              <force_run>Yes</force_run>
              <device_manager>Yes</device_manager>
          </options>
    </drivers>
    <log>
          <log_overwrite>Yes</log_overwrite>
          <log_to_file>Yes</log_to_file>
          <log_filename_path>$ProgramDir\hardware.log</log_filename_path>
          <log_option>Simple</log_option>
    </log>
    <gui>
          <hide_legacy_devices>No</hide_legacy_devices>
          <fade_in_effect>No</fade_in_effect>
          <hide_views>No</hide_views>
    </gui>
  </basic_configuration>
</settings>

Attached Files



#609
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Everything seems correct. Program found 5 of 6 inf files for your devices, removed 6 HW devices.

[20:11:08] - Unknown devices were removed successfully.
[20:11:08] - [INFO] Enabling Window Managing Wizard
[20:11:08] - Forcing system to detect Plug & Play Devices.
[20:11:10] - System is now detecting and installing drivers for your hardware. Please wait!

Only thing that could go wrong is Detecting and installing drivers. Can you try when it's stuck at that stage to go to device manager and click Scan for hardware changes. If detection starts and works that means something went wrong at that stage.

#610
recon

recon
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Everything seems correct. Program found 5 of 6 inf files for your devices, removed 6 HW devices.

[20:11:08] - Unknown devices were removed successfully.
[20:11:08] - [INFO] Enabling Window Managing Wizard
[20:11:08] - Forcing system to detect Plug & Play Devices.
[20:11:10] - System is now detecting and installing drivers for your hardware. Please wait!

Only thing that could go wrong is Detecting and installing drivers. Can you try when it's stuck at that stage to go to device manager and click Scan for hardware changes. If detection starts and works that means something went wrong at that stage.


When doing a scan for hardware changes it refreshes the device manager list, but nothing happens after that.
What i've noticed is. It first starts with the VGA card, but when it found a driver it says Mobile Intel.... expres chipset.
Also when i look under Display adapters it has one device named Mobile Intel 945GM express chipset familiy, i think this is wrong because there is still a video controller in the other devices list.

Also when it has installed this driver a device with a strange name appears in the other devices list... -> JW804/7?... you can see it on the screenshot.

Attached Files



#611
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Everything seems correct. Program found 5 of 6 inf files for your devices, removed 6 HW devices.

[20:11:08] - Unknown devices were removed successfully.
[20:11:08] - [INFO] Enabling Window Managing Wizard
[20:11:08] - Forcing system to detect Plug & Play Devices.
[20:11:10] - System is now detecting and installing drivers for your hardware. Please wait!

Only thing that could go wrong is Detecting and installing drivers. Can you try when it's stuck at that stage to go to device manager and click Scan for hardware changes. If detection starts and works that means something went wrong at that stage.


When doing a scan for hardware changes it refreshes the device manager list, but nothing happens after that.
What i've noticed is. It first starts with the VGA card, but when it found a driver it says Mobile Intel.... expres chipset.
Also when i look under Display adapters it has one device named Mobile Intel 945GM express chipset familiy, i think this is wrong because there is still a video controller in the other devices list.

Also when it has installed this driver a device with a strange name appears in the other devices list... -> JW804/7?... you can see it on the screenshot.

You must understand what my program does. It scans your system for missing devices (HWID) then searches for that HWID inside .inf files you pointed it to and adds that to registry. Then it makes Device Manager to refresh the list of devices and windows is forced to find drivers on his own (with paths given to it thru registry). It should find and install missing devices.

It's all it does. No magic :-) What you noticed in right corner is that Windows is finding devices like your mobile intel 945GM and uses drivers that you pointed it to.

However if somethings don't install properly means the drivers aren't properly prepared (inf alone might be there but other stuff may not).

#612
gerakis

gerakis
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I decided to try this out. I extracted my audio drivers, point pro-s hardware at the main directory, and let it do its thing. It worked! Everything installed fine.

Then I tried extracting the rest of the driver pack. 9 full gigs of drivers. I tell it to install all drivers, then while trying to build its database I get this error:

Line 2550 (File "H:\Mobile PC Repair\Windows 7 Drivers\pro-s_hardware_installer_2.0.0.28.exe"):

Error: Subscript used with non-Array variable.


Once I hit OK the program crashes completely. Any ideas on how to fix this?

#613
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I decided to try this out. I extracted my audio drivers, point pro-s hardware at the main directory, and let it do its thing. It worked! Everything installed fine.

Then I tried extracting the rest of the driver pack. 9 full gigs of drivers. I tell it to install all drivers, then while trying to build its database I get this error:

Line 2550 (File "H:\Mobile PC Repair\Windows 7 Drivers\pro-s_hardware_installer_2.0.0.28.exe"):

Error: Subscript used with non-Array variable.


Once I hit OK the program crashes completely. Any ideas on how to fix this?


To be honest I've not touch the code since 3+ years now. I am aware of the problem and I'll try to update the code to fix this issue since I see that the author of one library that was causing this updated his code. Not sure if it will be this week thou. I haven't coded in AutoIt for over few years.

#614
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
gerakis please test this and let me know Evotec Hardware Installer 2.0.0.30

#615
gerakis

gerakis
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Well thanks for trying. I used the new installer program, but I get a similar error.

Line 2597 (File "D:\Installers\Windows 7 Drivers\evotec_hardware_installer_2.0.0.30.exe"):

Error: Subscript used with non-Array variable.


The line number changed, but its still not working. Also I changed my directory so don't worry about that part. Actually I just put
$ProgramDir\
as my driver directory and it made life easier. I run this program from a USB flash drive, so the directory changes a lot.

After some testing I discovered that the problem lay in the Realtek wifi drivers. Not all of them either, just a few. All of the following cause the program to crash for some reason:

Realtek RTL8187S, RTL8191SE Wireless LAN, Realtek RTL8187B Wireless LAN, Realtek RTL8190, RTL8192E Wireless LAN, Realtek RTL8191SE, RTL8192SE Wireless LAN, Realtek RTL8192CE, RTL8191CE, RTL8188CE Driver

While these all work perfectly fine:

Realtek RTL8180, RTL8185 Wireless LAN, Realtek RTL8187L Wireless LAN, Realtek RTL8188CU RTL8192CU Driver, Realtek RTL8192U Windows 7 Driver

So I guess that's not such a dealbreaker, I can just install those manually if I have to. I just got rid of the extracted parts and still have the zip files, which the installer seems to safely ignore. It still works with the vast majority of my drivers so i'm happy.

#616
MadBoy

MadBoy

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
So basically if you just leave the drivers that you mentioned alone in the directory it will crash no matter what? (Realtek RTL8187S, RTL8191SE Wireless LAN, Realtek RTL8187B Wireless LAN, Realtek RTL8190, RTL8192E Wireless LAN, Realtek RTL8191SE, RTL8192SE Wireless LAN, Realtek RTL8192CE, RTL8191CE, RTL8188CE Driver)? Can you send me them zipped or so?

#617
gerakis

gerakis
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Of course I can, but the upload limit seems to be 500k here, and I don't see any way to send you files directly. Could you PM me your email address or whatever?

#618
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,796 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Or you could upload them to Mediafire or something.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#619
gerakis

gerakis
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thats a good idea. This is all the 7zip files.

https://rapidshare.c...6.9110.2010.exe
https://rapidshare.c...2.1182.2010.exe
https://rapidshare.c...106.2010_w7.exe
https://rapidshare.c...817.2011-w7.exe
https://rapidshare.c...1.1222.2011.exe

#620
krt47

krt47

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

for some reason my browser say the driver pack can do harm to my pc. can the driver pack be fixed?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN