Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

fake setup call himself instead original "setup.exe" - Setup

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
Yuni

Yuni
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 23-March 06
I upgraded windows XP and find this message [b]"fake setup call himself instead original "setup.exe" - Setup Abort". [/b]

I can't go into windows. It means I could not use that computer anymore. I don't know how to do. Please let me know how to enter windows.

Yuni


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
amit_talkin

amit_talkin

    Experienced

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Joined 05-October 05
i have the same problem...any solution?
Primary - Q9450@3.6GHz | 8GB G.Skill 1000MHz | Gigabyte GA-X48-DS4 F3b mobo. | 1.5TB Storage | Sappgire HD4890 | HomeMade H2O Kit | Antec NeoPower Blue 650w
Secondary - E8400 3.00@ 4.05GHz | 4 GB Crucial Ballistix | ASUS P5B Deluxe mobo. | 250GB Storage | Sapphire Toxic HD4850 512MB | OCZ Vendetta2 CPU Cooler | Coolermaster 500w

#3
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05
wow ,what a message, how it happened ??
"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]

#4
LeveL

LeveL

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 551 posts
  • Joined 30-September 05
It happens using Bashrat The Sneaky's Driverpacks when you try to
do a repair installation. You must have removed the OemPreinstall=Yes
from the WINNT.SIF file or something.

You need to at least have these sections and commands in I386\WINNT.SIF

[Data]
MsDosInitiated=No

[Unattended]
OemPreinstall=Yes

[GUIRunOnce]
command9="%SystemDrive%\DPsFnshr.exe"


The vicious circle is - if you have an [Unattended] section there, you
will lose the ability to do a repair install. :(

Edited by LeveL, 25 March 2007 - 08:40 AM.


#5
rajesh.kumar

rajesh.kumar

    Crank up

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts
  • Joined 02-July 05
yes indeed it is due to the driverpack. this happened when i ran xp setup from inside windows and rebooted to continue finish the repair install. this way, i can select repair install even if my cd is unattended, and consequently, this problem of "setup calling himself" pops up and terminates the installation. i had this problem lastweek so i prepared a uA without driverpack and repaired.
any solution if driverpack is used?
Wow - Its the World of Wonderboy

#6
rajesh.kumar

rajesh.kumar

    Crank up

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts
  • Joined 02-July 05
Will this issue get the attention of "The Sneaky". He could give some solution.
i often wanted to repair my brother's computer without reformating it.

Sorry, forgot to celebrate Annual Day in my previous post for this topic.

Edited by rajesh.kumar, 27 March 2007 - 06:56 PM.

Wow - Its the World of Wonderboy

#7
couges

couges
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 20-July 06
I have also had the same problem, and I would also like the repair option (I guess I want everything).

I have also had problems wih text mode mass storage devices.

If there is a solution out there, I would be very keen to know.

What we then build is the ultimate unattended.

Regards
Couges

Edited by couges, 29 March 2007 - 08:43 PM.


#8
LeveL

LeveL

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 551 posts
  • Joined 30-September 05
Make a dual multi boot CD, one unattended with drivers, one not
unattended without drivers, so it has the option to repair... visit
http://flyakite.msfn.org/ to do that.

#9
rajesh.kumar

rajesh.kumar

    Crank up

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts
  • Joined 02-July 05
ok there seem to be a solution in the driverpack forum.

http://forum.driverp...opic.php?id=669
Wow - Its the World of Wonderboy

#10
DizzyDen

DizzyDen

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 18-December 04
And even more in depth explanation and solution is in
Driver Pack Discussion Regarding Fake Setup and Solution

The files mentioned in that thread, with some editing to clean them up even more (always lookin for ways to clean my code more) is attached here.

See the !ReadMe.txt file.

Attached Files


always remember.....
YCGIYWG (You Can't Get, If You Won't Give)
DizzyDen

#11
rajesh.kumar

rajesh.kumar

    Crank up

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts
  • Joined 02-July 05
thank you dizzyden
Wow - Its the World of Wonderboy

#12
DizzyDen

DizzyDen

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 18-December 04

thank you dizzyden

No problem at all....

I guess you found it to work flawlessly also.

Glad to have helped, have some mod's if ya'd care to have them...

Mostly stuff to clean the code, and minimize creating intermediate files. Although the routine stays pretty much the same.
always remember.....
YCGIYWG (You Can't Get, If You Won't Give)
DizzyDen

#13
rajesh.kumar

rajesh.kumar

    Crank up

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts
  • Joined 02-July 05
i'd be much glad to know the modifications too
Wow - Its the World of Wonderboy

#14
rylo85m

rylo85m
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 25-July 07
I still cant find a fix for this error message, please can somebody give some specific and clear guidlines, the links dont seem to work, do u think its easier to just remove my hard drive, back it up onto a clean computer and format the whole thing. this error message just wont go away


Thanks

#15
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • Joined 06-December 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
From the given link above in driver packs forum, post Nr.3:

Add this to 'i386\presetup.cmd' in your CD image:

DEL /F %systemroot%\system32\setupold.exe

OR if you already have a hung up repair install going - boot into Repair Console from the XP CD and delete the 'setupold.exe' file from the C:\windows\system32 folder then reboot.


Have you tried this?

Edited by ilko_t, 25 July 2007 - 10:51 AM.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#16
VISHNUKANTH

VISHNUKANTH
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 16-August 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

From the given link above in driver packs forum, post Nr.3:

Add this to 'i386\presetup.cmd' in your CD image:

DEL /F %systemroot%\system32\setupold.exe

OR if you already have a hung up repair install going - boot into Repair Console from the XP CD and delete the 'setupold.exe' file from the C:\windows\system32 folder then reboot.


Have you tried this?


how to create CD IMAGE like u mentioned ?
HOW to delete the setupold.exe file from C:\windows\system32folder ?
Actually i have upgraded my system but stuck into the FAKE SETUP CALLED how to complete setup?
IF POSSIBLE PLEASE PROVIDE STEP BY STEP PROCEDURE .
THANK YOU.

#17
VISHNUKANTH

VISHNUKANTH
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 16-August 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

And even more in depth explanation and solution is in
Driver Pack Discussion Regarding Fake Setup and Solution

The files mentioned in that thread, with some editing to clean them up even more (always lookin for ways to clean my code more) is attached here.

See the !ReadMe.txt file.


HOW TO USE THIS.... FILE?
SHALL I BURN NEW WINDOWS CD FOR IT WITH ALL CONTENTS ?
HOW USE IT ?
WILL THIS GO THROUGH FAKE SETUP ERROR ?
PLEASE PROVIDE STEP BY STEP PROCEDURE ?

NOTE: i have installed dual windows in my system one is working which is new. another is not working which is old. i cant access to old i showing fake setup , i tried many times by keeping Windows CD still the same result. the programs and documents are very important in the old windows i need help to access my programs . what can i do please suggest.
Q) CAN I RUN MY PROGRAMS WITH NEW WINDOW ex: i have old windows in C: drive and NEW windows in F: drive so i need to run C: programs with my new one is that possible.?
Q) HOW TO REMOVE FAKE SETUP ERROR IN MY OLD WINDOWS CAN I ACCESS IT BY DELETING SOME FILES IN C: BY USING NEW WINDOWS ?

#18
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,273 posts
  • Joined 23-November 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag



OR] if you already have a hung up repair install going - boot into Repair Console from the XP CD and delete the 'setupold.exe' file from the C:\windows\system32 folder then reboot.

Have you tried this?

HOW to delete the setupold.exe file from C:\windows\system32folder ?

boot from the XP CD
choose Repair Console
choose Windows install to repair
enter Administrator password (if any)
type (at prompt) del C:\windows\system32\setupold.exe




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN